CTNF 18/504,309 CTNF 74556 DETAILED ACTION Election/Restrictions 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species 1a, 2b, and 3c in the reply filed on 4/20/26 is acknowledged. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being clearly anticipated by Cook et al., US 2020/0321302 . Regarding claim 1, Cook (figure 12B) teaches a substrate arrangement, comprising: a first metallization layer 1338; a plurality of nanowires 1328/1330/1334 arranged on a surface of the first metallization layer 1338; and at least one component 1302/1304 arranged on the first metallization layer 1338 such that a first subset 1328/1334 of the plurality of nanowires 1328/1330/1334 is arranged between the first metallization layer 1338 and the at least one component 1302/1304, wherein the plurality of nanowires 1328/1330/1334 is evenly distributed over a section of the surface area or over the entire surface area of the first metallization layer 1338, wherein each of the plurality of nanowires 1328/1330/1334 comprises a first end (bottom) and a second end (top), wherein the first end (bottom) of each of the plurality nanowires 1328/1330/1334 is inseparably connected to the surface of the first metallization layer 1338, wherein the second end (top) of each nanowire 1328/1334 of the first subset is inseparably connected to a surface of one of the at least one component 1302/1304 such that the first subset of nanowires 1328/1334 forms a permanent connection between the first metallization layer 1338 and the at least one component 1302/1304, wherein the at least one component 1302/1304 comprises at least one semiconductor body (die 1302/1304), wherein the number of nanowires 1328/1330/1334 comprised in the first subset of nanowires 1328/1334 is less than the number of nanowires 1328/1330/1334 comprised in the plurality of nanowires 1328/1330/1334. With respect to claim 2, Cook (figure 12B) teaches the section of the surface area of the first metallization layer 1338 covered by the plurality of nanowires 1334 is between 60% and 100% of the entire surface area of the first metallization layer 1338. As to claim 3, Cook (figure 12A) teaches the first metallization layer 1338 is attached to a first side of the dielectric insulation layer 1340. In re claim 4, further comprising: a second metallization layer 1342 attached to a second side of the dielectric insulation layer 1340 opposite the first side; and a second plurality of nanowires 1346/1348 arranged on a surface of the second metallization layer 1342 that faces away from the dielectric insulation layer 1340, wherein the second plurality of nanowires 1346/1348 is evenly distributed over the entire surface of the second metallization layer 1342, wherein each of the second plurality of nanowires 1346/1348 comprises a first end (top of 1346/1348) and a second end (bottom of 1346/1348), wherein the first end (top of 1346/1348) of each of the second plurality nanowires 1346/1348 is inseparably connected to the surface of the second metallization layer 1342. Concerning claim 6, Cook (paragraph 0032) teaches each of the plurality of nanowires has a diameter of between 500nm and 1200nm (0.5-1.5 microns equals 500-1500 nm). Pertaining to claim 8, Cook (paragraph 0025) teaches the first metallization layer comprises copper, a copper alloy, aluminum, or an aluminum alloy. In claim 9, Cook (paragraph 0025) teaches the plurality of nanowires comprises carbon, cobalt, copper, silicon, or gold. As to claim 10, Cook (figure 12A) teaches an encapsulant 1300 directly adjoining the second ends (top of 1330) of a second subset 1330 of the plurality of nanowires 1328/1330/1334 and filling any gaps and spaces between the nanowires 1330 of the second subset 1330 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook et al., US 2020/0321302, as applied to claim 1 above . Regarding claim 5, Cook (figure 12A) fails to teach the first metallization layer is a structured layer comprising two or more separate sections and recesses between different sections of the first metallization layer. Cook (figure 6) teaches the first metallization layer 702 is a structured layer comprising two or more separate sections 702 and recesses between different sections 702 of the first metallization layer 702. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the structured first metallization layer of Cook (figure 6) in the invention of Cook (figure 12A) because Cook (figure 6) teaches it is a known equivalent configuration. The substitution of one known equivalent technique for another may be obvious even if the prior art does not expressly suggest the substitution (Ex parte Novak 16 USPQ 2d 2041 (BPAI 1989); In re Mostovych 144 USPQ 38 (CCPA 1964); In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Graver Tank & Manufacturing Co. V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950). With respect to claim 7, though Cook, which teaches a nanowire in the set of nanowires has a length of at least 2 microns (paragraph 0032), fails to teach all of the plurality of nanowires have an equal length between their first end and their second end of between 10um and 70um, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the length through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art teach similar inventions . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID A ZARNEKE whose telephone number is (571)272-1937. The examiner can normally be reached M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matt Landau can be reached at 571-272-1731. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DAVID A ZARNEKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 6/16/26 Application/Control Number: 18/504,309 Page 2 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/504,309 Page 3 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/504,309 Page 4 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/504,309 Page 5 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/504,309 Page 6 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/504,309 Page 7 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 18/504,309 Page 8 Art Unit: 2891