DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Claim 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over SURYAWANSH et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0320010, hereinafter referred to as SURYAWANSH) in view of Nielsen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0130891, hereinafter referred to as Nielsen).
As to claim 1, SURYAWANSH teaches 1. An integrated circuit enclosure, comprising: a housing; a first blower positioned to draw air through a first air inlet in a first side of the housing; and a second blower mirror-stacked with the first blower. [see 1607_1 and 1607_2 in Fig. 16 for example]
SURYAWANSH may not explicitly teach the second blower positioned to draw air through a second air inlet in a second side of the housing that is opposite the first side.
Nielsen teaches this limitation [see A1 and A2 in Fig. 1A for example]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of SURYAWANSH and Nielsen to “use dual air flow method in cooling the component" in SURYAWANSH according to Nielsen, for the further advantage of “utilizing most efficient configuration for cooling”. […In the push/push configuration, the controller 106 directs both fans 112A and 112B to push air towards the heatsink 102. In the pull/pull configuration, the controller 106 directs both fans 112A and 112B to pull air away from the heatsink 102. In at least some embodiments, the controller 106 is able to determine which configuration is most efficient (i.e., which configuration best maintains or lowers the temperature of the electronic component 104)…¶0013]
As to claim 2, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 2. The integrated circuit enclosure of claim 1, further comprising: an air guide positioned within the housing and having the first blower and the second blower located therein. [see Fig. 16a SURYAWANSH]
As to claim 3, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 3. The integrated circuit enclosure of claim 2, further comprising: a heat sink positioned within the housing at a location that receives air from the air guide. [see 1605_2 in Fig. 16a SURYAWANSH]
As to claim 4, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 4. The integrated circuit enclosure of claim 3, further comprising: an air outlet in a third side of the housing that is orthogonal to the first side and the second side, wherein the heat sink is located between the air guide and the air outlet. [see air flow arrows in Fig. 16a SURYAWANSH]
As to claim 5, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 5. The integrated circuit enclosure of claim 3, further comprising a mounting bracket integral to the housing and configured to hold the heat sink in a position to cool an integrated circuit mounted in the housing. [see 1508 in Fig. 15 SURYAWANSH]
As to claim 6, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 6. The integrated circuit enclosure of claim 2, further comprising a middle frame integral to an interior of the air guide in a position between the first blower and the second blower. [see 1508 in Fig. 15 SURYAWANSH]
As to claim 7, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 7. The integrated circuit enclosure of claim 6, wherein the middle frame has one or more cut outs formed therein that are dimensioned to balance, at least partially, air pressure between upper and lower portions of the air guide. [see 1508 in Fig. 15 SURYAWANSH]
As to claim 8, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 8. A cooling system, comprising: a housing including an air guide having mirror-stacked dual blowers positioned therein, a top plate including a first air inlet positioned above the air guide, and a bottom plate including a second air inlet positioned below the air guide; an integrated circuit mounted in the housing; and a heat sink mounted in the housing and positioned to cool the integrated circuit. [see Fig. 16 in SURYAWANSH and Fig. 1A in Nielsen; see also rejection claim 1]
As to claim 9, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 9. The cooling system of claim 8, further comprising an input-output bracket including an air outlet. [see Fig. 16a in SURYAWANSH]
As to claim 10, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 10. The cooling system of claim 9, wherein the heat sink is located between the air guide and the input-output bracket. [see 1605_2 in Fig. 16a in SURYAWANSH]
As to claim 11, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 11. The cooling system of claim 10, wherein the air guide is configured to push air drawn from the first air inlet and the second air inlet by the mirror-stacked dual blowers through a fin stack of the heat sink to the air outlet. [see Fig. 16a in SURYAWANSH]
As to claim 12, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 12. The cooling system of claim 8, further comprising a middle frame integral to an interior of the air guide in a position between the mirror-stacked dual blowers. [see 1605_2 in Fig. 16a in SURYAWANSH]
As to claim 13, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 13. The cooling system of claim 12, wherein the middle frame has one or more cut outs formed therein that are dimensioned to balance, at least partially, air pressure between upper and lower portions of the air guide. [see 1605_2 in Fig. 16a in SURYAWANSH]
As to claim 14, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 14. A method comprising: positioning a first blower to draw air through a first air inlet in a first side of a housing; and positioning a second blower to draw air through a second air inlet in a second side of the housing that is opposite the first side, wherein the second blower is mirror-stacked with the first blower. [see Fig. 16 in SURYAWANSH and Fig. 1A in Nielsen; see also rejection claim 1]
As to claim 15, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 15. The method of claim 14, further comprising: positioning an air guide within the housing, wherein the air guide has the first blower and the second blower located therein. [see 1605_2 in Fig. 16a in SURYAWANSH]
As to claim 16, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 16. The method of claim 15, further comprising: positioning a heat sink within the housing at a location that receives air from the air guide through a fin stack of the heat sink. [see 1605_2 in Fig. 16a in SURYAWANSH]
As to claim 17, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 17. The method of claim 16, further comprising: forming an air outlet in a third side of the housing that is orthogonal to the first side and the second side, wherein the heat sink is located between the air guide and the air outlet. [see 1605_2 in Fig. 16a in SURYAWANSH]
As to claim 18, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 18. The method of claim 16, further comprising: forming a mounting bracket integral to the housing and configured to hold the heat sink in a position to cool an integrated circuit mounted in the housing. [see 1605_2 in Fig. 16a in SURYAWANSH]
As to claim 19, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 19. The method of claim 15, further comprising: positioning a middle frame integral to an interior of the air guide between the first blower and the second blower. [see 1605_2 in Fig. 16a in SURYAWANSH]
As to claim 20, SURYAWANSH and Nielsen teaches 20. The method of claim 19, wherein the middle frame has one or more cut outs formed therein that are dimensioned to balance, at least partially, air pressure between upper and lower portions of the air guide. [see 1605_2 in Fig. 16a in SURYAWANSH]
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected as explained above.
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAEHWAN OH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899