Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tai et al (US20100162597).
Claim 1 recites “An electrical assembly comprising: a housing including a panel defining a mounting surface, the housing configured to receive electrical wiring from an external source; a component mounted to the mounting surface at a desired location thereon, the component selected from a group consisting of: a mounting rail, a wire duct, a terminal block, a circuit interrupter, a switch, an adapter,” (The identification module for facilitating installation of a functional component comprises a circuit board having a first connecting portion, a first functional component, a first primary label disposed on a surface of the first connecting portion and a first subsidiary label disposed on a surface of the first functional component 0007) “and a circuit board; and assembly instruction information displayed on the mounting surface, wherein the assembly instruction information includes indicia that visually locate the desired location for the component.” (wherein the first subsidiary label and the first primary label respectively have two first identifying symbols corresponding to each other. With notified by the first identifying symbols, intuitional correlation may be obtained and correct installation between the first functional component and the first connecting portion is therefore guaranteed. 0007)
Claim 2 recites “wherein the assembly instruction information includes text” (Notely, the first identifying symbol may be an arabic numeral, a letter, a character, a color block, a mark or a pattern. The first identifying symbol on the first subsidiary label and the first primary label is corresponding to each other. 0008)
Claim 3 recites “wherein the assembly instruction information is displayed on a label positioned between the component and the mounting surface such that the component secures at least part of the label in place over the mounting surface” (The first identifying symbol 31 may also be of letter, character, color block, mark or pattern, thereby the first primary label 11 and the first subsidiary label 41 generate a correlation. With such, when installing the functional components to the circuit board 100, users can intuitively and efficiently identify the indication of the first identifying symbols 31 to complete an installation of the first functional component 10 to the first connecting portion 21 of the circuit board 100. Thus, the identification module in accordance with present invention facilitates installation of functional components and increases efficiency and yield thereof. 0018)
Claim 4, recites “wherein the label is clamped between the component and the mounting surface” (disposing a primary label on a connecting portion of a circuit board; providing a functional component; disposing a subsidiary label on the functional component, wherein the primary label and the subsidiary label respectively have two identifying symbols that corresponding to each other; installing the functional component to the connecting portion of the circuit board according to the identifying symbols of the subsidiary label and the primary label. 0011)
Claim 5 recites “wherein the indicia show a shape of the component” (The first identifying symbol 31 may also be of letter, character, color block, mark or pattern, thereby the first primary label 11 and the first subsidiary label 41 generate a correlation. With such, when installing the functional components to the circuit board 100, users can intuitively and efficiently identify the indication of the first identifying symbols 31 to complete an installation of the first functional component 10 to the first connecting portion 21 of the circuit board 100. 0018)
Claim 7 recites “wherein the indicia include a name of the component written inside or adjacent the shape” (The first identifying symbol 31 may also be of letter, character, color block, mark or pattern, thereby the first primary label 11 and the first subsidiary label 41 generate a correlation. With such, when installing the functional components to the circuit board 100, users can intuitively and efficiently identify the indication of the first identifying symbols 31 to complete an installation of the first functional component 10 to the first connecting portion 21 of the circuit board 100. 0018)
Claim 9 recites “wherein the component at least partially divides the mounting surface into a plurality of sections, and wherein the assembly instruction information extends across the plurality of sections.” (Fig 1 The identification module comprises: a circuit board 100 having a first connecting portion 21; a first primary label 11 disposed on a surface of the first connecting portion 21; a first functional component 10 (for example, a Central Processing Unit (CPU)); a first subsidiary label 41 disposed on the first functional component 10. The first primary label 11 and the first subsidiary label 41 respectively have two first identifying symbols 31 corresponding to each other. 0017)
Claim 11, recites “ wherein the mounting surface is an interior surface of the housing” ((The identification module for facilitating installation of a functional component comprises a circuit board having a first connecting portion, a first functional component, a first primary label disposed on a surface of the first connecting portion and a first subsidiary label disposed on a surface of the first functional component 0007)
Claim 12 recites “wherein the assembly instruction information is displayed on a label positioned on the mounting surface” ((The identification module for facilitating installation of a functional component comprises a circuit board having a first connecting portion, a first functional component, a first primary label disposed on a surface of the first connecting portion and a first subsidiary label disposed on a surface of the first functional component 0007 wherein the first subsidiary label and the first primary label respectively have two first identifying symbols corresponding to each other. With notified by the first identifying symbols, intuitional correlation may be obtained and correct installation between the first functional component and the first connecting portion is therefore guaranteed. 0007)
Claim 13 recites wherein the indicia include location markers corresponding to each respective component selected to be mounted to the mounting surface, wherein the location markers indicate the desired location for mounting each selected component, and wherein each selected component is mountable to the mounting surface over the assembly instruction information. (The identification module for facilitating installation of a functional component comprises a circuit board having a first connecting portion, a first functional component, a first primary label disposed on a surface of the first connecting portion and a first subsidiary label disposed on a surface of the first functional component 0007 wherein the first subsidiary label and the first primary label respectively have two first identifying symbols corresponding to each other. With notified by the first identifying symbols, intuitional correlation may be obtained and correct installation between the first functional component and the first connecting portion is therefore guaranteed. 0007)
Claim 14 recites wherein the location markers include shapes of each respective component selected to be mounted to the mounting surface. (The first identifying symbol 31 may also be of letter, character, color block, mark or pattern, thereby the first primary label 11 and the first subsidiary label 41 generate a correlation. With such, when installing the functional components to the circuit board 100, users can intuitively and efficiently identify the indication of the first identifying symbols 31 to complete an installation of the first functional component 10 to the first connecting portion 21 of the circuit board 100. 0018)
Claim 15 recites wherein after installation of at least one of the components within the electrical housing, the at least one component at least partially covers the assembly instruction information or the location markers. (The first identifying symbol 31 may also be of letter, character, color block, mark or pattern, thereby the first primary label 11 and the first subsidiary label 41 generate a correlation. With such, when installing the functional components to the circuit board 100, users can intuitively and efficiently identify the indication of the first identifying symbols 31 to complete an installation of the first functional component 10 to the first connecting portion 21 of the circuit board 100. Thus, the identification module in accordance with present invention facilitates installation of functional components and increases efficiency and yield thereof. 0018)
Claim 16 recites A housing for electrical components comprising: a plurality of surfaces, the plurality of surfaces including a mounting surface on which a plurality of components is mountable; and assembly instruction information displayed on at least a portion of the mounting surface, the assembly instruction information including designated sections that are visually identifiable, each designated section visually indicating one or more of the plurality of components to be mounted to the mounting surface, (The identification module for facilitating installation of a functional component comprises a circuit board having a first connecting portion, a first functional component, a first primary label disposed on a surface of the first connecting portion and a first subsidiary label disposed on a surface of the first functional component 0007) the one or more of the plurality of components configured to be mounted over the assembly instruction information and within at least one of the designated sections. (The first identifying symbol 31 may also be of letter, character, color block, mark or pattern, thereby the first primary label 11 and the first subsidiary label 41 generate a correlation. With such, when installing the functional components to the circuit board 100, users can intuitively and efficiently identify the indication of the first identifying symbols 31 to complete an installation of the first functional component 10 to the first connecting portion 21 of the circuit board 100. Thus, the identification module in accordance with present invention facilitates installation of functional components and increases efficiency and yield thereof. 0018)
Claim 17 recites wherein the assembly instruction information is displayed on a label positioned on the mounting surface. (The first identifying symbol 31 may also be of letter, character, color block, mark or pattern, thereby the first primary label 11 and the first subsidiary label 41 generate a correlation. With such, when installing the functional components to the circuit board 100, users can intuitively and efficiently identify the indication of the first identifying symbols 31 to complete an installation of the first functional component 10 to the first connecting portion 21 of the circuit board 100. Thus, the identification module in accordance with present invention facilitates installation of functional components and increases efficiency and yield thereof. 0018)
Claim 18 recites A method of assembling an electrical housing assembly, the method comprising:displaying assembly instruction information on a mounting surface of the electrical housing to define a desired component layout of the mounting surface, wherein the assembly instruction information designates a type of component to be mounted to the mounting surface at a desired location on the mounting surface; (The identification module for facilitating installation of a functional component comprises a circuit board having a first connecting portion, a first functional component, a first primary label disposed on a surface of the first connecting portion and a first subsidiary label disposed on a surface of the first functional component 0007) positioning the designated type of component over the assembly instruction information in accordance with the desired component layout; and affixing the designated type of component to the mounting surface over the assembly instruction information in accordance with the desired component layout. (The first identifying symbol 31 may also be of letter, character, color block, mark or pattern, thereby the first primary label 11 and the first subsidiary label 41 generate a correlation. With such, when installing the functional components to the circuit board 100, users can intuitively and efficiently identify the indication of the first identifying symbols 31 to complete an installation of the first functional component 10 to the first connecting portion 21 of the circuit board 100. Thus, the identification module in accordance with present invention facilitates installation of functional components and increases efficiency and yield thereof. 0018)
Claim 19 recites wherein displaying the assembly instruction information on the mounting surface further comprises displaying the assembly instruction information on a label and positioning the label on the mounting surface. (The first identifying symbol 31 may also be of letter, character, color block, mark or pattern, thereby the first primary label 11 and the first subsidiary label 41 generate a correlation. With such, when installing the functional components to the circuit board 100, users can intuitively and efficiently identify the indication of the first identifying symbols 31 to complete an installation of the first functional component 10 to the first connecting portion 21 of the circuit board 100. Thus, the identification module in accordance with present invention facilitates installation of functional components and increases efficiency and yield thereof. 0018)
Claim 20 recites wherein displaying the assembly instruction information on the mounting surface further comprises incorporating the assembly instruction information as an integral part of the mounting surface. (The first identifying symbol 31 may also be of letter, character, color block, mark or pattern, thereby the first primary label 11 and the first subsidiary label 41 generate a correlation. With such, when installing the functional components to the circuit board 100, users can intuitively and efficiently identify the indication of the first identifying symbols 31 to complete an installation of the first functional component 10 to the first connecting portion 21 of the circuit board 100. Thus, the identification module in accordance with present invention facilitates installation of functional components and increases efficiency and yield thereof. 0018)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tai et al (US20100162597) in view of Mits (WO2013168263A1)
Claim 6 recites “wherein the shape is a rectangle having a length and a width corresponding to an overall length and width of the component” (Tai clearly shows in Fig 1 the shape of components on the main circuit board is labels and correspond to the shape of the components to assemble. 0018-0020), however Tai does not explicitly and expressly state these shapes.
Mits discloses Therefore, in the present embodiment, the position of the first frame-shaped display 4a (that is, the mounting position of the component) and the position of the second frame-shaped display 5a (that is, the display position of the component information of the component) are distinguished from each other. As a possible recognition symbol, a pair of direction indication symbols 6a indicating the positions of the first frame-shaped display 4a and the second frame-shaped display 5a are displayed near the outside of the frame. Page 3)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Tai with the known techniques of Mits namely, specifics of using the well known use of component shaped labels, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Tai with the teachings of Mits to explicitly say the shapes are the shapes of components would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved understanding of common electrical connected components using a known method "Therefore, in the present embodiment, the position of the first frame-shaped display 4a (that is, the mounting position of the component) and the position of the second frame-shaped display 5a (that is, the display position of the component information of the component) are distinguished from each other Page 3)
Claim 8 recites “wherein the shape indicates the desired location” (Tai clearly shows in Fig 1 the shape of components on the main circuit board is labels and correspond to the shape of the components to assemble. 0018-0020), however Tai does not explicitly and expressly state these shapes.
Mits discloses Therefore, in the present embodiment, the position of the first frame-shaped display 4a (that is, the mounting position of the component) and the position of the second frame-shaped display 5a (that is, the display position of the component information of the component) are distinguished from each other. As a possible recognition symbol, a pair of direction indication symbols 6a indicating the positions of the first frame-shaped display 4a and the second frame-shaped display 5a are displayed near the outside of the frame. Page 3)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Tai with the known techniques of Mits namely, specifics of using the well known use of component shaped labels, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Tai with the teachings of Mits to explicitly say the shapes are the shapes of components would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved understanding of common electrical connected components using a known method "Therefore, in the present embodiment, the position of the first frame-shaped display 4a (that is, the mounting position of the component) and the position of the second frame-shaped display 5a (that is, the display position of the component information of the component) are distinguished from each other Page 3)
Claim 10 recites “wherein the panel includes a first aperture pattern to receive fasteners, and wherein the indicia are displayed on a label that includes a second aperture pattern to receive the fasteners, the second aperture pattern configured to align with at least part of the first aperture pattern to define a position and orientation of the label relative to the panel and to locate the desired location” (Tai clearly shows in Fig 1 the shape of components on the main circuit board is labels and correspond to the shape of the components to assemble. 0018-0020), however Tai does not explicitly and expressly state these shapes.
Mits discloses Therefore, in the present embodiment, the position of the first frame-shaped display 4a (that is, the mounting position of the component) and the position of the second frame-shaped display 5a (that is, the display position of the component information of the component) are distinguished from each other. As a possible recognition symbol, a pair of direction indication symbols 6a indicating the positions of the first frame-shaped display 4a and the second frame-shaped display 5a are displayed near the outside of the frame. Page 3 Component information 3, 3a, 3b including the character string symbol), and first frame-shaped displays 4a, 4b, first frame surrounding the mounting positions 2a, 2b of a plurality of components having a narrow interval between the components. Second frame displays 5a and 5b surrounding the component information 3a and 3b corresponding to the components in the frame displays 4a and 4b, and the first frame displays 4a and 4b and the second frame displays 5a and 5b, respectively. Point each other's position as a recognition symbol that can identify each other's position Each direction indicating symbol 6a pair, and a 6b are displayed is silk printed, respectively. In addition, the outline shape figure of each component is silk-printed and displayed at the mounting positions 2, 2a, 2b of each component Page 2)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Tai with the known techniques of Mits namely, specifics of using the well known use of component shaped labels, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Tai with the teachings of Mits to explicitly say the shapes are the shapes of components would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved understanding of common electrical connected components using a known method "Therefore, in the present embodiment, the position of the first frame-shaped display 4a (that is, the mounting position of the component) and the position of the second frame-shaped display 5a (that is, the display position of the component information of the component) are distinguished from each other Page 3)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, In the context of the present application, the mounting surface is part of an electrical housing or enclosure, such as an electrical panel or control cabinet, which is assembled by mounting multiple components to that panel. Tai does not disclose such a housing, enclosure, or housing panel. Rather, Tai's circuit board is an internal electrical substrate within a computer system.
The Claim do not require such a housing, enclosure, or housing panel, which as expressed by the Applicant as part of an electrical housing or enclosure, such as an electrical panel or control cabinet, which is assembled by mounting multiple components to that panel. Tai does disclose a housing, which includes a panel defining a mounting surface as required by the claims and shown in the rejection above.
Applicant argues, Claim 1 itself further clarifies this distinction through the manner in which components are defined. Claim 1 recites a component mounted to the mounting surface, where the component is selected from a group that may include, among other things, a circuit board. Thus, under the claim language, a circuit board is an example of a component that may be mounted to the housing panel.
As is stated by the Applicant, the circuit board is just one of components that may be included. The claim lists extremely common and well known components, all of which are commonly used and further broadly claimed with generic non limiting language. For example, but clearly not limited to, “an adapter”, “a wire duct”, “a switch”. The circuit board of Tai is clearly disclosed to mount “plenty of various electronic components” (003) “an identification module for facilitating installation of a functional component” (0006) “The first functional component 10 and the second functional component 20 may be any sort of components which mounted on the circuit board such as mechanical components, protective components or decorative components . . . etc, for increasing the efficiency of installation, reducing the mis-installed rate, and thus to save the cost while manufacturing or repairing.” (0021) “n other words, the identifying symbols can be used to sort out varies components into different groups besides identification and assembling sequence indication.” (0026) The circuit board of Tai is disclosed to mount common functional, mechanical, decorative, protective component known and would inherently include the common generic non limitation bounded components of the claim. Further, the Markush grouping of the claim language requires just one of the grouping to be found in the prior art, which is clearly disclosed by Tai. Even further, Tai specifically discloses “Dynamic Random Access Memory (DRAM)” which are known in the art as memory modules mounted on circuit boards, further anticipating the claims. Even more further, the commonly simple knowledge of the art, would inherently recognize that the motherboard-type board of Tai, would include mounted components such as adapters (eg. Video card adapters, Memory adapters, network adapters, USB adapters etc), switches, wire ducts, other circuit boards with components mounted on them, and further.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KENNETH M. LO
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2136
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2136