DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I and Species A directed to Fig. 1 (claims 1-4, 6 and 7) in the reply filed on March 10th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Figs. 1A-1B of LEE (Pub. No.: US 2012/0134137 A1) as Embodiment 1 of LEE in view of Fig. 7 of LEE (Pub. No.: US 2012/0134137 A1) as Embodiment 3 of LEE.
Regarding claim 1, Embodiment 1 of LEE discloses a semiconductor light emitting device in Figs. 1A-1B comprising: a semiconductor light emitting element (light source 130) (see Fig. 1B, [0046] and [0087]); a sealing member (sealing material 160) that seals the semiconductor light emitting element (see Fig. 1B and [0052]); wherein the sealing member includes a sealing resin (sealing material 160 of epoxy resin) and has a first upper surface (top surface of sealing material 160) on an opposite side to the semiconductor light emitting element (see [0062]).
Embodiment 1 of LEE fails to disclose an overcoat layer that covers the sealing member, wherein the overcoat layer is formed of an inorganic material and is in direct contact with the first upper surface of the sealing member.
Embodiment 3 of LEE discloses a semiconductor light emitting device comprising an overcoat layer (sheet 370) that covers the sealing member (see [0087-0088]), wherein the overcoat layer is formed of an inorganic material (silicon dioxide) and is in direct contact with the first upper surface of the sealing member (see Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the overcoating layer of embodiment 3 of LEE into the embodiment 1 of LEE because the modified structure would further protect the light emitting device from external contaminants from entering the cavity.
Regarding claim 2, the embodiment 1 and embodiment 3 of LEE discloses the semiconductor light emitting device of Claim 1, wherein a thickness of the overcoat layer on the sealing member is constant (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, the embodiment 1 and embodiment 3 of LEE discloses the semiconductor light emitting device of Claim 1, wherein the inorganic material is SiO2 (see [0088]).
Regarding claim 3, the embodiment 1 and embodiment 3 of LEE discloses the semiconductor light emitting device of Claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein a minimum thickness of the overcoat layer on the sealing member is 1 pm or more, and a maximum thickness of the overcoat layer on the sealing member is 100 pm or less.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to wherein a minimum thickness of the overcoat layer on the sealing member is 1 um or more, and a maximum thickness of the overcoat layer on the sealing member is 100 um or less because the overcoating need to be manufacturing in specific thickness that be able to protect the sealing material at the same time having a low manufacturing cost. Since it has been held that wherein the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involve only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Regarding claim 7, the embodiment 1 and embodiment 3 of LEE discloses the semiconductor light emitting device of Claim 1, Fig. 7 of LEE fails to disclose wherein the sealing member includes a wavelength conversion member dispersed in the sealing resin, wherein the wavelength conversion member converts a wavelength of light emitted from the semiconductor light emitting element, and wherein the wavelength conversion member is provided at the sealing member and is not provided at the overcoat layer.
However, Fig. 6 of LEE discloses wherein the sealing member includes a wavelength conversion member (fluorescent substances 263) dispersed in the sealing resin (sealing material 260), wherein the wavelength conversion member converts a wavelength of light emitted from the semiconductor light emitting element (convert to blue, green, yellow, red or orange) (see Fig. 6 and [0080-0083]), and wherein the wavelength conversion member is provided at the sealing member and is not provided at the overcoat layer (sheet 370 contain no substances) (see Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the wavelength conversion member of the embodiment of Fig. 6 of LEE into the embodiment 1 of LEE because the modified structure would improve the light intensity of the color and provide brighter and clear intended color for the light emitting device.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Figs. 1A-1B of LEE (Pub. No.: US 2012/0134137 A1) as Embodiment 1 of LEE in view of Fig. 7 of LEE (Pub. No.: US 2012/0134137 A1) as Embodiment 3 of LEE, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chien et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0200867 A1), hereinafter as Chien.
Regarding claim 4, the embodiment 1 and embodiment 3 of LEE discloses the semiconductor light emitting device of Claim 1, further comprising a case (body portion 320 as same as body portion 120) wherein the semiconductor light emitting element is accommodated in the case, and wherein the overcoat layer is in direct contact with the case (see Figs. 1, 7 and [0045], [0087]).
the embodiment 1 and embodiment 3 of LEE fails to disclose the case is reflective case.
Chien discloses a semiconductor light emitting device (LED package structure 100) comprising a reflective case (reflective housing 50) (see Figs. 1-4 and [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the case of embodiment 1 of LEE to be made of reflective material as same as the reflective case of Chien because the modified structure would improve the reflection of light and provide maximum light extraction from the light emitting device.
Conclusion
/CUONG B NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818