DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shen et al. (US 2005/0017299) (hereafter Shen).
Regarding claim 1, Shen discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate 105 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0018);
a source body part 110 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0019) in or on the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a) and extending in a first direction (bottom left to top right direction in Fig. 1a);
a drain body part 120 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0019) in or on the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a) and extending in the first direction (bottom left to top right direction in Fig. 1a);
a first source wiring line 140 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0023) comprising a first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 1a), the first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 1a) overlapping the source body part 110 (Fig. 1a) in a plan view of the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a);
a first drain wiring line 150 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0023) comprising a first drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 1a), the first drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 1a) overlapping the drain body part 120 (Fig. 1a) in the plan view of the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a);
a first source via 142 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0023) in contact with the first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 1a) and the source body part 110 (Fig. 1a); and
a first drain via 152 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0024) in contact with the first drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 1a) and the drain body part 120 (Fig. 1a), wherein the first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 1a) extends in a second direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 1a) transverse to the first direction (bottom left to top right direction in Fig. 1a), and wherein the first drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 1a) extends in a third direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 1a) transverse to the first direction (bottom left to top right direction in Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 2, Shen further discloses the semiconductor device according to Claim 1, wherein the third direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 1a) is identical to the second direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 3, Shen (utilized different elements as applied in claim 1 in the above) discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate 105 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0018);
a source body part 110 (Figs. 1a and 2, paragraph 0019) in or on the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a) and extending in a first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 2);
a drain body part 120 (Figs. 1a and 2, paragraph 0019) in or on the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a) and extending in the first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 2);
a first source wiring line 140 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0023) comprising a first source electrode finger (bottom 140 in Fig. 2), the first source electrode finger (bottom 140 in Fig. 2) overlapping the source body part 110 (Fig. 2) in a plan view of the substrate;
a first drain wiring line 150 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0023) comprising a first drain electrode finger (top 150 in Fig. 2), the first drain electrode finger (top 150 in Fig. 2) overlapping the drain body part 120 (Fig. 2) in the plan view of the substrate;
a first source via 142 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0023) in contact with the first source electrode finger (bottom 140 in Fig. 2) and the source body part 110 (Fig. 2); and
a first drain via 152 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0024) in contact with the first drain electrode finger (top 150 in Fig. 2) and the drain body part 120 (Fig. 1a), wherein the first source electrode finger (bottom 140 in Fig. 2) extends in a second direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 2) transverse to the first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 2), and wherein the first drain electrode finger (top 150 in Fig. 2) extends in a third direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 2) transverse to the first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 2);
wherein the third direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 2) is identical to the second direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 2);
wherein the first source electrode finger (bottom 140 in Fig. 2) and the first drain electrode finger (top 150 in Fig. 2) have a center-to-center distance (distance between center of bottom 140 and center of top 150 in Fig. 2) between each other in a direction (vertical direction in Fig. 2) perpendicular to the second direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 2), the center-to-center (distance between center of bottom 140 and center of top 150 in Fig. 2) distance being greater than a center-to-center distance (distance between 110 and 120 in Fig. 2) between the source body part 110 (Fig. 2) and the drain body part 120 (Fig. 2) in a direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 2) perpendicular to the first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Shen further discloses the semiconductor device according to Claim 1, wherein the first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 1a) has a width (see Fig. 1a, wherein 140 has greater horizontal length than 110) greater than a width of the source body part 110 (Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 5, Shen further discloses the semiconductor device according to Claim 1, wherein the first drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 1a) has a width (see Fig. 1a, wherein 150 has greater horizontal length than 120) greater than a width of the drain body part 120 (Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 6, Shen further discloses the semiconductor device according to Claim 1, wherein the first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 1a) has a width (see Fig. 1a, wherein 140 has a length in bottom left to top right direction less than 110) less than a width of the source body part 110 (Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 7, Shen further discloses the semiconductor device according to Claim 1, wherein the first drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 1a) has a width (see Fig. 1a, wherein 150 has a length in bottom left to top right direction less than 120) less than a width of the drain body part 120 (Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 8, Shen further discloses the semiconductor device according to Claim 1, wherein the semiconductor device comprises a plurality of the source body parts 110 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0019), a plurality of the drain body parts 120 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0019), a plurality of the first source vias 142 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0023), and a plurality of the first drain vias 152 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0023), wherein the source body parts 110 (Fig. 2) and the drain body parts 120 (Fig. 2) extend in parallel to each other in the first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 2), and the source body parts 110 (Fig. 2) and the drain body parts 120 (Fig. 1a) are arranged alternately in a direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 2) perpendicular to the first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 2), wherein each of the first source vias 142 (Fig. 2) is in contact with a corresponding one of the source body parts 110 (Fig. 2) and with the first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 2), and wherein each of the first drain vias 152 (Fig. 2) is in contact with a corresponding one of the drain body parts 120 (Fig. 2) and with the first drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Shen further discloses the semiconductor device according to Claim 8, wherein the first source wiring line 140 (Fig. 2) comprises a plurality of the first source electrode fingers 140 (Fig. 2), wherein the first drain wiring line 150 (Fig. 2) comprises a plurality of the first drain electrode fingers 150 (Fig. 2), wherein the first source electrode fingers 140 (Fig. 2) extend in parallel to each other in the second direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 2), wherein the first drain electrode fingers 150 (Fig. 2) extend in parallel to each other in the third direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 2), wherein each of the first source vias 142 (Fig. 2) is in contact, at an intersection between a corresponding first source body part 110 (Fig. 2) and a corresponding first source electrode 140 (Fig. 2) in the plan view, with the corresponding source body part 110 (Fig. 2) and with the corresponding first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 2), and wherein each of the first drain vias 152 (Fig. 2) is in contact, at an intersection between a corresponding drain body part 120 (Fig. 2) and a corresponding first drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 2) in the plan view, with the corresponding drain body part 120 (Fig. 2) and with the corresponding first drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Shen further discloses the semiconductor device according to Claim 9, wherein the first source electrode fingers 140 (Fig. 2) and the first drain electrode fingers 150 (Fig. 2) are arranged alternately in the first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Shen further discloses the semiconductor device according to Claim 8, wherein a number of the first source electrode fingers 140 (Fig. 2) is less than a number of the source body parts 110 (Fig. 2), and wherein a number of the first drain electrode fingers 150 (Fig. 2) is less than a number of the drain body parts 120 (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Shen further discloses the semiconductor device according to Claim 1, further comprising: a second source wiring line 160 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0026) comprising a second source electrode finger 160 (Fig. 1a), the second source electrode finger 160 (Fig. 1a) overlapping the first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 1a) in the plan view of the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a);
a second drain wiring line 170 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0026) comprising a second drain electrode finger 170 (Fig. 1a), the second drain electrode finger 170 (Fig. 1a) overlapping the first drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 1a) in the plan view of the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a);
a second source via 162 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0031) in contact with the second source electrode finger 160 (Fig. 1a) and the first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 1a); and
a second drain via 172 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0031) in contact with the second drain electrode finger 170 (Fig. 1a) and the first drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 1a), wherein the second source electrode finger 170 (Fig. 1a) extends in the second direction (bottom left to top right direction in Fig. 1a), and wherein the second drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 1a) extends in the third direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 13, Shen (utilized different elements as applied in claim 1 in the above) discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate 105 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0018);
a source body part 110 (Figs. 1a and 2, paragraph 0019) in or on the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a) and extending in a first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 2);
a drain body part 120 (Figs. 1a and 2, paragraph 0019) in or on the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a) and extending in the first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 2);
a first source wiring line 140 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0023) comprising a first source electrode finger (bottom 140 in Fig. 2), the first source electrode finger (bottom 140 in Fig. 2) overlapping the source body part 110 (Fig. 2) in a plan view of the substrate;
a first drain wiring line 150 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0023) comprising a first drain electrode finger (top 150 in Fig. 2), the first drain electrode finger (top 150 in Fig. 2) overlapping the drain body part 120 (Fig. 2) in the plan view of the substrate;
a first source via 142 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0023) in contact with the first source electrode finger (bottom 140 in Fig. 2) and the source body part 110 (Fig. 2); and
a first drain via 152 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0024) in contact with the first drain electrode finger (top 150 in Fig. 2) and the drain body part 120 (Fig. 1a), wherein the first source electrode finger (bottom 140 in Fig. 2) extends in a second direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 2) transverse to the first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 2), and wherein the first drain electrode finger (top 150 in Fig. 2) extends in a third direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 2) transverse to the first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 2);
a second source wiring line 160 (Fig. 3a, paragraph 0026) comprising a second source electrode finger (left 160 in Fig. 3a), the second source electrode finger (left 160 in Fig. 3a) overlapping the first source electrode finger (bottom 140 in Fig. 3a) in the plan view of the substrate;
a second drain wiring line 170 (Fig. 3a, paragraph 0026) comprising a second drain electrode finger (right 170 in Fig. 3a), the second drain electrode finger (right 170 in Fig. 3a) overlapping the first drain electrode finger (top 150 in Fig. 3a) in the plan view of the substrate;
a second source via 162 (Fig. 3a, paragraph 0031) in contact with the second source electrode finger (left 160 in Fig. 3a) and the first source electrode finger (bottom 140 in Fig. 3a);
a second drain via 172 (Fig. 3a, paragraph 0031) in contact with the second drain electrode finger (right 170 in Fig. 3a) and the first drain electrode finger (top 150 in Fig. 3a), wherein the second source electrode finger (left 160 in Fig. 3a) extends in the second direction (vertical direction in Fig. 3a), and wherein the second drain electrode finger (right 170 in Fig. 3a) extends in the third direction (vertical direction in Fig. 3a); and
wherein the second source electrode finger (left 160 in Fig. 3a) and the second drain electrode finger (right 170 in Fig. 3a) have a center-to-center distance (distance between center of left 160 and center of right 170 in Fig. 3a) between each other in a direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 3a) perpendicular to the second direction (vertical direction in Fig. 3a), the center-to-center distance (distance between center of left 160 and center of right 170 in Fig. 3a) being greater than a center-to-center distance (distance between 110 and 120 in Fig. 2) between the source body part 110 (Fig. 2) and the drain body part 120 (Fig. 2) in a direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 2) perpendicular to the first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Shen further discloses the semiconductor device according to Claim 12, wherein the second source electrode finger 160 (Fig. 1a) has a width (see Fig. 1a, wherein 160 has greater horizontal length than 110) greater than a width of the source body part 110 (Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 15, Shen further discloses the semiconductor device according to Claim 12, wherein the second drain electrode finger 170 (Fig. 1a) has a width (see Fig. 1a, wherein 170 has greater horizontal length than 120) greater than a width of the drain body part 120 (Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 18, Shen further discloses the semiconductor device according to Claim 1, wherein the second direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 2) is perpendicular to the first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Shen (utilized different elements for a first source wiring line and a first drain wiring line as applied in claim 1 in the above) discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate 105 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0018);
a source body part 110 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0019) in or on the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a) and extending in a first direction (bottom left to top right direction in Fig. 1a);
a drain body part 120 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0019) in or on the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a) and extending in the first direction (bottom left to top right direction in Fig. 1a);
a first source wiring line (140, 162, and 160 in Fig. 1a) comprising a first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 1a), the first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 1a) overlapping the source body part 110 (Fig. 1a) in a plan view of the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a);
a first drain wiring line (150, 172, and 170 in Fig. 1a) comprising a first drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 1a), the first drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 1a) overlapping the drain body part 120 (Fig. 1a) in the plan view of the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a);
a first source via 142 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0023) in contact with the first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 1a) and the source body part 110 (Fig. 1a);
a first drain via 152 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0024) in contact with the first drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 1a) and the drain body part 120 (Fig. 1a), wherein the first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 1a) extends in a second direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 1a) transverse to the first direction (bottom left to top right direction in Fig. 1a), and wherein the first drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 1a) extends in a third direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 1a) transverse to the first direction (bottom left to top right direction in Fig. 1a); and
wherein the first source wiring line (140, 162, and 160 in Fig. 1a) comprises a third source electrode finger 160 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0026), the third source electrode finger 160 (Fig. 1a) overlapping the first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 1a) in the plan view of the substrate, and wherein the first drain wiring line (150, 172, and 170 in Fig. 1a) comprises a third drain electrode finger 170 (Fig. 1a), the third drain electrode finger 170 (Fig. 1a) overlapping the first drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 1a) in the plan view of the substrate.
Regarding claim 20, Shen (utilized different elements for a first drain wiring line and a first drain electrode finger as applied in claim 1 in the above) discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate 105 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0018);
a source body part 110 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0019) in or on the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a) and extending in a first direction (bottom left to top right direction in Fig. 1a);
a drain body part 120 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0019) in or on the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a) and extending in the first direction (bottom left to top right direction in Fig. 1a);
a first source wiring line 140 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0023) comprising a first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 1a), the first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 1a) overlapping the source body part 110 (Fig. 1a) in a plan view of the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a);
a first drain wiring line (150 and 172 in Fig. 1a) comprising a first drain electrode finger (150 and 172 in Fig. 1a), the first drain electrode finger (150 and 172 in Fig. 1a) overlapping the drain body part 120 (Fig. 1a) in the plan view of the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a);
a first source via 142 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0023) in contact with the first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 1a) and the source body part 110 (Fig. 1a);
a first drain via 152 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0024) in contact with the first drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 1a) and the drain body part 120 (Fig. 1a), wherein the first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 1a) extends in a second direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 1a) transverse to the first direction (bottom left to top right direction in Fig. 1a), and wherein the first drain electrode finger 150 (Fig. 1a) extends in a third direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 1a) transverse to the first direction (bottom left to top right direction in Fig. 1a); and
wherein the first source electrode finger 140 (Fig. 1a) is located at a height from the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a) different from a height at which the first drain electrode finger (150 and 172 in Fig. 1a) is located from the substrate 105 (Fig. 1a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen as applied to claims 12 and 1 above, and further in view of Tiemeijer et al. (US 2019/0181234) (hereafter Tiemeijer).
Regarding claim 16, Shen discloses the semiconductor device according to Claim 12, however Shen does not disclose the second source electrode finger and the second drain electrode finger each have a width greater than or equal to 0.8 µm.
Tiemeijer discloses the second source electrode finger 415 (Fig. 5, paragraph 0029) and the second drain electrode finger 416 (Fig. 5, paragraph 0029) each have a width (see paragraph 0063, wherein “the drain electrode finger width dimension is greater than 1 micrometer”; and “the source electrode finger width dimension is substantially the same as the drain electrode finger width dimension”) greater than or equal to 0.8 µm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shen to form the second source electrode finger and the second drain electrode finger each have a width greater than or equal to 0.8 µm, as taught by Tiemeijer, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In addition, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 17, Shen discloses the semiconductor device according to Claim 12, however Shen does not disclose the first source electrode finger and the first drain electrode finger each have a width greater than or equal to 0.8 µm.
Tiemeijer discloses the first source electrode finger 415 (Fig. 5, paragraph 0029) and the first drain electrode finger 416 (Fig. 5, paragraph 0029) each have a width (see paragraph 0063, wherein “the drain electrode finger width dimension is greater than 1 micrometer”; and “the source electrode finger width dimension is substantially the same as the drain electrode finger width dimension”) greater than or equal to 0.8 µm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shen to form the first source electrode finger and the first drain electrode finger each have a width greater than or equal to 0.8 µm, as taught by Tiemeijer, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In addition, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/L.B.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813