DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, filed 7/1/2026, have been fully considered and reviewed by the examiner. The examiner notes the amendment to claims and the cancellation of claims 12-13 and 19-20 and the addition of new claim 21. Claims 1-11, 14-18 and 21 remain pending.
In view of the amendment to remove “module” from the claims, the examiner notes the claims no longer invoke 35 USC 112(f).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are directed to newly added claim amendments that are specifically addressed hereinafter and thus these arguments are deemed moot.
As for the arguments relative to the diversified spatial arrangement is noted, but not persuasive as the applicant has failed to provide any evidence that the claimed spatial arrangement is any more than mere optimization of the arrangement. Here, all the processing apparatus as claimed as taught by TW 395 with Supplieth and taking the level of one of ordinary skill, the rearrangement of these processing apparatus relative to each other would have been recognized as mere rearrangement and the applicant’s have not proffered any unpredicted or unexpected results that would follow from using mere routine skill. The claim would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options with his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 requires “a plurality of first substrate processing apparatuses disposed on a first side of the transfer module”, “a second side of the transfer module, which is opposite to the first side” and “one of the first substrate processing apparatus is arranged . . . on the second side”; however, this requirement lacks antecedent basis in the claims as the plurality of the first processing apparatus are on the first side and thus it is unclear how they can be on first side but also on the second side which is opposite the first side.
Claim 21 includes “a plurality of second substrate processing apparatus disposed on the second side of the transfer module, which is opposite to the first side” and “the second substrate processing apparatus includes a third substrate processing apparatus . . . and fa fourth substrate processing apparatus” and finally requires “one of the third substrate processing apparatus and the fourth substrate processing apparatus on the first side”; however, this requirement lacks antecedent basis in the claims as the plurality of the third and fourth apparatus are on the second side (by virtue of the requirement that the second processing apparatus are located on the second side) and thus it is unclear how the chambers can be on first side but also on the second side which is opposite the first side.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TW 202147395, hereinafter TW 395 taken collectively with Supplieth.
TW 395 discloses a semiconductor manufacturing equipment comprising: a transfer module including a substrate transport robot for transporting a substrate (see e.g. Figure 8, F5); a plurality of first substrate processing apparatuses disposed on one side of the transfer module (see e.g. Figure 8, 58, see also Figure 7, 51); and a plurality of second substrate processing apparatuses disposed on the other side of the transfer module (see e.g. Figure 8, 4E, 4F, Figure 7, 4A), wherein the first substrate processing apparatus comprises, a chamber for providing a space where a substrate is processed; a support module disposed within the chamber and for supporting the substrate (Figure 8 and accompanying, 58 related to supporting substrate for heating, Figure 7, 51 related to heating).
TW 395 discloses heating module; however, fails to disclose the claimed laser signal generating module. However, Supplieth, also in the art of heating a substrate discloses using a laser signal generation module disposed in the chamber and for transmitting a laser signal onto the substrate to heat-treat the substrate, wherein the laser signal generation module heat-treats the substrate including a photoresist layer. Therefore, taking the level of one of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious to have modified TW 395 to include the laser module as suggested by Supplieth to provide heating with a reasonable expectation of predictable results.
While the prior art sufficiently meets the intended use of the claims as drafted, the examiner notes that the italicized features of the claims are determined to be mere intended use of the claimed structure and therefore do not limit the structure of the apparatus. As such, as the prior art cited herein is capable of being utilized as claimed, the examiner maintains that the prior art structure reads on the instant structure. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
TW 395 discloses the second substrate processing apparatus includes a third substrate processing apparatus for performing a coating process on the substrate using a nozzle (i.e. sprayer) (see Figure 7, 4A) and a fourth substrate processing apparatus for performing a developing process on the substrate using a sprayer (See e.g. Figure 8, 4E), wherein the first substrate processing apparatus is arranged side by side on the same floor and on the same side as at least one of the third substrate processing apparatus and the fourth substrate processing apparatus (see e.g. Figure 8 and Figure 7). Additionally, while the examiner maintains the spatial arrangement of the first and third or first and fourth apparatus as explicitly taught by TW 395, the examiner notes that the arrangement of such would be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art as rearrangement of parts and it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to place the heating module relative to the coating and developing module, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention only involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 21: Additionally, while the examiner maintains the spatial arrangement of the first and third or first and fourth apparatus as explicitly taught by TW 395, the examiner notes that the arrangement of such, i.e. the side-by-side arrangement and location relative to each processing apparatus, would be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art as rearrangement of parts and it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to place the heating module relative to the coating and developing module, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention only involves routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Here, all the processing apparatus as claimed as taught by TW 395 and taking the level of one of ordinary skill, the rearrangement of these processing apparatus relative to each other would have been recognized as mere rearrangement and the applicant’s have not proffered any unpredicted or unexpected results that would follow from using mere routine skill. The claim would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options with his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11, 14-17 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: These claims are allowable for the reasons set forth in the Applicant’s response dated 7/1/2026. Additionally, none of the prior art cited or reviewed by the examiner, alone or in combination, make obvious the totality of the claims as drafted, specifically, the plurality of optical fibers as specifically claimed, a first optical fiber that connects the first laser diode and combiner and the second, third and fourth optical fiber that connects the second laser diode to the combiner wherein the third and fourth optical fibers have a different structure than the second optical fiber, and a fifth and sixth optical fiber to connect the combiner and transmitter. Here, while the structure of the optical fibers are known to control the laser signal, there is no motivation to provide the laser heating apparatus as claimed with the multiple of optical fibers as specifically claimed.
See PTO 892 for pertinent prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID P TUROCY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718