DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This is a first action on the merits following applicant’s response to a restriction/election requirement mailed on 30 December 2025. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of Group I (product claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 07 February 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings received on 09 November 2023 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020/261120 A1.
Regarding claim 1, WO ‘120 discloses an adhesive film with a fine structure on a base layer surface, see p. 6, lines 8-12. The base layer of the adhesive film is described at p. 13, line 30 through p. 14, line 14 and may be an elastic material such as an acrylic foam. The fine structures have a convex first part at the top and a second part at the bottom surface, below the first part. See p. 9, lines 1-2. The convex part has a storage modulus of 3 x 105 Pa or more or even 1 x 106 Pa or more, see p. 9, lines 24-31. This reads on being a stiffer material than the adhesive film. Note that the second part is an adhesive material having a storage modulus of less than 3 x 105 Pa, see p. 10, lines 7-17. The fine structures have micron-sized dimensions with heights of 50 microns or less and a bottom surface of 50 microns or less in the x- and y-axis dimensions (that is, in-plane with the base film), see p. 12, lines 9-25. This reads on microscale asperities as claimed. The structures are provided in a pattern as shown in FIGS. 3A and 4A.
Regarding claim 2, WO ‘120 states that when the adhesive film is peeled from a liner and brought into contact with an adherend with only low pressure, the adhesive film is slidable. When pressure is applied above a certain level to deform the structures, the adhesive film exhibits adhesive force. See p. 19, lines 24-32. FIG. 14 depicts this phenomenon. Accordingly, the adhesive film is tunable as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, FIG. 1D of WO ‘120 depicts an example in which the structures have spherical upper surfaces and flat surfaces at the bottom which are in contact with the base layer. See description at p. 7, lines 10-21.
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tani (U.S. Pub. 2019/0016923).
Regarding claim 1, Tani describes an adhesive member to be adhesively fixed through pressure, see title and abstract. The adhesive member includes a support, a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer provided on one side of the support, and a plurality of protrusion elements arranged, in spaced-apart relation to each other, on a principal surface of the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer. See abstract. See FIG. 1a and description at p. 4-5, [0059] for a depiction of the protrusion elements spaced apart from one another.
The protrusion elements are made from a plurality of cohesive particles such that the height of the protrusion elements is preferably 1 micron or more and 100 microns or less, see p. 6, [0067], thus reading on microscale asperities as claimed.
The protrusion elements have an elastic modulus of 5 MPa or more, see p. 2, [0017] and include cohesive particles each having a hard outer shell, see p. 19-20, [0141]. The support film is a thin PET film, see p. 20, [0143], which has a pressure sensitive adhesive formed on one side, see p. 20-21, [0152]. This reads on an elastic adhesive substrate.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, each protrusion element is made from a plurality of cohesive particles, see p. 2, [0014]. This reads on clusters of the asperities as claimed.
Additionally, the protrusion elements are spaced apart from each other with an interior region free of protrusion elements, also reading on clusters of asperities as claimed. See FIG. 1a and description at p. 4-5, [0059]. As shown in FIGS. 1(a) and 9 (each reproduced below), the protrusion arrangement can be viewed as triangles (three-sided polygons) or quadrilaterals (four-sided polygons) each with an interior free of protrusions. See discussion at p. 14, [0113].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/261120 A1.
Regarding claim 3, WO ‘120 discloses an adhesive film with a fine structure on a base layer surface, see p. 6, lines 8-12. The base layer of the adhesive film is described at p. 13, line 30 through p. 14, line 14 and may be an elastic material such as an acrylic foam. The fine structures have a convex first part at the top and a second part at the bottom surface, below the first part. See p. 9, lines 1-2. The convex part has a storage modulus of 3 x 105 Pa or more or even 1 x 106 Pa or more, see p. 9, lines 24-31. This reads on being a stiffer material than the adhesive film. Note that the second part is an adhesive material having a storage modulus of less than 3 x 105 Pa, see p. 10, lines 7-17. The fine structures have micron-sized dimensions with heights of 50 microns or less and a bottom surface of 50 microns or less in the x- and y-axis dimensions (that is, in-plane with the base film), see p. 12, lines 9-25. This reads on microscale asperities as claimed. The structures are provided in a pattern as shown in FIGS. 3A and 4A.
WO ‘120 teaches that the structures have heights of from 5 to 50 microns, see p. 12, lines 21-25. This overlaps the claimed range of less than 10 microns. As set forth in MPEP § 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 3, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tani (U.S. Pub. 2019/0016923).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Tani describes an adhesive member to be adhesively fixed through pressure, see title and abstract. The adhesive member includes a support, a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer provided on one side of the support, and a plurality of protrusion elements arranged, in spaced-apart relation to each other, on a principal surface of the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer. See abstract. See FIG. 1a and description at p. 4-5, [0059] for a depiction of the protrusion elements spaced apart from one another.
The protrusion elements have an elastic modulus of 5 MPa or more, see p. 2, [0017] and include cohesive particles each having a hard outer shell, see p. 19-20, [0141]. The support film is a thin PET film, see p. 20, [0143], which has a pressure sensitive adhesive formed on one side, see p. 20-21, [0152]. This reads on an elastic adhesive substrate.
The protrusion elements are made from a plurality of cohesive particles such that the height of the protrusion elements is preferably 1 micron or more and 100 microns or less, see p. 6, [0067], thus reading on microscale asperities as claimed. This overlaps the claimed ranges of less than 10 microns (as in claim 3) and of about 0.31 to about 1.34 microns (as in claim 4). As set forth in MPEP § 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 7: Tani does not expressly teach the claimed dimensionless parameter
as claimed. Tani does however teach that the protrusion elements have a height of from 1 to 100 microns (see p. 4, [0039] and p. 6, [0067]), the spacing between protrusion elements shown in FIG. 9 is 2 mm (2000 microns) or 3.42 mm (3420 microns), and various adhesive forces are shown in Table 4 on p. 19. These adhesive forces (shear adhesive strength of the adhesive material, shear adhesive strength of the protrusion element, shear adhesive strength of the adhesive sheet, and frictional force of the adhesive sheet) do not correspond directly to W, the work of adhesion, in the pressure tunable adhesive system as claimed.
However, the Examiner notes that the prior art generally teaches the claimed invention and as such it would be expected to have similar properties. The Examiner notes that the courts have held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, “the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of the claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 USC 102, or ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 USC 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products.” In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (quoting In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977)). The Examiner notes that Tani discloses an adhesive sheet having the same components and some of the same dimensional properties for the pressure tunable adhesive system as claimed in claim 1 as described above. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the same or similar properties to arise. Since the prior art discloses the adhesive system of claim 1, the examiner believes the claimed properties are either anticipated or highly obvious.
Prior Art of Record
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mikami (U.S. Pub. 2022/0251427) is the U.S. equivalent of WO 2020/261120 A1.
Karp (U.S. Pub. 2011/0021965) describes an adhesive sheet with a plurality of protrusions which are stiffer than the base adhesive sheet. The protrusions are formed in a pattern. The reference is cumulative.
Natarajan (U.S. Pub. 2012/0143228) also describes an adhesive sheet with stiff non-adhesive protrusions on the adhesive surface forming an adhesive similar to that of a gecko’s foot.
Maercklein (U.S. Pat. 6,565,697) describes a repositionable adhesive sheet having non-adhesive portions formed in either continuous lines or discrete portions on the adhesive sheet.
Fukui (U.S. Pub. 2009/0130372) describes an adhesive structure with a plurality of protrusions extending from a base layer, each protrusion having a spherical end tip.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/Scott R. Walshon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759