Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-14 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Tanaka (Pub. No.: US 2010/0013049).
Re claim 1, Tanaka, FIGS. 7 and 11 [as shown above] teaches a method of forming a microelectronic device, the method comprising:
forming stair step structures (of FIG. 6) in a first deck structure (ML21);
forming a liner material (31) over steps of the stair step structures;
forming an interdeck region ([ID], FIG. 11 [as shown above]) vertically over the first deck structure (ML21), the stair step structures (of FIG. 6), and the liner material (31);
forming a second deck structure [SD] vertically over the interdeck region [ID];
forming additional stair step structures in the second deck structure (stairsteps of FIG. 10) and horizontally offset (to the right) from the stair step structures of the first deck structure (M21);
forming openings in the second deck structure ([VWU0-3/VW4-VW7] of FIG. 11) and within horizontal boundaries of the stair step structures of the first deck structure (M21);
forming an additional liner material [AL] over additional steps of the additional stair step structures and within the openings (VW4-VW7) in the second deck structure [SD], the additional liner material [AL] completely vertically offset from the liner material (31) by a vertical span of the interdeck region;
removing portions of the additional liner material (to form VW4-VW7 of FIG. 11) at lower vertical boundaries of the openings; and
forming electrically conductive contact structures (CW0-CW7 of FIG. 14) in contact with the steps of the stair step structures of the first deck structure (ML21) and the additional steps of the additional stair step structures.
Re claim 2, Tanaka, FIG. 23 [as shown above] teaches the method of claim 1, wherein forming an additional liner material comprises forming the additional liner material (material of 14 & 33, [0052 & [0081]) to comprise substantially the same material composition as the liner material (material of 31 as a SiN, [0078]).
Re claim 3, Tanaka, FIG. 16 teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising removing at least a portion (lower opening formed between 14) of vertically extending portions of the additional liner material [AL] extending through the openings (VWU0-VWU3/VW4-VW7).
Re claim 4, Tanaka, FIG. 7 teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising removing portions (by VW7 of FIG. 11) of the interdeck region [ID] within horizontal boundaries of the openings (lower opening formed between 14) after removing laterally (upper opening formed between 33) extending portions of the additional liner material [AL].
Re claim 5, Tanaka, FIG. 11 [as shown above] teaches the method of claim 1, wherein forming an additional liner material comprises forming the additional liner material to comprise silicon nitride (material of 14 & 33, [0052 & [0081]).
Re claim 6, Tanaka, FIG. 11 teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising forming a mask material (34) over the additional stair step structures prior to removing laterally extending portions of the additional liner material [AL] from the openings.
Re claim 7, Tanaka, FIG. 11 [as shown above] teaches the method of claim 1, wherein forming an additional liner material (33/31) comprises forming the additional liner material to be vertically offset from the liner material [LM].
Re claim 9, Tanaka, FIGS. 7 and 11 [as shown above] teaches a method of forming a microelectronic device, the method comprising:
conformally forming a first oxide liner material ([FOLM]/14, FIG. 7 [as shown above], [0092]) on steps of stadium structures in a first deck structure (ML21);
conformally forming a first nitride liner material (31, [0078]) on steps the first oxide liner material [FOLM];
forming a second deck structure [SD] over the first deck structure (ML21); the first oxide liner material [FOLM], and first nitride liner material (31);
conformally forming a second oxide liner material ([SONM]/14, FIG. 11 [as shown above], [0092]) on:
additional steps of additional stadium structures in the second deck structure [SD]; and
surfaces of openings ([VWL0-VWL3/VW4-VW7], FIG. 7) within the second deck structure vertically overlying and within horizontal areas (of FIG. 7) of the stadium structures of the first deck structure;
conformally forming a second nitride liner material (33, [0081]) on the second oxide liner material ([SOLM]/14); and
removing laterally extending portions of the second nitride liner material (33) within the openings (VWU0-VWU3/VW4-VW7) in the second deck structure [SD].
Re claim 10, Tanaka, FIG. 11 teaches the method of claim 9, wherein removing laterally extending portions of the second nitride liner material (material of 14 & 33, [0052 & [0081]) within the openings in the second deck structure comprises uncovering regions of an interdeck region [ID] between the first deck structure (ML21) and the second deck structure [SD].
Re claim 11, Tanaka, FIG. 11 teaches the method of claim 9, wherein removing laterally extending portions of the second nitride liner material (material of 14 & 33, [0052 & [0081]) within the openings in the second deck structure [SD] comprises exposing portions of a dielectric material (34) within the stadium structures of the first deck structure (ML21).
Re claim 12, Tanaka, FIG. 11 [as shown above] teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising forming a dielectric material over portions of the first nitride liner material (31) within additional openings defined by the stadium structures of the first deck structure (ML21) prior to forming the second deck structure [SD].
Re claim 13, Tanaka, FIG. 11 [as shown above] teaches the method of claim 9, wherein forming a second nitride liner material comprises forming the second nitride liner material (33, [0081]) to comprise one or more of silicon nitride, an oxynitride, carbon doped silicon nitride, silicon carbon nitride, carbon doped silicon oxynitride, polysilicon, aluminum oxide, hafnium oxide, zirconium oxide, magnesium oxide, calcium oxide, cerium oxide, titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, and tungsten nitride.
Re claim 14, Tanaka, FIG. 11 [as shown above] teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising forming a dielectric material (41+a portion of 33 formed on top of 41, FIG. 17 [0083]) within the openings after removing the laterally extending portions of the second nitride liner material (33).
Re claim 21, Tanaka, FIG. 7 [as shown above] teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising conformally forming a further liner material [FOLM] on exposed surfaces of the liner material (31) prior to forming the interdeck region [ID].
Re claim 22, Tanaka, FIG. 11 [as shown above] teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising forming an interdeck structure ([ID] of FIG. 10) prior to forming the second deck structure (portion of M22 formed above [ID]), the interdeck structure [ID] comprising dielectric oxide material (oxide of the layer 14 formed within [ID]) in physical contact with upper surfaces of the first deck structure (M21), the first oxide liner material, and the first nitride liner material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15, 18-19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In the claim 15 that is written, the prior arts fail to show or fairly suggest the process steps of: “the additional stadium structures individually comprising additional staircase structures having additional steps including edges of some of the additional tiers of the additional deck structure; forming, in sequence, additional oxide liner material and additional nitride liner material within the openings and over the additional steps of the additional staircase structures of the additional stadium structures, the portions of the interdeck structure covered with the additional oxide liner material and the additional nitride liner material; and substantially removing the portions of the additional nitride liner material within the openings as well as portions of the additional oxide liner material on the portions of the interdeck structure to at least partially re-expose the portions of the interdeck structure, while substantially maintaining additional portions of the additional nitride liner material over the additional steps of the additional staircase structures of the additional stadium structures.” in context with the other limitation as stated in claim 15.
In the claim 20 that is written, the prior arts fail to show or fairly suggest the process steps of: “replacing the additional insulative material of the tiers of the deck structure and the additional tiers of the additional deck structure with conductive material; forming conductive contact structures within horizontal areas of the openings and the stadium structures after removing the portions of the additional nitride liner material, the conductive contact structures vertically extending completely through the additional deck structure and to at least some of the steps of the staircase structures of the stadium structures; and forming additional conductive contact structures within horizontal areas of the additional stadium structures after removing the portions of the additional nitride liner material, the additional conductive contact structures vertically extending to at least some of the additional steps of the additional staircase structures of the additional stadium structures” in context with the other limitation as stated in claim 20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that prior art failed to disclose the “interdeck structure”, pages 8-11.
The Examiner respectfully submits that interdeck means for example: “Interdeck Access Ladder: A safety device designed for navigating between different levels or decks of a structure, such as a ship or building” dictionary.com, therefore, the distinguished features [ID] of FIG. 11 as shown above read on the claim language.
In response to Applicant’s argument:
Claim 3 further recites "removing at least a portion of vertically extending portions of the additional liner material extending through the openings." The Office references FIG. 16 of Tanaka, asserting that it teaches such recitations; it does not. The "etching stopper film 33" of Tanaka - which is asserted to be the "additional liner" - shown in FIG. 16 does not have any portion of the "vertically extending portions" thereof removed. The "vertically extending portions" of the "etching stopper film 33" - or those portions extending in the Z-direction - are not "removed" at all. Instead, the only portions of the "etching stopper film 33" that are "removed" by the "openings (VWUO-VWU3/VW4-VW7)" are the laterally extending portions
(e.g., those extending in the X-direction). Removal of the laterally extending portions does not anticipate the recited "removing...vertically extending portions" as recited. Tanaka therefore fails to disclose the recitations of claim 3, precluding an anticipation rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. § 102.
Claim 4 further recites "removing portions of the interdeck region within horizontal boundaries of the openings after removing laterally extending portions of the additional liner material." Tanaka fails to disclose such "removing." The Office asserts that FIG. 7 supports the anticipation rejection, citing nothing more than FIG. 7, the claim language, and the "interdeck region [ID]" and the "additional liner material [AL]" definitions utilized by the Office. FIG. 7 of Tanaka, however, does not show any portion of the "interdeck region [ID]" or the "additional liner material [AL]" defined by the Office. Because the structures recited in claim 4 are not shown in FIG. 7 of Tanaka, FIG. 7 does not support an anticipation rejection of claim 4. Furthermore, reference to a figure of a structure does not disclose or describe the method or steps by which that structure was formed. Thus, FIG. 7 alone, without some description in Tanaka describing "removing portions of the interdeck region... after removing... portions of the additional liner material," fails to disclose the recitations of claim 4, precluding an anticipation rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. § 102.
Applicant also notes that with respect to at least claim 4, the term "after" does count contrary to the Office's assertion in the Advisory Action because the term "after" is a specific recitation in the claim. See, Advisory Action dated 9 September at p. 5 ("the steps of before and after does not count"). Tanaka fails to disclose the recitations of claim 4 and therefore fails to anticipate that claim.”
The Examiner respectfully submits that regarding claim 3, Tanaka, FIG. 16 teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising removing at least a portion (lower opening formed between 14) of vertically extending portions of the additional liner material [AL] extending through the openings (VWU0-VWU3/VW4-VW7); and claim 4, Tanaka, FIG. 7 teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising removing portions (by VW7 of FIG. 11) of the interdeck region [ID] within horizontal boundaries of the openings (lower opening formed between 14) after removing laterally (upper opening formed between 33) extending portions of the additional liner material [AL].
In response to Applicant’s argument:
“claim 9 does not recite "conformally forming" both materials "on steps" as asserted by the Office. Instead, claim 9 specifically recites "conformally forming a first nitride liner material on the first oxide liner material" which is not disclose by Tanaka, nor asserted by the Office. The failure of Tanaka to disclose such recitations precludes an anticipation rejection of claim 9 because Tanaka fails to expressly or inherently disclose all of the recitations of claim 9. See, Verdegaal Brothers v. Union Oil Co. of California, 2 U.S.P.Q.2d 1051, 1053 (Fed. Cir. 1987).”, page 15.
The Examiner respectfully submits that conform means “to give the same shape, outline, or contour to”, therefore, Tanaka, FIGS. 7 and 11 [as shown above] teaches a method of forming a microelectronic device, the method comprising:
conformally forming a first oxide liner material ([FOLM]/14, FIG. 7 [as shown above], [0092], note that they are forming with the same shape) on steps of stadium structures in a first deck structure (ML21);
conformally forming a first nitride liner material (31, FIG. 9, [0078], note that they are forming with the same shape) on steps the first oxide liner material [FOLM];
forming a second deck structure [SD] over the first deck structure (ML21); the first oxide liner material [FOLM], and first nitride liner material (31);
conformally forming a second oxide liner material ([SONM]/14, FIG. 11 [as shown above], [0092])
In response to Applicant’s argument:
“Claim 14 is also independently allowable over Tanaka. Claim 14 recites, in part, forming a dielectric material within the openings after removing the laterally extending portions of the second nitride material." Even if Tanaka is found to disclose all of the recitations of claim 9 - which it does not - claim 14 is independently allowable because "forming a dielectric material" recited in claim 14 refers to such formation in the "openings" in the "second deck structure." The Office relies on an "SiN film 41"formed in the openings in the first deck structure as the basis for the anticipation rejection of claim 14. Because the "SiN film 41" is formed in "openings" in the first deck structure "ML21" of Tanaka, and not in the second deck structure "ML22" of Tanaka as recited in claim 14, Tanaka fails to disclose the recitations of claim 14 and fails to anticipate claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. § 102.
Claim 22 is also independently allowable over Tanaka. Claim 22 specifically recites "forming an interdeck structure prior to forming the second deck structure" (emphasis added). Because the "interdeck structure" of Tanaka includes parts of the "second deck structure" of Tanaka, it cannot be "[formed]...prior to" as recited in claim 22. Furthermore, other portions of the asserted "[ID]" - namely the "etching stopper film 33" - are not "formed" until after the formation of the second deck structure "ML22" - and the asserted [SD] structure - of Tanaka. Such formation is specifically contrary to the recitations of claim 22. The failure of Tanaka to disclose the order of formation precludes an anticipation rejection of claim 22 because the claim language specifically recites the order of formation of specific recited structures.”, pages 15-16.
The Examiner respectfully submits that Regarding claim 14, Tanaka teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising forming a dielectric material (41+a portion of 33 formed on top of 41, FIG. 17 [0083]) within the openings after removing the laterally extending portions of the second nitride liner material (33); and claim 22, Tanaka, FIG. 11 [as shown above] teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising forming an interdeck structure ([ID] of FIG. 10) prior to forming the second deck structure (portion of M22 formed above [ID]), the interdeck structure [ID] comprising dielectric oxide material (oxide of the layer 14 formed within [ID]) in physical contact with upper surfaces of the first deck structure (M21), the first oxide liner material, and the first nitride liner material.
For the above reasons, it is believed that the rejections should be sustained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893