DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application No. 18/505,928 filed on November 09, 2023.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Group I invention and Species 1 disclosed in Fig. 2 in the reply filed on 04/27/2026 is acknowledged. The Applicants indicated that claims 1-16 read on the elected species. Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Accordingly, pending in this Office action are claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 10-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Weis (US 2024/0113037).
Regarding Claim 1, Weis (see, e.g., Fig. 7), teaches a semiconductor device assembly 100 (see, e.g., par. 0077), comprising:
a support layer 106 with an inside surface (see, e.g., par. 0078);
a semiconductor device 112 disposed on the inside surface (see, e.g., par. 0080); and
an encapsulant material 114 at least partially encapsulating the semiconductor device 112, including (see, e.g., par. 0083):
a bulk material 118 (see, e.g., par. 0087), and
thermally conductive nanoparticles 120 distributed through the bulk material 118, each nanoparticle 120 having an electrically insulative shell 124 and an electrically conductive core 122 (see, e.g., pars. 0087, 0122).
Regarding Claim 2, Weis teaches all aspects of claim 1. Weis (see, e.g., Fig. 7), teaches that the electrically insulative shell 124 comprises silica (see, e.g., pars. 0087, 0122).
Regarding Claim 3, Weis teaches all aspects of claim 1. Weis (see, e.g., Fig. 7), teaches that the electrically conductive core 122 comprises one of the following: Copper, Silver, Gold, or alloys thereof, or Carbon Nanotubes or Graphene fragments (see, e.g., par. 0122).
Regarding Claim 4, Weis teaches all aspects of claim 1. Weis (see, e.g., Fig. 7), teaches that the bulk material 118 comprises a resin and a hardening agent (see, e.g., pars. 0016, 0087).
Regarding Claim 7, Weis teaches all aspects of claim 1. Weis (see, e.g., Fig. 7), teaches that the encapsulant material 114 further comprises a thermal conductivity greater than four Watts per meter-Kelvin (see, e.g., par. 0084).
Regarding Claim 10, Weis (see, e.g., Fig. 7), teaches an encapsulant material 114 (see, e.g., par. 0083), comprising:
a bulk material 118 (see, e.g., par. 0087); and
thermally conductive nanoparticles 120 distributed throughout the bulk material 118, each nanoparticle 120 having an electrically insulative shell 124 and an electrically conductive core 122 (see, e.g., pars. 0087, 0122).
Regarding Claim 11, Weis teaches all aspects of claim 10. Weis (see, e.g., Fig. 7), teaches that the electrically insulative shell 124 comprises silica (see, e.g., pars. 0087, 0122).
Regarding Claim 12, Weis teaches all aspects of claim 10. Weis (see, e.g., Fig. 7), teaches that the electrically conductive core 122 comprises one of the following: Copper, Silver, Gold, or alloys thereof, or Carbon Nanotubes, or Graphene fragments (see, e.g., par. 0122).
Regarding Claim 13, Weis teaches all aspects of claim 10. Weis (see, e.g., Fig. 7), teaches that the bulk material 118 comprises a resin and a hardening agent (see, e.g., pars. 0016, 0087).
Regarding Claim 16, Weis teaches all aspects of claim 10. Weis (see, e.g., Fig. 7), teaches that the encapsulant material 114 further comprises a thermal conductivity greater than four Watts per meter-Kelvin (see, e.g., par. 0084).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 8, 9, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weis (US 2024/0113037).
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Weis teaches all aspects of claims 1 and 10. Weis is silent with respect to the claim limitation that each electrically conductive core 122 has a size ranging from one hundred nanometers to one micrometer.
However, this claim limitation is merely considered a change in the size of each electrically conductive core in Weis’ device. The specific claimed size, absent any criticality, is only considered to be an obvious modification of the size of each electrically conductive core in Weis’ device, as the courts have held that changes in size without any criticality, are within the level of skill in the art. According to the courts, a particular size is nothing more than one among numerous sizes that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide using routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Accordingly, since the applicant has not established the criticality (see next paragraph below) of the claimed core size, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the claimed core size in Weis’ device.
CRITICALITY
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed core size or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen size or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen size is critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Weis teaches all aspects of claims 1 and 10. Weis (see, e.g., Fig. 7), teaches that each electrically insulative shell 124 has a thickness ranging from 1 nm to 60 nm (see, e.g., par. 0122).
Weis is does not teach that that each electrically insulative shell has a thickness ranging from one hundred nanometers to ten micrometers.
However, this claim limitation is merely considered a change in the thickness of the insulative shells in Weis’ device.
See also the comments stated above in claims 5 and 14 regarding criticality which are considered repeated here.
Regarding Claim 8, Weis teaches all aspects of claim 1. Weis (see, e.g., Fig. 7), teaches an assembly 100 comprising a semiconductor die 112, an encapsulating material 114 including a bulk material 118 and nanoparticles 120 (see, e.g., pars. 0077, 0080, 0083, 0087). Further, Weis teaches that the function provided by the functional filling medium 114 is the provision of a pronounced heat removal capability. More specifically, when the active electronic component 112 generates heat during operation of the package 100, said heat is transferred efficiently from the electronic component 112 to the highly thermally conductive functional filling medium 114 and from there to an outside environment surrounding the package 100 (see, e.g., par. 0084).
Weis does not disclose that power measuring in excess of ten Watts can be directed or applied to the assembly without the assembly exceeding an allowable junction temperature of ten degrees Celsius.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the assembly of Weis, to improve thermal management such that it is capable of operating at power levels exceeding 10 W while maintaining junction temperature at or below 10°C. The claimed limitation represents the result of optimizing known, result-effective variables, including thermal conductivity of materials, heat dissipation pathways, and device geometry, which would have been within the routine skill in the art.
Since the material of the filling medium 114 and the size and material of the nanoparticles 120 can be changed, they can produce different results such pronounced heat removal capabilities. Thus, the materials and size of the filling medium 114 and the nanoparticles 120 are a result effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to achieve the desired assembly’s junction temperature of ten degrees Celsius, via the routine optimization process of changing the materials and sizes of the filling medium and nanoparticles, thereby obtaining the claimed invention. “a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation”. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Further, the claimed performance is an inherent result of the modified structure. No criticality is shown for the specific thresholds (10 W / 10°C).
The claimed limitation that “power measuring in excess of ten Watts can be directed or applied to the assembly without the assembly exceeding an allowable junction temperature of ten degrees Celsius”, is merely a statement of intended operating performance that would inherently result from routine optimization of the assembly taught by Weis, and does not impart patentable distinction.
Regarding Claim 9, Weis teaches all aspects of claim 1. Weis is silent with respect to the claim limitation that the semiconductor die has a thickness of one-hundred fifty micrometers or less without the assembly exceeding an allowable junction temperature of ten degrees Celsius.
See also the comments stated above in claims 5 and 8 regarding criticality of thickness and result effective variables which are considered repeated here.
Conclusion
/Nelson Garces/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814