CTNF 18/506,490 CTNF 80863 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 08-06 AIA Claim s 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12 May 2026 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 3, 4, 7, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (USPN 2020/0313108) . With regard to claim 1, Jang et al. disclose a display device comprising: a first base (BS) substrate on which a first pixel area (PXA-B) configured to emit a first color light (see paragraph 121), a second pixel area (PXA-G) configured to emit a second color light different from the first color light (See paragraph 121), and a third pixel area (PXA-R) configured to emit a third color light different from the first color light and the second color light (see paragraph 121) are defined; and a display element layer (DP-OEL) on the first base substrate and comprising first to third light emitting elements (EE-1,2,3) respectively corresponding to the first to third pixel areas, wherein each of the first to third light emitting elements comprises (See figs. 6,9): a first electrode (EL1); a first layer (HTR/ETR) on the first electrode; a first inorganic layer (ISL-31,61) on the first layer; an emission layer (EML)on the first inorganic layer; a second layer (ETR/HTR) on the emission layer; and a second electrode (EL2) on the second layer, wherein one selected from the first layer and the second layer is a hole transport region (HTR), and the other is an electron transport region (ETR). With regard to claim 3, Jang et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the first to third light emitting elements further comprises a third inorganic layer (ISL-32,62) between the emission layer and the second layer. With regard to claim 4, Jang et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the first layer is the hole transport region (HTR) comprising at least one selected from a hole injection layer (HIL), a hole transport layer (HTL), and an electron blocking layer, and the second layer is the electron transport region (ETR) comprising at least one selected from an electron injection layer (EIL), an electron transport layer (ETL), and a hole blocking layer (See fig. 6). With regard to claim 7, Jang et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the first layer is the electron transport region (ETR) comprising at least one selected from an electron injection layer (EIL), an electron transport layer (ETL), and a hole blocking layer, and the second layer is the hole transport region (HTR) comprising at least one selected from a hole injection layer (HIL), a hole transport layer (HTL), and an electron blocking layer (see fig. 9). With regard to claim 10, Jang et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the first inorganic layer has a thickness of about 10 Å or more to about 100 Å or less (see paragraph 81). With regard to claim 11, Jang et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the emission layer comprises first to third emission layers (EML-B,G,R), which correspond to the first to third pixel areas, respectively, and each of the first to third emission layers comprises a quantum dot (QD1,2,3). With regard to claim 12, Jang et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the first layer comprises a hole transport material and/or an electron transport material having a molecular weight of about 10,000 g/mol or less (See paragraph 91) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 5, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (as above), in view of Forrest et al. (USPN 2015/0064837) . With regard to claim 2, Jang et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the first layer comprises a plurality of sub-layers (HIL, HTL). While Jang et al. do not disclose a second inorganic layer is between sub-layers adjacent to each other among the plurality of sub-layers, Forrest et al. do disclose such a configuration (see paragraph 13, hole injection layer, MoO--- 3 , hole transport layer). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to try to incorporate this concept of Forrest et al. into the device of Jang et al. in order to try to improve emitter performance. With regard to claim 5, Jang et al. disclose the display device of claim 4, wherein the hole transport region comprises: the hole injection layer (HIL) on the first electrode; and the hole transport layer (HTL) on the hole injection layer. While Jang et al. do not disclose a second inorganic layer is between the hole injection layer and the hole transport layer, Forrest et al. do disclose such a configuration (see paragraph 13, hole injection layer, MoO--- 3 , hole transport layer). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to try to incorporate this concept of Forrest et al. into the device of Jang et al. in order to try to improve emitter performance. With regard to claim 6, Forrest et al. disclose the display device of claim 5, wherein the second inorganic layer comprises molybdenum trioxide (MoO 3 ). The obviousness of the incorporation of this concept of Forrest et al. into the device of Jang et al. was addressed in the rejection of claim 5 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (as above), in view of Angioni (USPN 2021/0408417) . With regard to claim 8, Jang The display device of claim 7, wherein the electron transport region comprises a multilayered electron transport layer, wherein the multilayered electron transport comprises: a first electron transport layer (EIL) on the first electrode; and a second electron transport (ETL) layer on the first electron transport layer. While Jang et al. do not disclose a second inorganic layer is between the first and second electron transport layer, Angioni does disclose such a configuration (paragraph 77, ZnO in combination transport layers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to try to incorporate this concept of Angioni into the device of Jang et al. in order to try to improve performance. With regard to claim 9, Jang et al. disclose the display device of claim 8, wherein the second inorganic layer comprises zinc oxide (ZnO, paragraph 77). The obviousness of the incorporation of this concept of Angioni was addressed in the rejection of claim 8 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (as above), in view of Lee et al. (USPN 2021/0184146) . With regard to claim 13, Jang et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the first inorganic layer comprises ZrO x (paragraph 73). While Jang et al. do not disclose ZnMgO, Lee et al. do disclose ZnMgO as a suitable alternative to ZrO 2 (paragraph 127). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to try incorporate this concept of Lee et al. in order to suit material availability . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 2020/0212333, 2025/0098402, 2023/0320115, 2022/0131102, 2014/0357003 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Christopher Raabe whose telephone number is (571)272-8434. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 0530-1430. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, James R Greece can be reached at (571)272-3711. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHRISTOPHER M RAABE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/506,490 Page 2 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/506,490 Page 3 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/506,490 Page 4 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/506,490 Page 5 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/506,490 Page 6 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/506,490 Page 7 Art Unit: 2875