DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Embodiment I, Figs. 1-2B, claims 1-11, in the reply filed on February 11, 2026 is acknowledged. However, Examiner notes that claim 5 does not belong with the elected species. Claim 5 belongs with non-elected Species 4, which has first and second silicon grains. Therefore, Claims 5 and 12-20 have been withdrawn. Action on the merits is as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (US 2017/0200724 A1 now US 9,704,872 B1).
In regards to claim 1, Huang (Fig. 2G and associated text) discloses a semiconductor memory device (item 200, Fig. 2G) comprising: a device isolation part (item 240) on a substrate (item 210), the device isolation part (item 240) defining a first active portion (item 222) and a second active portion (item 224), a center portion of the first active portion (item 222) adjacent in a first direction to an edge portion of the second active portion (item 224 [not shown if Figures, but implicitly disclosed since Huang discloses DRAM with buried word line architecture); a first impurity region (item 222) in the center portion of the first active portion; a second impurity region (item 224) in the edge portion of the second active portion; a first bit line (item 250) in direct contact with the first impurity region (item 222) and crossing the substrate (item 210) in a second direction, the second direction intersecting the first direction; and a storage node contact (item 272) in contact with the second impurity region (item 224), wherein an upper end of the first impurity region (item 222) is higher than an upper end of the second impurity region (item 224), and wherein an upper sidewall (upper inner sidewall) of the storage node contact (item 272) is not vertically aligned with a lower sidewall (lower inner sidewall) of the storage node contact (item 272), the upper sidewall (upper inner sidewall) and the lower sidewall (lower inner sidewall) both on a common side of the storage node contact (item 272).
In regards to claim 2, Huang (Fig. 2G and associated text) discloses further comprising: a second bit line (item 250 on the right) extending in the second direction and spaced apart from the first bit line (item 250 on the left) in the first direction, the storage node contact (item 272) interposed between the second bit line (item 250 on the right) and the first bit line (item 250 on the left); and a bit line spacer (item 252) interposed between the second bit line (item 250 on the right) and the storage node contact (item 272), wherein a lower portion of the storage node contact (item 272) is below the bit line spacer (item 252).
In regards to claim 3, Huang (Fig. 2G and associated text) discloses further comprising an interlayer insulating layer (item 262) interposed between the second bit line (item 250 on the right) and the device isolation part (item 240), wherein an upper portion of the interlayer insulating layer (items 258 plus 264) has a first width (width of item 258 plus 264), and wherein a lower portion of the interlayer insulating layer (items 262) has a second width smaller (width of item 262) than the first width (width of item 258 plus 264).
In regards to claim 10, Huang (Fig. 2G and associated text) discloses further comprising a bit line spacer (items 264 plus 258 plus 254) interposed between the first bit line (item 250 on the left) and the storage node contact (item 272), wherein the bit line spacer (items 264 plus 258 plus 254) includes first, second, and third sub-spacers (items 264, 258 and 254) sequentially on sidewalls of the first bit line (item 250 on the left), wherein lower portions of the first and second sub-spacers (item 268 and 258) extend across a lower surface of the third sub-spacer (item 254).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2017/0200724 A1 now US 9,704,872 B1) in view of Kim et al. (Kim) (US 2022/0173107 A1 now US 11,631,677 B2).
In regards to claim 4, Huang does not specifically disclose wherein the common side of the storage node contact has an inflection point between the upper sidewall and the lower sidewall.
Kim (Fig. 1B and associated text) discloses wherein the common side of the storage node contact (item BC) has an inflection point (item PT1) between the upper sidewall (upper inner sidewall of item BC) and the lower sidewall (lower inner sidewall of item BC).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a common side of the storage node contact having an inflection point between the upper sidewall and the lower sidewall, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
In regards to claim 6, Kim (Figs. 1A, 1B and associated text) discloses wherein the device isolation part (item 302) is interposed between the first impurity region (item 312a) and the second impurity region (item 312b), and wherein the semiconductor memory device (Figs. 1A, 1B) further comprises a separation spacer (items 341 plus 22 plus 321, item SP) interposed between an upper sidewall of the device isolation part (item 302) and a lower portion of the storage node contact (item BC).
In regards to claim 7, Kim (Figs. 1A, 1B and associated text) discloses wherein the separation spacer (items 341 plus 22 plus 321) includes: a first separation spacer (items 341 or 321) in contact with an upper sidewall of the device isolation part (item 302); and a second separation spacer (items 321 or 22) interposed between the first separation spacer (items 341 or 321) and a lower portion of the storage node contact (item BC), wherein the second separation spacer (items 321 or 22) includes a material different from a material of the first separation spacer (items 341 or 321, paragraphs 52, 53, 59).
In regards to claim 8, Kim (Figs. 1A, 1B and associated text) discloses wherein a lower portion (lower portion of item BC) of the storage node (item BC) contact has a first width (width of lower portion of item BC) in the first direction, and wherein an upper portion (upper portion of item BC) of the storage node contact (item BC) has a second width (width of upper portion of item BC) greater than the first width (width of lower portion of item BC) in the first direction.
In regards to claim 9, Kim (Figs. 1A, 1B and associated text) discloses a contact metal pattern (diffusion prevention pattern, not shown, paragraph 61) on the storage node contact (item BC); an ohmic pattern (mentioned, but not shown, paragraph 61) between the contact metal pattern (diffusion prevention pattern, not shown, paragraph 61) and the storage node contact (item BC); and a landing pad (item LP) on the contact metal pattern (diffusion prevention pattern, not shown, paragraph 61), wherein the lower sidewall of the storage node contact (item BC) is not vertically aligned with a sidewall of the ohmic pattern (mentioned, but not shown, paragraph 61).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Kim for the purpose of protection, isolation, an electrical connection and a memory device with improved reliability (paragraph 4).
In regards to claim 11, Huang (Fig. 2G and associated text) as modified by Kim (Figs. 1A, 1B and associated text) discloses further comprising: a second bit line (item 250 on the right, Huang) spaced apart from the first bit line (item 250 on the left, Huang) in the first direction, the storage node contact (item 272, Huang) interposed between the second bit line (item 250 on the right, Huang) and the first bit line (item 250 on the left, Huang); an interlayer insulating layer (item 262, Huang, items 22 or 321, Kim) interposed between the second bit line (item 250 on the right, Huang) and the device isolation part (item 240, Huang); and a separation spacer (items 341, 22 , 321, 341 plus 321 or 341 plus 22 plus 321, Kim) interposed between an upper sidewall of the device isolation part (item 240, Huang, item 302, Kim) and a lower portion of the storage node contact (item 272, Huang, item BC, Kim), wherein a lower surface of the separation spacer (items 341, 22 , 321, 341 plus 321 or 341 plus 22 plus 321, Kim) has a first level, and wherein a lower surface of the interlayer insulating layer (item 262, Huang, items 22 or 321, Kim) has a second level equal to or lower than the first level.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See All references listed in 892. Examiner suggests that the Applicant perfect their foreign priority as there are some references commonly assigned listed in the 892 and the provided IDS’s.
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 February 22, 2026