DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 4/8/2026. Claims 1 – 20 are pending. Claims 1, 17, and 20 were amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on pages 7-8, citing paragraphs [0057], [0061] of US 2019/0027907 (Li), that:
There is no mention of a relief mastic in Li. Stress control glue 210 is not same as first relief mastic as stress control glue is applied to the whole exposed semi-conductive shield layer 203 of the electric power cable 200 and extends from the semi-conductive shield layer 203 to at least part of exposed insulation layer 202. That is, there is no recitation of an active step of applying stress control glue 210 over an inclined surface 203a (that the examiner equated to chamfer). Therefore, Li does not teach or suggest: (a) disposing a first relief mastic on a chamfer formed in the cable semiconductor layer where the semiconductor layer and insulation layer meet.
The applicant identifies “stress control glue 210” in the arguments, however, the stress control glue corresponds to element 110 in Li.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. While Li does not explicitly use the word “mastic”, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably interpret a stress control glue as equivalent to a mastic. Support for this position may be found in CN 105337241 and US 2018/0076609.
For example, US 2019/0027907 (Li) claims priority to CN 105337241. While primary reference Li uses the term “stress control glue 110” the machine translation of parent CN 105337241 identifies elements 110 of Figs. 1-2 and 4 as a “stress control mastic 110”.
Further, Figs. 1, 2, and 4 of primary reference Li are substantially identical to Figs. 7-9, respectively, of US 2018/0076609 by the same assignee with 4 common inventors. What primary reference Li identifies as “stress control glue 110” in Fig. 4, reference US 2018/0076609 identifies as “composite void filling mastic 300” in Fig. 9.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably interpret the stress control glue 110 of Li as equivalent to a mastic. The difference in terminology appears to be due to a machine translation.
Mastics are well-known in the art for stress control and suitable for use as sealants. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form sealing glue 120 of Li as a stress control mastic as outlined in the rejection below. Further support is provided below:
US 4,431,861 teaches at col. 6, line 67 – col. 7, line 5, “Layers having stress grading electrical characteristics may comprise a base of, for example, a polymeric material, mastic, paint or varnish, admixed with a compound having stress grading electrical properties provided that the layer does not interfere in any substantial way with recovery of the outer sleeve from its heat-unstable to its heat-stable configuration.” And at col. 9, lines 50-60 “Of suitable sealants there may be mentioned hot melt adhesives, mastics and thermosetting adhesives.”
US 2017/0373484 teaches in [0042] and in Fig. 6 wherein “a high dielectric constant mastic seal 182 for reducing electric stress and to fill any air voids present along the cable, a high dielectric constant stress control tube 184 to grade the electrical stress,” are arranged wherein an insulating tube 108 meets insulator 150.
US 4,378,463 teaches in col. 2, lines 34-39, “The compositions of the present invention act as adhesives, mastics and sealants to provide stress relief in high voltage (greater than 1 KV, usually greater than 10 KV) terminations and joints and in other situations where electrical apparatus may be subjected to high voltage stress.”
US 4,551, 915 teaches in Fig. 1 wherein a mastic 36 is arranged wherein insulating material 42 (i.e. tubing) meets the cable insulation 20.
US 5,735,981 teaches in Fig. 3 wherein mastic 30 is formed wherein semiconductive screen 6 meets insulating layer 8, and mastic 28 is formed where sleeve 20 meets insulating layer 8.
Therefore, the examiner maintains the rejection over US 2019/0027907 (Li) as the “stress control glue 110” is equivalent, or at the very least an obvious equivalent, and wherein it would be obvious to modify the sealant 120 with a stress control mastic which provides stress control and seals again water. Therefore, claims 1-20 are rejected as outlined below.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 4 of claim 20 should be correct as follows: “cable is prepared by”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-9, 12, 13, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0027907 (Li) in view of US 4,551,915 (Larsson) and US 4,431,861 (Clabburn).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a method comprising:
preparing a first end of a cable using stress control tubing and stress relief mastic (a first end of cable 201 is prepared as shown in Fig. 3, 3a, and 4 using stress control glue/mastic 110 and insulating body cold shrinking terminal 100; see Figs. 3, 3a, 4; NOTE: while primary reference US 2019/0027907 (Li) recites a “stress control glue 110” at [0041], Li claims priority to CN 105337241 whose machine translation recites a “stress control mastic 110”. Therefore, it is understood by the examiner that a stress control glue is equivalent to a stress control mastic.), wherein preparing the first end of the cable comprises:
removing a cable jacket, a cable semiconductor layer, and a cable insulation layer for the first end of the cable exposing a first portion of the cable insulation layer and a second portion of a conductor at the first end of the cable (a preparation step comprises removing a portion of the outer protection layer 205, semiconductor layer 203, an insulation layer 202 to expose a portion of the insulation layer 202 and the conductor 201; see [0039]; see Fig. 3),
forming a chamfer in the cable semiconductor layer where the cable semiconductor layer and the cable insulation layer meet (an inclined surface 203a is formed which is equivalent to a chamfer as claimed; see Fig. 3, 3a; see [0057], [0061]),
disposing a first relief mastic on the chamfer where the cable semiconductor layer and the cable insulation layer meet (a stress control glue/mastic 110 is formed wherein the inclined surface 203a of semiconductor 203 meets the insulation layer 202; see [0057], [0061]; Fig. 4. Note: while Li does not explicitly use the word “mastic” this appears to be due to a machine translation as parent CN 105337241 identifies elements 110 of Figs. 1-2 and 4 as a “stress control mastic 110”.), and
placing a first stress control tubing over the relief mastic and continue over the exposed cable insulation layer connecting the first end of the cable directly to a high voltage supply (insulating body cold shrinking tube 100 may be broadly interpreted as a stress controlling tube and is formed over the stress control glue/mastic 110 and insulation layer 202; see Fig. 4);
disposing a sealing glue wherein the first stress control tubing and the cable insulation layer meet (a sealing glue 120 is formed wherein the shrinking tube 100 meets the insulation layer 202; see Fig. 5).
Li fails to teach testing the cable, and disposing a second relief mastic wherein the first stress control tubing and the cable insulation layer meet.
Larsson teaches testing the cable (the terminated cable 10 was subjected to AC discharge and impulse tests; see col. 1, lines 44-col. 2, line 11; col. 4, line 67 – col. 5, line 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of testing the cable as taught in Larsson into Li in order to gain the advantage of testing the high-voltage alternating-current cable termination under the IEEE standard test procedure Std. 48-1975 to obtain information on the performance of a high-voltage cable termination.
Clabburn teaches disposing a second relief mastic wherein the first stress control tubing and the cable insulation layer meet (Clabburn teaches at col. 6, line 67 – col. 7, line 5, “Layers having stress grading electrical characteristics may comprise a base of, for example, a polymeric material, mastic, paint or varnish, admixed with a compound having stress grading electrical properties provided that the layer does not interfere in any substantial way with recovery of the outer sleeve from its heat-unstable to its heat-stable configuration.” And at col. 9, lines 50-60 “Of suitable sealants there may be mentioned hot melt adhesives, mastics and thermosetting adhesives.” Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form sealing glue 120 of Li with a mastic which is known as a suitable sealing glue and as a stress grading material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of a sealant formed as a stress relief mastic as taught in Clabburn in place of the sealant glue 120 of Li in order to gain the advantage of a mastic which is a suitable sealant against moisture while also providing stress grading in high voltage materials.
Regarding claim 2, Li fails to teach wherein preparing the first end of a cable further comprises using insulating tubing. While Li teaches an insulation layer 202 which may broadly be interpreted as a stress control tubing, Li fails to teach a stress control tubing an insulating tubing as require by claim 2.
Larsson teaches wherein preparing the first end of a cable further comprises using insulating tubing (insulating layer 42 in addition to layer 30 of semi-conductive stress control material; see Figs. 1 and 2; see col. 3, line 59-63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features as taught in Larsson into Li in order to gain the advantage of a stress control material positioned at a point of highest electrical stress using a semiconductive stress grading material with an insulating layer formed over the entire assembly body using heat shrinkable tube to insulate the high-voltage cable.
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches wherein connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply comprises connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply without using a joint (connection terminal 400 would reasonably be used to connect to a high-voltage supply without a joint; See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Li fails to teach wherein connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply comprises connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply without using a permanent termination.
Larsson teaches wherein connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply comprises connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply without using a permanent termination (connector 24 is a crimped connectors and would not reasonably be interpreted as a permanent termination in view of a broadest reasonable interpretation; see col. 3, lines 24-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Larsson into Li in order to gain the advantage of connecting a high-voltage cable to a power supply for testing without the need of a permanent termination to make the connection.
Regarding claims 9 and 16, the combination of Li and Larsson fails to explicitly teach further comprising removing the first end from the cable after testing the cable; and further comprising removing the second end from the cable after testing the cable, however, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and a matter of common sense to remove a first end or second end from a cable after testing the cable if desired, e.g. in order to provide the cable with a different connector, without requiring any undue experimentation or providing any new or unexpected result.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, the combination of Li and Larsson fails to explicitly teach further comprising: preparing a second end of the cable using stress control tubing and stress relief mastic; and electrically isolating the second end of the cable; and wherein preparing the second end of the cable further comprises using insulating tubing, however, the limitations amount to a mere duplication of what is taught for the first end of the cable in claims 1 and 2. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use stress control tubing and stress relief mastic on both ends of the cable and isolating the second end of the cable such that both ends of the cable are protected from electric stress at the ends of the shield and allowing the cable to be isolated from ground during a high-voltage test.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Li and Larsson fails to teach wherein electrically isolating the second end of the cable comprises electrically isolating the second end of the cable without using a joint, however, the limitations as claimed amounts to mere duplication of the features by preparing the second end of the cable according to the same preparation taught in claims 1 and 7 for the first end of the cable.
Claim(s) 3-4, 6, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0027907 (Li) in view of US 4,551,915 (Larsson), US 4,431,861 (Clabburn), and in further view of US 2024/0068802 (Doedens).
Regarding claims 3-4 and 6, Li fails to teach wherein the high voltage supply provides a Direct Current (DC) voltage; and wherein testing the cable comprises performing a High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) withstand test; wherein the cable comprises a High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) cable.
Doedens teaches wherein the high voltage supply provides a Direct Current (DC) voltage; and wherein testing the cable comprises performing a High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) withstand test; Regarding claim 6. The method of claim 1, wherein the cable comprises a High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) cable (high voltage cables may be used in AC and DC applications wherein the insulation quality is determined by AC or DC withstand tests, wherein one of ordinary skill in the art understand a DC withstand test of a high voltage cable requires a high voltage DC supply; see [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Doedens into Li in order to gain the advantage of performing a DC withstand test for high voltage cables.
Regarding claims 17 and 20, Li teaches a method and apparatus (a method for forming the cable of Fig. 4) comprising:
preparing a first end of a cable using stress control tubing and stress relief mastic, wherein the cable comprises a High Voltage cable (a first end of cable 201 is prepared as shown in Fig. 3, 3a, and 4 using stress control glue/mastic 110 and insulating body cold shrinking terminal 100; see Figs. 3, 3a, 4; NOTE: while US 2019/0027907 recites a “stress control glue 110” at [0041], the reference claims priority to CN 105337241 whose machine translation recites to “stress control mastic 110”. Therefore, it is understood by the examiner that a stress control glue is equivalent to a stress control mastic.);
removing a cable jacket, a cable semiconductor layer, and a cable insulation layer for the first end of the cable exposing a first portion of the cable insulation layer and a second portion of a conductor at the first end of the cable (a preparation step comprises removing a portion of the outer protection layer 205, semiconductor layer 203, an insulation layer 202 to expose a portion of the insulation layer 202 and the conductor 201; see [0039]; see Fig. 3),
forming a chamfer in the cable semiconductor layer where the cable semiconductor layer and the cable insulation layer meet (an inclined surface 203a is formed which is equivalent to a chamfer as claimed; see Fig. 3, 3a; see [0057], [0061]),
disposing a first relief mastic on the chamfer where the cable semiconductor layer and the cable insulation layer meet (a stress control glue/mastic 110 is formed wherein the inclined surface 203a of semiconductor 203 meets the insulation layer 202; see [0057], [0061]; Fig. 4), and
placing a first stress control tubing over the relief mastic and continue over the exposed cable insulation layer connecting the first end of the cable directly to a high voltage supply (insulating body cold shrinking terminal 100 may be broadly interpreted as a stress controlling tube and is formed over the stress control glue/mastic 110 and insulation layer 202; see Fig. 4).
Li fails to teach wherein the cable comprises a High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) cable; wherein the high voltage supply provides a Direct Current (DC) voltage; wherein the cable comprises connecting the first end of the cable directly to a high voltage supply wherein connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply comprises connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply without using a joint; and testing the cable; and disposing a second relief mastic wherein the first stress control tubing and the cable insulation layer meet.
Doedens teaches wherein the cable comprises a High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) cable; wherein the high voltage supply provides a Direct Current (DC) voltage (high voltage cables may be used in AC and DC applications wherein the insulation quality is determined by AC or DC withstand tests, wherein one of ordinary skill in the art understand a DC withstand test of a high voltage cable requires a high voltage DC supply; see [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Doedens into Li in order to gain the advantage of performing a DC withstand test for high voltage cables.
Larsson teaches connecting the first end of the cable directly to a high voltage supply wherein connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply comprises connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply without using a joint (the terminated cable 10 was subjected to AC discharge and impulse tests of different voltages, and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand such tests would require connecting the cable to the test components via connector 24 without a joint; see Figs. 1, 2; see col. 3, lines 24-29; col. 4, line 6 – col. 5, line 25); and
testing the cable (the terminated cable 10 was subjected to AC discharge and impulse tests; see col. 4, line 67 – col. 5, line 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Larsson into Li in order to gain the advantage of testing the high-voltage alternating-current cable termination under the IEEE standard test procedure Std. 48-1975 to obtain information on the performance of a high-voltage cable termination.
Clabburn teaches disposing a second relief mastic wherein the first stress control tubing and the cable insulation layer meet (Clabburn teaches at col. 6, line 67 – col. 7, line 5, “Layers having stress grading electrical characteristics may comprise a base of, for example, a polymeric material, mastic, paint or varnish, admixed with a compound having stress grading electrical properties provided that the layer does not interfere in any substantial way with recovery of the outer sleeve from its heat-unstable to its heat-stable configuration.” And at col. 9, lines 50-60 “Of suitable sealants there may be mentioned hot melt adhesives, mastics and thermosetting adhesives.” Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form sealing glue 120 of Li with a mastic which is known as a suitable sealing glue and as a stress grading material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of a sealant formed as a stress relief mastic as taught in Clabburn in place of the sealant glue 120 of Li in order to gain the advantage of a mastic which is a suitable sealant against moisture while also providing stress grading in high voltage materials.
Regarding claim 18, Li fails to teach wherein connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply comprises connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply without using a permanent termination.
Larsson teaches wherein connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply comprises connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply without using a permanent termination (connector 24 is a crimped connectors and would not reasonably be interpreted as a permanent termination in view of a broadest reasonable interpretation; see col. 3, lines 24-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Larsson into Li in order to gain the advantage of connecting a high-voltage cable to a power supply for testing without the need of a permanent termination to make the connection.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0027907 (Li) in view of US 4,551,915 (Larsson) and US 4,431,861 (Clabburn), and in further view of US 3,430,137 (Eager).
Regarding claim 5, Larsson fails to teach wherein the cable is disposed on a reel.
Eager teaches wherein the cable is disposed on a reel (power cables are usually tested on a reel 10; see Fig. 1; see col. 2, lines 38-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Eager into Larsson in order to gain the advantage of performing a test for high voltage cables provided on a reel as is known in the art as the cables are commonly provided on a reel after manufacturing.
Claim(s) 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0027907 (Li) in view of US 4,551,915 (Larsson) and US 4,431,861 (Clabburn), and in further view of US 5,854,556 (Steennis).
Regarding claim 10, Li fails to teach wherein connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply comprises suspending the first end of the cable from a first insulator.
Steennis teaches wherein connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply comprises suspending the first end of the cable from a first insulator (high-voltage lines are suspended by means of insulators 37; see Fig. 4; see col. 5, lines 17-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Steennis into Li in order to gain the advantage of performing a test for high voltage cables which are suspended at the ends by insulators such that the high-voltage line is insulated from ground in a manner known in the art.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Li, Larsson, and Steennis fails to teach wherein electrically isolating the second end of the cable comprises suspending the second end of the cable from a second insulator, however, the limitation as claimed amounts to duplicating the features of claim 10 for a second end of the cable.
Claim(s) 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0027907 (Li) in view of US 4,551,915 (Larsson), US 4,431,861 (Clabburn), and US 5,854,556 (Steennis), and in further view of US 3,430,137 (Eager).
Regarding claim 11, Larsson fails to teach wherein connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply comprises electrically connecting a conductor at the first end of the cable to the high voltage supply via a jumper.
Eager teaches wherein connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply comprises electrically connecting a conductor at the first end of the cable to the high voltage supply via a jumper (cable 12 is connected to high voltage power supply 26 via lead 15 which may reasonably be interpreted as equivalent to a jumper; see Fig. 1; see col. 2, lines 38-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Eager into Larsson in order to gain the advantage of performing a test for high voltage cables wherein the high voltage is supplied from the high voltage supply to the cable by means of a lead wire.
Regarding claim 19 Li fails to teach wherein connecting the first end of the cable directly to the high voltage supply comprises: suspending the first end of the cable from a first insulator; and electrically connecting a conductor at the first end of the cable to the high voltage supply via a jumper, however, the claim is rejected in an equivalent manner as claims 10 and 11 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN L YENINAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858