Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/09/2023, 06/27/2024, 10/23/2024 and 02/11/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration as file 03/08/2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ichiro et al. “Electric Field Measurement of the Living Human Body for Biomedical Applications: Phase Measurement of the Electric Field Intensity” (Provided by Applicant; Hereinafter Ichiro).
Regarding claim 7, Ichiro teaches a method for operating and calibrating a dielectric tomography system (Fig. 1; Abstract; Page 5, left col., paragraph 2; “extract the permittivity-induced signal increase from the attenuation caused by the body current”), comprising:
receiving one or more signals to generate radio frequency waveforms (See Fig. 1; “probe” and legend) and configure one or more transceivers (See Fig. 1; “probe” and legend);
synthesizing and distributing radio frequency signals including radio frequency source signals, local oscillator signals, and clock signals (Fig. 1; Page 2, right col., paragraphs 1-7; “RF generator or SDR”; Fig. 2; left part of Fig. 2, “SDR”, “USRP N200”);
configuring at least a portion of a transceiver to send or receive radio frequency signals (Page 1, left col., paragraph 1; Fig. 1; the subject (object) is positioned between the transmitting antenna and the probe. The frequency range is between 1-60MHz);
determining phase and amplitude information (Fig. 1; Page 2, right col., paragraph 2; “phase and amplitude”) for one or more received radio frequency signals (Fig. 1; Page 2, right col., paragraph 2; “phase and amplitude”); and
applying correction information to the phase and the amplitude information (Fig. 1; Page 2, right col., paragraph 2; “phase and amplitude”).
Regarding claim 8, Ichiro further teaches the method of claim 7 wherein the radio frequency source signals are configured as a carrier free waveform, a stepped frequency continuous wave (SFCW), a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW), a frequency modulated interrupted continuous wave (FMICW), a noise modulated continuous wave (NMCW), or combinations thereof (Page 1, left col., paragraph 1; Fig. 1; the subject (object) is positioned between the transmitting antenna and the probe. The frequency range is between 1-60MHz).
Regarding claim 9, Ichiro further teaches the method of claim 7 wherein the radio frequency source signals include a set of simultaneous continuous wave tones distributed within a frequency band around a center frequency in a range of 10 MHz to 300 GHz (Page 1, left col., paragraph 1; Fig. 1; the subject (object) is positioned between the transmitting antenna and the probe. The frequency range is between 1-60MHz).
Regarding claim 10, Ichiro further teaches the method of claim 7 wherein synthesizing and distributing the radio frequency signals includes filtering the radio frequency source signals (Page 1, left col., paragraph 1; Fig. 1; the subject (object) is positioned between the transmitting antenna and the probe. The frequency range is between 1-60MHz).
Regarding claim 11, Ichiro further teaches the method of claim 7 wherein synthesizing and distributing the radio frequency signals includes controlling a power of the radio frequency source signals (Page 1, left col., paragraph 1; Fig. 1; the subject (object) is positioned between the transmitting antenna and the probe. The frequency range is between 1-60MHz).
Regarding claim 14, Ichiro further teaches the method of claim 7 wherein the clock signals are in a range between 0.1 MHz and 100 MHz (Page 1, left col., paragraph 1; Fig. 1; the subject (object) is positioned between the transmitting antenna and the probe. The frequency range is between 1-60MHz).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichiro in view of Mase et al. “Development and application of radar reflectometer using micro to infrared waves” (Provided by Applicant; Hereinafter Mase).
Regarding claim 1, Ichiro teaches a method for obtaining permittivity information of an object (Fig. 1; Abstract; Page 5, left col., paragraph 2; “extract the permittivity-induced signal increase from the attenuation caused by the body current”), comprising: positioning the object in at least a portion of an electromagnetic field of a characterized sensor including at least one transmit antenna configured to transmit a radio frequency signal within 10 MHz and 300 GHz (Page 1, left col., paragraph 1; Fig. 1; the subject (object) is positioned between the transmitting antenna and the probe. The frequency range is between 1-60MHz);
positioning one or more receive antennas configured to receive one or more radio frequency signals scattered by the object (See Fig. 1; “probe” and legend); and
determining permittivity information (Fig. 1; Page 2, right col., paragraph 2; “phase and amplitude”) associated with the object based at least in part on phase and magnitude measurements (Fig. 1; Page 2, right col., paragraph 2; “phase and amplitude”) of the one or more radio frequency signals received by the one or more receive antennas (Fig. 1; Page 2, right col., paragraph 2; “phase and amplitude”) using a dual-gain (Fig. 2; there are two amplifiers, thus two gains).
Ichiro does teach using a dual-gain reflectometer.
However, Mase does teach using a dual-gain reflectometer (Fig.8; see scheme of the HMID in Fig. 8 “RFAmp” IF Amp” “Local Wave Amp”, the reflectometer disclosed is at least “dual gain” due to the presence of multiple amplifiers, thus multiple gains).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric field measurement of the living human body for biomedical applications of Ichiro by implementing the teachings of Mase regarding a dual-gain reflectometer; so that “the signal-to-noise ratio (S/N) can be significantly improved” (See Mase; Page 647).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ichiro and Mase teaches the method of claim 1, wherein Ichiro further teaches further comprising computing one or more images based at least in part on the permittivity information (Fig. 1; Page 2).
Regarding claim 15, Ichiro teaches the method of claim 7, but not specifically wherein the transceiver includes a dual-gain reflectometer configured to receive the radio frequency source signals through a switch and scattered radio frequency signals via an antenna.
However, Mase does teach wherein the transceiver includes a dual-gain reflectometer (Fig. 8; see scheme of the HMID in Fig. 8 “RFAmp” IF Amp” “Local Wave Amp”, the reflectometer disclosed is at least “dual gain” due to the presence of multiple amplifiers, thus multiple gains) configured to receive the radio frequency source signals through a switch and scattered radio frequency signals via an antenna (Fig. 8; see scheme of the HMID in Fig. 8 “RFAmp” IF Amp” “Local Wave Amp”, the reflectometer disclosed is at least “dual gain” due to the presence of multiple amplifiers, thus multiple gains).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric field measurement of the living human body for biomedical applications of Ichiro by implementing the teachings of Mase regarding a dual-gain reflectometer; so that “the signal-to-noise ratio (S/N) can be significantly improved” (See Mase; Page 647).
Claim(s) 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichiro in view of Mase in further view of Edwards et al. WO 2022/029685 (Provided by Applicant; Hereinafter Edwards).
Regarding 2, the combination of Ichiro and Mase teaches the method of claim 1, but not specifically wherein the characterized sensor is annular shaped sensor and positioning the object in at least the portion of the electromagnetic field includes positioning the object in a cylinder shaped volume formed by an inner wall of the annular shaped sensor.
However, Edwards does teach wherein the characterized sensor is annular shaped sensor (Fig. 2) and positioning the object in at least the portion of the electromagnetic field includes positioning the object in a cylinder shaped volume formed by an inner wall of the annular shaped sensor (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ichiro and Mase by implementing the teachings of Edwards regarding wherein the characterized sensor is annular shaped sensor and positioning the object in at least the portion of the electromagnetic field includes positioning the object in a cylinder shaped volume formed by an inner wall of the annular shaped sensor; for the purpose of “generating a 3-D map of a body” (See Edwards; Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ichiro, Mase and Edwards teaches the method of claim 2, wherein Edwards further teaches wherein the annular shaped sensor further comprises a disk shaped conductive bottom surface (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ichiro, Mase and Edwards teaches the method of claim 2, wherein Edwards further teaches wherein the annular shaped sensor further comprises a disk shaped conductive top surface including an opening disposed over the cylinder shaped volume (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ichiro, Mase and Edwards teaches the method of claim 4, wherein Edwards further teaches wherein positioning the object in at least the portion of the electromagnetic field includes positioning the object in a removable object container configured to be disposed in the cylinder shaped volume (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichiro in view of Bausov et al. US 2012/0062408 (Provided by Applicant; Hereinafter Bausov).
Regarding claim 12, Ichiro teaches the method of claim 7, but not specifically wherein synthesizing and distributing the radio frequency signals includes providing the radio frequency source signals and the local oscillator signals to a radio frequency sampler configured to determine amplitude and phase information for the radio frequency source signals.
However, Bausov does teach wherein synthesizing and distributing the radio frequency signals includes providing the radio frequency source signals and the local oscillator signals to a radio frequency sampler (Fig. 1; [0032-0041]) configured to determine amplitude and phase information for the radio frequency source signals (Fig. 1; [0032-0041]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric field measurement of the living human body for biomedical applications of Ichiro by implementing the teachings of Bausov regarding wherein synthesizing and distributing the radio frequency signals includes providing the radio frequency source signals and the local oscillator signals to a radio frequency sampler configured to determine amplitude and phase information for the radio frequency source signals; for the purpose of “discovering and characterizing geologic anomalies in coal bed deposits with unsynchronized radio-imaging transmitters and receivers” (See Bausov; [0002]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ichiro and Bausov teaches the method of claim 12, wherein Bausov further teaches wherein the radio frequency sampler is configured to output a digital indication of the amplitude and the phase information for the radio frequency source signals (Fig. 1; [0039]; measurement device, 128).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cano Garcia et al. US 2019/0021626 (Provided by Applicant; Hereinafter Cano Garcia) in view of Mase in further view of Ichiro.
Regarding claim 16, Cano Garcia teaches a transceiver (Fig. 18; [0175]; RF transceiver, 1610) in a dielectric tomography system (Abstract; Fig. 18), comprising:
at least one memory (Fig. 18; [0175, 0181]; “The uP system consists of a high end microprocessor running at 80 MHz and a set of peripheral chips (EEPROM, FLASH, Communications transceiver, D/A converters, real Time Clock, YIG Filter Driver etc.)”);
at least one oscillator (Fig. 18; [0175]; 1637, 1361);
an antenna (Fig. 18; [0175]; antennas, 1661-1668);
a radio frequency measurement sampler (Fig. 18; [0175]; mixer; 1633);
at least one processor (Fig. 18; [0175]; PC-controlled microprocessor, 1680) communicatively coupled to the at least one memory (Fig. 18; [0175, 0181]), the at least one oscillator (Fig. 18; [0175]; 1637, 1361), the antenna (Fig. 18; [0175]; antennas, 1661-1668), and the radio frequency measurement sampler (Fig. 18; [0175]; mixer; 1633).
Cano Garcia not teach a dual-gain reflectometer.
However, Mase does teach a dual-gain reflectometer (Fig.8; see scheme of the HMID in Fig. 8 “RFAmp” IF Amp” “Local Wave Amp”, the reflectometer disclosed is at least “dual gain” due to the presence of multiple amplifiers, thus multiple gains).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microwave tomography system of Cano Garcia by implementing the teachings of Mase regarding a dual-gain reflectometer; so that “the signal-to-noise ratio (S/N) can be significantly improved” (See Mase; Page 647).
The combination of Cano Garcia and Mase does not teach at least one processor configured to: distribute radio frequency signals including radio frequency source signals, local oscillator signals, and clock signals; determine phase and amplitude information for one or more received radio frequency signals; and apply correction information to the phase and the amplitude information.
However, Ichiro does teach at least one processor (Figs. 1, 2) configured to: distribute radio frequency signals including radio frequency source signals, local oscillator signals, and clock signals (Fig. 1; Page 2, right col., paragraphs 1-7; “RF generator or SDR”; Fig. 2; left part of Fig. 2, “SDR”, “USRP N200”); determine phase and amplitude information for one or more received radio frequency signals (Fig. 1; Page 2, right col., paragraph 2; “phase and amplitude”); and apply correction information to the phase and the amplitude information (Fig. 1; Page 2, right col., paragraph 2; “phase and amplitude”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Cano Garcia and Mase by implementing the teachings of Ichiro regarding at least one processor configured to: distribute radio frequency signals including radio frequency source signals, local oscillator signals, and clock signals; determine phase and amplitude information for one or more received radio frequency signals; and apply correction information to the phase and the amplitude information; for the purpose of “developing a technique for conducting measurements inside the human body by applying a weak electric field at a radio frequency (RF)” (See Ichiro; Page 1, Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Cano Garcia, Mase and Ichiro teaches the transceiver of claim 16, wherein Mase further teaches wherein the dual-gain reflectometer is configured to receive a radio frequency source signal via a switch and a scattered radio frequency signal via the antenna, and output a signal to the radio frequency measurement sampler (Fig.8; see scheme of the HMID in Fig. 8 “RFAmp” IF Amp” “Local Wave Amp”, the reflectometer disclosed is at least “dual gain” due to the presence of multiple amplifiers, thus multiple gains).
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cano Garcia in view of Mase in further view of Ichiro in further view of Bausov.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Cano Garcia, Mase and Ichiro teaches the transceiver of claim 16, but not specifically wherein the radio frequency measurement sampler comprises a mixer configured to receive a local oscillator signal and an output from the dual-gain reflectometer.
However, Bausov does teach wherein the radio frequency measurement sampler comprises a mixer configured to receive a local oscillator signal and an output from the dual-gain reflectometer (Fig. 1; [0032-0041]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Cano Garcia, Mase and Ichiro by implementing the teachings of Bausov regarding wherein the radio frequency measurement sampler comprises a mixer configured to receive a local oscillator signal and an output from the dual-gain reflectometer; for the purpose of “discovering and characterizing geologic anomalies in coal bed deposits with unsynchronized radio-imaging transmitters and receivers” (See Bausov; [0002]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Cano Garcia, Mase, Ichiro and Bausov teaches the transceiver of claim 18, wherein Bausov further teaches wherein the radio frequency measurement sampler further comprises at least one attenuator and at least one amplifier configured to attenuate and amplify the local oscillator signal prior to the mixer (Fig. 1; [0032-0041]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Cano Garcia, Mase, Ichiro and Bausov teaches the transceiver of claim 18, wherein Bausov further teaches wherein the radio frequency measurement sampler further comprises at least one balun to enable a differential signal in the mixer (Fig. 1; [0036]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fontius et al. US 2008/0157765 - In a method and device for monitoring the physiologically effective radio-frequency exposure in at least one specific volume region of an examination subject in a magnetic resonance data acquisition scan in a magnetic resonance system, the magnetic resonance system having a radio-frequency antenna structure with a number of individually controllable radio-frequency signal channels for generation of radio-frequency field distributions in an examination volume including the examination subject, amplitude values are acquired that respectively represent, at specific acquisition points in time, a signal amplitude of the radio-frequency signals emitted or to be emitted via the radio-frequency signal channels in the course of the magnetic resonance measurement.
Leabman US 2022/0192511 - Embodiments of the present technology may include a radar system for a wearable health monitoring device, the radar system including a radio frequency (RF) front-end including at least one transmit antenna and a two-dimensional array of receive antennas.
Abrahamson et al. US 2008/0288024 - A medical transceiver device for radio-based communication with an implantable medical device has circuitry for transmitting radio-frequency signals to, and/or receiving radio-frequency signals from, the implantable medical device, first and second electrically conductive structures, and an antenna feed network operatively interconnected between the circuitry and the first and second conductive structures.
/RAUL J RIOS RUSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858