DETAILED ACTION
The claims dated 6/24/2026 are under consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18, in the reply filed on 6/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/24/2026.
Priority
The present application is a continuation of 16/949,159 (filed 10/15/2020; issued as 11,851,703),
which is a continuation of 15/965,595 (filed 04/27/2018; issued as 10,829,811),
which is a continuation of 13/458,739 (filed 4/27/2012; issued as 9,957,558),
which claims benefit of US provisional application 61/479,952 (filed 4/28/2011) and
claims benefit of US provisional application 61/531,583 (filed 9/06/2011) and
claims benefit of US provisional application 61/531,574 (filed 9/06/2011) and
claims benefit of US provisional application 61/538,079 (filed 9/22/2011) and
claims benefit of US provisional application 61/564,763 (filed 11/29/2011) and
claims benefit of US provisional application 61/578,192 (filed 12/20/2011) and
claims benefit of US provisional application 61/594,160 (filed 2/02/2012) and
claims benefit of US provisional application 61/598,881 (filed 2/14/2012) and
claims benefit of US provisional application 61/598,892 (filed 2/14/2012) and
claims benefit of US provisional application 61/625,596 (filed 4/17/2012) and
claims benefit of US provisional application 61/639,017 (filed 4/26/2012).
Priority is recognized.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification or the citation of references throughout the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892 or cited on a submitted IDS, they have not been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the patent number for application 16/949,159 is not provided in paragraph 2. The ‘159 application issued as 11,851,703.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-6, 8 and 10-18 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Schroeder (US 2008/0131937 A1; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS) in view of Mitra (US 2010/0129874; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS).
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 13, Schroeder teaches amplifying a plurality of different target sequences within a single amplification reaction mixture by contacting the plurality of different target sequences with a plurality of target-specific primers and a polymerase under amplification conditions, where at least one of the plurality of target-specific primers and at least one of the amplified target sequences including a cleavable group (Fig. 2; para. 7; para. 10; para. 32; and para. 33). The amplification is a multiplex reaction (para. 32 and 33).
Schroeder further teaches cleaving a cleavable group of at least one amplified target sequence (para. 11).
Schroeder further teaches producing one or more adapter-ligated amplified target sequences by ligating at least one adapter to at least one amplified target sequence in a ligation reaction (para. 11), in a blunt end ligation reaction (para. 24 and 28).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Schroeder teaches adapters that are not complementary to the target DNA (para. 39, where BRCA gene is taught, and para. 56, where adaptors with M13 sequences are taught).
Regarding claim 4, Schroeder teaches primers with a length between 15 and 40 bases (para. 39 and 57).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Schroeder teaches primers and adaptors without protecting groups (para. 39 and 56), therefore they inherently teach primers susceptible to exonuclease digestion.
Regarding claim 8, Schroeder teaches the amplicons are purified prior to ligation (para. 48-56), satisfying the conditions of claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, Schroeder teaches an isothermal ligation reaction at 25O C (para. 57).
Regarding claim 11, Schroder teaches two different double-stranded adaptors are used (para. 56).
Regarding claim 14, Schroeder teaches blunt end ligation as described above. In blunt end ligation reaction, the ends of the ligating nucleotides are not complementary to one another as there is not overhanging or “sticky” ends.
Regarding claim 15, Schroeder teaches the cleavable group, i.e. MmeI site, is within 15 terminal of the ends of the primers (para. 39-40).
Regarding claim 16, Schroeder teaches reamplifying the adaptor ligated amplicons using M13 primers (para. 57).
Schroeder does not specifically teach the number of different targets in the multiplexed amplification reaction or the elements specific to claims 12, 13, 17 and 18.
However, Mitra demonstrates that conditions for multiplex PCR were known.
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 13, Mitra teaches that a multiplex PCR may include 40, 100, 500 or 1200 primer pairs (para. 42).
It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan to have used 40, 100, 500 or 1200 primer pairs in the generic multiplex assay of Schroeder. The modification has a reasonable expectation of success as it adds specific and known details to the generic multiplex method of Schroeder.
Regarding claim 17, Mitra teaches steps of amplifying, cleaving and ligating may occur in a single tube via an addition-only reaction (para. 85).
It would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the method of Schroeder such that it is an assay carried out in a single tube. A single tube assay simplifies the process as it eliminates the need to purify, isolate and extract nucleic acids between steps.
Regarding claim 18, Mitra teaches that barcodes are known and incorporated into oligonucleotides for sample identification (para. 8 and 75).
It would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the method of Schroeder by incorporating barcodes into the primers such that nucleic acids and samples may be readily identified from one another.
Claims 7 and 9 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Schroeder (US 2008/0131937 A1; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS) in view of Mitra (US 2010/0129874; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Taylor (US 2009/0068659 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 9, the combination of Schroeder and Mitra renders obvious the method of claim 1 as described above.
The combination is silent regarding phosphorylating the 5’ end of the amplicon.
However, in the context of blunt end ligations, such as those taught by Schroeder, Taylor demonstrates it is known to dephosphorylate 3' ends and phosphorylate 5' ends of the double-stranded nucleic acids prior to ligating a double-stranded adaptor onto ends of the double-stranded nucleic acids (para. 12, 16, 17, 67 and 81; and claim 13).
It would have been prima facie obvious to have included at least the step of phosphorylating the 5’ end of the double stranded amplicon of Schroeder in order to carry out the blunt end ligation of Schroeder. One would be motivated to do so because it is a well-known step that is needed in order to ligate the two nucleic acids together.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/340,581 in view of Schroeder (US 2008/0131937 A1; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS), Mitra (US 2010/0129874; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS) and/or Taylor (US 2009/0068659 A1).
The present claims are sufficiently broad so as to encompass the claims of the ‘581 application. The two differ in that the present claims require blunt end ligation and the ‘581 claims are silent regarding the type of ligation.
However as noted above, Schroeder teaches that such a process is known and a variety of “sticky” end ligation.
The reminder of the elements not in the ‘581 claims or taught by Schroeder are rendered obvious by Mitra and/or Taylor.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 10,266,881 B2 in view of in view of Schroeder (US 2008/0131937 A1; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS) or in further combination with Mitra (US 2010/0129874; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS) and/or Taylor (US 2009/0068659 A1).
The present claims are sufficiently broad so as to encompass the claims of the ‘881 patent. The two differ in that the present claims require blunt end ligation and the ‘881 claims are silent regarding the type of ligation.
However as noted above, Schroeder teaches that such a process is known and a variety of “sticky” end ligation.
The reminder of the elements not in the ‘881 claims or taught by Schroeder are rendered obvious by Mitra and/or Taylor.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,100,354 B2 in view of in view of Schroeder (US 2008/0131937 A1; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS) or in further combination with Mitra (US 2010/0129874; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS) and/or Taylor (US 2009/0068659 A1).
The present claims are sufficiently broad so as to encompass the claims of the ‘354 patent. The two claim sets differ in that the present claims require blunt end ligation and the ‘354 claims are silent regarding the type of ligation.
However as noted above, Schroeder teaches that such a process is known and a variety of “sticky” end ligation.
The reminder of the elements not in the ‘354 claims or taught by Schroeder are rendered obvious by Mitra and/or Taylor.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 8,673,560 B2 alone or in view of Schroeder (US 2008/0131937 A1; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS), Mitra (US 2010/0129874; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS) and/or Taylor (US 2009/0068659 A1).
The present claims are sufficiently broad so as to encompass the claims of the ‘560 patent. The two claim sets differ in that the dependent claims include elements not found in the ‘560 claims.
The reminder of the elements not in the ‘560 claims are rendered obvious by Schroeder, Mitra and/or Taylor.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 8,728,728 B2 alone or in view of Schroeder (US 2008/0131937 A1; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS), Mitra (US 2010/0129874; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS) and/or Taylor (US 2009/0068659 A1).
The present claims are sufficiently broad so as to encompass the claims of the ‘728 patent. The two differ in that the dependent claims include elements not found in the ‘728 claims.
The reminder of the elements not in the ‘728 claims are rendered obvious by Schroeder, Mitra and/or Taylor.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 9,885,076 B2 alone or in view of Schroeder (US 2008/0131937 A1; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS), Mitra (US 2010/0129874; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS) and/or Taylor (US 2009/0068659 A1).
The present claims are sufficiently broad so as to encompass the claims of the ‘076 patent. The two claim sets differ in that the dependent claims include elements not found in the ‘076 claims.
The reminder of the elements not in the ‘076 claims are rendered obvious by Schroeder, Mitra and/or Taylor.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9,95,380 B2 alone or Schroeder (US 2008/0131937 A1; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS), Mitra (US 2010/0129874; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS) and/or Taylor (US 2009/0068659 A1).
The present claims are sufficiently broad so as to encompass the claims of the ‘380 patent. The two differ in that the dependent claims include elements not found in the ‘380 claims.
The reminder of the elements not in the ‘380 claims are rendered obvious by Schroeder, Mitra and/or Taylor.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,957,558 B2 alone or in view of Schroeder (US 2008/0131937 A1; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS), Mitra (US 2010/0129874; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS) and/or Taylor (US 2009/0068659 A1).
The present claims are sufficiently broad so as to encompass the claims of the ‘558 patent. The two differ in that the dependent claims include elements not found in the ‘558 claims.
The reminder of the elements not in the ‘558 claims are rendered obvious by Schroeder, Mitra and/or Taylor.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No.10,829,811 B2 alone or in view of Schroeder (US 2008/0131937 A1; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS), Mitra (US 2010/0129874; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS) and/or Taylor (US 2009/0068659 A1).
The present claims are sufficiently broad so as to encompass the claims of the ‘811 patent. The two claim sets differ in that the dependent claims include elements not found in the ‘811 claims.
The reminder of the elements not in the ‘811 claims are rendered obvious by Schroeder, Mitra and/or Taylor.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,837,052 B2 alone or in view of Schroeder (US 2008/0131937 A1; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS), Mitra (US 2010/0129874; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS) and/or Taylor (US 2009/0068659 A1).
The present claims are sufficiently broad so as to encompass the claims of the ‘052 patent. The two claim sets differ in that the dependent claims include elements not found in the ‘052 claims.
The reminder of the elements not in the ‘052 claims are rendered obvious by Schroeder, Mitra and/or Taylor.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,851,703 B2 in view of Schroeder (US 2008/0131937 A1; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS) or in further combination with Mitra (US 2010/0129874; cited on the 11/21/2023 IDS) and/or Taylor (US 2009/0068659 A1).
The present claims are sufficiently broad so as to encompass the claims of the ‘703 patent. The two differ in that the present claims require blunt end ligation and the ‘703 claims are silent regarding the type of ligation.
However as noted above, Schroeder teaches that such a process is known and a variety of “sticky” end ligation.
The reminder of the elements not in the ‘703 claims or taught by Schroeder are rendered obvious by Mitra and/or Taylor.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/JOSEPH G. DAUNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682