Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1, 5-10, 13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huangfu et al (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0217830). Regarding Claim 1 , Huangfu discloses, at l east in figure 4: A display device (title, OLED) comprising: a first electrode (2, ¶ [0064]) disposed in an emission area; a bank (6, ¶ [0065]) disposed around the emission area to surround the emission area (¶ [0008]) and including a groove formed in an upper surface (upper and lower, see fig. 4) thereo f (¶ [0063]) ; a light emitting stack (3, OEL, ¶ [0064]) disposed on the first electrode (2) surrounded by the bank (6) and including a light emitting layer (¶ [0078], line 1, light beams) and a first intermediate layer (paragraph [0081]lists transfer and injection layers that would be present depending upon whether the first electrode is an anode or a cathode) overlapping the light emitting layer (on both sides of it, as listed) ; a second electrode (¶ [0051]) disposed on the light emitting stack; and a reflective layer (7) (7, ¶ [0063]) disposed on at least a portion of the bank (6) to cover the groove (see fig. 4) . Regarding Claim 5 , Huangfu discloses: wherein the first intermediate layer (electron transport) is disposed between the light emitting layer and the second electrode ( the second electrode is a cathode, ¶ [0065]) which is an electron injector which needs an electron transport layer next to it to transfer electrons into the light emitting region) , Huangfu discloses: and wherein the light emitting stack further includes a second intermediate layer disposed between the first electrode (2) and the light emitting layer. (since the second electrode is a cathode (above), the first electrode is an anode and needs a hole injection (¶ [0081]) layer between it and the light emitting region. This would be the second intermediate layer) Regarding Claim 6 , Huangfu discloses in the abstract: wherein the reflective layer (7) completely surrounds the emission area in a plan view. Regarding Claim 7 , Huangfu discloses in figure 4: wherein the display device includes emission areas (41 points to left edge of it in fig. 4) which include the emission area and are spaced apart from each other (in fig. 4, a small portion of another sub-pixel is shown at the extreme right) , and wherein the bank (6) is disposed between adjacent emission areas to surround each of the emission areas (¶ [0008]) , and includes at least one V-shaped (fig. 4) groove disposed between the adjacent emission areas (shown in fig. 4) . Regarding Claim 8 , Huangfu discloses in figure 4: wherein the reflective layer (7) has an inclined surface corresponding to the groove of the bank (6) . Regarding Claim 9 , Huangfu discloses : wherein the reflective layer (7) includes a mesh-shaped pattern layer including openings corresponding to the emission areas and surrounds each of the emission areas. The pixel definition layer (bank 6) surrounds the subpixel (abstract). The groove is in the bank (6) and the reflection layer is in the groove and surrounds the subpixel also (abstract). Therefore, as shown in figure 4, this would be in a plan view, separated openings for the light emitting regions surrounded by the banks, the grooves and the reflection layers. This is a mesh-shaped pattern, as claimed. Regarding Claim 1 0 , Huangfu discloses in figure 4: wherein the reflective layer (7) includes reflective patterns which are separated from each other and surround the emission areas (abstract) , respectively (in order to surround each subpixel, they would have to be separate from each other, see separation of subpixels in figure 4). Regarding Claim 1 3, Huangfu discloses in figure 4: A display device (title, OLED) comprising: a first electrode (2) disposed in an emission area (above elements 2 and 3) and including a reflective electrode layer (7) ; a bank (6) disposed around the emission area to surround the emission area (¶ [0008]) and including a groove (see fig. 4) formed in an upper surface thereof (and the lower surface thereof) ; a light emitting stack (3, OEL) disposed on the first electrode (2) , surrounded by the bank (6) , including a light emitting layer (abstract, light beams) and at least one intermediate layer overlapping the light emitting layer (any of the injection or transfer layers in para. 81) ; a second electrode (¶ [0010], 7 shown on top of stack) disposed on the light emitting stack and including a transparent electrode layer (2, ¶ [0033]) ; and a reflective layer (7) disposed on at least a portion of the bank (6) to cover the groove. Regarding Claim 1 7 , Huangfu discloses in figure 4: wherein the groove (which is on the bank) of the bank (6) completely surrounds the emission area in a plan view (¶ [0008]) and includes at least one V-shaped groove in cross section. Regarding Claim 1 8 , Huangfu discloses in figure 4: wherein the reflective layer ( 7) ( which is in the groove) completely surrounds the emission area in a plan view (¶ [0008]) and has an inclined surface corresponding to the groove of the bank (6) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huangfu (830) in view of Hu et al (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0367008) . Regarding Claim 1 1 , Huangfu fails to disclose: wherein the first electrode (2) includes a reflective electrode layer, the second electrode includes a transparent electrode layer, and light emitted from the light emitting layer is transmitted through the second electrode and is emitted in an upward direction of the light emitting layer. As shown in figure 3, the device of Huangfu is bottom emission meaning the first electrode must be transparent and the second electrode must be at least partially opaque to prevent emissions out the top. The reverse would be the case in a top emitting device, where light needs to come out the top. Hu teaches in paragraph [0070] a top emitting display device with a reflective lower and a transparent upper electrode. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the claimed electrode configuration in Huangfu, as taught by Hu, when the viewing surface is on the top of the device. Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huangfu (830) in view of Bae et al (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0013455) . Regarding Claim 1 2 , Huangfu fails to disclose: further comprising a light blocking layer or at least two color filters disposed on the reflective layer (7) to overlap the reflective layer (7) . Bae teaches in paragraph [0213} in a display device (title) overlapping a slanted portion of a reflective layer (512) with a light blocking layer (514) to ensure that the emitted light remains within the desired sub-pixel area (¶ [0214]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention , to provide a light blocking layer overlapping the reflective layer of Huangfu, as taught by Bae, to ensure that the emitted light remains within the desired sub-pixel. Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huangfu (830) in view of Zhu (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0328780) . Regarding Claim 1 4 , Huangfu fails to disclose: wherein the light emitting layer is a quantum dot light emitting layer including quantum dots. Zhu teaches in paragraph [00 03 ] using quantum dots in a light emitting layer because they have high color purity and high luminous efficiency. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use quantum dots in the light emitting layer of Huangfu, as taught by Zhu, because they have high color purity and high luminous efficiency. Regarding Claim 1 5, Huangfu discloses: wherein the at least one intermediate layer includes an electron transport layer (¶ [0081 ], transfer) but fails to disclose: including ZnO. Zhu teaches in paragraph [0030] using ZnO in an electron transport layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use ZnO as material for the electron transport layer of Huangfu, as taught by Zhu, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, In re Leshin,125USPQ 416. Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huangfu (830) in view of Li (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0336223) . Regarding Claim 1 9 , Huangfu discloses in figure 4 : A method for manufacturing a display device (title) , comprising: forming a first electrode (2) on a substrate (1) ; forming a bank (6) on the first electrode (2) to surround the first electrode (2) to define an emission area (abstract, pixel definition layer is the bank) , the bank (6) including a groove (see fig. 4) in an upper surface (and a lower surface) ; forming a reflective layer (7) on at least a portion of the bank (6) to cover the groove; forming a light emitting stack (OELD) on the first electrode (2) in the emission area surrounded by the bank (6) , the light emitting stack including a light emitting layer (abstract, beams) and at least one intermediate layer (¶ [0081]) ; forming a second electrode on the light emitting stack (abstract) . The method shown completed in figure 4. Huangfu fails to disclose: irradiating ultraviolet (UV) light from below the substrate toward the reflective layer (7) ; Li teaches , in a display panel (title) curing a reflective layer with UV radiation. ( ¶ [0126]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to irradiating UV light from below the substrate to cure the reflective layer of Huangfu (which is on the lower substrate), as taught by Li, since it is the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (MPEP 21431C). Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huangfu (830) in view of Jeon (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0209906) . R egarding Claim 20 , Huangfu fails to disclose: wherein the light emitting stack is formed by an inkjet printing process. Jeon teaches in paragraph [0006] forming a light emitting stack by an inkjet printing process. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use an inkjet process, as taught by Jeon, to form the light emitting stack of Huangfu, since it is the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (MPEP 21431C). Allowable Subject Matter Claim s 2-4 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding Claims 2 and 16 , t he references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in Claim s 2 and 16 , and specifically comprising the limitation of “ wherein the electron transport layer has a greater thickness or height in an area adjacent to the bank than in the other areas ” including the remaining limitations. Claims 3-4 are allowable, at least, because of their dependencies on claim 2. CONTACT INFORMATION Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT DONALD L RALEIGH whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3407 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 7AM -3 PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT James R. Greece can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-3711 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DONALD L RALEIGH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875