Claim Analysis for Independent Claims (Dependent Claim Analysis will follow)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deguchi et al. (hereinafter Deguchi, US 2019/0295930).
In regards to independent claim 1, Deguchi teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a top barrier layer (Deguchi, Fig. 7, Item BR2, [0111], “barrier conductor film BR2”) deposited on top of a metal layer plating (Deguchi, Fig. 7, Item AM1, [0111], “an aluminum (Al)-containing conductive film AM1”) a bottom barrier layer (Deguchi, Fig. 7, Item BR1, [0111], “barrier conductor film BR1”); and
dielectric material deposited on top of the top barrier layer and adjacent to the metal layer and the bottom barrier layer (Deguchi, Fig. 7, Item PV1, [0110], “an insulating film PV1”).
In regards to independent claim 9, Deguchi teaches a semiconductor device package, comprising:
a barrier layer deposited on top of a metal redistribution layer (Deguchi, Fig. 7, Item BR1 on AM1, [0111], “barrier conductor film BR2”, AM1 is metal redistribution layer as it allows external access to CP as seen by the probe in Fig. 9);
dielectric material deposited on top of the barrier layer absent planarization of the metal redistribution layer (Deguchi, Fig. 7, Item PV1 on BR2, [0110], “an insulating film PV1”); and
a die resting on top of a carrier and electrically connected to the metal redistribution layer (Deguchi, Fig. 2 Item CP “semiconductor device” on Item DP “die pad”, Fig. 6 CP Item PD connected to circuit via V7).
In regards to independent claim 15, Deguchi teaches a method comprising:
depositing a top barrier layer on top of a metal layer plating a bottom barrier layer (Deguchi, Fig. 7, Item BR1, [0111], “barrier conductor film BR2”, [0149])); and
depositing dielectric material on top of the top barrier layer and adjacent to the metal layer and the bottom barrier layer (Deguchi, Fig. 7, Item PV1, [0110], “an insulating film PV1”, [0149]).
Claim Analysis for Dependent Claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-8, 10-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deguchi.
In regards to dependent claim 2, Deguchi teaches wherein the top barrier layer, the metal layer, and the bottom barrier layer are subjected to etching (Deguchi, [0150]).
In regards to dependent claim 3, Deguchi teaches a die exposed by the etching (Deguchi, Fig. 17, IL8).
In regards to dependent claim 4, Deguchi teaches wherein the dielectric material is further deposited on top of the die (Deguchi, Fig. 17, IL8, PV1).
In regards to dependent claim 5, Deguchi teaches additional dielectric material exposed by the etching (Deguchi, Fig. 17, IL8).
In regards to dependent claim 6, Deguchi teaches wherein the dielectric material is further deposited on top of the additional dielectric material (Deguchi, Fig. 17, IL8, PV1).
In regards to dependent claim 7, Deguchi teaches wherein the top barrier layer is deposited on top of the metal layer absent planarization of the metal layer (Deguchi, Fig. 7, Item BR1, [0111], “barrier conductor film BR2”, [0149])).
In regards to dependent claim 8, Deguchi teaches wherein the metal layer corresponds to a redistribution layer of the semiconductor device (Deguchi, Fig. 7, Item BR1 on AM1, [0111], “barrier conductor film BR2”, AM1 is metal redistribution layer as it allows external access to CP as seen by the probe in Fig. 9).
In regards to dependent claim 10, Deguchi teaches:
an additional barrier layer plated by the metal redistribution layer, wherein the barrier layer, the metal redistribution layer, and the additional barrier layer are subjected to etching, and the dielectric material is further deposited adjacent to the metal redistribution layer and the additional barrier layer (Deguchi, Fig. 7, Item BR1, BR2, AM1, [0111], [0150], “barrier conductor film BR2”, AM1 is metal redistribution layer as it allows external access to CP as seen by the probe in Fig. 9).
In regards to dependent claim 11, Deguchi teaches wherein the die is exposed by the etching (Deguchi, Fig. 17, IL8).
In regards to dependent claim 12, Deguchi teaches wherein the dielectric material is further deposited on top of the die (Deguchi, Fig. 17, IL8, PV1).
In regards to dependent claim 13, Deguchi teaches additional dielectric material exposed by the etching (Deguchi, Fig. 17, IL8).
In regards to dependent claim 14, Deguchi teaches wherein the dielectric material is further deposited on top of the additional dielectric material (Deguchi, Fig. 17, IL8, PV1).
In regards to dependent claim 16, Deguchi teaches subjecting the top barrier layer, the metal layer, and the bottom barrier layer to etching (Deguchi, [0150]).
In regards to dependent claim 17, Deguchi teaches wherein the etching exposes a die (Deguchi, Fig. 17, IL8).
In regards to dependent claim 18, Deguchi teaches wherein depositing the dielectric material further deposits the dielectric material on top of the die (Deguchi, Fig. 17, IL8, PV1).
In regards to dependent claim 19, Deguchi teaches wherein the etching exposes additional dielectric material (Deguchi, Fig. 17, IL8).
In regards to dependent claim 20, Deguchi teaches wherein depositing the dielectric material further deposits the dielectric material on top of the additional dielectric material (Deguchi, Fig. 17, IL8 PV1).
Conclusion
/WILLIAM C TRAPANESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812