DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/14/2023, 03/28/2024, 04/08/2024, 03/31/2025, and 08/12/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objection/s to the Specification
The title of the invention, “ILLUMINATION SYSTEM AND PROJECTION DEVICE,” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-17, 19-34, and 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamakage (CN 114879439 A) in view of Yamada (US 20140354956 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Yamakage teaches a projection device (Fig. 11), comprising an illumination system (100), a light valve (160), and a projection lens (180), wherein: the illumination system (Fig. 1), providing an illumination beam (IL; Fig. 11), the illumination system comprising a first light source module (101a1), a second light source module (101a2), a first optical element (201 and/or 202), a second optical element (203), wherein: the first light source module (101a1) provides a first color light beam (red), a second color light beam (blue/green), and a third color light beam (green/blue); the second light source module (101a2) provides the first color light beam (red), the second color light beam (blue/green), and the third color light beam (green/blue); the first optical element (201 and/or 202) and the second optical element (203) are all disposed on transmission paths of the first color light beam (red), the second color light beam (blue/green) and the third color light beam (green/blue), and the first light source module (101a1) and the second light source module (101a2) are respectively located on opposite sides of the first optical element (201 and/or 202) and the second optical element (203); the light valve (160) is disposed on a transmission path of the illumination beam (IL; Fig. 11) to convert the illumination beam (IL; Fig. 11) into an image light beam; and the projection lens (180) is disposed on a transmission path of the image light beam to project the image light beam out of the projection device.
Yamakage does not explicitly teach a third light source module, and a third optical element, the third light source module provides the third color light beam; the third optical element is disposed on transmission paths of the first color light beam, the second color light beam and the third color light beam; the second optical element is located between the first optical element and the third optical element.
Yamada teaches identical light source modules (101a and 101b) being combined by a combiner (68, 88; Fig. 7 and 8, respectively).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to modify Yamakage to duplicate the light sources as taught by Yamada such that a third light source module (duplicate 101a1 and/or 101a2), and a third optical element (68, 88), the third light source module (duplicate 101a1 and/or 101a2) provides the third color light beam (green/blue); the third optical element (68, 88) is disposed on transmission paths of the first color light beam (red), the second color light beam (blue/green) and the third color light beam (green/blue); the second optical element (203) is located between the first optical element (201 and/or 202) and the third optical element (68, 88); because it allows increasing light output to provide brighter and improved picture quality.
Regarding claim 29, Yamakage teaches an illumination system, providing an illumination beam (IL; Fig. 11), the illumination system comprising a first light source module (101a1), a second light source module (101a2), a first optical element (201 and/or 202), a second optical element (203), and a converging element (109; Fig. 11), wherein: the first light source module (101a1) provides a first light beam, a second light beam, and a third light beam; the second light source module (101a2) provides a fourth light beam, a fifth light beam, and a sixth light beam; the first optical element (201 and/or 202) is disposed on transmission paths of the first light beam, the second light beam and the third light beam, and the first optical element (201 and/or 202) is used to allow the first light beam, the second light beam and the third light beam to pass through; the second optical element (203) is disposed on transmission paths of the fifth light beam and the sixth light beam, and the second optical element (203) is used to reflect a portion of the fifth light beam and allow another portion of the fifth light beam to pass through.
Yamagake does not explicitly teach a third light source module, a third optical element, the third light source module provides a seventh light beam; and the third optical element is disposed on a transmission path of the seventh light beam, and the third optical element is used to reflect the seventh light beam.
Yamada teaches two identical light source modules (101a and 101b) being combined by a combiner (68, 88; Fig. 7 and 8, respectively).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to modify Yamakage to duplicate the light sources as taught by Yamada such that a third light source module (duplicate 101a1 and/or 101a2), a third optical element (68, 88), the third light source module (duplicate 101a1 and/or 101a2) provides a seventh light beam; and the third optical element (68, 88) is disposed on a transmission path of the seventh light beam, and the third optical element (68, 88) is used to reflect the seventh light beam; because it allows increasing light output to provide brighter and improved picture quality.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, the combination of Yamakage and Yamada consequently results in an extending direction of a substrate of the first light source module (101a1) and an extending direction of a substrate of the second light source module (101a2) are perpendicular to each other (Fig. 1 of Yamakage), and the extending direction of the substrate of the second light source module (101a2) is parallel to an extending direction of a substrate of the third light source module (duplicate 101a1 and/or 101a2; Fig. 7 and 8 of Yamada).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Yamakage, as modified by Yamada, further teaches the first light source module (101a1) comprises at least one first red laser diode, at least one second red laser diode, at least one blue laser diode, and at least one green laser diode that are linearly arranged, the second light source module (101a2) comprises at least one first red laser diode, at least one second red laser diode, at least one blue laser diode, and at least one green laser diode that are linearly arranged (Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Yamakage, as modified by Yamada, further teaches the first optical element (201 and/or 202) comprises a first region and a second region, the first region is used to reflect the first color light beam (red) and allow the second color light beam (blue/green) and the third color light beam (green/blue) to pass through, the second region is used to allow the first color light beam (red) to pass through and reflect the second color light beam (blue/green) and the third color light beam (green; Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Yamakage, as modified by Yamada, further teaches the second optical element (203) is used to reflect a portion of the second color light beam (blue/green) and allow another portion of the second color light beam (blue/green) to pass through (Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 7 and 21, the combination of Yamakage and Yamada consequently results in the third optical element (68, 88 of Yamada) comprises an optical region (88b of Yamada) for reflecting the third color light beam (green/blue) and allowing the first color light beam (red) and the second color light beam (blue/green) to pass through (Fig. 7 and 8 of Yamada).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Yamakage and Yamada consequently results in the third optical element (68, 88 of Yamada) comprises an optical region (88b of Yamada) for reflecting the seventh light beam and allowing the first light beam and the second light beam to pass through (Fig. 7 and 8 of Yamada).
Regarding claims 8, 22, and 38, the combination of Yamakage and Yamada consequently results in the third optical element (68, 88 of Yamada) further comprises two transmissive regions, the optical region (88b of Yamada) is connected between the two transmissive regions, and the two transmissive regions are used to allow light beams to pass through (Fig. 7 and 8 of Yamada).
Regarding claims 9 and 23, the combination of Yamakage and Yamada consequently results in a converging element (109 of Yamakage; 4 of Yamada), the converging element (109 of Yamakage; 4 of Yamada) is disposed on the transmission paths of the first color light beam (red), the second color light beam (blue/green), and the third color light beam (green/blue), and the third optical element (68, 88 of Yamada) is located between the converging element (109 of Yamakage; 4 of Yamada) and the second optical element (203 of Yamakage; Fig. 7 and 8 of Yamada), wherein the first color light beam (red), the second color light beam (blue/green), and the third color light beam (green/blue) form a plurality of light spots on the converging element (109 of Yamakage; 4 of Yamada), and the plurality of light spots are symmetrical to each other with respect to a center of the converging element (109, Fig. 1 of Yamakage; 4 of Yamada).
Regarding claims 10 and 24, the combination of Yamakage and Yamada consequently results in the first color light beam (red) provided by the first light source module (101a1 of Yamakage) further comprises a first red light beam and a second red light beam, the first red light beam is transmitted to the first optical element (201 and/or 202 of Yamakage) and transmitted to the converging element (109 of Yamakage; 4 of Yamada) along a first path (very bottom), the second red light beam is transmitted to the first optical element (201 and/or 202 of Yamakage) and transmitted to the third optical element (68, 88 of Yamada) and the converging element (109 of Yamakage; 4 of Yamada) along a second path (second from bottom), the first color light beam (red) provided by the second light source module (101a2 of Yamakage) further comprises a third red light beam and a fourth red light beam, the third red light beam is transmitted to the first optical element (201 and/or 202 of Yamakage), and is sequentially transmitted to the second optical element (203 of Yamakage) and the converging element (109 of Yamakage; 4 of Yamada) along a fourth path (very top) by being reflected by the first optical element (201 and/or 202 of Yamakage), the fourth red light beam is transmitted to the first optical element (201 and/or 202 of Yamakage), and is sequentially transmitted to the second optical element (203 of Yamakage), the third optical element (68, 88 of Yamada), and the converging element (109 of Yamakage; 4 of Yamada) along a third path (second from top) by being reflected by the first optical element (201 and/or 202; Fig. 1 of Yamakage).
Regarding claims 11 and 25, the combination of Yamakage and Yamada consequently results in the first path (very bottom) to the fourth path (very top) are parallel to each other and do not overlap (Fig. 1 of Yamakage).
Regarding claims 12 and 26, the combination of Yamakage and Yamada consequently results in the second color light beam (blue/green) provided by the first light source module (101a1 of Yamakage) is sequentially transmitted to the first optical element (201 and/or 202 of Yamakage) and the second optical element (203 of Yamakage), and through the second optical element (203 of Yamakage), the second color light beam (blue/green) is divided into a first portion of the second color light beam (blue/green) and a second portion of the second color light beam (blue/green), the first portion of the second color light beam (blue/green) is sequentially transmitted to the third optical element (68, 88 of Yamada) and the converging element (109 of Yamakage; 4 of Yamada) along the third path (second from top), and the second portion of the second color light beam (blue/green) is reflected by the first optical element (201 and/or 202 of Yamakage) and transmitted to the converging element (109 of Yamakage; 4 of Yamada) along the first path (very bottom), and the second color light beam (blue/green) provided by the second light source module (101a2 of Yamakage) is transmitted to the second optical element (203 of Yamakage), through the second optical element (203 of Yamakage), the second color light beam (blue/green) is divided into a third portion of the second color light beam (blue/green) and a fourth portion of the second color light beam (blue/green), the third portion of the second color light beam (blue/green) is transmitted to the converging element (109 of Yamakage; 4 of Yamada) along the fourth path (very top), and the fourth portion of the second color light beam (blue/green) is reflected by the first optical element (201 and/or 202 of Yamakage) and sequentially transmitted to the third optical element (68, 88 of Yamada) and the converging element (109 of Yamakage; 4 of Yamada) along the second path (second from bottom; Fig. 1 of Yamakage).
Regarding claims 13 and 27, the combination of Yamakage and Yamada consequently results in the third color light beam (green/blue) provided by the first light source module (101a1 of Yamakage) is sequentially transmitted to the first optical element (201 and/or 202 of Yamakage) and the second optical element (203 of Yamakage), and is transmitted to the converging element (109 of Yamakage; 4 of Yamada) along the fourth path (very top), the third color light beam (green/blue) provided by the second light source module (101a2 of Yamakage) is sequentially transmitted to the second optical element (203 of Yamakage) and the first optical element (201 and/or 202 of Yamakage), and transmitted to the converging element (109 of Yamakage; 4 of Yamada) along the first path (very bottom) by being reflected by the first optical element (201 and/or 202; Fig. 1 of Yamakage).
Regarding claims 14 and 28, the combination of Yamakage and Yamada consequently results in the third color light beam (green/blue) provided by the third light source module (duplicate 101a1 of Yamakage or 101a2 of Yamakage) further comprises a first green light beam and a second green light beam, and by being reflected by the third optical element (68, 88 of Yamada), the first green light beam is transmitted to the converging element (109 of Yamakage; 4 of Yamada) along the third path (second from top), and the second green light beam is transmitted to the converging element (109 of Yamakage; 4 of Yamada) along the second path (second from bottom of Fig. 1 of Yamakage; Fig. 7 and 8 of Yamada).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Yamakage and Yamada consequently results in the first light source module (101a1 of Yamakage) is equal to the second light source module (101a2 of Yamakage), the first light beam is the same color as the fourth light beam, the second light beam is the same color as the fifth light beam, the third light beam is the same color as the sixth light beam (Fig. 1 of Yamakage), and the seventh light beam (one of 8 beams produce by a duplicate 101a1 and/or 101a2) is the same color as the third light beam.
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Yamakage and Yamada consequently results in the first light source module (101a1 of Yamakage) further provides a first adjusted light beam (adjusted by 103 of Yamakage), and the first adjusted light beam is the same color as the first light beam (Fig. 1 of Yamakage).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Yamakage and Yamada consequently results in the second light source module (101a2 of Yamakage) further provides a second adjusted light beam (adjusted by 103 of Yamakage), and the second adjusted light beam is the same color as the fourth light beam.
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Yamakage and Yamada consequently results in the third light source module (duplicate 101a1 of Yamakage or 101a2 of Yamakage) further provides a third adjusted light beam (adjusted by 103 of Yamakage), and the third adjusted light beam is the same color as the seventh light beam.
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Yamakage and Yamada consequently results in the first light source module (101a1 of Yamakage) comprises at least one first red laser diode, at least one blue laser diode and at least one green laser diode, the second light source module (101a2 of Yamakage) comprises at least one first red laser diode, at least one blue laser diode and at least one green laser diode, and the third light source module (duplicate 101a1 of Yamakage or 101a2 of Yamakage) comprises at least one green laser diode (Fig. 1 of Yamakage).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Yamakage and Yamada consequently results in the first optical element (201 and/or 202 of Yamakage) comprises a first region (201) and a second region (202), the first region (201) is used to reflect the fourth light beam and allow the second light beam and the third light beam to pass through, and the second region (202) is used to allow the first light beam to pass through and reflect the another portion of the fifth light beam and the sixth light beam (Fig. 1 of Yamakage).
Claims 4, 18 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamakage in view of Yamada and in further view of Lin (US 20210341824 A1).
Regarding claims 4, 18 and 35, neither Yamakage nor Yamada teaches the illumination system further comprises a first polarizing element and a second polarizing element, the first polarizing element is disposed between the at least one first red laser diode and the at least one second red laser diode of the first light source module (101a1) and the first optical element (201 and/or 202), the second polarizing element is disposed between the at least one first red laser diode and the at least one second red laser diode of the second light source module (101a2) and the first optical element (201 and/or 202).
Lin teaches the illumination system (Fig. 4) comprises a first polarizing element (1st 130) and a second polarizing element (2nd 130), the first polarizing element (1st 130) is disposed between the at least one first red laser diode (112/118) and the at least one second red laser diode (112/118) of the first light source module (1st 110) and the first optical element (144A and/or 114B; [0023]), the second polarizing element (2nd 130) is disposed between the at least one first red laser diode (112/118) and the at least one second red laser diode (112/118) of the second light source module (2nd 110) and the first optical element (144A and/or 114B; [0023], [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Yamakage and Yamada with Lin; because it improves color uniformity ([0036] of Lin).
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patent documents, US 20210286247 A1, US 20200224854 A1, US 20200301156 A1, and US 20160298827 A1, disclose illumination systems having multiple light source modules where each module has multiple light sources of different wavelengths/colors.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882