DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed July 27th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pg. 8 (as numbered by Applicant) of the Remarks, “Evans also does not disclose…an optics module configured to image the sample as recited in claim 1.” However, this argument is not persuasive as Evan explicitly discloses optics block 109 for imaging the samples (Fig. 28, optics block 109; Col. 7, lines 19-23, If real-time data acquisition or post-PCR melting is desired, an optics block 109 may be provided for sample excitation and detection. Optics block 109 may provide single-color or multi-color detection, as is known in the art). See the rejection of claim 1 below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “network of tubes”, “one or more coolant reservoirs”, and “one or more pumps” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 13: “a respective set of adjacent protrusions” should read “the respective set of adjacent protrusions”
Claim 1, line 14: “a well” should read “a well of the plurality of wells”
Claim 1, line 17: “the well” should read “the well of the plurality of wells”
Claims 2, 5, 7-8, and 10-11 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claims 3-4 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 2.
Claim 6 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 5.
Claim 9 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 8.
Claims 12-20 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans et al. (US Patent No. 11,376,599), hereinafter Evans in view of Hajduk et al. (US Patent No. 6,528,026), hereinafter Hajduk and Brown (US 20070116444), hereinafter Brown.
Regarding claim 1, Evans discloses a system comprising:
a sample module configured to receive a sample (Fig. 1, sample plate 80, sample wells 82, Fig. 6, sample 90; Col. 2, lines 55-56, FIG. 3 and FIG. 6 show a sample 90, illustratively for PCR, in each sample well 82; Further, the sample plate 80 and sample wells 82 have the same structure as the claimed sample module and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed), an optics module configured to image the sample (Fig. 28, optics block 109; Col. 7, lines 9-23, FIG. 28 shows an automated system containing thermal cycler apparatus 100. Thermal cycler apparatus 100, is mounted within a housing 101. Well block 110 is positioned to receive sample plate 80 once sample plate 80 is inserted into opening 102. Opening 102, as shown in FIG. 28 is a movable lid, but it is understood that opening 102 can be any type of opening as are known in the art, including a slot, a door, etc. Optionally, the lid mechanism may close down onto sample plate 80 to seal the sample within sample wells 82 or to force wells 82 of sample plate 80 into better contact with wells 120 of well block 110. If real-time data acquisition or post-PCR melting is desired, an optics block 109 may be provided for sample excitation and detection. Optics block 109 may provide single-color or multi-color detection, as is known in the art; Further, the optics block 109 has the same structure as the claimed optics module and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed), a thermal transfer apparatus (Fig. 1, thermal cycler apparatus 100),
wherein the thermal transfer apparatus comprises:
a thermal transfer block configured to receive a well plate having a plurality of wells (Fig. 6, base plate 140, well block 110, sample plate 80, sample wells 82; Col. 2, lines 45-48, FIG. 1 shows a sample plate 80 with sample wells 82 ready to be positioned on a well block 110 of a thermal cycler apparatus 100 such that each sample well 82 is positioned in a well 120 of well block 110),
wherein the thermal transfer block comprises a base and a plurality of protrusions arranged on a first side of the base and arranged in a configuration such that each of the plurality of wells is received between a respective set of adjacent protrusions (Fig. 6, base plate 140, wells 120, upper conical sidewall 122, transitional sidewall 124, lower cylindrical sidewall 126, bottom 128; Fig. 6 of Evans depicts the sample walls 82 to be received within the protrusions that make up wells 120; Further, the well block 110 of Evans has the same structure as the claimed thermal transfer block 110 and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed), and
wherein each protrusion of a respective set of adjacent protrusions has a surface that substantially matches a portion of an outer surface of a well that is received between the respective set of adjacent protrusions (Fig. 6 of Evans depicts the protrusions (upper conical sidewall 122, transitional sidewall 124, lower cylindrical sidewall 126, bottom 128) of the wells 120 to have surfaces that substantially match a portion of an outer surface of each sample well 82 that is received in the wells 120); and
a cooling block disposed in contact with a second side of the base of the thermal transfer block (Fig. 1, heat sink 180; Col. 2, lines 55-60, FIG. 3 and FIG. 6 show a sample 90, illustratively for PCR, in each sample well 82 and the components of the embodiment of the thermal cycler apparatus shown at 100 including a well block 110, a base plate 140, a layer of adhesive 150, a peltier device 160, another layer of adhesive 170 and a heat sink 180),
wherein the cooling block comprises a heat sink having a plurality of fins immersed in a fluid for cooling (See annotated Fig. 2 of Evans below, heat sink 180 is depicted with a plurality of fins B which are cooled via air from a fan B; Further, Fig. 2 at least implies the depicted fan B is immersing the plurality of fins A in a fluid, air, for cooling of the heat sink 180 since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
However, Evans as modified does not disclose the system comprising:
a closed heat transfer circuit comprising a network of tubes coupled to one or more coolant reservoirs, one or more pumps, the one or more coolant reservoirs comprising a fluid configured to flow through the closed heat transfer circuit.
Hajduk teaches a closed heat transfer circuit comprising a network of tubes coupled to one or more coolant reservoirs, one or more pumps, the one or more coolant reservoirs comprising a fluid configured to flow through the closed heat transfer circuit (Fig. 7, thermal fluid 290, uniform temperature reservoir 292, reactor block 10, pump 294, passageway 300; Fig. 8, thermoelectric devices 330, reactor block 308, interior cavity 344, heat transfer plate 336, inlet 346, outlet 348; Col. 10, lines 1-25, Returning to FIG. 7, a thermal fluid 290, such as water, steam, a silicone fluid, a fluorocarbon, and the like, is transported from a uniform temperature reservoir 292 to the reactor block 106 using a constant or variable speed pump 294. The thermal fluid 290 enters the reactor block 106 from a pump outlet conduit 296 through an inlet port 298. From the inlet port 298, the thermal fluid 290 flows through a passageway 300 formed in the reactor block 106. The passageway may comprise single or multiple channels. The passageway 300 shown in FIG. 7, consists of a single channel that winds its way between rows of vessels 102, eventually exiting the reactor block 106 at an outlet port 302. The thermal fluid 290 returns to the reservoir 292 through a reactor block outlet conduit 304. A heat pump 306 regulates the temperature of the thermal fluid 290 in the reservoir 292 by adding or removing heat through a heat transfer coil 308. In response to signals from temperature sensors (not shown) located in the reactor block 106 and the reservoir 292, a processor 310 adjusts the amount of heat added to or removed from the thermal fluid 290 through the coil 308. To adjust the flow rate of thermal fluid 290 through the passageway 300, the processor 310 communicates with a valve 312 located in a reservoir outlet conduit 314. The reactor block 106, reservoir 292, pump 294, and conduits 296, 304, 314 can be insulated to improve temperature control in the reactor block 106; Col. 10-11, lines 66-67 and 1-16; For example, FIG. 8 illustrates one way of using thermoelectric devices 330 to heat and cool reactor vessels 338 using a liquid heat sink or source. In the configuration shown in FIG. 8, thermoelectric devices 330 are sandwiched between a reactor block 334 and a heat transfer plate 336. Reactor vessels 338 sit within wells 340 formed in the reactor block 334. Thin walls 342 at the bottom of the wells 340, separate the vessels 338 from the thermoelectric devices 330, ensuring good thermal contact. As shown in FIG. 8, each of the vessels 338 thermally contacts a single thermoelectric device 330, although in general, a thermoelectric device can heat or cool more than one of the vessels 338. The thermoelectric devices either obtain heat from, or dump heat into, a thermal fluid that circulates through an interior cavity 344 of the heat transfer plate 336).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the air-based cooling fluid system of the system of Evans as modified with the liquid cooling system of that includes a closed heat transfer circuit comprising a network of tubes coupled to one or more coolant reservoirs, one or more pumps, the one or more coolant reservoirs comprising a fluid configured to flow through the closed heat transfer circuit as taught by Hajduk. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification liquids have higher thermal conductivity and heat capacity, and therefore should provide better heat transfer through the back face of the device (Hajduk, Col. 10, lines 60-62).
Further, Evans as modified does not disclose the plurality of protrusions to be discrete protrusions extending from a first side of the base, the base and plurality of protrusions formed from a single block of material, and for at least one well of the well plate, the respective set of adjacent protrusions comprises at least three protrusions.
Brown teaches the plurality of protrusions to be discrete protrusions extending from a first side of the base, the base and plurality of protrusions formed from a single block of material, and for at least one well of the well plate, the respective set of adjacent protrusions comprises at least three protrusions (Fig. 1, heat block 67, top plate 83, bottom plate 75, heat transfer pins 77, heating wells 85, ribs 87; Pg. 3, paragraph 51, plurality of heat transfer pins 77 extend from the bottom plate 75. The plurality of heat transfer pins 77 may be formed with the bottom plate 75; Pg. 4, paragraph 52, The heating well 85 is molded so that the heating well 85 better engages the heat transfer pins 77 and therefore allows for heat to be efficiently delivered to the heating well 85 from the sides of the heating well 85 through thermal conduction; Pg. 4, paragraph 54, The geometry of the plurality of ribs 87 contained in the top plate 83 and the plurality of heat transfer pins 77 in the bottom plate 75 may be optimized to promote both single well temperature uniformity and also complete heat block temperature uniformity. The optimization is obtained by the size and orientation of the rib draft angle, rib thickness versus heating well position, pin size, pin draft angle, and other design dimensions and characteristics; Pg. 4, paragraph 55, In an embodiment, for internal wells, four pins 77 contact each heating well rib 87 and the four pins 77 share contact with two heating well ribs 87 each. In an embodiment, for edge wells, four pins 77 contact each heating well rib 87, but only three pins 77 share contact with two heating well ribs 87 each. The fourth pin 77 does not share contact with another well and therefore more heat from the fourth pin 77 is available for the edge heating wells 85 to help counteract the inherently cooler edge temperature of a heated rectangular body. The corner heating wells 85 benefit from four pins 77 which contact each heating well rib 87. Only two of the pins 77 share contact with another heating well. The other two pins 77 do not share contact with another well and even more heat is available for the comer wells to counteract the inherently cooler corner temperature of a heated rectangular body. Those skilled in the art will recognize the number of pins and ribs may vary and still be within the spirit and scope of the presently disclosed embodiments).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base of the system of Evans as modified wherein the plurality of protrusions to be discrete protrusions extending from a first side of the base, the base and plurality of protrusions formed from a single block of material, and for at least one well of the well plate, the respective set of adjacent protrusions comprises at least three protrusions as taught by Brown. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to promote uniform heat distribution to the wells (Brown, Pg. 4, paragraph 52).
Moreover, Evans as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the respective set of adjacent protrusions is configured to be in thermal contact with between about 60% to about 95% of the well.
However, the amount of the outer surface area of the received well samples in thermal contact with surfaces of the set of adjacent protrusions of the well block is a result effective variable as recognized by the teachings of Brown (Brown, Pg. 4, paragraph 54, The geometry of the plurality of ribs 87 contained in the top plate 83 and the plurality of heat transfer pins 77 in the bottom plate 75 may be optimized to promote both single well temperature uniformity and also complete heat block temperature uniformity. The optimization is obtained by the size and orientation of the rib draft angle, rib thickness versus heating well position, pin size, pin draft angle, and other design dimensions and characteristics). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the set of adjacent protrusions of the wells of Evans as modified wherein the respective set of adjacent protrusions is configured to be in thermal contact with between about 60% to about 95% of the well since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05, Section II, Paragraph A). Furthermore, since applicants have not disclosed that these modifications solve any stated problem or are for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs, these modifications are a matter of design choice. Absent a teaching as to criticality of wherein the respective set of adjacent protrusions is configured to be in thermal contact with between about 60% to about 95% of the well, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 2, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the surface of a protrusion of the set of adjacent protrusions and the outer surface of the received well have matching contour surfaces so as to maximize heat transfer between the two surfaces (Brown, Pg. 4, paragraph 52, The heating well 85 is molded so that the heating well 85 better engages the heat transfer pins 77 and therefore allows for heat to be efficiently delivered to the heating well 85 from the sides of the heating well 85 through thermal conduction; Pg. 4, paragraph 54, The geometry of the plurality of ribs 87 contained in the top plate 83 and the plurality of heat transfer pins 77 in the bottom plate 75 may be optimized to promote both single well temperature uniformity and also complete heat block temperature uniformity. The optimization is obtained by the size and orientation of the rib draft angle, rib thickness versus heating well position, pin size, pin draft angle, and other design dimensions and characteristics; Further, the teachings of Brown at least imply wherein the surface of a protrusion of the set of adjacent protrusions and the outer surface of the received well have matching contour surfaces so as to maximize heat transfer between the two surfaces since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)). Further, the limitations of claim 2 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 2 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above), the outer surface area of the received well is in thermal contact with surfaces of the set of adjacent protrusions, and wherein each protrusion of the plurality of protrusions has a tapered shape (Brown, Pg. 3, paragraph 51, The plurality of heat transfer pins 77 may be different shapes including, but not limited to, square, rectangular, circular, oval, and other shapes; Pg. 4, paragraph 55, In an embodiment, for internal wells, four pins 77 contact each heating well rib 87 and the four pins 77 share contact with two heating well ribs 87 each. In an embodiment, for edge wells, four pins 77 contact each heating well rib 87, but only three pins 77 share contact with two heating well ribs 87 each. The fourth pin 77 does not share contact with another well and therefore more heat from the fourth pin 77 is available for the edge heating wells 85 to help counteract the inherently cooler edge temperature of a heated rectangular body. The corner heating wells 85 benefit from four pins 77 which contact each heating well rib 87. Only two of the pins 77 share contact with another heating well. The other two pins 77 do not share contact with another well and even more heat is available for the comer wells to counteract the inherently cooler corner temperature of a heated rectangular body. Those skilled in the art will recognize the number of pins and ribs may vary and still be within the spirit and scope of the presently disclosed embodiments; Pg. 4, paragraph 52, The heating well 85 is molded so that the heating well 85 better engages the heat transfer pins 77 and therefore allows for heat to be efficiently delivered to the heating well 85 from the sides of the heating well 85 through thermal conduction). Regarding the shape of the protrusions, the courts have held that a change in shape alone, without demonstration of the criticality of a specific limitation, may be considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. “In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), [t]he court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.” MPEP § 2144.04-IV-B. Further, the limitations of claim 3 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 4, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 2 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 2 above).
Evans as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of protrusions has a length along the protrusion that matches a depth of a fluid chemical in each well such that the fluid chemical contained within each well, from a top surface of the fluid chemical to a bottom of the well, is in thermal contact with the matching contour surfaces of the set of adjacent protrusions.
However, the geometry of the protrusions of the well block in contact with the well samples is a result effective variable as recognized by the teachings of Brown (Brown, Pg. 4, paragraph 54, The geometry of the plurality of ribs 87 contained in the top plate 83 and the plurality of heat transfer pins 77 in the bottom plate 75 may be optimized to promote both single well temperature uniformity and also complete heat block temperature uniformity. The optimization is obtained by the size and orientation of the rib draft angle, rib thickness versus heating well position, pin size, pin draft angle, and other design dimensions and characteristics). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify protrusions of the wells of Evans as modified wherein each of the plurality of protrusions has a length along the protrusion that matches a depth of a fluid chemical in each well such that the fluid chemical contained within each well, from a top surface of the fluid chemical to a bottom of the well, is in thermal contact with the matching contour surfaces of the set of adjacent protrusions since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05, Section II, Paragraph A).
Regarding claim 5, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the cooling block further comprises:
a thermo-electric cooling (TEC) module disposed between the thermal transfer block and the heat sink, wherein the TEC module is configured to regulate a temperature or a range of temperature of the well plate via the thermal transfer block so as to maintain each of the plurality of wells at the temperature or within the range of temperature (Fig. 6 of Evans depicts Peltier device 160 to be disposed between base plate 140 and heat sink 180; Col. 6, lines 51-65, As shown in FIGS. 24-25 twenty-four Peltiers 160 are used, although it is understood that more or fewer Peltiers 160 may be used, depending on the desired application. Illustratively, for a 96-well plate, between 4 and 96 Peltiers may be used, with zones of 24 wells if 4 Peltiers are used, down to zones of one well, with each Peltiers controlling an individual well. In one illustrative embodiment, each Peltiers device 160 is individually driven. Illustratively, the Peltiers 160 are not in series nor parallel. Such may be used to provide greater well-to-well uniformity, for example by heating the exterior Peltiers to a slightly higher temperature, thus reducing the issue of cooler maximum temperatures in the exterior wells, particularly in the corner wells. Individually driven Peltiers 160 also may be used to provide for a temperature gradient across the plate; Further, the teachings of Evans which disclose controlling a temperature gradient across the plate at least imply the Peltier 160 is configured to regulate a temperature or a range of temperature of the well plate via the thermal transfer block so as to maintain each of the plurality of wells at the temperature or within the range of temperature since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01); Further, the Peltier 160 of Evans has the same structure as the claimed TEC module and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans as modified by Hajduk and Brown as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Isoshima et al. (US 20240033741), hereinafter Isoshima.
Regarding claim 6, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 5 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 3 above), wherein the cooling block further comprises a temperature detector (Evans, Fig. 26, temperature detectors 167).
However, Evans as modified does not disclose the temperature detector to be a thermistor configured for measuring and controlling of the TEC module.
Isoshima teaches a thermistor configured for measuring and controlling of the TEC module (Fig. 1, temperature sensor 8; Pg. 3, paragraph 32, A value of a current or a voltage applied to the thermoelectric conversion unit 3 is adjusted according to an output of the temperature sensor 8 and the temperature control block 2 is controlled according to a designated temperature; Pg. 7, paragraph 77, As the temperature sensor 8, for example, a thermocouple, a thermistor, a platinum resistance temperature detector, or the like is used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Evans as modified to substitute the generic temperature detector disclosed in Evans as modified for Isoshima’s thermistor configured for measuring and controlling of the TEC module for the predictable result of making system decisions based on real-time sensor data.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans as modified by Hajduk and Brown as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jones (US Patent No. 6,341,490), hereinafter Jones.
Regarding claim 7, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Evans as modified does not disclose further comprising:
an insulation element disposed around the thermal transfer block.
Jones teaches further comprising:
an insulation element disposed around the thermal transfer block (Fig. 3, thermally insulating jacket 32, peripheral flange 34, thermal transfer comb 70, base panel 72; Col. 3, lines 29-35, In accordance with the invention a thermal transfer comb 70 transfers heat to or from the wells 28. The comb 70 includes a generally flat base panel 72 and numerous upstanding pins 74. The base panel 72 is received upon the upper face 38 and within the peripheral flange 34 of the jacket 32 and is in contact with the upper surfaces of the Peltier effect modules 42).
Evans as modified fails to teach an insulation element disposed around the thermal transfer block, however Jones teaches that it is a known method in the art of temperature control of well plates to include an insulation element disposed around the thermal transfer block. This is strong evidence that modifying Evans as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. improved heat transfer capabilities). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Evans as modified by Jones and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of improved heat transfer capabilities.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans as modified by Hajduk and Brown as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Inazuka et al. (JP H11294890), hereinafter Inazuka.
Regarding claim 8, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the thermal transfer block is a first thermal transfer block and the cooling block is a first cooling block (Evans, Fig. 6, base plate 140, well block 110, heat sink 180), further comprising:
a second thermal transfer block thermally isolated from the first thermal transfer block (Evans, Col. 4-5, lines 65-13; FIG. 12 corresponds with the embodiment shown in FIGS. 1-6 and shows all of the components of a single zone. Apparatus 100 has a well block 110 that comprises a plurality of 4-well zones, wherein each 4-well zone comprises a first pair of wells 120 and a second pair of wells 120, and wherein each first pair of wells 120 and each second pair of wells 120 are respectively over a first base plate and a second base plate such that one peltier device 160 provides for heat transfer for one 4-well zone. Each peltier device 160 heats or cools a pair of base plates 140 via adhesive 150 to heat or cool the sample in the four sample wells via each bottom 128 and side walls 122 of the four wells 120. Heat sink 180 is thermally connected to peltier device 160 via adhesive 170. It is understood that the 4-well zone is illustrative only, and that each zone may comprise various other numbers of wells).
However, Evans as modified does not disclose a second cooling block in contact with the second thermal transfer block, the second cooling block electrically isolated from the first cooling block.
Inazuka teaches a plurality of cold heat source elements each which include separate Peltier elements and heat sinks, each cold heat source element being separated by a unit plate (Fig. 4, unit plate 11, cold source unit 10, heat sinks 3 and 4, Peltier element 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Evans as modified to include a second cooling block in contact with the second thermal transfer block, the second cooling block electrically isolated from the first cooling block as taught by Inazuka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to significantly improve cooling efficiency attributed to Peltier elements by arranging a cold source module as combination of the Peltier elements and heat sinks to build a cold source unit by combining a plurality of the cold source modules (Inazuka, Abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 9 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 8 above), wherein the first cooling block is maintained at a first temperature or within a first preset range of temperatures and the second cooling block is maintained at a second temperature or within a second preset range of temperatures, wherein the first temperature is different from the second temperature and/or the first preset range of temperatures is different from the second preset range of temperatures (Evans, Col. 4-5, lines 65-13; FIG. 12 corresponds with the embodiment shown in FIGS. 1-6 and shows all of the components of a single zone. Apparatus 100 has a well block 110 that comprises a plurality of 4-well zones, wherein each 4-well zone comprises a first pair of wells 120 and a second pair of wells 120, and wherein each first pair of wells 120 and each second pair of wells 120 are respectively over a first base plate and a second base plate such that one Peltier device 160 provides for heat transfer for one 4-well zone. Each Peltier device 160 heats or cools a pair of base plates 140 via adhesive 150 to heat or cool the sample in the four sample wells via each bottom 128 and side walls 122 of the four wells 120. Heat sink 180 is thermally connected to Peltier device 160 via adhesive 170. It is understood that the 4-well zone is illustrative only, and that each zone may comprise various other numbers of wells; Further, the teachings of Evans at least imply the plurality of Peltiers 160, which would control the temperature of the first cooling block and the second cooling block as modified as described herein, can be individually controlled to different temperature ranges since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)). Further, the limitations of claim 9 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Claims 10-12, 14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans as modified by Hajduk and Brown as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yin (US 20190041104), hereinafter Yin.
Regarding claim 10, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Evans as modified does not disclose wherein the cooling block comprises a chamber with an inlet for introducing the fluid into the chamber for cooling the heat sink and an outlet for removing the fluid that passes through the plurality of fins of the heat sink.
Yin teaches wherein the cooling block comprises a chamber with an inlet for introducing the fluid into the chamber for cooling the heat sink and an outlet for removing the fluid that passes through the plurality of fins of the heat sink (Fig. 1, heat exchanger structure 1, main body 11, first space 111, first opening 112, second opening 113, heat dissipation structures 1221; Fig. 2, cooling fluid 2; Pg. 2, paragraph 24, The heat of the hot face 122 of the cooing chip 12 is conducted to the heat dissipation structures 1221. Then, the cooling fluid 2 in the first space 111 of the main body 11 heat-exchanges with the heat dissipation structures 1221 to cool the heat dissipation structures 1221. The cooling efficiency provided by the cold face 121 of the thermoelectric cooling chip 12 is better than the cooling efficiency of an ordinary water-cooling heat dissipation device. Therefore, as a whole, the heat dissipation efficiency is greatly enhanced).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the heat sink 10 of Evans as modified with the cooling block disclosed by Yin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification the heat dissipation efficiency is greatly enhanced.
Regarding claim 11, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Evans as modified does not disclose wherein the plurality of fins of the heat sink are arranged such that the fluid flows along the plurality of fins.
Yin teaches wherein the plurality of fins of the heat sink are arranged such that the fluid flows along the plurality of fins (Fig. 1, heat exchanger structure 1, main body 11, first space 111, first opening 112, second opening 113, heat dissipation structures 1221; Fig. 2, cooling fluid 2; Pg. 2, paragraph 24, When dissipating the heat, the cooling fluid 2 flows through the first opening 112 into the first space 111. Then, the cooling fluid 2 flows through the second opening 113 out of the first space 111 to leave the main body 11… The heat of the hot face 122 of the cooing chip 12 is conducted to the heat dissipation structures 1221. Then, the cooling fluid 2 in the first space 111 of the main body 11 heat-exchanges with the heat dissipation structures 1221 to cool the heat dissipation structures 1221. The cooling efficiency provided by the cold face 121 of the thermoelectric cooling chip 12 is better than the cooling efficiency of an ordinary water-cooling heat dissipation device. Therefore, as a whole, the heat dissipation efficiency is greatly enhanced).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the heat sink 10 of Evans as modified with the cooling block disclosed by Yin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification the heat dissipation efficiency is greatly enhanced.
Regarding claim 12, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above), wherein the heat sink is arranged within the chamber such that the plurality of fins extend away from the thermal transfer block and wherein the fluid is introduced via the inlet into the chamber such that the fluid flows along the plurality of fins before exiting the chamber via the outlet (Yin, Pg. 2, paragraph 24, When dissipating the heat, the cooling fluid 2 flows through the first opening 112 into the first space 111. Then, the cooling fluid 2 flows through the second opening 113 out of the first space 111 to leave the main body 11. The cold face 121 of the thermoelectric cooling chip 12 is in direct contact with the heat source 3 to absorb the heat of the heat source 3 and cool the heat source 3. The heat of the hot face 122 of the cooing chip 12 is conducted to the heat dissipation structures 1221. Then, the cooling fluid 2 in the first space 111 of the main body 11 heat-exchanges with the heat dissipation structures 1221 to cool the heat dissipation structures 1221. The cooling efficiency provided by the cold face 121 of the thermoelectric cooling chip 12 is better than the cooling efficiency of an ordinary water-cooling heat dissipation device. Therefore, as a whole, the heat dissipation efficiency is greatly enhanced). Further, the limitations of claim 12 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 14, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above), wherein the heat sink is arranged within the chamber such that the inlet is parallel to the plurality of fins of the heat sink (Fig. 2 of Yin depicts the heat dissipation structures 1221 is arranged within the main body 11 such that the first opening 112 is parallel to the heat dissipation structures 1221). Further, the limitations of claim 14 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 19, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above), wherein the inlet is arranged at a first side of the chamber and the outlet is arranged at a second side, wherein the second side is opposite the first side or perpendicular to the first side (Fig. 2 of Yin depicts first opening 112 and second opening 113 to be disposed on opposite sides of the main body 11). Further, the limitations of claim 19 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 20, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above).
However, Evans as modified does not disclose wherein the heat sink is arranged at a first side of the chamber and one of the inlet or the outlet is arranged at a second side of the chamber opposite the first side.
Yin teaches another embodiment of the heat exchange structure wherein the heat sink is arranged at a first side of the chamber and one of the inlet or the outlet is arranged at a second side of the chamber opposite the first side (Fig. 8, heat exchanger structure 1, main body 11, first space 111, first opening 112, second opening 113, heat dissipation structures 1221; Further, annotated Fig. 8 of Yin below depicts the heat dissipation structures 1221 to be arranged at a first side C and first opening 112 to be arranged at a second side D opposite of first side C).
Evans as modified fails to teach wherein the heat sink is arranged at a first side of the chamber and one of the inlet or the outlet is arranged at a second side of the chamber opposite the first side, however Yin teaches that it is a known method in the art heat dissipation of thermoelectric modules to include wherein the heat sink is arranged at a first side of the chamber and one of the inlet or the outlet is arranged at a second side of the chamber opposite the first side. This is strong evidence that modifying Evans as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. improved heat transfer capabilities). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Evans as modified by Yin and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of improved heat transfer capabilities.
Annotated Fig. 8 of Yin
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans as modified by Hajduk, Brown, and Yin as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent No. 10,526,188).
Regarding claim 13, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above).
However, Evans as modified does not disclose wherein the heat sink is arranged within the chamber such that the inlet is perpendicular to the plurality of fins of the heat sink.
Kim discloses wherein the heat sink is arranged within the chamber such that the inlet is perpendicular to the plurality of fins of the heat sink (Fig. 7, connectors 232, partitions 231; Fig. 8, cold water tank 20, water inlet 221, water outlet 222; Further, Fig. 7-8 of Kim depicts the water inlet 221 to be perpendicular to at least the connectors 232 and depict the flow of the water to be perpendicular to the water inlet 221; Col. 8, lines 12-31, Referring to FIG. 7, the internal flow channel 23 may include a plurality of partitions 231 extending in a horizontal direction and provided to be spaced apart from each other in a vertical direction and a plurality of connectors 232 extending in a vertical direction and connecting two mutually adjacent partitions 231. The plurality of connectors 232 may be alternately provided at a front end and a rear end of each of the partitions 231 to connect the plurality of partitions 231. Each of the plurality of partitions 231 may have a communication hole, such as, e.g., a passageway or gap, 233 formed at a left end portion or a right end portion thereof. The plurality of partitions 231 may prevent water from flowing in an upward direction and may guide a flow of water in a leftward or rightward direction. The communication hole 233 may allow an upper flow channel and a lower flow channel partitioned by the plurality of partitions 231 to communicate with each other to guide water to flow from the lower flow channel to the upper flow channel).
Evans as modified fails to teach wherein the heat sink is arranged within the chamber such that the inlet is perpendicular to the plurality of fins of the heat sink, however Kim teaches that it is a known method in the art heat dissipation of thermoelectric modules to include wherein the heat sink is arranged within the chamber such that the inlet is perpendicular to the plurality of fins of the heat sink. This is strong evidence that modifying Evans as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. improved heat transfer capabilities). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Evans as modified by Kim and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of improved heat transfer capabilities.
Regarding claim 15, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above).
However, Evans as modified does not disclose wherein the heat sink is arranged within the chamber such that the inlet is oriented at an angle to the plurality of fins of the heat sink.
Kim discloses wherein the heat sink is arranged within the chamber such that the inlet is oriented at an angle to the plurality of fins of the heat sink (Fig. 7, connectors 232, partitions 231; Fig. 8, cold water tank 20, water inlet 221, water outlet 222; Further, Fig. 7-8 of Kim depicts the water inlet 221 to be perpendicular to at least the connectors 232 and depict the flow of the water to be perpendicular to the water inlet 221; Col. 8, lines 12-31, Referring to FIG. 7, the internal flow channel 23 may include a plurality of partitions 231 extending in a horizontal direction and provided to be spaced apart from each other in a vertical direction and a plurality of connectors 232 extending in a vertical direction and connecting two mutually adjacent partitions 231. The plurality of connectors 232 may be alternately provided at a front end and a rear end of each of the partitions 231 to connect the plurality of partitions 231. Each of the plurality of partitions 231 may have a communication hole, such as, e.g., a passageway or gap, 233 formed at a left end portion or a right end portion thereof. The plurality of partitions 231 may prevent water from flowing in an upward direction and may guide a flow of water in a leftward or rightward direction. The communication hole 233 may allow an upper flow channel and a lower flow channel partitioned by the plurality of partitions 231 to communicate with each other to guide water to flow from the lower flow channel to the upper flow channel).
Evans as modified fails to teach wherein the heat sink is arranged within the chamber such that the inlet is oriented at an angle to the plurality of fins of the heat sink, however Kim teaches that it is a known method in the art heat dissipation of thermoelectric modules to include wherein the heat sink is arranged within the chamber such that the inlet is oriented at an angle to the plurality of fins of the heat sink. This is strong evidence that modifying Evans as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. improved heat transfer capabilities). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Evans as modified by Kim and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of improved heat transfer capabilities.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans as modified by Hajduk, Brown, and Yin as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Chen (US Patent No. 12,004,323).
Regarding claim 16, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above).
However, Evans as modified does not disclose wherein the plurality of fins of the heat sink extend from a top surface of the chamber for an entire height of the chamber forming parallel channels of fluid flow from the inlet to the outlet.
Chen teaches wherein the plurality of fins of the heat sink extend from a top surface of the chamber for an entire height of the chamber forming parallel channels of fluid flow from the inlet to the outlet (Fig. 1D, housing 11, partition walls 14, inflow channel 114, intermediate flow channel 11, outflow channel 115; Col. 4, lines 37-50, A number of the partition walls 14 is three, the partition walls 14 located on two sides further divide the interior of the housing 11 into an intermediate flow channel 116 located between the inflow channel 114 and the outflow channel 115; the partition wall 14, which divides the inflow channel 114 and the intermediate flow channel 116, has the passage 140 formed on the side away from liquid inlet port 12; the partition wall 14, which is located on the center of the intermediate flow channel 116, has the passage 140 formed on the side adjacent to the liquid inlet port 12; the partition wall 14, which divides the intermediate flow channel 116 and the outflow channel 115, has the passage 140 formed on the side away from liquid inlet port 12).
Evans as modified fails to teach wherein the plurality of fins of the heat sink extend from a top surface of the chamber for an entire height of the chamber forming parallel channels of fluid flow from the inlet to the outlet, however Chen teaches that it is a known method in the art heat dissipation of thermoelectric modules to include wherein the plurality of fins of the heat sink extend from a top surface of the chamber for an entire height of the chamber forming parallel channels of fluid flow from the inlet to the outlet. This is strong evidence that modifying Evans as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. improved heat transfer capabilities). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Evans as modified by Chen and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of improved heat transfer capabilities.
Regarding claim 17, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above).
However, Evans as modified does not disclose wherein the plurality of fins of the heat sink extend from a top surface of the chamber for a portion of a height of the chamber forming semi-parallel channels of fluid flow between the inlet and the outlet.
Chen teaches wherein the plurality of fins of the heat sink extend from a top surface of the chamber for a portion of a height of the chamber forming semi-parallel channels of fluid flow between the inlet and the outlet (Fig. 1D, housing 11, flow guiding walls 15, inflow channel 114, intermediate flow channel 11, outflow channel 115; Col. 5, lines 33-47, The flow guiding walls 15 and the protruding strips 141, 151 greatly increase the solid-liquid heat exchange areas, the multi-layered protruding strips 141, 151 of can distribute the coolant to absorb the heat of the partition wall 14, the flow guiding wall 15 and the protruding strips 141,151 without affecting the flow velocity of the coolant, gaps (about 0.1 millimeter to 1.0 millimeter) between the tops of the flow guiding walls 15 and the heat dissipating walls 112 and gaps (about 0.1 millimeter to 1.0 millimeter) between front ends of the protruding strips 141,151 and the side wall 113 allow the split coolant concurrently pass through the differently located flow guiding walls 15 and protruding strips and absorb the heat thereof, so that the coolant evenly and sufficiently absorb the heat in the housing 11).
Evans as modified fails to teach wherein the plurality of fins of the heat sink extend from a top surface of the chamber for a portion of a height of the chamber forming semi-parallel channels of fluid flow between the inlet and the outlet, however Chen teaches that it is a known method in the art heat dissipation of thermoelectric modules to include wherein the plurality of fins of the heat sink extend from a top surface of the chamber for a portion of a height of the chamber forming semi-parallel channels of fluid flow between the inlet and the outlet. This is strong evidence that modifying Evans as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. improved heat transfer capabilities). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Evans as modified by Chen and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of improved heat transfer capabilities.
Regarding claim 18, Evans as modified discloses the system of claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above).
However, Evans as modified does not disclose wherein the inlet and the outlet are arranged on a same side of the chamber.
Chen teaches wherein the inlet and the outlet are arranged on a same side of the chamber (Fig. 1A, liquid inlet port 12, liquid outlet port 13, side wall 113; Col. 3-4, lines 67-1, The liquid inlet port 12 and the liquid outlet port 13 are formed on the side wall 113).
Evans as modified fails to teach wherein the inlet and the outlet are arranged on a same side of the chamber, however Chen teaches that it is a known method in the art heat dissipation of thermoelectric modules to include wherein the inlet and the outlet are arranged on a same side of the chamber. This is strong evidence that modifying Evans as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. improved heat transfer capabilities). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Evans as modified by Chen and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of improved heat transfer capabilities.
Conclusion
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 July 28th, 2026