Election/Restrictions
NOTE: Currently, each of the independent claims 1, 7 and 14 are directed to the species of the stabilizer presented figures 57-62. It should be noted that if future amendments present claims directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed, the amended and/or new claims may be subject to election by original presentation. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed November 9, 2023 includes three references cited (A50, A60, A62) that do not appear to be relevant to the application:
A50: US 9790171 “Synthesis Intermediates For Obtaining Derivatives Of Sphingosines, Ceramides And Sphingomyelins With Good Yields”
A60: 20090137006 “Sugar Kinases With Expanded Substrate Specificity And Their Use”
A62: US 20160106083 “Waterproof Structure For A Fishing Reel”.
It appears these references were cited in error. If these references were intended to be considered, examiner requests a brief explanation of the relevance. If the references are typographical errors, applicant should file an IDS with the correct reference numbers listed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the components and arrangement in figure 57 do not align with that shown in figure 62.
With respect to the annotated figure 62 below:
The circled area “A” appears to include components or features not present on the corresponding point in figure 57.
In the rectangular area “B”, the end of actuator assembly 1750 appears to morph over the plate 270 and into the spaces between rockers 2168.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muraro (US 5,899,496).
Muraro discloses:
1. A stabilizer (1, figure 2) for a vehicle (Abstract), the stabilizer comprising:
an actuator assembly (13, figure 3), configured to be coupled (@3, 4, figure 2) to a chassis (2) of the vehicle and configured to lift the vehicle (figure 2);
a ground pad (8) coupled to the actuator assembly (figure 2), the ground pad (8) having a bottom surface configured to engage a support surface below the chassis when the actuator assembly lifts the vehicle (figure 2);
an alignment member (14) configured to be coupled the chassis (figure 2), wherein the alignment member (14) is configured to limit rotation of the ground pad (in retracted position, figure 1); and
wherein the actuator assembly (13) is configured to move a surface of the ground pad (8) into engagement with the alignment member (14) to cause rotation of the ground pad relative to the chassis (Abstract, last sentence).
2. The stabilizer of Claim 1, wherein the surface of the ground pad is shaped to cause the rotation of the ground pad relative to the chassis in response to the surface of the ground pad engaging the alignment member (Abstract and figure 1)
3. The stabilizer of Claim 1, wherein the alignment member (14) is configured to engage the surface of the ground pad in response to retraction of the actuator assembly (Abstract, last sentence, “recovery position” being the retraction of 13).
7. A vehicle (“earth moving vehicle”, Abstract) comprising:
a chassis (4, figure 2);
a plurality of tractive elements (wheels or treads of vehicle) coupled to the chassis (earth moving vehicle construction); and
a stabilizer (figure 2), comprising:
a support member (1, 5) coupled to the chassis and coupling a ground pad (8) to the chassis (figure 2), wherein the support member extends laterally outward from the chassis (4) along an axis (figure 2); and
an actuator (13) configured to move the support member along the axis (outward extension of 5), wherein the ground pad (8) is configured to rotate (through angle alpha, figure 2 & Abstract) in response to the movement of the support member along the axis (figure 3).
8. The vehicle of Claim 7, wherein the actuator (13) is a first actuator, wherein the stabilizer comprises an actuator assembly including the support member (1,5), the first actuator (13), and a second actuator (9) configured to move the ground pad (8) toward a support surface extending below the chassis (figure 3).
12. The vehicle of Claim 7, further comprising an alignment member (14) coupled to the chassis (figure 2), wherein the actuator (13) is configured to move a surface of the ground pad (8) into engagement with the alignment member (14) to cause rotation of the ground pad relative to the chassis (Abstract, last sentence).
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cassady (US 3,638,965).
Cassidy discloses:
1. A stabilizer (15, figure 1) for a vehicle (10, figure 1), the stabilizer comprising:
an actuator assembly (25, 26, figure 2), configured to be coupled to a chassis of the vehicle (figure 1) and configured to lift the vehicle;
a ground pad (21, 22, figure 1) coupled to the actuator assembly (figure 2), the ground pad (21, 22) having a bottom surface configured to engage a support surface below the chassis when the actuator assembly lifts the vehicle (figure 1);
an alignment member (23, 24, figure 1) configured to be coupled the chassis (figure 1), wherein the alignment member (23, 24) is configured to limit rotation of the ground pad (in the retracted position via abutment of 46, figure 3); and
wherein the actuator assembly (25, 26) is configured to move a surface of the ground pad into engagement with the alignment member (figure 3) to cause rotation of the ground pad relative to the chassis (via engagement with 46, figure 3).
4. The stabilizer of Claim 1, wherein the alignment member (23, 24) is configured to be rotatably coupled to the chassis (figure 2).
Claim(s) 14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bolins (US 3,024,042).
Bolins discloses:
14. A vehicle (figure 1) comprising:
a chassis (chaise of trailer, figure 1);
a plurality of tractive assemblies (wheels of trailer) coupled to the chassis; and
a stabilizer (10, figure 1), comprising:
an actuator assembly (76, 78, 110 figure 2) coupled to the chassis and reconfigurable between a retracted configuration (figure 8) and an extended configuration (figure 2) to lift the chassis;
a ground pad (114) rotatably coupled (@112) to the actuator assembly (figure 2), wherein the ground pad (114) has a bottom surface that is positioned to engage a support surface when the actuator assembly lifts the chassis (figure 2); and
an alignment member (16) coupled to the chassis (figure 1), the alignment member having a first portion (bottom inclined wall 42 of 16, figure 8) and a second portion (vertical wall 20 of 16, figure 8),
wherein, when the actuator assembly is in the retracted configuration (figure 8), the first portion (42) engages the ground pad (114, figure 8) and the second portion (20) engages the actuator assembly ( at least 110 and 28 are in contact with 20, figure 8); and
wherein, when the actuator assembly is in the extended configuration (figure 2), the first portion (42) is separated from the ground pad (114, figure 2) and the second portion (20) is separated from the actuator assembly (figure 2).
18. The vehicle of Claim 14, wherein the actuator assembly (76, 78, 110) is configured to move the ground pad (114) into engagement with the alignment member (figure 8) to cause rotation of the ground pad (about 112) relative to the chassis (position of 114 in figure 2 vs position figure 8).
19. The vehicle of Claim 14, wherein the first portion (42) extends below the second portion (20, figure 8).
20. The vehicle of Claim 14, wherein the first portion (42) is fixedly coupled to the second portion (20, figure 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muraro as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of McCully et al. (US 2,885,181). Muraro does not disclose wherein the ground pad (8) is rotatable about a substantially vertical axis.
However, McCully et al. teach wherein the ground pad (25) is rotatable about a substantially vertical axis (due to the ball and socket connection 26; figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to construct the stabilizer of Muraro with a ground pad rotatable about a substantially vertical axis, as taught by McCully et al, so as to provide a more versatile and adaptable ground pad, adjustable to a greater number of ground surface angles, while still being rotatable when coming into contact with an alignment member (10b, figure 3, McCully et al.) when brought into a retracted position.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,851,036. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of US 11,851,036 includes at least all of the structure, components and limitations of claim 1 in the instant application, including, but not limited to the actuator assembly, the ground pad coupled the actuator assembly, and the alignment member configured to limit rotation of the ground pad and move a surface of the ground pad into engagement with the alignment member to cause rotation of the ground pad.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9-11 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
COLLEEN M. CHAVCHAVADZE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3634
/COLLEEN M CHAVCHAVADZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634