DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues on page 6 of the arguments that Matsumoto fails to disclose or suggest the specific Te doping concentration profile because Matsumoto only discloses a Se dopant. However, fig. 1(a) of Matsumoto discloses that “the n-type dopant may employ Si or Te or Si and Se in place of Se”. See col. 4 ll. 14 of Matsumoto. Therefore, the n-type in layer 3 of Matsumoto can be Te with the doping profile shown in fig. 1(b) of Matsumoto with a carrier concentration of 1x10^18 (greater than 5e17 of claim 1 of instant application) at the buffer layer 2 and 8x10^15 (less than 5e17 of claim 1 of instant application) at the active layer 2. Claim 1 remains rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 6,163,037) (“Matsumoto”) in view of Takayama et al. (US 2023/0021325) (“Takayama”).
With regard to claim 1, figs. 1(a)-1(b) of Matsumoto discloses a light-emitting device, comprising: a semiconductor epitaxial structure (“epitaxially grown”, col. 3 ll. 49) that has a first surface (bottom of 2) and a second surface opposite (top of 7) to said first surface (bottom of 2), and that includes a first semiconductor layer (3, 2), an active layer 4, and a second semiconductor layer (7, 6, 5) sequentially disposed in such order in a direction (bottom to top in fig. 1(a)) from said first surface (bottom of 2) to said second surface (top of 7), said active layer 4 having an upper surface (top of 4) that is adjacent to said second semiconductor layer (7, 6, 5) and a lower surface (bottom of 4) that is opposite to said upper surface (top of 4), wherein said first semiconductor layer (3, 2) is doped with an n-type dopant (“n-type cladding layer 3”, col. 3 ll. 54), said n-type dopant 3 being Te (“n-type dopant may employ Si or Te “, col. 4 ll. 14), said n-type dopant (“n-type dopant”, col. 4 ll. 14) having a first concentration of 5E17/cm3 (“5x10^17 cm^-3”, col. 3 ll. 59) at a first point (5x10^17 cm^-3 in n-type cladding layer 3) in said first semiconductor layer (3, 2), said first point (5x10^17 cm^-3 in n-type cladding layer 3) of said first semiconductor layer (3, 2) and said lower surface (bottom of 4) of said active layer 4 having a first distance (top of 3 in fig. 1(a) is 8e15 cm^-3, bottom of 3 is 1e18 cm^-3, and thickness of 3 is .9 um then distance from top of 3 to 5e17cm^-3 is .441 um, fig. 1(b) and col. 3 ll. 58-61) therebetween, said first distance (.441 um) ranging from 150 nm to 500 nm (e.g. .441 um) and wherein, in a region of said first semiconductor layer 3 that is away from said lower surface (bottom of 4) of said active layer 4 by a distance larger than said first distance (.44 um), a doping concentration of Te (“Te”, col. 4 ll. 14) is greater than 5E17/cm3 (1x10^18, fig. 1(b)), and in a region of said first semiconductor layer 3 that is away from said lower surface (bottom of 4) of said active layer 4 by a distance smaller than said first distance (.44 um), a doping concentration of Te (“Te”, col. 4 ll. 14) is smaller than 5E17/cm3 (8x10^15, fig. 1(b)).
Matsumoto does not disclose that said active layer including well layers and barrier layers that are alternately stacked.
However, fig. 2A of Takayama disclose that said active layer 41 including well layers (“multiple quantum well structure”, par [0090]) and barrier layers that are alternately stacked.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the active layer of Matsumoto with the multi-quantum well active layer as taught in Takayama in order to provide a high-power semiconductor laser. See par [0090] of Takayama.
With regard to claim 3, figs. 1(a)-1(b) of Matsumoto discloses said first distance ranges from 200 nm to 500 nm (e.g. .441 um).
With regard to claim 4, figs. 1(a)-1(b) of Matsumoto discloses said first semiconductor layer (3, 2) includes a first cladding layer 3, said first cladding layer 3 including a first sublayer (bottom portion of 3 with doping concentration greater than 8e17/cm^3, col. 3 ll. 56-61) and a second sublayer (top portion of 3 in fig. 1(a)), said first sublayer (bottom portion of 2, fig. 1(a)) having a doping concentration no smaller than 8E17/cm3, said second sublayer (top portion of 3 with doping concentration greater than 8e17/cm^3) having a concentration that gradually decreases in the direction from said first surface (bottom of 2) of said semiconductor epitaxial structure (“epitaxially grown”, col. 3 ll. 49) to said second surface (top of 7) of said semiconductor epitaxial structure (“epitaxially grown”, col. 3 ll. 49).
With regard to claim 5, Matsumoto does not discloses said first sublayer has a thickness that is one-third to two-thirds of a thickness of said first cladding layer.
However, fig. 16A of Takayama discloses said first sublayer (1x10^19/cm^-3 concentration portion of N-type cladding layer in fig. 16C) has a thickness that is one-third to two-thirds of a thickness of said first cladding layer (N-type cladding layer in fig. 16C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the cladding layer of Matsumoto with the concentration profile as taught in Takayama in order to improve the high-temperature high-output operation of semiconductor laser device. See par [0291] of Takayama.
With regard to claim 12, figs. 1(a)-1(b) of Matsumoto disclose said second semiconductor layer (7, 6, 5) is doped with a p-type dopant (“p-type”, col. 4 ll. 26), said p-type dopant having a second concentration of 1E17/cm3 (between “7x10^15/cm^-3” and “5x10^17”, col. 4 ll. 3-4) at a second point (interface of 5a and 5b) in said second semiconductor layer (7, 6, 5), said second point (interface of 5a and 5b) of said second semiconductor layer (7, 6, 5) and said upper surface (top of 4 in fig. 1(a)) of said active layer 4 having a second distance therebetween.
Matsumoto does not disclose that second distance ranging from 40 nm to 400 nm.
However, Matsumoto does disclose the second sublayer 5b with a thickness of approximately 0.5-1 um. See col. 4 ll. 3 of Matsumoto.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the thickness of the second sublayer layer of Matsumoto at approximately 0.4 um in order to small AlGaInP light emitting device. See col. 3 ll. 55 of Matsumoto.
Moreover, there is no evidence indicating the ranges of 40 nm to 400 nm is critical and the Federal Circuit has held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05 II. Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed dimensions or any unexpected results arising there from. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicants must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
With regard to claim 13, Matsumoto does not disclose that said second semiconductor layer includes a second cladding layer and a second spacing layer, said second spacing layer being disposed between said active layer and said second cladding layer.
However, fig. 2A of Takayama discloses that said second semiconductor layer (60, 50) includes a second cladding layer 60 and a second spacing layer 50, said second spacing layer 50 being disposed between said active layer 40 and said second cladding layer 60.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form in between the active layer and p-type cladding layer of Matsumoto a p-type guiding layer as taught in Takayama in order reduce an increase in waveguide loss. See par [0097] of Takayama.
With regard to claim 14, Matsumoto does not disclose said second spacing layer is made of AlGaInP and has a doping concentration no greater than 1E17/cm3.
However, fig. 23 of Takayama discloses said second spacing layer 50 is made of AlGaInP (“AlGaInP”, par [0363]) and has a doping concentration no greater than 1E17/cm3 (“1×10.sup.17 cm.sup.−3 “, par [0261]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form in between the active layer and p-type cladding layer of Matsumoto a p-type guiding layer as taught in Takayama in order reduce an increase in waveguide loss. See par [0097] of Takayama.
With regard to claim 15, Matsumoto does not that said second spacing layer has a thickness no greater than 400 nm.
However, fig. 23 of Takayama discloses said second spacing layer 50 has a thickness no greater than 400 nm (“0.2 um”, par [0261]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form in between the active layer and p-type cladding layer of Matsumoto a p-type guiding layer as taught in Takayama in order reduce an increase in waveguide loss. See par [0097] of Takayama.
With regard to claim 16, Matsumoto discloses said p-type dopant (“p-type”, col. 3 ll. 66) contains Mg, Zn (“Zn”, col. 4 ll. 1), Ca, Sr, Ba, or combinations thereof.
With regard to claim 17, Matsumoto does not disclose that each of said well layers and a corresponding one of said barrier layers that is adjacent to said each of said well layers constitute a layer unit, a number of layer unit ranging from 2 to 100.
However, fig. 23 of Takayama discloses that each of said well layers (“multiple quantum well structure including quantum well layers”, par [0090]) and a corresponding one of said barrier layers that is adjacent to said each of said well layers constitute a layer unit, a number of layer unit ranging from 2 to 100 (“multiple quantum well structure”, par [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the active layer of Matsumoto with the multi-quantum well active layer as taught in Takayama in order to provide a high-power semiconductor laser. See par [0090] of Takayama.
With regard to claim 18, Matsumoto does not disclose each of said well layers has a thickness ranging from 2 nm to 25 nm, and each of said barrier layers has a thickness ranging from 2 nm to 25 nm.
However, fig. 23 of Takayama discloses each of said well layers 41 has a thickness ranging from 2 nm to 25 nm (“well layer 41 is thick and has, for example, a thickness of at least 6 nm”, par [0090]), and each of said barrier layers 43a has a thickness ranging from 2 nm to 25 nm (“P-side first barrier layer 43a may have a thickness of at least 5 nm”, par [0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the active layer of Matsumoto with the quantum well active layer as taught in Takayama in order to provide a semiconductor laser. See par [0011] of Takayama.
With regard to claim 19, Matsumoto does not disclose that said active layer emits light having a wavelength ranging from 550 nm to 950 nm.
However, fig. 23 of Takayama discloses that said active layer 40 emits light (“laser light”, par [0082]) having a wavelength ranging from 550 nm to 950 nm (“900 nm“, par [0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the active layer of Matsumoto with the quantum well active layer as taught in Takayama in order to provide a semiconductor laser. See par [0011] of Takayama.
With regard to claim 20, fig. 1(a)-1(b) of Matsumoto discloses a light-emitting apparatus (“outdoor displays”, col. 1 ll. 11-12) comprising the light-emitting device (“semiconductor light emitting device “, col. 2 ll. 6-7) as claimed in claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN TZU-HUNG LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893