DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 C.F.R. § 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 C.F.R. § 1.114. Applicant’s submission filed 30 April 2026 (hereinafter “Reply”) has been entered.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 6, 12, and 20 are currently amended.
Claim 3 has been canceled.
Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jain et al., US 2018/089159 A1, in view of Sivertson et al., US 2016/0147729 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Jain discloses a user computing device, comprising:
One or more processor devices; one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processor devices, cause the one or more processors to perform operations. Jain fig. 8.
Sending contextual user information to a server computing system, the contextual user information comprising: information descriptive of a user of the user computing device. Jain teaches sending collected data to an application server. Jain ¶ 79, fig. 2 (step 4). The collected data may include information descriptive of a user, such as sensor data. Id. ¶ 79.
[Sending contextual user information to a server computing system, the contextual user information comprising:] information received from the user via an existing input field of an existing form rendered by the user computing device. Jain teaches sending collected data to an application server. Jain ¶ 79, fig. 2 (step 4). The collected data may include user in put into the field of a form presented at a user device. Id. ¶ 79.
Receiving, from the server computing system, a data object generated based on the contextual user information, wherein the data object is indicative of one or more input fields of a dynamically rendered form, and wherein the data object comprises information indicative of a field type for each of the one or more input fields. Jain teaches using the collected data to make adjustments to an electronic form. Jain ¶¶ 80-81. The application server sends form data to the user device. Id. ¶ 72, fig. 2 (step 3). The form data configures an application to provide a form for display to a user. Id. ¶ 72. The form data may include a data type for a field. Id. ¶¶ 78, 120.
Based on the data object and the input from the user, displaying a rendering of the dynamically rendered form comprising the one or more input fields. Jain teaches displaying dynamic electronic forms at the user device. Jain ¶ 73, fig. 1. Collected data may be used to make adjustments to the dynamic electronic forms. Jain ¶¶ 80-81.
Jain alone does not disclose, but the combination of Jain with Sivertson renders obvious:
Receiving an input from the user, wherein the input selects a navigation interface element that navigates from the existing form rendered by the user computing device to a subsequent form. Jain teaches receiving user input to form elements to cause navigation to a subsequent view. Jain ¶¶ 54, 59, 77, fig. 1. Jain does not explicitly disclose that the input comprises selection of a “navigation interface element.” However, Sivertson teaches determining a user action. Sivertson ¶ 53. The user action may be selection of a presented navigation button. Id. ¶ 141, fig. 11 (forward navigation button 1116).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jain’s process of navigating from an existing form to a subsequent form based on user input with Sivertson’s teaching of a selectable navigation interface element. Such a modification would increase usability by facilitating the presentation of navigation patterns and actuators that are native to the client’s platform. See Sivertson ¶ 42.
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, Jain discloses wherein the data object further comprises information indicative of a layout of the one or more input fields within the dynamically rendered form. Jain teaches the form data may include form definitions. Jain ¶ 75. Form definitions may specify a layout of the form. Id. ¶ 54.
Regarding claim 4, which depends on claim 1, Jain discloses wherein obtaining the rendering of the dynamically rendered form comprises: based on the data object, generating the rendering of the dynamically rendered form. Jain teaches the form data configures an application to provide a form for display to a user. Jain ¶ 72, fig. 1.
Regarding claim 6, which depends on claim 1, Jain discloses wherein the operations further comprise: receiving user input information by the user to the one or more input fields. Jain ¶ 76.
Regarding claim 7, which depends on claim 6, Jain discloses:
Wherein the data object further comprises interface information that defines a particular data object format that is compatible with a dynamic form interface of the server computing system. Jain teaches the form data may include a data type (e.g., numerical input) for a field. Jain ¶¶ 78, 120.
Wherein the operations further comprise: based on the interface information, generating a response data object of the particular data object format, wherein the response data object is descriptive of the user input information; and sending the response data object to the server computing system via the dynamic form interface of the server computing system. Jain teaches sending collected data to an application server. Jain ¶ 79, fig. 2 (step 4). The collected data may include, for example, user input into the field of a form presented at a user device. Id. ¶ 79.
Regarding claim 8, which depends on claim 7, Jain discloses: wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, from the server computing system, instructions to apply one or more modifications to the dynamically rendered form, wherein the instructions are based at least in part on the user input information; and applying the one or more modifications to the rendering of the dynamically rendered form. Jain teaches the application server sending form data to the user device. Jain ¶ 72, fig. 2 (step 3). The form data configures an application to provide a form for display to a user. Id. ¶ 72. The form data may be used to trigger a new or updated form. Id. ¶ 73.
Regarding claim 9, which depends on claim 8, Jain discloses wherein applying the one or more modifications to the rendering of the dynamically rendered form comprises: modifying the rendering of the dynamically rendered form to add an additional input field to the dynamically rendered form. Jain teaches the sent form data may be used to trigger a new or updated form. Id. ¶ 73.
Regarding claim 10, which depends on claim 8, Jain discloses wherein applying the one or more modifications to the rendering of the dynamically rendered form comprises: modifying a field type of at least one of the one or more input fields of the dynamically rendered form. Jain teaches the sent form data may be used to trigger a new or updated form. Id. ¶ 73.
Regarding claim 11, which depends on claim 7, Jain discloses wherein the operations further comprise:
Receiving, from the server computing system, a second data object generated based on the user input information, wherein the second data object is indicative of a second dynamically rendered form comprising one or more second input fields, and wherein the second data object comprises information indicative of a field type for each of the one or more second input fields. Jain teaches using collected data to make adjustments to an electronic form. Jain ¶¶ 80-81. The application server sends form data to the user device. Id. ¶ 72, fig. 2 (step 3). The form data configures an application to provide a form for display to a user. Id. ¶ 72. The form data may include a data type for a field. Id. ¶¶ 78, 120.
Based on the second data object, displaying a rendering of the second dynamically rendered form. Jain teaches displaying the form at the user device. Jain ¶ 73, fig. 1.
Claims 12-18 are drawn to methods for performing the functions of the apparatuses recited in claims 1-2 and 7-11, respectively. Accordingly, these claims are rejected for substantially the same reasons as indicated in the above rejections of the corresponding claims.
Regarding claim 19, which depends on claim 14, Jain discloses wherein the method further comprises:
Based on the user input information, selecting, by the computing system, one or more second input fields for inclusion in a second data object; generating, by the computing system, the second data object, wherein the second data object is indicative of the one or more second input fields. Jain teaches using the collected data to make adjustments (e.g., adding interface elements) to an electronic form. Jain ¶¶ 80-81.
Sending, by the computing system, second rendering information to the user computing device associated with the user of the one or more users, wherein the second rendering information comprises the second data object and instructions to render a second dynamically rendered form from the second data object. Jain teaches the application server sending form data to the user device. Jain ¶ 72, fig. 2 (step 3). The form data configures an application to render a form for display to a user. Id. ¶ 72.
Claim 20 is drawn to instructions stored in a medium that implement the functions of the apparatuses recited in claim 1. Accordingly, this claim is rejected for substantially the same reasons as indicated in the above rejection of the corresponding claim.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jain et al., US 2018/089159 A1, in view of Sivertson et al., US 2016/0147729 A1, further in view of McLellan, US 7,685,609 B1.
Regarding claim 5, which depends on claim 1, Jain does not explicitly disclose, but McLellan discloses wherein obtaining the rendering of the dynamically rendered form comprises: receiving the rendering of the dynamically rendered form from a computing entity other than the user computing device. McLellan teaches a server-side rendering of a form. McLellan fig. 1 (rendering engine 116), fig. 2 (step 210).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jain’s process of obtaining a rendering of a dynamic form with McLellan’s process of server-side rendering of a form. Such a modification would conserve computing resources by facilitating distributed form event processing. See McLellan 1:9-12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant merely alleges that Sivertson fails to teach or suggest “receiving an input from the user, wherein the input selects a navigation interface element that navigates from the existing form rendered by the user computing device to a subsequent form.” Reply 9. Applicant’s allegation is moot as the Office does not contend that Sivertson anticipates this limitation. Rather, the Office has found that the combined teachings of Jain and Sivertson render this limitation obvious. Applicant is referred to the above detailed rejections for further explanation.
Conclusion
Although particular portions of the prior art may have been cited in support of the rejections, the specified citations are merely representative of the teachings. Other passages and figures in the cited prior art may apply. Accordingly, Applicant should consider the entirety of the cited prior art for potentially teaching all or part of the claims.
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Asher D. Kells
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2171
/Asher D Kells/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171