DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt of the Amendment, filed on June 23, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
The indicated allowability of claims 2-4 and 16 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Takata (US 2018/0233548 A1). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-8, 10-11, 13 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan et al. (US 2021/00574495 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan discloses a display device (Fig. 11) comprising: a first electrode (1021) disposed in an emission area; a bank (109) disposed around the emission area (102) to surround the emission area (Fig. 11) and including a groove (Fig. 10, ¶[0102]) formed in an upper surface thereof; a light emitting stack (1022) disposed on the first electrode surrounded by the bank (109) and including a light emitting layer and a first intermediate layer overlapping the light emitting layer (¶[0059]); a second electrode (1023) disposed on the light emitting stack; and a reflective layer (114, ¶[0109]) disposed on at least a portion of the bank to cover the groove wherein the groove is disposed in an area corresponding to a non-emission area and the reflective layer does not overlap the emission area (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 5, Yuan discloses a display device wherein the first intermediate layer is disposed between the light emitting layer and the second electrode (1023, ¶[0102]), and wherein the light emitting stack (1022) further includes a second intermediate layer disposed between the first electrode (1021) and the light emitting layer (¶[0102]).
Regarding claim 7, Yuan discloses a display device wherein the display device includes emission areas (102) which include the emission area and are spaced apart from each other, and wherein the bank (109) is disposed between adjacent emission areas to surround each of the emission areas, and includes at least one V-shaped or U-shaped groove disposed between the adjacent emission areas (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 8, Yuan discloses a display device wherein the reflective layer (114) has a curved surface or an inclined surface corresponding to the groove of the bank (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 10, Yuan discloses a display device wherein the reflective layer (114) includes reflective patterns which are separated from each other and surround the emission areas, respectively (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 11, Yuan discloses a display device wherein the first electrode (1021) includes a reflective electrode layer (¶[0060]), the second electrode (1023) includes a transparent electrode layer (¶[0060]), and light emitted from the light emitting layer is transmitted through the second electrode and is emitted in an upward direction of the light emitting layer (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 13, Yuan discloses a display device comprising: a first electrode (1021) disposed in an emission area (102) and including a reflective electrode layer (¶[0060]); a bank (109) disposed around the emission area to surround the emission area and including a groove formed in an upper surface thereof (¶[0102]); a light emitting stack (1022) disposed on the first electrode (1021), surrounded by the bank (109), including a light emitting layer (1022) and at least one intermediate layer overlapping the light emitting layer (¶[0059]); a second electrode (1023) disposed on the light emitting stack (1022) and including a transparent electrode layer (¶[0060]); and a reflective layer (114) disposed on at least a portion of the bank (109) to cover the groove, wherein the groove is disposed in an area corresponding to a non-emission area and the reflective layer does not overlap the emission area (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 17, Yuan discloses a display device wherein the groove of the bank (109) completely surrounds the emission area in a plan view, and includes at least one V-shaped or U-shaped groove in cross section (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 18, Yuan discloses a display device wherein the reflective layer (114) completely surrounds the emission area in a plan view and has a curved surface or an inclined surface corresponding to the groove of the bank (Fig. 11).
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 12-13 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2019/0165326 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a display device (Fig. 7) comprising: a first electrode (119) disposed in an emission area; a bank (120) disposed around the emission area (SP1) to surround the emission area (Fig. 7) and including a groove (BH) formed in an upper surface thereof; a light emitting stack (124) disposed on the first electrode surrounded by the bank (120) and including a light emitting layer (124) and a first intermediate layer (CGL, Fig. 6) overlapping the light emitting layer; a second electrode (125) disposed on the light emitting stack; and a reflective layer (130) disposed on at least a portion of the bank (120) to cover the groove (BH) wherein the groove is disposed in an area corresponding to a non-emission area and the reflective layer does not overlap the emission area (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses a display device wherein the reflective layer (130) completely surrounds the emission area in a plan view.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses a display device wherein the display device includes emission areas which include the emission area and are spaced apart from each other, and wherein the bank (120) is disposed between adjacent emission areas to surround each of the emission areas, and includes at least one V-shaped or U-shaped groove (BH) disposed between the adjacent emission areas (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses a display device wherein the reflective layer (130) has a curved surface or an inclined surface corresponding to the groove (BH) of the bank (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses a display device further comprising a light blocking layer (BM) or at least two color filters (CF1, CF2) disposed on the reflective layer to overlap the reflective layer (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses a display device (Fig. 7) comprising: a first electrode (119) disposed in an emission area and including a reflective electrode layer (¶[0066]); a bank (120) disposed around the emission area (SP1) to surround the emission area (Fig. 7) and including a groove (BH) formed in an upper surface thereof; a light emitting stack (124) disposed on the first electrode surrounded by the bank (120) and including a light emitting layer (124) and a first intermediate layer (CGL, Fig. 6) overlapping the light emitting layer; a second electrode (125) disposed on the light emitting stack and including a transparent electrode layer (¶[0067]); and a reflective layer (130) disposed on at least a portion of the bank (120) to cover the groove (BH) wherein the groove is disposed in an area corresponding to a non-emission area and the reflective layer does not overlap the emission area (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses a display device wherein the groove (BH) of the bank completely surrounds the emission area in a plan view, and includes at least one V-shaped or U-shaped groove in cross section (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses a display device wherein the reflective layer (130) completely surrounds the emission area in a plan view and has a curved surface or an inclined surface corresponding to the groove of the bank (Fig. 7).
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (US 2020/0343467 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a display device (Fig. 10) comprising: a first electrode (4) disposed in an emission area (B); a bank (32) disposed around the emission area (B) to surround the emission area (Fig. 9) and including a groove (Fig. 10) formed in an upper surface thereof; a light emitting stack (7, 2, 6) disposed on the first electrode surrounded by the bank (32) and including a light emitting layer (2) and a first intermediate layer (7) overlapping the light emitting layer; a second electrode (5) disposed on the light emitting stack; and a reflective layer (31) disposed on at least a portion of the bank to cover the groove wherein the groove is disposed in an area corresponding to a non-emission area and the reflective layer does not overlap the emission area (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses a display device wherein the first intermediate layer (7) is disposed between the light emitting layer and the second electrode (5), and wherein the light emitting stack further includes a second intermediate layer (6) disposed between the first electrode (4) and the light emitting layer.
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses a display device wherein the reflective layer (31) completely surrounds the emission area in a plan view (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses a display device wherein the first electrode (4) includes a reflective electrode layer (¶[0058]), the second electrode (5) includes a transparent electrode layer (¶[0058]), and light emitted from the light emitting layer is transmitted through the second electrode and is emitted in an upward direction of the light emitting layer (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses a display device comprising: a first electrode (4) disposed in an emission area (B) and including a reflective electrode layer (¶[0058]); a bank (32) disposed around the emission area to surround the emission area and including a groove formed in an upper surface thereof (Fig. 10); a light emitting stack (6, 2, 7) disposed on the first electrode (4), surrounded by the bank (32), including a light emitting layer (2) and at least one intermediate layer (7) overlapping the light emitting layer; a second electrode (5) disposed on the light emitting stack and including a transparent electrode layer (¶[0058]); and a reflective layer (31) disposed on at least a portion of the bank (32) to cover the groove, wherein the groove is disposed in an area corresponding to a non-emission area and the reflective layer does not overlap the emission area (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses a display device wherein the light emitting layer (2) is a quantum dot light emitting layer including quantum dots (¶[0041]).
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses a display device wherein the at least one intermediate layer includes an electron transport layer including ZnO (¶[0164]).
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US 2019/0312234 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a display device (Fig. 2) comprising: a first electrode (231) disposed in an emission area; a bank (22) disposed around the emission area (221) to surround the emission area (Fig. 3) and including a groove (Fig. 2, ¶[0048]) formed in an upper surface thereof; a light emitting stack (232) disposed on the first electrode surrounded by the bank (22) and including a light emitting layer and a first intermediate layer overlapping the light emitting layer (¶[0024]); a second electrode (233) disposed on the light emitting stack; and a reflective layer (24) disposed on at least a portion of the bank to cover the groove wherein the groove is disposed in an area corresponding to a non-emission area and the reflective layer does not overlap the emission area (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses a display device wherein the first intermediate layer is disposed between the light emitting layer and the second electrode (¶[0024]), and wherein the light emitting stack (232) further includes a second intermediate layer disposed between the first electrode and the light emitting layer (¶[0024]).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses a display device wherein the reflective layer completely surrounds the emission area in a plan view (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2019/0312234 A1) in view of Takata (US 2018/0233548 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Liu fails to exemplify wherein the first intermediate layer includes a first electron transport layer having a greater thickness or height in an edge area adjacent to the bank than in the other areas.
Takata discloses a display device (Fig. 6) comprising: a first electrode (21) disposed in an emission area (12-2); a bank (13) disposed around the emission area (12-2) to surround the emission area (Fig. 6); a light emitting stack disposed on the first electrode (21) surrounded by the bank (13) and including a light emitting layer (24) and a first intermediate layer (25) overlapping the light emitting layer; a second electrode (27) disposed on the light emitting stack, wherein the first intermediate layer includes a first electron transport layer (25) having a greater height in an edge area adjacent to the bank than in the other areas (Fig. 6) caused in the process of drying the deposited ink when forming the light emitting stack. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the difference of height of the electron transport layer as disclosed by Takata in the display device of Liu which is caused in the process of drying the deposited ink when forming the light emitting stack.
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses a display device wherein the second electrode includes a transparent electrode layer (Fig. 2, ¶[0026]), and light emitted from the light emitting layer is transmitted through the second electrode and is emitted in an upward direction of the light emitting layer (Fig. 2). Liu fails to state wherein the first electrode includes a reflective electrode layer.
Takata discloses a display device (Fig. 6) comprising: a first electrode (21) disposed in an emission area (12-2) and including a reflective electrode layer (¶[0041]); a bank (13) disposed around the emission area (12-2) to surround the emission area (Fig. 6); a light emitting stack disposed on the first electrode (21) surrounded by the bank (13) and including a light emitting layer (24) and at least one intermediate layer (25) overlapping the light emitting layer; and a second electrode (27) disposed on the light emitting stack and including a transparent electrode layer (¶[0051]), and light emitted from the light emitting layer is transmitted through the second electrode and is emitted in an upward direction of the light emitting layer (¶[0051]). One skilled in the art would have reasonably contemplate providing a first electrode including a reflective electrode layer and a second electrode including a transparent electrode layer as disclosed by Takata to achieve a top emission display, as an obvious matter of design engineering. It is considered within the capabilities of one skilled in the art the selection of a material based on its known suitability for an intended application as an obvious matter of design engineering. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the reflective electrode layer and the transparent electrode layer as disclosed by Takata in the display device of Liu in order to achieve a top emission display.
Regarding claim 13, Liu discloses a display device (Fig. 2) comprising: a first electrode (231) disposed in an emission area; a bank (22) disposed around the emission area (221) to surround the emission area (Fig. 3) and including a groove (Fig. 2, ¶[0048]) formed in an upper surface thereof; a light emitting stack (232) disposed on the first electrode surrounded by the bank (22) and including a light emitting layer and at least one intermediate layer overlapping the light emitting layer (¶[0024]); a second electrode (233) disposed on the light emitting stack and including a transparent electrode layer (Fig. 2, ¶[0026]); and a reflective layer (24) disposed on at least a portion of the bank to cover the groove wherein the groove is disposed in an area corresponding to a non-emission area and the reflective layer does not overlap the emission area (Fig. 2). Liu fails to state the first electrode including a reflective electrode layer.
Takata discloses a display device (Fig. 6) comprising: a first electrode (21) disposed in an emission area (12-2) and including a reflective electrode layer (¶[0041]); a bank (13) disposed around the emission area (12-2) to surround the emission area (Fig. 6); a light emitting stack disposed on the first electrode (21) surrounded by the bank (13) and including a light emitting layer (24) and at least one intermediate layer (25) overlapping the light emitting layer; and a second electrode (27) disposed on the light emitting stack and including a transparent electrode layer (¶[0051]). One skilled in the art would have reasonably contemplate providing a first electrode including a reflective electrode layer and a second electrode including a transparent electrode layer as disclosed by Takata to achieve a top emission display, as an obvious matter of design engineering. It is considered within the capabilities of one skilled in the art the selection of a material based on its known suitability for an intended application as an obvious matter of design engineering. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the reflective electrode layer and the transparent electrode layer as disclosed by Takata in the display device of Liu in order to achieve a top emission display.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2019/0312234 A1) in view of Takata (US 2018/0233548 A1), further in view of Umeda et al. (US 2021/0126216 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of Takata fails to exemplify wherein the first electron transport layer includes ZnO.
Umeda discloses a display device (Fig. 1) comprising: a first electrode (16) disposed in an emission area (RP); a bank (2) disposed around the emission area (RP) to surround the emission area (Fig. 1); a light emitting stack disposed on the first electrode (16) surrounded by the bank (2) and including a light emitting layer (13) and a first intermediate layer (12) overlapping the light emitting layer; a second electrode (11) disposed on the light emitting stack, wherein the at least one intermediate layer includes an electron transport layer including ZnO (¶[0025]). It is considered within the capabilities of one skilled in the art the selection of a material based on its known suitability for an intended application as an obvious matter of design engineering. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to have at least one intermediate layer includes an electron transport layer including ZnO as disclosed by Umeda in the display device of Liu in view of Takata, since the selection of known materials for a known purpose is within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 4, Liu in view of Takata fails to exemplify wherein the first intermediate layer further includes a second electron transport layer disposed between the light emitting layer and the first electron transport layer.
Umeda discloses a display device (Fig. 1) comprising: a first electrode (16) disposed in an emission area (RP); a bank (2) disposed around the emission area (RP) to surround the emission area (Fig. 1); a light emitting stack disposed on the first electrode (16) surrounded by the bank (2) and including a light emitting layer (13) and a first intermediate layer (12) overlapping the light emitting layer; a second electrode (11) disposed on the light emitting stack, wherein the first intermediate layer further includes a second electron transport layer disposed between the light emitting layer and the first electron transport layer (¶[0025]). One skilled in the art would have reasonable contemplate providing a single or multiple electron transport layers to enhance electron transport properties as disclosed by Umeda as an obvious matter of design engineering. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate first and second hole transport layers as disclosed by Umeda in the display device of Liu in view of Takata in order to enhance electron transport properties.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0165326 A1) in view of Li (US 2020/0343467 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses a display device wherein the reflective layer surrounds each of the emission areas (Fig. 7) but fails to explicitly state including a mesh-shaped pattern layer including openings corresponding to the emission areas.
Li discloses a display device (Fig. 10) comprising: a first electrode (4) disposed in an emission area (B); a bank (32) disposed around the emission area (B) to surround the emission area (Fig. 9) and including a groove (Fig. 10) formed in an upper surface thereof; a light emitting stack (7, 2, 6) disposed on the first electrode surrounded by the bank (32) and including a light emitting layer (2) and a first intermediate layer (7) overlapping the light emitting layer; a second electrode (5) disposed on the light emitting stack; and a reflective layer (31) disposed on at least a portion of the bank to cover the groove wherein the groove is disposed in an area corresponding to a non-emission area and the reflective layer does not overlap the emission area (Fig. 10), wherein the reflective layer includes a mesh-shaped pattern layer (31) including openings corresponding to the emission areas and surrounds each of the emission areas (Fig. 9) in order to form a grid separating adjacent light emission areas. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the mesh-shaped pattern disclosed by Lin in the display device of Kim in order to form a grid separating adjacent light emission areas.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2020/0343467 A1) in view of Takata (US 2018/0233548 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Li fails to exemplify wherein the first intermediate layer includes a first electron transport layer having a greater thickness or height in an edge area adjacent to the bank than in the other areas.
Takata discloses a display device (Fig. 6) comprising: a first electrode (21) disposed in an emission area (12-2); a bank (13) disposed around the emission area (12-2) to surround the emission area (Fig. 6); a light emitting stack disposed on the first electrode (21) surrounded by the bank (13) and including a light emitting layer (24) and a first intermediate layer (25) overlapping the light emitting layer; a second electrode (27) disposed on the light emitting stack, wherein the first intermediate layer includes a first electron transport layer (25) having a greater height in an edge area adjacent to the bank than in the other areas (Fig. 6) caused in the process of drying the deposited ink when forming the light emitting stack. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the difference of height of the electron transport layer as disclosed by Takata in the display device of Li which is caused in the process of drying the deposited ink when forming the light emitting stack.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US 2021/00574495 A1) in view of Li (US 2021/0336223 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Yuan discloses a method for manufacturing a display device, comprising: forming a first electrode (1021) on a substrate; forming a bank (109) on the first electrode to surround the first electrode to define an emission area (Fig. 11), the bank (109) including a groove (Fig. 10, ¶[0102]) in an upper surface in an area corresponding to a non-emission area not to overlap the emission area (Fig. 11); forming a reflective layer (114) on at least a portion of the bank (109) to cover the groove, the reflective layer (114) being arranged not to overlap the emission area; forming a light emitting stack (1022) on the first electrode (1021) in the emission area surrounded by the bank, the light emitting stack including a light emitting layer and at least one intermediate layer (¶[0059]); and forming a second electrode (104) on the light emitting stack. Yuan fails to exemplify irradiating ultraviolet (UV) light from below the substrate toward the reflective layer.
Li discloses a method for manufacturing a display device, comprising: forming a bank (20) on a substrate (10), the bank (20) including a groove (201, Fig. 2A) in an upper surface; forming a reflective layer (30) on at least a portion of the bank (20) to cover the groove; irradiating ultraviolet (UV) light from below the substrate toward the reflective layer (¶[0126]) in order to form the reflective layer by UV curing. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the step of irradiating UV light as disclosed by Li in the method of Yuan in order to form the reflective layer by UV curing.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US 2021/00574495 A1) in view of Li (US 2021/0336223 A1), and further in view of Takata (US 2018/0233548 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Yuan in view of Li fails to exemplify wherein the light emitting stack is formed by an inkjet printing process.
Takata discloses a method for manufacturing a display device, comprising: forming a first electrode (21) on a substrate; forming a bank (13) on the first electrode to surround the first electrode to define an emission area (Fig. 4), forming a light emitting stack (22-26) on the first electrode (21) in the emission area surrounded by the bank, the light emitting stack including a light emitting layer and at least one intermediate layer (¶[0040]); and forming a second electrode (27) on the light emitting stack, wherein the light emitting stack is formed by an inkjet printing process in order to allowed precision deposition of the light emitting stack layers. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate an inkjet printing process as disclosed by Takata in the method of Yuan in view of Li in order to allowed precision deposition of the light emitting stack layers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bae et al. (US 2021/0066399 A1) discloses a display panel including a light emitting element including a first electrode, a light emitting layer disposed on the first electrode, and a second electrode disposed on the light emitting layer and outputting a source light, a pixel definition layer including an opening exposing at least a portion of the first electrode, and a reflection pattern disposed on the opening.
Yao et al. (CN 112086489 A) discloses a display panel comprising a substrate, a pixel definition layer and a light emitting function layer, the pixel definition layer include a plurality of pixel openings and a retaining wall surrounding the pixel openings, the retaining wall located in the functional area comprises a filling layer and a reflection enhancing array layer for guiding the light.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879