DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains phrases which can be implied, i.e., “are provided”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “power distribution unit is disposed within the battery” as recited in claim 10; and “after switching the first contactor to the closed state, switching the second contactor to the open state to power the load with the battery through the first contactor” as recited in claim 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, line 2, “a heating circuit” should be changed to --the heating circuit--.
In claim 19, the claim recites both “an electrical load” and “a load”, and it is not clear if they are referring to the same element. For examination purposes, the recitations are interpreted as referring to the same element.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13, 15-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by FUJIOKA (Pub. No.: US 2023/0103895 A1).
Regarding claim 11, FUJIOKA discloses a power distribution system for a power machine (1, Fig. 1; ¶ 0027: FIG. 1 is a view schematically illustrating a configuration of a vehicle 1…vehicle 1 is a four-wheeled automobile, for example) that includes a battery (2, Fig. 1; ¶ 0028: vehicle 1 has a high-voltage battery 2) and a load (comprising 4/6/90, Fig. 1; ¶ 0029: In addition, on the vehicle 1, non-heater devices 90 which are the high-voltage devices other than the battery heater 12 are mounted. The non-heater devices 90 include a motor 4, a generator 5, an inverter 6), the power distribution system comprising:
a power distribution unit (PDU) that includes:
a battery power terminal (connection between 2e and 2b, Fig. 1) that electrically couples the PDU to a positive terminal (2a) of the battery of the power machine (the “battery power terminal” is part of the circuit which allows the PDU to electrically connect to positive terminal 2a);
a battery heater terminal (connection point at 76, Fig. 1) that electrically couples the PDU to a heating circuit (12; ¶ 0029: On the vehicle 1, a battery heater 12 as one of the high-voltage devices is mounted to increase a temperature of the high-voltage battery 2) for the battery (2); and
a charge terminal (connection between 51, 52, 81, and/or 82 and 31 in Fig. 1) that electrically couples the PDU to a power supply (301 or 300, Fig. 1) to charge the battery (¶ 0046: AC external charger 40 is a device for supplying output power of an external AC power supply 300 to the high-voltage battery 2 so as to charge the high-voltage battery 2; ¶ 0051: DC external charger 50 is a device for supplying output power of an external DC power supply 301 to the high-voltage battery 2 so as to charge the high-voltage battery 2);
an electrically conductive interconnection (comprising 2e and connection between 31 and 72, Fig. 1) that electrically couples the battery power terminal (connection between 2e and 2b), the battery heater terminal (connection point at 76), and the charge terminal (connection between 51, 52, 81, and/or 82 and 31), wherein the battery heater terminal is electrically connected to the electrically conductive interconnection between the battery power terminal and the charge terminal (as shown in Fig. 1, the battery heater terminal is between the battery power and charge terminals); and
a PDU contactor (72, Fig. 1) switchable between an open state and a closed state to control a flow of electrical current through the electrically conductive interconnection (¶ 0044: N-side main contactor 72 makes/interrupts the electrical connection between the negative electrode terminal 2b of the high-voltage battery 2 and the N-side high-voltage line 31b), wherein:
in the open state, the PDU contactor electrically isolates the battery power terminal from the charge terminal and the battery heater terminal; and in the closed state, the PDU contactor electrically connects the battery power terminal to the charge terminal and the battery heater terminal (¶ 0044: see above; the contactor 72 makes/interrupts the electrical connection between the battery power terminal, which is directly connected to 2e, and the other terminals as recited).
Regarding claim 12, FUJIOKA discloses the PDU does not include an additional contactor for the electrically conductive interconnection (the “electrically conductive interconnection” comprises 2e and connection between 31 and 72 as shown in Fig. 1, and 72 is the only contactor along the interconnection).
Regarding claim 13, FUJIOKA discloses the PDU further includes a first load terminal (connection between 6/90 and 31, Fig. 1) configured to electrically couple the PDU to the load; wherein the first load terminal is electrically connected to the electrically conductive interconnection between the charge terminal and the battery power terminal; and wherein: in the open state, the PDU contactor electrically isolates the battery power terminal from the first load terminal; and in the closed state, the PDU contactor electrically connects the battery power terminal to the first load terminal (¶ 0038, 0041, 0044-0045).
Regarding claim 15, FUJIOKA discloses a method of operating a battery (2, Fig. 1; ¶ 0028: vehicle 1 has a high-voltage battery 2) for a power machine (1, Fig. 1; ¶ 0027: FIG. 1 is a view schematically illustrating a configuration of a vehicle 1…vehicle 1 is a four-wheeled automobile, for example), the method comprising:
when a battery temperature is below a threshold temperature (¶ 0065: the BECM 206 determines whether the temperature of the high-voltage battery 2, which is detected by the battery temperature sensor SN2, is lower than a specified heater drive temperature (step S1)), heating the battery by supplying an electrical current to a heating circuit (12; ¶ 0029: On the vehicle 1, a battery heater 12 as one of the high-voltage devices is mounted to increase a temperature of the high-voltage battery 2) using a power distribution system (comprising 31, 2d, and connection between 31 and 71, Fig. 1; ¶ 0071: when the heater contactor 75 is turned ON, the battery heater 12 (the heater bodies 12x) and the high-voltage line 31 are brought into the energized state. In step S5, to which the processing proceeds after step S10, external charging is executed, and the electric power is supplied from the external power supply to the high-voltage line 31. In this way, in step S5, to which the processing proceeds after step S10, the electric power is supplied from the external power supply to the battery heater 12 (the heater bodies 12x), and the battery heater 12 (the heater bodies 12x) starts generating heat), the heating circuit being in an active state to supply heat to the battery (¶ 0071: see above), the power distribution system including an electrically conductive interconnection (comprising 2d and connection between 31 and 71, Fig. 1) with a first contactor (71, Fig. 1) that is switchable between an open state and a closed state to control a flow of electrical current through the electrically conductive interconnection (¶ 0044: P-side main contactor 71 makes/interrupts the electrical connection between the positive electrode terminal 2a of the high-voltage battery 2 and the P-side high-voltage line 31a), the electrically conductive interconnection being electrically coupled to a positive terminal of the battery (2a, Fig. 1; the interconnection is “electrically coupled” as part of the circuit of Figure 1), the heating circuit (12), and a charger for the battery (40 or 50, Fig. 1) so that the first contactor (71) is between the heating circuit (12) and the positive terminal of the battery (2a) and between the charger (40 or 50) and the positive terminal of the battery (2a; as shown in Fig. 1); and
when the battery temperature is at or above the threshold temperature, charging the battery by supplying electrical current from the charger to the battery with the first contactor in a closed state and with the heating circuit in an inactive state, in which heat is not supplied to the battery by the heating circuit (¶ 0053: when the high-voltage battery 2 is charged by using the AC external charger 40 and the DC external charger 50, the low-voltage battery 3 is also charged in addition to the high-voltage battery 2. That is, when charging of the high-voltage battery 2 by each of the external chargers 40, 50 (hereinafter appropriately referred to as external charging); ¶ 0069: If the current state is the external charging enabling state and it is determined YES in step S3, the PCM 201 starts external charging (step S10); ¶ 0072: if the battery temperature has become higher than the specified heater stop temperature (if it is determined YES in step S6), the BECM 206 switches the heater contactor 75 from ON to OFF and stops driving the battery heater 12 (step S7). The heater stop temperature is set in advance and stored in the BECM 206. For example, the heater stop temperature is set at −5° C; heater circuit is inactivated during charging when battery temperature is above a threshold temperature).
Regarding claim 16, FUJIOKA discloses while supplying the electrical current to heat the battery, operating the power distribution system in a self-heating configuration, wherein the first contactor is in a closed state so that electrical current flows from the battery to the heating circuit via the first contactor (¶ 0073-0075).
Regarding claim 20, FUJIOKA discloses detecting, with an electronic controller, that the charger electrically connects a power supply to the power distribution system; and in response to detecting that the power supply is electrically connected to the power distribution system by the charger, operating, with the electronic controller, the heating circuit in an active state, to heat the battery using electrical current from the charger (¶ 0068-0071).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJIOKA (Pub. No.: US 2023/0103895 A1) in view of CURUVIJA (Pub. No.: US 2020/0122582 A1).
Regarding claim 1, FUJIOKA discloses a power distribution system for a power machine (1, Fig. 1; ¶ 0027: FIG. 1 is a view schematically illustrating a configuration of a vehicle 1…vehicle 1 is a four-wheeled automobile, for example) that includes a battery (2, Fig. 1; ¶ 0028: vehicle 1 has a high-voltage battery 2), an inverter (6, 90, Fig. 1), and a motor (4, 90, Fig. 1) arranged to be powered by the battery through the inverter (¶ 0039: motor 4 rotates when being supplied with the electric power from the high-voltage battery 2; ¶ 0041: inverter 6 is a device that converts a DC current to an AC current, converts the DC current from the high-voltage battery 2 to the AC current, and supplies the AC current to the motor 4), the power distribution system comprising:
a power distribution unit (PDU) that includes:
a battery power terminal (connection between 2e and 2b, Fig. 1) configured to electrically couple the PDU to a terminal (2b) of the battery (2) of the power machine (1);
a battery heater terminal (connection point at 76, Fig. 1) configured to electrically couple the PDU to a heating circuit (12; ¶ 0029: On the vehicle 1, a battery heater 12 as one of the high-voltage devices is mounted to increase a temperature of the high-voltage battery 2) for the battery (2);
a charge terminal (connection between 51, 52, 81, and/or 82 and 31 in Fig. 1) configured to electrically couple the PDU to a power supply (301 or 300, Fig. 1) to charge the battery (¶ 0046: AC external charger 40 is a device for supplying output power of an external AC power supply 300 to the high-voltage battery 2 so as to charge the high-voltage battery 2; ¶ 0051: DC external charger 50 is a device for supplying output power of an external DC power supply 301 to the high-voltage battery 2 so as to charge the high-voltage battery 2);
a device power terminal (connection between 6/90 and 31, Fig. 1) configured to electrically couple the PDU to the inverter of the power machine to power the motor (¶ 0041: see above);
a pre-charge terminal (connection between 2e and 73, Fig. 1) configured to electrically couple the PDU to the inverter (¶ 0038: motor 4 is connected to the high-voltage line 31 via the inverter 6; ¶ 0045: pre-charge contactor 73 also makes/interrupts the electrical connection between the negative electrode terminal 2b of the high-voltage battery 2 and the N-side high-voltage line 31b);
an electrically conductive interconnection (comprising 2e and connection between 31 and 72, Fig. 1) that electrically couples the battery power terminal (connection between 2e and 2b), the battery heater terminal (connection point at 76), the charge terminal (connection between 51, 52, 81, and/or 82 and 31), the device power terminal (connection between 6/90 and 31), and the pre-charge terminal (connection between 2e and 73), wherein the device power terminal, the pre-charge terminal, and the battery heater terminal are electrically connected to the electrically conductive interconnection between the battery power terminal and the charge terminal (as shown in Fig. 1, said terminals are between the battery power and charge terminals); and
a PDU switch (72, Fig. 1) switchable between an open state and a closed state to control a flow of electrical current through the electrically conductive interconnection (¶ 0044: N-side main contactor 72 makes/interrupts the electrical connection between the negative electrode terminal 2b of the high-voltage battery 2 and the N-side high-voltage line 31b); and
wherein, when the PDU switch is in the open state, the pre-charge terminal and the battery power terminal are electrically isolated from the charge terminal, the battery heater terminal, and the device power terminal and, when the PDU switch is in the closed state, the pre-charge terminal and the battery power terminal are electrically connected to the charge terminal, the battery heater terminal, and the device power terminal (¶ 0044: see above; the switch 72 makes/interrupts the electrical connection between the battery power and pre-charge terminals, which are directly connected to 2e, and the other terminals as recited).
FUKIOKA fails to disclose the pre-charge terminal configured to electrically couple the PDU to the inverter separately from the device power terminal.
CURUVIJA discloses the pre-charge terminal (connection between battery 31 and pre-charge contactor relay 38 in Fig. 5) configured to electrically couple the PDU to the inverter (61 or 46/43, Fig. 5; it is electrically coupled via contactor relay 38) separately from the device power terminal (connection between battery 31 and main contactor relay 36 in Fig. 5; ¶ 0029: When controller 65 determines that the drive system is being activated from an inactive state, then it triggers a precharge state. Prior to the precharge state, contactors 36, 37, and 38 are all nonconductive and capacitors 41 and 43 are substantially discharged. To begin the precharge state controller 65 renders precharge contactor 38, main contactor 37, and bypass switch 47 conductive, which results in a current flow as illustrated in FIG. 6. Current flows through resistance element 62 to positive bus 44 thereby charging link capacitor 43 directly. Current also flows from resistance element 62 to input capacitor 41 via bypass switch 47. Controller 65 typically monitors a voltage on the DC link using a sensor (not shown). Once the DC link voltage reaches a level substantially equal to the battery voltage, then precharge contactor 38 is opened, thereby disconnecting resistance element 62 from the DC power. Bypass switch 47 is rendered nonconductive and main contactor 36 is closed, so that drive 60 is ready to provide normal operating current flow as shown in FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the pre-charge terminal configured to electrically couple the PDU to the inverter separately from the device power terminal in order to prevent high inrush current with fewer components (CURUVIJA, ¶ 0005-0010).
Regarding claim 2, FUJIOKA discloses the PDU does not include a switch for electrical current flow along the electrically conductive interconnection, other than the PDU switch (the “electrically conductive interconnection” comprises 2e and connection between 31 and 72 as shown in Fig. 1, and 72 is the only switch along the interconnection).
Regarding claim 3, FUJIOKA discloses the pre-charge terminal (connection between 2e and 73) is electrically coupled to the electrically conductive interconnection between the PDU switch (72) and the battery power terminal (2b; as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, FUJIOKA as modified by CURUVIJA teaches a pre-charge circuit electrically coupled to the pre-charge terminal and including a pre-charge relay (CURUVIJA, 38, Fig. 5) switchable between an open state and a closed state to electrically connect the charge terminal to the battery power terminal through the inverter (the pre-charge relay 38 of CURUVIJA connects the battery power terminal to the inverter, and in FUJIOKA, since the charger terminal is connected to the inverter as shown in Fig. 1, providing the pre-charge relay of CURUVIJA in the circuit of FUJIOKA would also provide the connection between the charger terminal and the battery power terminal through the inverter).
Regarding claim 5, FUJIOKA discloses the battery heater terminal (connection point at 76) is electrically coupled to the electrically conductive interconnection so that the PDU switch (72) is positioned between the battery heater terminal and the battery power terminal (2b) along the electrically conductive interconnection (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, FUJIOKA discloses a heating circuit (12, Fig. 1) electrically coupled to the battery heater terminal (connection point at 76) and switchable between an active state, in which heat is supplied to the battery by the heating circuit using electrical current from the PDU, and an inactive state, in which heat is not supplied to the battery by the heating circuit (¶ 0032).
Regarding claim 7, FUJIOKA discloses the PDU is configured to switch the PDU switch between the open state and the closed state based on a battery temperature so that: when the battery temperature is below a threshold temperature, the PDU operates in a heating configuration to supply electrical current to the battery heater terminal; and when the battery temperature is at or above the threshold temperature, the PDU operates in a charging configuration to supply electrical current from the charge terminal to the battery power terminal (¶ 0076, 0097).
Regarding claim 8, FUJIOKA discloses the heating configuration includes at least one of: a self-heating configuration, wherein the PDU switch is in the closed state so that electrical current flows from the battery power terminal to the battery heater terminal via the electrically conductive interconnection and the PDU switch (¶ 0073-0075: switch is implied as being in the closed state, since external charging is not enabled, and the battery 2 is checked if it is above a “determination SOC” prior to driving the heater; ¶ 0081); or an auxiliary-heating configuration, wherein the PDU switch is in the open state so that electrical current flows from the charge terminal to the battery heater terminal via the electrically conductive interconnection
Regarding claim 9, FUJIOKA discloses in the charging configuration, the PDU switch is in the closed state (¶ 0044-0053).
Regarding claim 10, FUJIOKA as modified by CURUVIJA teaches the power distribution system as applied to claim 1, but FUJIOKA fails to disclose the power distribution unit is disposed within the battery. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the power distribution unit disposed within the battery, since it has been held that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the power distribution unit disposed within the battery in order to facilitate assembly and/or reduce space.
Regarding claim 14, FUJIOKA discloses the power distribution system as applied to claim 13, but fails to disclose the PDU further includes a second load terminal configured to electrically couple the PDU to the load separately from the first load terminal; wherein the second load terminal is electrically connected to the electrically conductive interconnection between the charge terminal and the battery power terminal; and wherein: in the open state, the PDU contactor electrically isolates the second load terminal from the first load terminal; and in the closed state, the PDU contactor electrically connects the second load terminal to the first load terminal.
CURUVIJA discloses the PDU further includes a second load terminal (connection between battery 31 and contactor relay 38 in Fig. 5) configured to electrically couple the PDU to the load (61, Fig. 5) separately from the first load terminal (connection between contactor relay 36 and 61, Fig. 5); and wherein: in the open state, the PDU contactor (36, Fig. 5) electrically isolates the second load terminal from the first load terminal; and in the closed state, the PDU contactor electrically connects the second load terminal to the first load terminal (¶ 0027-0030). Including the second load terminal of CURUVIJA in the circuit of FUJIOKA would provide the second load terminal electrically connected to the electrically conductive interconnection between the charge terminal and the battery power terminal as recited.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the second load terminal configured to electrically couple the PDU to the load separately from the first load terminal as recited in order to prevent high inrush current with fewer components (CURUVIJA, ¶ 0005-0010).
Regarding claim 18, FUJIOKA discloses the method as applied to claim 15, but fails to disclose closing a pre-charge relay of a pre-charge circuit prior to charging the battery, to provide an electrical current to a powered device circuit to charge capacitive elements in the powered device circuit.
CURUVIJA discloses closing a pre-charge relay (38, Fig. 5) of a pre-charge circuit (comprising 38 and 62, Fig. 5) prior to charging the battery (¶ 0024: e.g., charging during regenerative braking), to provide an electrical current to a powered device circuit (61, Fig. 5) to charge capacitive elements (e.g., 41 & 43, Fig. 5) in the powered device circuit (¶ 0027-0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include closing a pre-charge relay of a pre-charge circuit prior to charging the battery as recited in order to prevent high inrush current with fewer components (CURUVIJA, ¶ 0005-0010).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJIOKA as applied to claims 11-13, 15-16, and 20 above, and further in view of YAMAZAKI (Pub. No.: US 2015/0061605 A1).
Regarding claim 17, FUJIOKA discloses the method as applied to claim 15, and FUJIOKA further discloses while supplying the electrical current to heat the battery, operating the power distribution system in an auxiliary-heating configuration, wherein electrical current flows from the charger to the heating circuit via the electrically conductive interconnection (¶ 0071).
FUJIOKA fails to disclose in the auxiliary-heating configuration, the first contactor is in an open state.
YAMAZAKI discloses in the auxiliary-heating configuration, the first contactor (12, Fig. 1) is in an open state (¶ 0052, 0067-0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in the auxiliary-heating configuration, the first contactor is in an open state in order to prohibit charging of the battery in a temperature state unsuitable for charging (YAMAZAKI, ¶ 0007).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJIOKA as applied to claims 11-13, 15-16, and 20 above, and further in view of KIM (Pub. No.: US 2024/0025298 A1).
Regarding claim 19, FUJIOKA discloses the method as applied to claim 15, but fails to disclose discharging the battery to an electrical load for operation of the power machine, including: with the first contactor in the open state, temporarily switching a second contactor to a closed state to electrically connect the charger to the positive terminal of the battery through a load; after temporarily switching the second contactor to the closed state, switching the first contactor to a closed state to electrically couple the positive terminal of the battery to the load; and after switching the first contactor to the closed state, switching the second contactor to the open state to power the load with the battery through the first contactor.
KIM discloses discharging the battery to an electrical load (external device, Fig. 1) for operation of the power machine, including: with the first contactor (21, Fig. 1) in the open state, temporarily switching a second contactor (22, Fig. 1) to a closed state; after temporarily switching the second contactor to the closed state, switching the first contactor to a closed state to electrically couple the positive terminal of the battery to the load; and after switching the first contactor to the closed state, switching the second contactor to the open state to power the load with the battery through the first contactor (¶ 0034). Including the second contactor switching as disclosed in KIM in the circuit of FUJIOKA, which connects the load (6, Fig. 1) to a charger (40/50, Fig. 1), would provide the second contactor electrically connecting the charger to the positive terminal of the battery through a load.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the switching of the first and second contactors as recited in order to reduce surge current (KIM, ¶ 0034).
Conclusion
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 8/5/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859