DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/01/2025 and 10/14/2025 were considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the abstract page, “(Fig.5)” needs to be deleted.
Page 2, row 4 of the specification: “are operative” should read are operated.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors in the specification, which applicant may become aware of.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “first non-conductive dielectric layer on the plurality of dies is adhered to the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the carrier” should read “first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first sides of the plurality of dies is adhered to the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of the carrier”.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: the first non-conductive dielectric layer covering the conductive contact pads on the first side of each die for bonding each die to the carrier” should read “the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of each die covering the conductive contact pads, for bonding each die to the carrier”.
Claims 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a portion of the non-conductive dielectric layer that remains which has not been removed” should read “a portion of the non-conductive dielectric layer
Claims 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a portion of the non-conductive dielectric layer that remains which has not been removed” should read “a portion of the non-conductive dielectric layer .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 15, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “multiple wafers of different types containing the plurality of dies of different types”. “Wafers of different types” may refer to wafers of different size/diameter, or made of different materials, or same materials but different crystallographic orientations. Similarly, “dies of different types”, may refer to dies of different size, or made of different materials, or comprising different circuits. For the purpose of examination claim 6 will be interpreted as: The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the preparation of the plurality of dies further comprises the steps of: forming the first non-conductive dielectric layer on first sides of multiple wafers wherein the plurality of dies consists of dies of different size; and singulating the multiple wafers to separate the plurality of dies
Claim 15 recites the limitation “forming multiple through-silicon vias filled with a conductive material in each die”. This implies that each die comprises silicon. However, neither claim 15 or claim 1, on which claim 15 depends on, do not disclose the dies comprising silicon. For the purpose of examination claim 15 will be interpreted as: The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein preparation of the plurality of dies further comprises the steps of forming multiple through
Claims 16-20 are also rejected as being depended on claim 15.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the conductive contact pads of the second reconstituted die assembly”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. Claim 16 discloses a second reconstituted die assembly but does not disclose conductive contact pads of the second reconstituted die assembly (similar is not equivalent with same). For the purpose of examination, claim 16 will be interpreted as: The method as claimed in claim 15, wherein after forming the reconstituted die assembly, providing a second reconstituted die assembly which is similar to the reconstituted die assembly, and bonding
Claims 17-20 are also rejected as being depended on claim 16.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the non-conductive dielectric layer of the reconstituted die assembly”. “The non-conductive dielectric layer” may refer to the first non-conductive dielectric layer on a first side of the plurality of dies or the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of the carrier. Furthermore, the limitation “to expose the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly” may refer to the conductive contact pads on either one of the opposite sides of the through vias. For the purpose of examination claim 17 will be interpreted as: The method as claimed in claim 16, further comprising removing the carrier and a portion of the first non-conductive dielectric layer covering the conductive contact pads on the first side of each die, in order to expose the conductive contact pads on the first side of each die of the reconstituted die assembly that are flush with a top surface of a portion of the first non-conductive dielectric layer covering the conductive contact pads on the first side of each die, which has not been removed.
Claims 18-20 are also rejected as being depended on claim 17.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly”. The conductive contact pads may refer to the conductive contact pads on either one of the opposite sides of the through vias. For the purpose of examination claim 19 will be interpreted as: The method as claimed in claim 17, further comprising providing a second plurality of dies mounted onto a second carrier via a second non-conductive dielectric layer, and bonding the second plurality of dies to electrically connect conductive contacts of the second plurality of dies to the conductive contact pads on the first side of each die of the reconstituted die assembly.
Claim 20 is also rejected as being depended on claim 19.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “removing the carrier and a portion of the non-conductive dielectric layer of the second reconstituted die assembly”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. Claim 16, on which claim 20 depends, discloses a second reconstituted die assembly but does not disclose a carrier and a non-conductive dielectric layer (being similar to the reconstituted die assembly is not equivalent to being the same as the reconstituted die assembly). For the purpose of examination, claim 20 will be interpreted as: The method as claimed in claim 19, further comprising the steps of: removing a carrier and a portion of an non-conductive dielectric layer of the second reconstituted die assembly in order to expose the conductive contact pads ofa plurality of dies of the second reconstituted die assembly that are flush with a surface of a portion of the non-conductive dielectric layer wherein such combination of the reconstituted die assembly, the second reconstituted die assembly and the second plurality of dies forms the integrated device package.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over disclosed prior art, Wu et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2020/0194393 A1), hereinafter referenced as Wu, in view of Chen et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2022/0223553 A1) hereinafter referenced as Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a method of manufacturing an integrated device package, comprising the steps of: preparation of a plurality of dies (Fig.5, elements #50A and #50B) for bonding by forming a layer on a first side of the plurality of dies (Fig.5, layer, element #118 is formed on the bottom side of the dies, element #50A and #50B). Wu teaches the layer is an adhesive (paragraph [0032], rows 1-2). Although adhesives can form non-conductive dielectric layers, Wu does not teach the adhesive is a non-conductive dielectric layer. Chen teaches forming a non-conductive dielectric layer on a fist side of the plurality of dies (Fig.2, non-conductive dielectric layer, element #F1, paragraph [0024], rows 3-6, is formed on the bottom side of dies, elements #100). Thus, both references Wu and Chen teach forming a layer of a first side of dies, that is used to attach the dies to a carrier. A person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the adhesive disclosed by Wu could have been replaced for the silicon oxide layer disclosed by Chen because both serve the same purpose of providing a layer used to attach the dies to a carrier. Furthermore, a person skilled in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of providing a layer used to attach the dies to a carrier. The silicon oxide layer disclosed by Chen is bonded by fusion bonding to the non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of the carrier (paragraph [0027], rows 1-5), which allows for a more robust connection as compared to the adhesive disclosed by Wu. We note that, both references disclose the non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of the carrier as silicon oxide (Wu, element #112, paragraph [0028], rows 6-8, and Chen, element Fc1, paragraph [0025], rows 12-14).
Wu further teaches preparation of a carrier by forming a first non-conductive dielectric layer on a first side of the carrier (Fig.5, element #112, paragraph [0031], rows 1-2); bonding the plurality of dies sequentially to the carrier by adhering the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of the plurality of dies to the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of the carrier (paragraph [0031], rows 1-2); forming a filling non-conductive dielectric layer on the carrier and the plurality of dies bonded onto the carrier until the plurality of dies is covered by the filling non-conductive dielectric layer (Fig.6, element #142, the encapsulant is non-conductive otherwise will short vies #116 and the invention will not work); removing a portion of the filling non-conductive dielectric layer to planarize and expose conductive contact pads located on a second side of the plurality of dies opposite to the first side (Fig.7, paragraph [0034], rows 1-6) to form a reconstituted die assembly (Fig.7, each side #100A and #100B, forms a die assembly) such that the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly are electrically connectable to an external electronic device (Fig.7, the contacts are exposed and therefore connectable to external devices).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Wu further teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the preparation of the plurality of dies further comprises the steps of: forming the first non-conductive dielectric layer on a first side of a wafer which contains the plurality of dies; and singulating the wafer to separate the plurality of dies (paragraph [0032], rows 8-11).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claims 1 and 2 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Wu further teaches the method as claimed in claim 2, further comprising the step of selecting only known good dies from the plurality of dies that have been separated to be bonded onto the carrier (paragraph [0045], rows 10-13).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Wu teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of the carrier consists only of an inorganic dielectric material (paragraph [0028], rows 6-8). Wu teaches wherein the first layer on the first sides of the plurality of dies consists of an adhesive (element #118, paragraph [0031], rows 1-2). Wu does not teach wherein the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first sides of the plurality of dies consist only of an inorganic dielectric material. Chen teaches wherein the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first sides of the plurality of dies consist only of an inorganic dielectric material (Fig.2, non-conductive dielectric layer, element #F1, consists of silicon oxide, paragraph [0025], rows 12-14). Thus, both references Wu and Chen teach forming a layer that is used to attach the dies to a carrier. A person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the adhesive disclosed by Wu could have been replaced for the silicon oxide layer disclosed by Chen because both serve the same purpose of providing a layer used to attach the dies to a carrier. Furthermore, a person skilled in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of providing a layer used to attach the dies to a carrier. The silicon oxide layer disclosed by Chen is bonded by fusion bonding to the non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of the carrier (paragraph [0027], rows 1-5), which allows for a more robust connection as compared to the adhesive disclosed by Wu. We note that, both references disclose the non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of the carrier as silicon oxide (Wu, element #112, paragraph [0028], rows 6-8, and Chen, element Fc1, paragraph [0025], rows 12-14).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Wu teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the preparation of the plurality of dies further comprises the steps of: forming the first non-conductive dielectric layer on first side of a wafer and singulating the multiple wafers to separate the plurality of dies of different types for bonding (paragraph [0032], rows 8-11). Furthermore, Chen teaches dies of different size, singulated from wafers and prepared for bonding (Fig.6, dies #100 and #200 have different and are bonded). Making dies of different sizes on separate wafers is well known in the art, and therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.03). Therefore, is would have been obvious to prepare the multiple wafers containing the plurality of dies, wherein the plurality of dies consists of dies of different size, using the same process as applied to a single wafer, because the results would have been predictable. This allows a repetition of the same process steps and using same fabrication tools, which reduces costs. As a result, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the preparation of the plurality of dies further comprises the steps of: forming the first non-conductive dielectric layer on first sides of multiple wafers consists of dies of different size; and singulating the multiple wafers to separate the plurality of dies
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Wu does not teach the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first sides of the plurality of dies is adhered to the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of the carrier by annealing the respective non-conductive dielectric layers to each other to solidify their dielectric-to-dielectric bonding and to fix their relative positions. Chen teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first sides of the plurality of dies is adhered to the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of the carrier by annealing the respective non-conductive dielectric layers to each other to solidify their dielectric-to-dielectric bonding and to fix their relative positions (paragraph [0027], rows 1-16). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Chen and disclose wherein the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first sides of the plurality of dies is adhered to the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of the carrier by annealing the respective non-conductive dielectric layers to each other to solidify their dielectric-to-dielectric bonding and to fix their relative positions. The fusion bonding method disclosed by Chen which allows for a more robust connection as compared to the adhesive disclosed by Wu.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Wu further teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the filling non-conductive dielectric layer is planarized such that top surfaces of the conductive contact pads and the filling non-conductive dielectric layer are flush with one another (Fig.7, paragraph [0034], rows 6-8).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Wu does not teach the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising providing a second plurality of separated dies having a non-conductive dielectric layer surrounding conductive contact pads of each of the second plurality of separated dies, and bonding the second plurality of separated dies to electrically connect the contact pads of the second plurality of separated dies to the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly, such combination of the reconstituted die assembly and the second plurality of separated dies forming the integrated device package. Chen teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising providing a second plurality of separated dies (Fig.17, elements #200) having a non-conductive dielectric layer surrounding conductive contact pads of each of the second plurality of separated dies (Fig.17, element #BF2, paragraph [0042], rows 1-5), and bonding the second plurality of separated dies to electrically connect the contact pads of the second plurality of separated dies to the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly (Fig.17, conductive pads of the second plurality of dies, element #200 are bonded to the conductive pads of the reconstituted die assembly), such combination of the reconstituted die assembly and the second plurality of separated dies forming the integrated device package (Fig.20, they form a device package). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Chen and disclose providing a second plurality of separated dies having a non-conductive dielectric layer surrounding conductive contact pads of each of the second plurality of separated dies, and bonding the second plurality of separated dies to electrically connect the contact pads of the second plurality of separated dies to the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly, such combination of the reconstituted die assembly and the second plurality of separated dies forming the integrated device package. This enables integration of multiple dies in the same integrated device package while providing a smaller footprint for the package as compared to having the dies disposed laterally, adjacent to one another and on the same wafer.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Wu further teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising forming one or more redistribution layers onto the planarized filling non-conductive dielectric layer (Fig.12, layers #124, #126, #128, #130, #132, #134, #136, #138 and #140 for redistribution layers on top of element #142) for electrically coupling the conductive contact pads to electrical contacts formed on an opposite side of the one or more redistribution layers from the conductive contact pads (Fig.21, contacts, elements #246, are formed on the top side of the redistribution layer, which is opposite side from the contact pads and are electrically connected to the pads), such combination of the reconstituted die assembly, the one or more redistribution layers and the electrical contacts forming the integrated device package (Fig.21 shows a package).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Chen and in view of Gao et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2025/0096191 A1) hereinafter referenced as Gao.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claims 1 and 2 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Wu teaches forming the conductive pads on a second side of the wafer opposite to the first side (Fig.1, conductive pads, elements #66 are formed on the top side of the wafer). The combination of Wu and Chen does not teach grinding the first side of the wafer to thin the wafer prior to forming the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of the wafer. Gao teaches grinding the first side of the wafer to thin the wafer prior to forming the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of the wafer (Fig.4A, 4B, 4C, wafer element #402 id grinded before the non-conductive dielectric layer, element #418 is formed). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Gao and disclose grinding the first side of the wafer to thin the wafer prior to forming the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of the wafer. Thinning the entire wafer increases efficiency versus thinning each die in sequence and thinning the wafer (and so the dies) reduces brittleness making them more flexible during bonding process.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Chen and in view of Oliver et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2018/0012932 A1) hereinafter referenced as Oliver.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Wu teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side the carrier is deposited by chemical vapor deposition (paragraph [0028], rows 6-10). Furthermore, Wu teaches wherein the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side the carrier is made if silicon oxide (paragraph [0028], rows 6-8). Chen teaches wherein the first non-conductive dielectric layers on the first sides of the plurality of dies and the carrier are made of silicon oxide (paragraph [0026], rows 12-14). The combination of Wu and Chen does not teach the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first non-conductive dielectric layers on the first sides of the plurality of dies and the carrier are deposited by plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition. Oliver teaches silicon oxide layers deposited by plasms enhanced chemical vapor deposition (paragraph [0077], rows 13-14). Therefore, the combination of Wu, Chen and Oliver teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first non-conductive dielectric layers on the first sides of the plurality of dies and the carrier are deposited by plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Oliver and disclose non-conductive dielectric layers are deposited by plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition. PECVD allows deposition of dielectric materials a lower temperature as compared to other CVD processes, and considering that the non-conductive dielectric layers are deposited on first sides of the plurality of dies, using low temperature prevents damaging the dies.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Chen and in view of Yu et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2019/0109118 A1) hereinafter referenced as Yu.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Wu and Chen does not teach the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the preparation of the carrier further comprises the step of fabricating alignment marks on the first side of the carrier for alignment purposes during bonding of the plurality of dies onto the carrier. Yu teaches wherein the preparation of the carrier further comprises the step of fabricating alignment marks on the first side of the carrier for alignment purposes during bonding of the plurality of dies onto the carrier (paragraph [0013], rows 8-10). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Yu and disclose wherein the preparation of the carrier further comprises the step of fabricating alignment marks on the first side of the carrier for alignment purposes during bonding of the plurality of dies onto the carrier. As disclosed by Yu, the dies may be subject to further photomask steps used to connect the contact pads located on the top side of the dies (Fig.8 and 9) and therefore, accurately placing the dies on the carrier using the alignment marks avoids misalignment with the lithography equipment, which can produce defects and therefore decrease yield.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Chen and in view of Karhade et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2025/0112168 A1) hereinafter referenced as Karhade.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Wu and Chen does not teach the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising providing a wafer having a non-conductive dielectric layer surrounding conductive contacts of the wafer, and bonding the conductive pads of the reconstituted die assembly to the conductive contacts, such combination of the reconstituted die assembly and the wafer forming the integrated device package. Karhade teaches providing a wafer having a non-conductive dielectric layer surrounding conductive contacts of the wafer (Fig.1H, wafer, element #192, has a non-conductive dielectric layer, element #101, surrounding contacts, #195), and bonding the conductive pads of the reconstituted die assembly to the conductive contacts (Fig.1H, element #195 are connected to element #140), such combination of the reconstituted die assembly and the wafer forming the integrated device package (together thy form a package). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Karhade and disclose providing a wafer having a non-conductive dielectric layer surrounding conductive contacts of the wafer, and bonding the conductive pads of the reconstituted die assembly to the conductive contacts, such combination of the reconstituted die assembly and the wafer forming the integrated device package. As disclosed by Karhade, the wafer can provide electrical connections between the dies of the reconstituted die assembly (Fig.1H, element #103 and #105), which results in increased design flexibility for providing power or transmit signals to and from the dies of the assembly.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Wu and Chen does not teach the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising providing a second reconstituted die assembly that is similar to the reconstituted die assembly, and bonding the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly to conductive contact pads of the second reconstituted die assembly, such combination of the reconstituted die assembly and the second reconstituted die assembly forming the integrated device package. Karhade teaches providing a second reconstituted die assembly that is similar to the reconstituted die assembly (Fig.4, reconstituted die assembly, element #401 is similar to reconstituted die assembly, element #402), and bonding the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly to conductive contact pads of the second reconstituted die assembly (Fig.4, elements #440 are bonded to elements #140), such combination of the reconstituted die assembly and the second reconstituted die assembly forming the integrated device package (Fig.4, they from element #400). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Karhade and disclose providing a second reconstituted die assembly that is similar to the reconstituted die assembly, and bonding the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly to conductive contact pads of the second reconstituted die assembly, such combination of the reconstituted die assembly and the second reconstituted die assembly forming the integrated device package. This enables multiple dies to be incorporated in the same integrated device package while providing a smaller footprint for the package as compared to having the dies disposed laterally, adjacent to one another and on the same wafer.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Chen and in view of NG et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2012/0119378 A1) hereinafter referenced as NG.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Wu and Chen does not teach the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein preparation of the plurality of dies further comprises the steps of forming multiple through-silicon vias filled with a conductive material in each die, and forming the conductive contact pads on opposite sides of the through-silicon vias, prior to forming the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of each die, the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of each die covering the conductive contact pads, for bonding each die to the carrier. NG teaches wherein preparation of the plurality of dies further comprises the steps of forming multiple through#377 covers the conductive pads, element #635 and is bonded to the carrier, element #380). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of NG and disclose wherein preparation of the plurality of dies further comprises the steps of forming multiple through-silicon vias filled with a conductive material in each die, and forming the conductive contact pads on opposite sides of the through-silicon vias, prior to forming the first non-conductive dielectric layer on the first side of each die, the first non-conductive dielectric layer covering the conductive contact pads on the first side of each die for bonding each die to the carrier. As disclosed by NG, the through vias allow direct electrical connections between a wiring substrate and a second die, both connected to the die (Fig.2), which offers flexibility in designing the package. The dielectric layer covering the conductive pads protects the pads from damage during processing and allows attaching the dies to the carrier.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Chen, NG and in view of Krishnatreya et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2025/0006695 A1) hereinafter referenced as Krishnatreya.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection and the combination of Wu, Chen and NG teaches the method of claim 15 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Wu, Chen and NG does not teach the method as claimed in claim 15 wherein after forming the reconstituted die assembly, providing a second reconstituted die assembly which is similar to the reconstituted die assembly, and bonding the conductive contact pads of the second reconstituted die assembly to the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly. Krishnatreya teaches providing a second reconstituted die assembly (Fig.6B, formed by elements #106-3, #106-4, #180-3 and #130-3; Note that, before connection to the other die assembly, this structure can be connected to a carrier layer, similar to Fig.8D or as disclosed by Lin) that is similar to the reconstituted die assembly (Fig.6B, reconstituted die assembly, formed by elements #160-2, #130-2, #180-2, is similar to second reconstituted die assembly), and bonding the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly to conductive contact pads of the second reconstituted die assembly (Fig.6B, the conductive pads of the two are bonded). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Krishnatreya and disclose providing a second reconstituted die assembly that is similar to the reconstituted die assembly, and bonding the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly to conductive contact pads of the second reconstituted die assembly. This enables multiple similar dies to be incorporated in the same integrated device package and provides a smaller footprint for the package as compared to having the dies disposed laterally, adjacent to one another, on the same wafer.
Claim 17, 18, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Chen, NG, Krishnatreya and in view of Lin et al., (United States Patent Number, US 11,121,118 B2) hereinafter referenced as Lin.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection, the combination of Wu, Chen and NG teaches the method of claim 15 as set forth in the obviousness rejection and the combination of Wu, Chen, NG and Krishnatreya teaches the method of claim 16 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Wu, Chen, NG and Krishnatreya does not teach the method as claimed in claim 16, further comprising removing the carrier and a portion of the non-conductive dielectric layer of the reconstituted die assembly, in order to expose the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly that are flush with a top surface of a portion of the non-conductive dielectric layer that remains which has not been removed. Lin teaches removing the carrier (Fig.3G to 3I, element #301, #304 are removed) and a portion of the non-conductive dielectric layer of the reconstituted die assembly in order to expose the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly (part of element #145, made of polyimide, column 3, rows 20-21 and showed in Fig.4 is removed, column 6, rows 55-64), that are flush with a top surface of a portion of the non-conductive dielectric layer thwhich has not been removed (Fig.4, element #134 are flush with the top surface of element #145 that has not been removed). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Lin and disclose removing the carrier and a portion of the non-conductive dielectric layer of the reconstituted die assembly, in order to expose the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly that are flush with a top surface of a portion of the non-conductive dielectric layer that remains which has not been removed. Exposing the conductive pads allows the die to be connected to other dies or external power sources, while providing a planar surface makes it easier to attach redistribution layers or wiring substrates to the surface of the die.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection, the combination of Wu, Chen and NG teaches the method of claim 15 as set forth in the obviousness rejection, the combination of Wu, Chen, NG and Krishnatreya teaches the method of claim 16 as set forth in the obviousness rejection and the combination of Wu, Chen, NG, Krishnatreya and Lin teaches the method of claim 17 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Krishnatreya further teaches the method as claimed in claim 17, wherein after exposing the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly (Fig.6B, reconstituted die assembly, formed by elements #160-2, #130-2, #180-2; Note that, before connection to the other die assembly, this structure can be connected to a carrier layer, similar to Fig.8D or as disclosed by Lin) and providing a third reconstituted die assembly which is similar to the reconstituted die assembly (Fig.6B, formed by elements #130-1, #180-1A, #180-1B and #106, Note that, before connection to the other die assembly, this structure can be connected to a carrier layer, similar to Fig.8D or as disclosed by Lin), and bonding the conductive contact pads of the third reconstituted die assembly to the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly (Fig.6B, the conductive pads of the two assemblies are bonded). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Krishnatreya and disclose providing a third reconstituted die assembly which is similar to the reconstituted die assembly, and bonding the conductive contact pads of the third reconstituted die assembly to the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly. This enables multiple dies to be incorporated in the same integrated device package and provides a smaller footprint for the package as compared to having the dies disposed laterally, adjacent to one another and on the same wafer.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection, the combination of Wu, Chen and NG teaches the method of claim 15 as set forth in the obviousness rejection, the combination of Wu, Chen, NG and Krishnatreya teaches the method of claim 16 as set forth in the obviousness rejection and the combination of Wu, Chen, NG, Krishnatreya and Lin teaches the method of claim 17 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Krishnatreya further teaches the method as claimed in claim 17, further comprising providing a second plurality of dies mounted onto a second carrier (Fig.8D, elements #114-2a and #1142B are mounted on a second carrier, element #800-2) via a second non-conductive dielectric layer, and bonding the second plurality of dies to electrically connect conductive contacts of the second plurality of dies to the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly (Fig.8E, the second plurality of dies are electrically bonded to the contact pads of the die assembly, element #804-1 in Fig.8D). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Krishnatreya and disclose providing a second plurality of dies mounted onto a second carrier via a second non-conductive dielectric layer, and bonding the second plurality of dies to electrically connect conductive contacts of the second plurality of dies to the conductive contact pads of the reconstituted die assembly. This enables multiple dies to be incorporated in the same integrated device package and provides a smaller footprint for the package as compared to having the dies disposed laterally, adjacent to one another and on the same wafer.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Wu and Chen teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection, the combination of Wu, Chen and NG teaches the method of claim 15 as set forth in the obviousness rejection, the combination of Wu, Chen, NG and Krishnatreya teaches the method of claim 16 as set forth in the obviousness rejection and the combination of Wu, Chen, NG, Krishnatreya and Lin teaches the method of claims 17 and 19 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. As noted in the rejection of claim 17, Lin teaches removing the carrier and a portion of the non-conductive dielectric layer of the reconstituted die assembly in order to expose the conductive contact pads of the plurality of dies of the reconstituted die assembly that are flush with a surface of a portion of the non-conductive dielectric layer that remains which has not been removed (see rejection of claim 17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to perform the same procedure for the second reconstituted die assembly, because the results would have been predictable. This allows a repetition of the same process step and same fabrication tools used to expose the contact pads, which reduces costs. Therefore, Lin teaches the method further comprising the steps of: removing a carrier and a portion of an non-conductive dielectric layer of the second reconstituted die assembly in order to expose the conductive contact pads ofa plurality of dies of the second reconstituted die assembly that are flush with a surface of a portion of the non-conductive dielectric layer
Krishnatreya further teaches removing the second carrier to expose a surface of the second plurality of dies (Fig.8D and 8E the carriers are removed); wherein such combination of the reconstituted die assembly, the second reconstituted die assembly and the second plurality of dies forms the integrated device package (Fig.8E element #100). Krishnatreya does not teach a second non-conductive dielectric layer between the carrier and the dies. Chen teaches a non-conductive dielectric layer between the carrier and the dies (see rejection of claim 1). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Krishnatreya and Chen and disclose removing the second carrier and second non-conductive dielectric layer to expose a surface of the second plurality of dies. Removing the carrier and the dielectric layer exposes the conductive contact pads which allows connecting the dies to a circuit board to provide power and signals (Krishnatreya, Fig.1).
Conclusion
/CRISTIAN A TIVARUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899