Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "A formic salt" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if applicant is intending the formic acid salt to be a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or as a preparation step or embodiment of the structure. Ultimately, the metes and bounds of the claim is unclear.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "Table 1" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what is the scope of Table 1. The compounds of Table 1 are not recited in the claims, therefore is rendered indefinite as to MPEP 2173.05(s): Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table "is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience." Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Judd et al. (WO 2020191151 A1).
Regarding claims 1-8 and 11-12, Judd teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising Formula III
or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt (para. 027) in combination with one or more additional pharmaceutically active agents (relevant to claim 12) (para. 073) and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (relevant to claim 11) (para. 069). Of the above compound Judd teaches the embodiments of E as
or
R1-R4, R6-R7 and R13-R19 on para. 027. Of the embodiments R1-R4, R6-R7, R13 and R15-R19 as H and R14 as OR14a wherein 14a is a substituted or unsubstituted aryl is embodied in compound
and
(relevant to claims 1-6) (Table 1). Of other embodiments Judd teaches compound
(Table 1). Of aryl substituents Judd teaches substituents of a halogen, CN and fluoro(C1 -C4)alkyl (relevant to claims 7-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to produce a compound of
from the teachings of Judd. One would have been motivated to do so from the above compound of
wherein the substituent is on R15 and R14 as H. Judd teaches R15 as OR15a wherein 15a is a substituted or unsubstituted aryl. There is a reasonable expectation of developing structure
from the teachings of Judd.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-12, 21, 24-25 and 27-33 of copending Application No. 19/278,896 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-4, 6-12, 21, 24-25 and 27-33 of copending ‘896 teaches compound
with overlapping limitations as claimed invention in combination with another therapeutic agent to treat a disease or condition mediated by YAP/TEAD.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 7-10, 18, 21-22 and 24-30 of copending Application No. 19/278,895 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-2, 7-10, 18, 21-22 and 24-30 of copending ‘895 teaches compound
with overlapping limitations as claimed invention in combination with another therapeutic agent to treat a disease or condition mediated by YAP/TEAD.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 9-12, 20-21, 24-25 and 27-33 of copending Application No. 19/278,892 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-4, 9-12, 20-21, 24-25 and 27-33 of copending ‘892 teaches compound
with overlapping limitations as claimed invention in combination with another therapeutic agent to treat a disease or condition mediated by YAP/TEAD.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 7-10, 23 and 27-33 of copending Application No. 18/785,056 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-2, 7-10, 23 and 27-33 of copending ‘056 teaches compound
with overlapping limitations as claimed invention in combination with another therapeutic agent to treat a disease or condition mediated by YAP/TEAD.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
MIKHAIL O'DONNEL. ROBINSON
Examiner
Art Unit 1627
/MIKHAIL O'DONNEL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627