DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8, 10, 13-15, and 17-19 are pending, claims 9, 11-12, 16, and 20 have been cancelled, and claims 1-8, 10, 13-15, and 17-19 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 10, 12-15, and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the channel having an opening facing toward the heat dissipating tube” (in claims 1 and 15) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a light guiding component” and “a light emitting component” in claim 1; “an additional heat dissipating component” in claim 13; “a heat generating component” in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10, 13-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 15 recite the limitation “the channel having an opening facing toward the heat dissipating tube”, which is not disclosed in the specification. The specification describes a channel 153 of the auxiliary component 15, where the first and second circuit boards are at least partially received in the channel ([0059]). However, the specification does not describe the channel having an opening that is facing toward the heat dissipating tube. Therefore, claims 1 and 15 fail to comply with the written description requirement. Claims 2-8, 10, 13-14, and 17-19 are rejected due to their dependency on claims 1 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farr (US 2008/0208006), in view of Huang (US 2016/0007833) and Sorensen (US 2021/0068642).
Regarding claim 1, Farr discloses an endoscopic device (endoscope 1401, figure 14a) comprising: an insertion tube (shaft of the rigid endoscope [0099] | best seen with 1404, figure 14a) comprising a proximal end (proximal end of 1404, figure 14a) and a distal end (1400, figure 14a) opposite to the proximal end; an imaging assembly (550, figures 14) comprising: a lens set (see the lens in 550, figures 14) located adjacent to the distal end of the insertion tube; and an image sensor (see 550, figures 14 | OE vision module…sensor [0085]) located inside the insertion tube and engaged with the lens set (see figures 14); a light guiding component (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a fiber optical bundle or light guiding column | light guide 712, figures 14) located adjacent to the distal end of the insertion tube and beside the lens set (see figures 14), the light guiding component comprising an outer end adjacent to the distal end of the insertion tube (see distal end of 712, figures 14) and an inner end opposite to the outer end (see proximal end of 712, figures 14), a length of the light guiding component being greater than a length of the imaging assembly (see 712 vs. 550, figures 14); a light emitting component (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as an LED | LED array 702, figures 14) located inside the insertion tube and adjacent to the inner end of the light guiding component (see figures 14); a first circuit board (LED thermal base with multilayer structure…[0076]) electrically connected to the light emitting component; an auxiliary component (1408, figures 14); a channel (broadly interpreted as a path/course | see path/course on 1408 for 706 to be guided on, figures 14) being formed on the auxiliary component for at least partially receiving the first circuit board (see figures 14). Farr is silent regarding a heat dissipating tube at least partially and coaxially disposed inside the insertion tube; a second circuit board electrically connected to the image sensor; the auxiliary component at least partially disposed between the heat dissipating tube and the light emitting component, and the auxiliary component being partially disposed inside the heat dissipating tube, the channel being formed on the auxiliary component for at least partially receiving the second circuit board, and the channel having an opening facing toward the heat dissipating tube; and a heat dissipating glue filled in a space between the heat dissipating tube and the auxiliary component, and the first circuit board and the second circuit board being at least covered by the heat dissipating glue.
Huang teaches an endoscope (110, figure 6) with a light source (150, figure 11) and an image sensor (142, figure 8). A heat sink (172, figure 11) is located within the distal portion (116, figure 11) and is shaped as a cylinder that is dimensioned to fit within and fully contact the inner surface of the cylindrical wall (114a, figure 11). Heat generated by the light source is conducted to the thermally conductive substrate (174, figure 11), the heat sink (172, figure 11), the cylindrical wall (114a, figure 11) of the elongated body, and dissipated into the surrounding air ([0038]). A thermally conductive adhesive (173, figure 10) is applied to the distal side of the heat sink (172, figure 10) to increase the heat conduction between the heat sink and the substrate ([0039]).
Sorensen teaches an endoscope (1, figure 1a) with a tip part assembly (5, figure 1a) at a distal end (3b, figure 1a) of an insertion tube (3, figure 1a). The tip part assembly (5, figure 1a) has a camera module (60, figure 3) with a circuit board (70, figure 3) connected to its proximal end ([0130]). The circuit board can be a flexible printed circuit ([0130]). The circuit board and wires for connecting the circuit board to other parts of the endoscope may be attached to the camera module before or after positioning of the camera assembly ([0058]). An adhesive may fill out the spacing volumes around the camera assembly and LEDs ([0059]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device of Farr to have a heat sink (172, figure 11) surrounding the light emitting component and to have a thermally conductive adhesive (173, figure 10; Huang) between the auxiliary component (1408, figure 14b; Farr) and heat dissipating tube (172, figure 11; Huang) as taught by Huang. Doing so would allow the heat generated by a light source to be conducted and dissipated into the surrounding air ([0038]) and increase heat conduction from the auxiliary component and heat dissipating tube ([0039]). It also would have been obvious to modify the device to have a second circuit board/flexible printed circuit board (70, figure 3) as taught by Sorensen. Doing so would provide a connection between the image sensor and the wires that connect to other parts of the endoscopic device ([0058]). The modified device would have a heat dissipating tube (172, figures 10-11; Huang) at least partially and coaxially disposed inside the insertion tube (172, figure 11; Huang); a second circuit board (70, figure 3; Sorensen) electrically connected to the image sensor ([0130]; Sorensen); the auxiliary component at least partially disposed between the heat dissipating tube and the light emitting component (see 1408, figure 14; Farr | the modified device would have the heat sink 172 of Huang contacting the inner wall of 1400, figure 14b), and the auxiliary component being partially disposed inside the heat dissipating tube (see 1408, figure 14; Farr | 1408 of Farr would be inside the modified heat sink 172 of Huang), the channel being formed on the auxiliary component for at least partially receiving the second circuit board (see path/course on 1408 for 706 to be guided on, figures 14; Farr | the modified device would have the second circuit board or 70, figure 4e of Sorensen guided on 1408, figures 14 of Farr), and the channel having an opening (interpreted as the opening/surface of the channel | the path/course on 1408 for 706, figures 14 of Farr would face toward the heat dissipating tube) facing toward the heat dissipating tube; and a heat dissipating glue (173, figure 10; Huang) filled in a space between the heat dissipating tube (172, figure 11; Huang) and the auxiliary component (1408, figure 14b; Farr | modified glue would be between the heat dissipating tube and auxiliary component), and the first circuit board and the second circuit board being at least covered by the heat dissipating glue (the modified device would have the first and second circuit boards between the auxiliary component and heat dissipating tube, which would be where the glue is located).
Regarding claim 2, Farr further discloses the light emitting component is located at a side of the image sensor away from the distal end of the insertion tube (see 702 vs. 550, figure 14; Farr).
Regarding claim 3, Farr further discloses the inner end of the light guiding component protrudes beyond the image sensor along a length direction of the insertion tube toward the proximal end of the insertion tube (see 712, figures 14; Farr).
Regarding claim 4, Farr further discloses the auxiliary component is located adjacent to the light emitting component (see 1408, figures 14; Farr), and the endoscopic device further comprises: a heat dissipating pin (1410, figures 14) partially embedded inside the auxiliary component.
Regarding claim 5, Farr further discloses the light emitting component is partially surrounded by the auxiliary component (see location of 702 and 1408, figures 14; Farr).
Regarding claim 6, Farr further discloses a holding component (see 1400, figures 14) detachably engaged with the auxiliary component and for holding the light guiding component or/and the imaging assembly (see figure 14a vs. 14b).
Regarding claim 7, Farr further discloses a first auxiliary structure is formed on a first end portion of the auxiliary component facing the proximal end of the insertion tube (see proximal portion of 1408, figures 14; Farr), at least one second auxiliary structure is formed on a second end portion of the auxiliary component opposite to the first end portion of the auxiliary component (see distal portion of 1408, figures 14), the first auxiliary structure is configured to accommodate a portion of the heat dissipating pin exposed out of the auxiliary component (see 1410 extend through 1408, figures 14), and the at least one second auxiliary structure is configured to engage with the holding component (see figure 14a vs. 14b).
Regarding claim 8, Farr further discloses the holding component comprises two holding portions (see portion of 1400 holding 550 vs. 702 and 712, figure 14a; Farr), and the light guiding component and the imaging assembly are at least partially located inside a space defined between the two holding portions (see figure 14a).
Regarding claim 10, Farr and Huang and Sorensen disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 4. They are silent regarding the heat dissipating glue is further filled in a space between the heat dissipating tube and the heat dissipating pin.
Huang further teaches a thermally conductive adhesive (173, figure 10) that is applied to the distal side of the heat sink (172, figure 10) to increase the heat conduction between the heat sink and the substrate ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device to have a thermally conductive adhesive (173, figure 10; Huang) between the heat dissipating tube (172, figure 11; Huang) and the heat dissipating pin (1410, figures 14; Farr) as taught by Huang. Doing so would increase heat conduction from the heat dissipating pin and heat dissipating tube ([0039]; Huang).
Claim(s) 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farr (US 2008/0208006), in view of Huang (US 2016/0007833)
Regarding claim 15, Farr discloses an endoscopic device (endoscope 1401, figure 14a) comprising: an insertion tube (shaft of the rigid endoscope [0099] | best seen with 1404, figure 14a) comprising a proximal end (proximal end of 1404, figure 14a) and a distal end (1400, figure 14a) opposite to the proximal end; a heat generating component (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as an LED | LED array 702, figures 14) located adjacent to the distal end of the insertion tube; a circuit board (LED thermal base with multilayer structure…[0076]); an auxiliary component (1408, figures 14); a channel being formed on the auxiliary component for at least partially receiving the circuit board (broadly interpreted as a path/course | see path/course on 1408 for 706 to be guided on, figures 14),. Farr is silent regarding a heat dissipating tube at least partially and coaxially disposed inside the insertion tube, the heat dissipating tube being located at a side of the heat generating component away from the distal end of the insertion tube; the auxiliary component at least partially disposed between the heat dissipating tube and the heat generating component, and the auxiliary component being partially disposed inside the heat dissipating tube, and the channel having an opening facing toward the heat dissipating tube; and a heat dissipating glue filled in a space between the heat dissipating tube and the auxiliary component, and the circuit board being at least covered by the heat dissipating glue.
Huang teaches an endoscope (110, figure 6) with a light source (150, figure 11) and an image sensor (142, figure 8). A heat sink (172, figure 11) is located within the distal portion (116, figure 11) and is shaped as a cylinder that is dimensioned to fit within and fully contact the inner surface of the cylindrical wall (114a, figure 11). Heat generated by the light source is conducted to the thermally conductive substrate (174, figure 11), the heat sink (172, figure 11), the cylindrical wall (114a, figure 11) of the elongated body, and dissipated into the surrounding air ([0038]). A thermally conductive adhesive (173, figure 10) is applied to the distal side of the heat sink (172, figure 10) to increase the heat conduction between the heat sink and the substrate ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device of Farr to have a heat sink (172, figure 11) surrounding the light emitting component and to have a thermally conductive adhesive (173, figure 10; Huang) between the auxiliary component (1408, figure 14b; Farr) and heat dissipating tube (172, figure 11; Huang) as taught by Huang. Doing so would allow the heat generated by a light source to be conducted and dissipated into the surrounding air ([0038]) and increase heat conduction from the auxiliary component and heat dissipating tube ([0039]). The modified device would have a heat dissipating tube (172, figures 10-11; Huang) at least partially and coaxially disposed inside the insertion tube (172, figure 11; Huang), the heat dissipating tube being located at a side of the heat generating component away from the distal end of the insertion tube (the modified device would have the heat sink 172 of Huang located near 702, figures 14 of Farr); the auxiliary component at least partially disposed between the heat dissipating tube and the heat generating component (the modified device would have the heat sink 172 of Huang contacting the inner wall of the 1400, figure 14b of Farr | see location of 1408 is in between 702 and the wall of 1400 figures 14 of Farr), and the auxiliary component being partially disposed inside the heat dissipating tube (see 1408, figure 14; Farr | 1408 of Farr would be inside of the modified heat sink 172 of Huang); and the channel having an opening facing toward the heat dissipating tube (interpreted as the opening/surface of the channel | the path/course on 1408 for 706, figures 14 of Farr would face toward the heat dissipating tube); and a heat dissipating glue (173, figure 10; Huang) filled in a space between the heat dissipating tube (172, figure 11; Huang) and the auxiliary component (1408, figure 14b; Farr | modified glue would be between the heat dissipating tube and auxiliary component), and the circuit board being at least covered by the heat dissipating glue (the modified device would have the circuit board between the auxiliary component and heat dissipating tube, which would be where the glue is located).
Regarding claim 17, Farr further discloses a heat dissipating pin (1410, figures 14; Farr) partially embedded inside the auxiliary component.
Regarding claim 18, Farr and Huang disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 17. They are silent regarding the heat dissipating glue is further filled in a space between the heat dissipating tube and the heat dissipating pin.
Huang further teaches a thermally conductive adhesive (173, figure 10) that is applied to the distal side of the heat sink (172, figure 10) to increase the heat conduction between the heat sink and the substrate ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device to have a thermally conductive adhesive (173, figure 10; Huang) between the heat dissipating tube (172, figure 11; Huang) and the heat dissipating pin (1410, figures 14; Farr) as taught by Huang. Doing so would increase heat conduction from the heat dissipating pin and heat dissipating tube ([0039]; Huang).
Regarding claim 19, Farr further discloses a first auxiliary structure is formed on a first end portion of the auxiliary component facing the proximal end of the insertion tube (see proximal portion of 1408, figures 14; Farr), and the first auxiliary structure is configured to accommodate a portion of the heat dissipating pin exposed out of the auxiliary component (see 1410 extend through 1408, figures 14).
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farr (US 2008/0208006) and Huang (US 2016/0007833) and Sorensen (US 2021/0068642) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ichimura (US 2013/0310644).
Regarding claim 13, Farr and Huang and Sorensen disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. They are silent regarding an additional heat dissipating component disposed between the first circuit board and the second circuit board.
Ichimura teaches an endoscope (1, figure 1) with image pickup devices (42 and 45, figure 2). Heat sinks (49, figure 2) are interposed between the two image pickup drive circuits (43 and 46, figure 2) and are electrically connected to overall shielding members (50a, figure 2). The heat of the heat sinks are transferred to the overall shield members of signal cables and are escaped rearward ([0075]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device to have heat sinks between two circuits (49, figure 2) as taught by Ichimura. Doing so would absorb the heat of the respective circuits ([0075]). The modified device would have an additional heat dissipating component (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a component with improved heat dissipation efficiency [0061] | heat sink 49, figure 2) disposed between the first circuit board and the second circuit board ([0075]).
Regarding claim 14, Farr and Sorensen further disclose the first circuit board (LED thermal base with multilayer structure…[0076]; Farr) is integrated with the second circuit board or separated from the second circuit board (70, figure 4e; Sorensen).
Conclusion
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
September 28, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795