DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/01/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0249492 A1~hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 7-9) a method of manufacturing a display apparatus, the method comprising: forming, on a substrate (100), an organic insulating layer (117; [0113]) comprising a first opening, a second opening, and a third opening (see at least fig. 7); respectively forming a first pixel electrode (221) and a second pixel electrode (221) in the first opening and the second opening of the organic insulating layer (see fig. 7); forming, on the organic insulating layer (117), a pixel-defining film (119) protruding toward the third opening beyond the organic insulating layer (see at least figs. 7-9); respectively forming a first intermediate layer (222) and a second intermediate layer (222) on the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode (see at least figs. 7-9); and locating a counter electrode (223) on the first intermediate layer and the second intermediate layer (see at least figs. 7-9).
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 7-9) the pixel-defining film (119) is provided in an undercut shape in the third opening (TA) of the organic insulating layer.
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 7-9) the pixel-defining film (119) comprises openings overlapping at least parts of the first opening, the second opening, and the third opening of the organic insulating layer (117).
Regarding claim 13, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 7-9) forming a dummy intermediate layer (222 is formed in the TA region) in the third opening of the organic insulating layer (117).
Regarding claim 14, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 7-9) a first organic light-emitting diode (OLED; see at least fig. 7) comprises the first pixel electrode (221), the first intermediate layer (222), and the counter electrode (223), and a second organic light-emitting diode (OLED) comprises the second pixel electrode (221), the second intermediate layer (222), and the counter electrode (223).
Regarding claim 20, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 7-9) by locating an intermediate layer (222) forming material on the substrate (100), the first intermediate layer (222) located on the first pixel electrode (221), the second intermediate layer (222) located on the second pixel electrode (221), and the dummy intermediate layer (i.e. the TA region) located in the third opening (see fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0249492 A1~hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claim 15, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 7-9) locating an organic insulating layer (117) forming material on the substrate (100); locating a first photoresist on at least a part of the organic insulating layer (117) forming material; forming the organic insulating layer (117) comprising the first opening, the second opening, and the third opening (see at least figs. 7-9).
Choi does not expressly disclose the openings are created by etching a portion of the organic insulating layer forming material on which the first photoresist is not located; and removing the first photoresist.
However, it is well-known in the art to using etching process in display device as evident by Kanaya (US. Pub: 2018/0151834 A1) at least fig. 9, paragraph ([0086]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider using the etching method of Kanaya to remove a portion of the organic insulating layer forming material on which the first photoresist is not located; and removing the first photoresist of Choi in order to form the openings.
Regarding claim 16, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 7-9) locating a pixel electrode (221) forming material on the organic insulating layer (117); and forming the first pixel electrode (221) and the second pixel electrode (221), by planarizing the pixel electrode forming material such that a top surface of the pixel electrode forming material and a top surface of the organic insulating layer (117).
Choi does not expressly disclose the top surface of the pixel electrode and a top surface of the organic insulating layer are located on a same plane.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the display device of Choi such that a top surface of the pixel electrode forming material and a top surface of the organic insulating layer are located on a same plane, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 17, Choi discloses (in at least figs. 7-9) locating a pixel-defining film (119) forming material on the organic insulating layer (117); forming the pixel-defining film (119) comprising the openings (see figs. 7-9) overlapping at least parts of the first opening and the second opening.
Choi does not expressly disclose locating a second photoresist on at least a part of the pixel-defining film forming material, by etching a portion of the pixel-defining film forming material on which the second photoresist is not located; and removing the second photoresist. See the reasoning of claim 15.
Regarding claim 18, Choi does not expressly disclose locating a third photoresist on at least a part of the pixel-defining film; and forming an opening overlapping at least a part of the third opening in the pixel-defining film by etching a portion of the pixel-defining film on which the third photoresist is not located. See the reasoning of claim 15 above.
Regarding claim 19, Choi as modified by Kanaya discloses (in at least figs. 7-9) etching and removing the pixel electrode forming material located in the third opening of the organic insulating layer.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875