DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to the communications received May 4, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 9 and 14. The rejections for claims 1, 9 and 14 have been updated to reflect the newly introduced claimed subject matter.
In response to arguments with regard to claim 1, it is noted that the arguments are directed to the previously applied prior art not showing the newly introduced claim amendment material. It is agreed that it is unclear if the antenna of Kim is wider than the chip of Kim, therefore the Tseng reference has been introduced to disclose this feature in the combination rejection of claim 1. As for the height of the body dielectric, it is clear that Kim discloses this feature and that the combination rejection that has been updated, articulates a clear motivation to include a lid, which could be included in the structure of Kim, as detailed in the rejection.
In response to arguments with regard to claim 9, it is noted that the arguments are directed to the previously applied prior art not showing the newly introduced claim amendment material. The argument that the body dielectric of Kim does not disclose that the body dielectric extends “from the interior sidewall of the cavity dielectric”, and “extends to the electronic component”. This is not convincing as Kim shows this in Fig. 8, where 205c/305b extends from sidewall 355c, albeit in-directly, and also extends to sidewalls of 300a. The claim language at this time, does not preclude this interpretation of the claim language of interest. It is agreed that it is unclear if the antenna of Kim is wider than the chip of Kim, therefore the Tseng reference has been introduced to disclose this feature in the combination rejection of claim 1.
In response to arguments with regard to claim 14, it is noted that the arguments are directed to the previously applied prior art not showing the newly introduced claim amendment material. The argument that the rejection does not satisfy the “substrate-body conductor” limitation of “extending through the body dielectric”. Whereas Examiner identifies 310c, 200a, 390a as the “substrate-body conductor”. Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s assertion that the rejection of claim 14 does not disclose the claim limitation of “providing a substrate-body conductor electrically coupled to the electronic component and extending through the body dielectric”. Examiner disagrees because the claim language has been interpreted as, “extending through the body dielectric” to mean that electrical conductors 200a, 390a are electrically connecting 310c to 300a through an opening in 205c/305b created by left most upper region of 205c/305b and right most upper region of 205c/305b. It should be appreciated that this interpretation is in line with the same configuration presented by Applicant’s Fig. 1, showing top electrodes passing through portions of body dielectric 111b to access the top electrodes of chip 120. Kim does not teach the lid, and the secondary reference is utilized with a carefully constructed rationale to combine the lid into the construction of Kim.
Priority
Applicant has made no claim to the benefit of an earlier filing date.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant clarification has been convincing and the rejection for claim 4, is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s Claim to Figure Comparison
It is noted that this comparison is merely for the benefit of reviewers of this office action during prosecution, to allow for an understanding of the examiner’s interpretation of the Applicant’s independent claims as compared to disclosed embodiments in Applicant’s Figures. No response or comments are necessary from Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant discloses in Fig. 1, an electronic device, comprising:
a substrate (110) comprising a cavity defining an opening (discontinuity in 111a is both an opening and a cavity, hereinafter referred to as ‘OP’) between interior sidewalls (interior walls of 111a);
an electronic component (120) disposed in the opening (OP);
a body dielectric (111b) of the substrate (111b is a part of 110) disposed in the opening (in OP) and around the electronic component (and around 120);
a lid (160) disposed beneath the substrate (beneath 110) and a first side of the electronic component (lower side of 120),
wherein the lid is thermally coupled to the electronic component (¶ 0037, “Die attach material 140 can easily transfer heat generated from electronic component 120 to lid 160”);
component interconnects (at least 170) coupled to a second side (top surface of 120) of the electronic component opposite the first side (opposed to lower surface of 120); and
an antenna structure (130) disposed over the electronic component (‘on’ 120) opposite the lid (130 is on the opposite side of 120 to the lid 160) and electronically coupled to electronic component through the component interconnects (by way of 170 among others), the antenna structure (130) comprising an antenna having a greater width than the electronic component (130 wider than 120), a height of the body dielectric between the lid and the antenna being greater than a height of the electronic component between the lid and the antenna (110b has greater height than 120).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0280374) in view of Chi et al. (US 2011/0068444) in view of Sumi et al. (US 5,767,528) in view of Tseng et al. (US 11,289,433).
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of Kim discloses in Figs. 2, 6, 8, an electronic device (see title, “Antenna Module”, which is a device that operates using an electrical system of wiring connections), comprising:
a substrate (collection of elements including “support member 355c”, ¶ 0085, “core via 360c”, ¶ 0085, “core insulating layer 356c”, ¶ 0089, hereinafter referred to as ‘SUB’) comprising a cavity defining an opening (annotated “opening” which identifies both an opening and cavity which are discontinuities in 355c) between interior sidewalls (annotated “ISW”);
an electronic component (“IC 300a”, ¶ 0066, where “IC” means “integrated circuit”) disposed in the opening (300a disposed within annotated “opening”);
a body dielectric (the encapsulant identified by 205c, which is disclosed in ¶ 0077, when referring to analogous feature 305b from Fig. 6, which is, “encapsulant 305b may protect the IC 301b from external electrical/physical/chemical impact”) of the substrate (205c is a part of 355c) disposed in the opening and around the electronic component (205c is shown in the discontinuity in 355c and around 300a);
component interconnects (as can be seen in further detail in Fig. 2, “connection member 390a”, ¶ 0066, where 390a refers to the several layers of built up wiring connections, that are shown) coupled to a second side (top surface) of the electronic component (300a) opposite the first side (lower surface of 300a); and
an antenna structure (“antenna package 100a”, ¶ 0055) disposed over the electronic component (over 300a) opposite the lid (to be addressed in a combination rejection below) and electronically coupled to electronic component through the component interconnects (100a is electrically connected to 390a by way of 390a and “connection member 200a”, ¶ 0055, where 200a refers to the several layers of built up wiring connections, that are shown),
a height of the body dielectric (205c) between the lid (The presence of the ‘lid’ to be addressed in a combination rejection below. However, the lid is ultimately formed in the region of the side of the chip, which does not have electrodes, so in this case it would be formed on the lower surface of package of Fig. 8 of Kim, as will be shown below by the Sumi reference. This lower surface substituting the location of the lid which will be incorporated into the combination rejection below.) and the antenna (100a) being greater than a height of the electronic component between the lid and the antenna (The height of 205c is greater than that of 300a in Fig. 8 of Kim, between antenna 100a and lower surface of package/where lid will be incorporated).
First, Kim does not disclose,
“a lid disposed beneath the substrate and a first side of the electronic component, wherein the lid is thermally coupled to the electronic component,
…
an antenna structure disposed over the electronic component opposite the lid”.
Kim shows in Fig. 8, where the package has electrodes beneath the chip. As can be seen in Figs. 11 and 12 of Chi, it is evident that it was known in the prior art that the configurations of Figs. 11 and 12, were obvious variants of the package arrangement of a chip within a cavity, where one variant includes lower wiring and the other variant does not include lower wiring. The variant that lacks the lower wiring layer, has the advantage that a heat sink can be attached to the lower surface of the chip in the cavity.
Sumi discloses in Fig. 22 (rotated to be in the analogous orientation as that of Fig. 8 of Kim, where the chip has electrodes facing upwards),
a lid (“heat-dissipating plate 41A”, col. 14, line 58) disposed beneath the substrate (as the electrical connections are at the bottom surface of chip 11, “semiconductor element 11”, col. 14, lines 45-50, where this orientation is upside down in orientation, so the upper surface is analogous to Kim’s lower surface of chip 300a) and a first side of the electronic component (again, the lower surface of Kim’s 300 is analogous to Sumi’s upper surface of chip 11),
wherein the lid (41A) is thermally coupled to the electronic component (41A is in close thermal proximity to 11),
an antenna structure disposed over the electronic component opposite the lid (The antenna 100a is already present in Fig. 8 of Kim, which is present above the construction of 355c with opening accommodating chip 300a, in the direction of where the electrodes of chip 300a are facing. Then here with the teaching of Sumi in Fig. 22, the lid is formed on the non-electrode side of the chip in the package, in the position which would be the lower surface of the package in Fig. 8 of Kim, which is opposite to the antenna 100a from chip 300a)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitations of,
“a lid disposed beneath the substrate and a first side of the electronic component,
wherein the lid is thermally coupled to the electronic component,
…
an antenna structure disposed over the electronic component opposite the lid”, as disclosed by Chi and Sumi in the system of Kim, for the purpose of utilizing an orientation that allows for the removal of excess heat energy that will allow the chip to operate at a lower and more optimal temperature. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Second, Kim does not disclose, “the antenna structure comprising an antenna having a greater width than the electronic component”.
Tseng shows in Fig. 1, the antenna structure (“the antenna element 16”, col. 4, line 32) comprising an antenna having a greater width than the electronic component (the many components that make up 16 are wider than 11, where 11 is an electronic component, col. 3, lines 36-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitations of,
“the antenna structure comprising an antenna having a greater width than the electronic component”, as disclosed by Tseng in the system of Kim, for the purpose of using an antenna which is of a dimension that can transmit and receive electromagnetic wave signals. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of Kim et al. disclose the electronic device of claim 1, and Kim discloses in Fig. 8, wherein the antenna structure (“antenna package 100a”, ¶ 0055) comprises an antenna substrate (“dielectric layer 140a”, ¶ 0057).
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of Kim et al. disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the antenna structure (100a) is patterned over the substrate (over SUB).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0280374) in view of Chi et al. (US 2011/0068444) in view of Sumi et al. (US 5,767,528) in view of Tseng et al. (US 11,289,433) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0126924).
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of Kim et al. disclose the electronic device of claim 1, and Kim discloses in Fig. 8, wherein the substrate comprises:
a body dielectric (“205c” seems to be an error in the disclosure of Kim, but an analogous material 305b in Fig. 6, where 305b is an encapsulant, ¶ 0076, 0077) is disposed over the electronic component (205c/305c formed over 300a in Fig. 8 of Kim) and between the electronic component (300a) and the interior sidewalls (annotated “ISW” in Fig. 8 of Kim) of the cavity dielectric (in portion 355c of SUB).
Kim does not specify that the material used in the “cavity dielectric” is in fact a dielectric.
Lee discloses in Fig. 9, a similarly oriented substrate (“frame 110”, ¶ 0061) with a “cavity dielectric” portion (“insulating layer 111”, ¶ 0065, where the insulators are detailed in ¶ 0067, which are dielectrics).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitations of,
the material used in the “cavity dielectric” is in fact a dielectric, as disclosed by Lee in the system of Kim, for the purpose of providing an insulation material to form plural electrical signal pathways in a substrate. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0280374) in view of Chi et al. (US 2011/0068444) in view of Sumi et al. (US 5,767,528) in view of Tseng et al. (US 11,289,433) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0126924) in view of Chen et al. (US 2023/0065884).
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of Kim et al. disclose the electronic device of claim 2, however Kim does not disclose,
“wherein the component interconnects comprise pillars formed over the second side of the electronic component before the body dielectric is provided over the electronic component.”
Chen discloses in Fig. 1A, wherein the component interconnects (112) comprise pillars (“die connectors 112 (e.g., micro-bumps, metal pillars”, ¶ 0016) formed over the second side of the electronic component (on top surface of 110, which is a “semiconductor die 110”, ¶ 0016) before the body dielectric is provided over the electronic component (see note on this aspect below).
It is noted that the limitation of the “[wherein the component interconnects comprise pillars formed over the second side of the electronic component] before the body dielectric is provided over the electronic component.” (italicized portion) is considered to be a process limitation, and since the current claim is directed to a device structure, this limitation is considered a “product by process” feature, wherein the claim is directed to the product, and no matter how the structure is actually made, it is the final product which must be determined in a claim directed to an product, and not the patentability of the process. MPEP 2113, I. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitations of,
“wherein the component interconnects comprise pillars formed over the second side of the electronic component before the body dielectric is provided over the electronic component.”, as disclosed by Chen in the system of Kim, for the purpose of providing electrical connection means to access the semiconductor device electronically. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0280374) in view of Chi et al. (US 2011/0068444) in view of Sumi et al. (US 5,767,528) in view of Tseng et al. (US 11,289,433) in view of Chen et al. (US 12,266,618).
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of Kim et al. disclose the electronic device of claim 4, however Kim does not disclose,
“wherein the antenna structure is electronically coupled to the substrate through a bond,
wherein the bond separates the antenna structure from the substrate by a thickness of the bond.”
Chen discloses in Fig. 1A, wherein the antenna structure (“antenna module 17”, col. 2, line 49) is electronically coupled to the substrate (“carrier 10”, col. 6, line 51, with “electronic component 14 may be a chip or a die including a semiconductor substrate”, col. 4, lines 60-61) through a bond (“conductive elements 17e”, col. 6, line 51), wherein the bond (17e) separates the antenna structure (17) from the substrate (10 with chip 14) by a thickness of the bond (thickness of 17e contributes to the separation distance between 17 and 10 plus 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitations of,
“wherein the antenna structure is electronically coupled to the substrate through a bond,
wherein the bond separates the antenna structure from the substrate by a thickness of the bond.”, as disclosed by Chen in the system of Kim, for the purpose of providing electrical connection means between the semiconductor device and the antenna. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of Kim et al. disclose the electronic device of claim 1, and Kim does not disclose, “wherein the antenna structure comprises a second electronic component coupled to a side of the substrate opposite the lid.” Kim does however show electrical contacts ready for electrical connection to subsequent devices, as can be seen as “electrical connection structure 340c” (¶ 0090) in Fig. 8.
Chen discloses in Fig. 4, wherein the antenna structure comprises a second electronic component (“antenna module 40”, col. 9, line 16) coupled to a side of the substrate opposite the lid (Chen’s equivalent element to Kim’s SUB is 10 plus 14, where the lower surface of 10 is where the lid would be located).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitations of,
“wherein the antenna structure comprises a second electronic component coupled to a side of the substrate opposite the lid.”, as disclosed by Chen in the system of Kim, for the purpose of providing further RF communication functionality. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0280374) in view of Chi et al. (US 2011/0068444) in view of Sumi et al. (US 5,767,528) in view of Tseng et al. (US 11,289,433) in view of Lin et al. (US 2022/0336318).
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of Kim et al. disclose the electronic component of claim 1, however Kim et al. does not disclose, “wherein the lid is coupled to the electronic component by a thermal die attach material.”
Lin discloses in Fig. 1F, wherein the lid (“lid structure 150”, ¶ 0007) is coupled to the electronic component (“semiconductor die 110”, ¶ 0006) by a thermal die attach material (“TIM layer 140”, ¶ 0006, where ‘TIM’ stands for “thermal interface material (TIM) layer”, see ¶ 0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitations of,
“wherein the lid is coupled to the electronic component by a thermal die attach material.”, as disclosed by Lin in the system of Kim, for the purpose of improving the connection between the chip heat source and the heat dissipating lid, further improving the ability to remove excess heat from the chip. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 9, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0280374) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0126924) in view of Chi et al. (US 2011/0068444) in view of Sumi et al. (US 5,767,528) view of Tseng et al. (US 11,289,433).
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of Kim discloses in Figs. 2, 8, an electronic device (see title, “Antenna Module”, which is a device that operates using an electrical system of wiring connections), comprising:
a substrate (collection of elements including “support member 355c”, ¶ 0085, “core via 360c”, ¶ 0085, “core insulating layer 356c”, ¶ 0089, hereinafter referred to as ‘SUB’) comprising:
a cavity dielectric (portion 355c of SUB is understood to be an insulator / dielectric material, however Kim is silent on what material is used) having interior sidewalls (Kim’s Fig. 8, annotated “ISW”) that define a cavity (Kim’s Fig. 8, annotated “opening”); and
a body dielectric (205c, which is analogous to 305b is an encapsulant, ¶ 0076, 0077) extending from the interior sidewalls (205c extend from annotated “ISW” in Fig. 8 of Kim, to positions inside and partially outside of the cavity) of the cavity dielectric (in portion 355c of SUB)
an electronic component (“IC 300a”, ¶ 0066, where “IC” means “integrated circuit”) disposed in the cavity (300a disposed within annotated “opening”), wherein the body dielectric (205c/305b) extends to the electronic component (205c/305b “extend to” and are in contact with sidewalls of 300a);
component interconnects (as can be seen in further detail in Fig. 2, “connection member 390a”, ¶ 0066, where 390a refers to the several layers of built up wiring connections, that are shown) coupled to a second side (top surface) of the electronic component (300a) opposite the first side (lower surface of 300a); and
an antenna structure (“antenna package 100a”, ¶ 0055) disposed over the electronic component (over 300a) and electronically coupled to electronic component by the component interconnects (100a is electrically connected to 390a by way of 390a and “connection member 200a”, ¶ 0055, where 200a refers to the several layers of built up wiring connections, that are shown).
First, Kim does not specify that the material used in the “cavity dielectric” is in fact a dielectric.
Lee discloses in Fig. 9, a similarly oriented substrate (“frame 110”, ¶ 0061) with a “cavity dielectric” portion (“insulating layer 111”, ¶ 0065, where the insulators are detailed in ¶ 0067, which are dielectrics).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitations of,
the material used in the “cavity dielectric” is in fact a dielectric, as disclosed by Lee in the system of Kim, for the purpose of providing an insulation material to form plural electrical signal pathways in a substrate. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Second, Kim does not disclose, “wherein a first side of the electronic component is exposed from the body dielectric”.
Kim shows in Fig. 8, where the package has electrodes beneath the chip. As can be seen in Figs. 11 and 12 of Chi, it is evident that it was known in the prior art that the configurations of Figs. 11 and 12, were obvious variants of the package arrangement of a chip within a cavity, where one variant includes lower wiring and the other variant does not include lower wiring. The variant that lacks the lower wiring layer, has the advantage that a heat sink can be attached to the lower surface of the chip in the cavity.
Sumi discloses in Fig. 22, wherein a first side of the electronic component (equivalent chip being 11 of Sumi, and the first exposed side is the top surface) is exposed from the body dielectric (the equivalent “body dielectric” is 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitations of,
“wherein a first side of the electronic component is exposed from the body dielectric”, as disclosed by Sumi in the system of Kim, for the purpose of allowing access to the chip for making thermal connection by . (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Third, Kim does not disclose, “the antenna structure comprising an antenna having a greater width than the electronic component”.
Tseng shows in Fig. 1, the antenna structure (“the antenna element 16”, col. 4, line 32) comprising an antenna having a greater width than the electronic component (the many components that make up 16 are wider than 11, where 11 is an electronic component, col. 3, lines 36-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitations of,
“the antenna structure comprising an antenna having a greater width than the electronic component”, as disclosed by Tseng in the system of Kim, for the purpose of using an antenna which is of a dimension that can transmit and receive electromagnetic wave signals. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of Kim et al. disclose the electronic device of claim 9, and Kim discloses in Fig. 8, wherein the antenna structure (100a) is formed over the electronic component (300a) and the substrate (SUB).
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of Kim et al. disclose the electronic device of claim 9, and Kim discloses in Fig. 8, wherein the electronic component (300a) is embedded in the substrate (embedded in the annotated “opening” in SUB).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0280374) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0126924) in view of Chi et al. (US 2011/0068444) in view of Sumi et al. (US 5,767,528) view of Tseng et al. (US 11,289,433) in view of Lin et al. (US 2022/0336318).
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of Kim et al. disclose the electronic device of claim 9, however Kim does not disclose, “further comprising a die attach material coupled to the first side of the electronic component exposed from the body dielectric.”
Lin discloses in Fig. 1F, further comprising a die attach material (“TIM layer 140”, ¶ 0006, where ‘TIM’ stands for “thermal interface material (TIM) layer”, see ¶ 0023) coupled to the first side of the electronic component (top surface of “semiconductor die 110”, ¶ 0006) exposed from the body dielectric (110 exposed by 114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitations of,
“further comprising a die attach material coupled to the first side of the electronic component exposed from the body dielectric.”, as disclosed by Lin in the system of Kim, for the purpose of improving the connection between the chip heat source and the heat dissipating lid, further improving the ability to remove excess heat from the chip. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of Kim et al. disclose the electronic device of claim 10, and Lin discloses in Fig. 1F, further comprising a lid (“lid structure 150”, ¶ 0007) disposed beneath the substrate (in a orientation upside down than Kim, but analogously arranged, “semiconductor die 110”, ¶ 0006) and a first side of the electronic component (top of 110), wherein the die attach material thermally couples the lid to the electronic component (“TIM layer 140”, ¶ 0006, where ‘TIM’ stands for “thermal interface material (TIM) layer”, see ¶ 0023, where 140 couples 150 to 110).
Claims 14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0280374) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0126924) in view of Chi et al. (US 2011/0068444) in view of Sumi et al. (US 5,767,528).
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of Kim discloses in Figs. 2, 8, a method of making electronic device (see title, “Antenna Module”, which is a device that operates using an electrical system of wiring connections), comprising:
providing a cavity substrate (collection of elements including “support member 355c”, ¶ 0085, “core via 360c”, ¶ 0085, “core insulating layer 356c”, ¶ 0089, hereinafter referred to as ‘SUB’) comprising interior sidewalls (annotated “ISW”) that define a cavity (ISW define a cavity identified in the annotated drawing as “opening”),
wherein the cavity substrate (SUB) comprises a cavity conductor (“core via 360c”, ¶ 0085) that extends through the cavity substrate (360c extends through portion 355c);
providing an electronic component (“IC 300a”, ¶ 0066, where “IC” means “integrated circuit”) between the interior sidewalls (300a between ISW) and in the cavity (300a in “opening”);
providing a body dielectric (“205c” seems to be an error in the disclosure of Kim, but an analogous material 305b in Fig. 6, where 305b is an encapsulant, ¶ 0076, 0077. In addition, portion 392a of 390a, where “insulating layer 392a”, ¶ 0068) over the cavity substrate (over ISW in opening of SUB), over the electronic device (305b over 300a), and in the cavity (205c/305c are in “opening”);
providing a substrate-body conductor (“wiring layer 310c”, ¶ 0090) electrically coupled to the electronic component (by way of many electrical connections including those in 200a and 390a) and extending through the body dielectric (upper outer portions of 205c/305c),
wherein the substrate-body conductor is electrically coupled to the cavity conductor (310c in direct contact with 360c); and
providing an antenna structure (“antenna package 100a”, ¶ 0055) over the body dielectric (over 205c/305c) opposite the lid (to be addressed in a combination rejection below FILL),
wherein the antenna structure (100a) is electrically coupled to the substrate-body conductor (to 310c by way of many electrical connections including those in 200a),
a height of the body dielectric (205c) between the lid (The presence of the ‘lid’ to be addressed in a combination rejection below. However, the lid is ultimately formed in the region of the side of the chip, which does not have electrodes, so in this case it would be formed on the lower surface of package of Fig. 8 of Kim, as will be shown below by the Sumi reference. This lower surface substituting the location of the lid which will be incorporated into the combination rejection below.) and the antenna structure (100a) being greater than a height of the electronic component between the lid and the antenna structure (The height of 205c is greater than that of 300a in Fig. 8 of Kim, between antenna 100a and lower surface of package/where lid will be incorporated).
First, Kim does not specify that the material used in the “body dielectric” is in fact a dielectric.
Lee discloses in Fig. 9, a similarly oriented substrate (“frame 110”, ¶ 0061) with a “body dielectric” portion (“first encapsulant 130”, ¶ 0065, where the insulators are detailed in ¶ 0073, which are dielectrics).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitations of,
the material used in the “body dielectric” is in fact a dielectric, as disclosed by Lee in the system of Kim, for the purpose of providing an insulation material to protect the chip component therein from mechanical damage and environmental effects. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Second, Kim does not disclose,
“providing a lid coupled to the body dielectric and the electronic component; and
providing an antenna structure over the body dielectric opposite the lid”.
Kim shows in Fig. 8, where the package has electrodes beneath the chip. As can be seen in Figs. 11 and 12 of Chi, it is evident that it was known in the prior art that the configurations of Figs. 11 and 12, were obvious variants of the package arrangement of a chip within a cavity, where one variant includes lower wiring and the other variant does not include lower wiring. The variant that lacks the lower wiring layer, has the advantage that a heat sink can be attached to the lower surface of the chip in the cavity.
Sumi discloses in Fig. 22 (rotated to be in the analogous orientation as that of Fig. 8 of Kim, where the chip has electrodes facing upwards),
providing a lid (“heat-dissipating plate 41A”, col. 14, line 58) coupled to the body dielectric (equivalent “body dielectric” being element 15, “sealing resin 15”, col. 8, lines 6-7, which is coupled to lid 41A) and the electronic component (lid 41A couples also to equivalent electronic component “semiconductor element 11”, col. 8, line 8); and
providing an antenna structure over the body dielectric opposite the lid (The antenna 100a is already present in Fig. 8 of Kim, which is present above the construction of 355c with opening accommodating chip 300a, in the direction of where the electrodes of chip 300a are facing. Then here with the teaching of Sumi in Fig. 22, the lid is formed on the non-electrode side of the chip in the package, in the position which would be the lower surface of the package in Fig. 8 of Kim, which is opposite to the antenna 100a from chip 300a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitations of,
“providing a lid coupled to the body dielectric and the electronic component; and
providing an antenna structure over the body dielectric opposite the lid”, as disclosed by Chi and Sumi in the system of Kim, for the purpose of utilizing an orientation that allows for the removal of excess heat energy that will allow the chip to operate at a lower and more optimal temperature. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of Kim et al. disclose the method of claim 14, and Kim discloses in Fig. 8, further comprising:
providing substrate-component interconnects (“connection member 390a”, ¶ 0066) coupled to an active side of the electronic component (top of 300a); and
providing the body dielectric (205c/305b) around the substrate-component interconnects (205c around portions of “wiring layer 391a”, ¶ 0068).
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of Kim et al. disclose the method of claim 14, and Kim discloses in Figs. 2 and 8, further comprising:
forming openings (discontinuities in 392a) through the body dielectric (portion 392a) to an active side of the electronic component (top side of 300a); and
providing substrate-component interconnects (“wiring layer 391a”, ¶ 0068) in the openings (discontinuities in 392a).
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of Kim et al. disclose the method of claim 14, and Kim discloses in Fig. 8, wherein providing the antenna structure further comprises:
forming the antenna structure (100a is formed prior to the final device, as can be seen in Fig. 2); and
providing the formed antenna structure over the body dielectric (the body dielectric is formed after the antenna is affixed to an intermediate portion of the overall device, where the body dielectric in totality is formed after 100a, where later in Fig. 8, portion 205c of the interpreted “body dielectric” of 205c and 392a are finally formed).
Regarding claim 19, the prior art of Kim et al. disclose the method of claim 17, and Kim discloses in Fig. 8, wherein the antenna structure comprise a second electronic component (“passive component 350c”, ¶ 0085).
Regarding claim 20, the prior art of Kim et al. disclose the method of claim 14, and Kim discloses in Fig. 8, wherein providing the antenna structure further comprises forming the antenna structure over the substrate-body conductor (100a is formed over 310c).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0280374) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0126924) in view of Chi et al. (US 2011/0068444) in view of Sumi et al. (US 5,767,528) in view of Chao et al. (US 6,624,523).
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of Kim et al. disclose the method of claim 14, and Kim does not disclose,
“further comprising:
providing a die attach material in the cavity;
providing the electronic component over a first side of the die attach material; and
providing a lid coupled to a second side of the die attach material opposite the first side.”
Chao discloses in Fig. 3, further comprising:
providing a die attach material (“adhesive material 324”, col. 3, line 57) in the cavity (“opening 306”, col. 3, line 36);
providing the electronic component (“chip 320”, col. 3, line 52) over a first side of the die attach material (320 on 324); and
providing a lid (“heat spreader 304”, col. 3, line 54) coupled to a second side of the die attach material opposite the first side (304 coupled to other side of 324).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the limitations of,
“further comprising:
providing a die attach material in the cavity;
providing the electronic component over a first side of the die attach material; and
providing a lid coupled to a second side of the die attach material opposite the first side”, as disclosed by Chao in the system of Kim, for the purpose of providing a heat removal arrangement to allow the device to operate at more ideal temperatures. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/EDUARDO A RODELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893