DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-11, 15-20, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Venkatesan 20230176303US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Venkatesan 20230228953US and further in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Blauvelt 2007/0237456US further in view of the US Patent to Polomoff 11,650,381US.
In terms of Claims 1, 2, and 27 Venkatesan ‘303 teaches a fiber array unit (FAU), comprising: a substrate (Figure 18a-k: wherein Figure 18k teaches a substrate 1820) having a first region (Figure 18k: region of 1850 spacing area for FAU) and a second region (Figure 18K: 1850) which are continuous and connected (portions 1820 that contains 1838 and 1850 are continuous and connected as part of 1820) ; a plurality of fiber grooves (within 1801) formed in the first region (Figure 18: 1801 and 1850); and a plurality of light guiding elements (Figure 18k: 1804b; [0175]) formed in the second region (on top of 1820 that contains 1838), wherein the fiber grooves are aligned with the light guiding elements (Figure 18k: grooves that holds 1802 is aligned with light guiding elements 1804b), respectively.
Venkatesan ‘303 does not teach wherein the grooves are through silicon grooves formed in a silicon substrate and the substrate is attached to another substrate.
Venkatesan ‘953 does teaches wherein the grooves are through-silicon grooves formed in a silicon substrate ([0160]) wherein through silicon grooves formed in the silicon substrate is attach to a bottom substrate (See Figure 11: Top and middle layer makes up the silicon substrate wherein layer 838 and 803 is etch completely through and sits on top of bottom layer or substrate that has element 850). Layer 838 may be made of silicon dioxide or silicon oxynitride ([0147] which contains silicon.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the v-groove to be formed in a silicon substrate, since silicon are known to produce precise v-grooves using well known etching process such as KOH etching to produce precise v-grooves. Further using silicon allows the device to be manufactured using well known methods which allows the device to be easily manufacture.
Venkatesan ‘303 and ‘953 do not explicitly teaches wherein the bottom substrate is made of glass wherein the substrate allows ultraviolet (UV) light to pass through.
Blauvelt teaches a v-groove formed a substrate wherein the substrate is made of glass ([0111]) which allows UV light to pass through.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the materials of bottom substrate layer of Venkatesan ‘303 to be made of glass since glass is a known material that provides good support for optical fibers in v-groves structures due to rigidity. Further the prior art of Venkatesan ‘303 suggests that substrate 1820 can be made of a multi-layer or single layer structure that includes an insulator for which glass fits in this class of materials ([0164]).
Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt do not teach wherein the through silicon groove extend through a top surface and a bottom surface of the silicon substrate to expose a flat surface of the first region of the substrate, the flat surface of the surface of the first region being flush with a top surface of the substrate.
Polomoff does teach wherein the through silicon groove (Figure 3: 160) extend through a top surface and a bottom surface of the silicon substrate (Figure 3: multiple layers within 134 which includes layers 152/132/140) to expose a flat surface of the first region of the substrate (Figure 3: island portion located VD1 having top protruding layer 152 exposed), the flat surface of the surface of the first region being flush with a top surface of the substrate (The protrude region of 152 is still flush with the rest of the top layer 152).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Venkatesan with a fiber holding substrate “wherein a sidewall opposite the light guiding element is flush with a corresponding sidewall of the substrate by wherein the through silicon groove (Figure 3: 160) extend through a top surface and a bottom surface of the silicon substrate by exposing a flat surface of the first region of the substrate to form a protruded island having a trapezoidal cross section. The various layers of Polomoff allow for fiber alignment to be adjusted due to various sizes of fiber. The dimension of the trench can be based or etched into various layers which may be used as markers to control diameter and height (Column 8 lines 1-40). The method and structure ensure proper alignment between fiber holding substrate and the waveguide substrate are made as shown in Figure 5 and 6 of Polomoff which result in better optical coupling.
As for Claims 5 and 26, Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt / Polomoff teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Venkatesan ‘303 further teaches the plurality of light guiding elements (Figure 18: 1804b, 1844) comprises: a plurality of waveguides Figure 18k: the waveguides 1804b and 1844) extending from an end of the second region adjacent to the plurality of fiber grooves (Figure 18k: 1844 and 1804b and v-grooves in 1801) to an opposite end of the second region away from the plurality of fiber grooves (Figure 18k: 1844 and 1804b and v-grooves in 1801); and at least one reflector (1804a) disposed near an end of each waveguide of the plurality of waveguides that is opposite the plurality of fiber grooves (Figure 14: illustrates multiple examples wherein each channel may contain a reflector “mirror” along with other structures), wherein the substrate (18020) has a first end (left side vertical edge of 1820), and a second end (vertical edge of 1820) opposite to each other (left and right vertical edge of 1820 are opposite of each other) and located in a first direction along which the first region and the second region are arranged (horizontal direction from left to right), wherein the first region (black box area as shown below) is adjacent to the first end (black box area or left box area) and the second region (red box area or right box area) is adjacent to second end (see 2nd region is adjacent to 2nd end); and waveguide that is opposite (1844) is opposite the plurality of fiber grooves (at 1850) and adjacent to the second end of the substrate (waveguides 1844 is adjacent to 2nd end at 1845);
Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt do not teach wherein the fiber grooves extend along the first direction, and a length of the fiber grooves in the first direction is equal to a length of the first region of the substrate in the first direction.
Polomoff does teach wherein the fiber grooves extend along the first direction, and a length of the fiber grooves in the first direction is equal to a length of the first region of the substrate in the first direction (Figure 20, wherein the grooves with fiber holder substrate 206 is equal in length to recess portion of 130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Venkatesan with a fiber holding substrate “to have a length equal to the length of the device substrate in order to provide better alignment. Further because the length of 206 and 130 recess are portions the recess portion is able to provide better support for the mount holder section 206 as shown in Figure 18 and 20 of Polomoff. This modification ensures better alignment and optical coupling while maintaining better mechanical weight support for the holding region 206 within the optical device.
As for Claim 6, Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt / Polomoff teaches the device of Claim 5, wherein Venkatesan ‘303 further teaches the plurality of waveguides (Figure 18D: 1852) is formed in one or more dielectric layers (Figure 18A: 1806 which is made of silicon dioxide which is a dielectric material [0167]) above an upper surface of the substrate (Figure 18a: 1806 is above 1820), and the at least one reflector (Figure 18A: “reflector site”; [0172]) is formed at an end of the one or more dielectric layers opposite the plurality of fiber grooves (Figure 18G: 1849 is located opposite of the grooves which are located on top of 1850 as shown in Figure 18k).
As for Claim 7, Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt / Polomoff teaches the device of Claim 5, wherein Venkatesan ‘303 further teaches the plurality of waveguides is formed within the substrate (See [0164] in which 1820 can be a multi-layer structure) below an upper surface of the substrate (1820 can include layer 1838 wherein Figure 18L illustrates the waveguide 1844 maybe embedded in 1838 which can be considered as part of the substrate multi-layer structure 1820 [0164]).
As for Claim 8, Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt teaches the device of Claim 7, wherein Venkatesan ‘303 further teaches the at least one reflector (Figure 18A: “reflector site”) is formed on the upper surface of the substrate (upper surface of 1806) near the end of each waveguide opposite the plurality of fiber grooves (Figure 18K: 1804a and 1801).
As for Claim 9, Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt / Polomoff teaches the device of Claim 7, wherein Venkatesan ‘303 further teaches the at least one reflector is formed (Figure 18k: at 1804a) within the substrate (within layer 1820 which may be part of the substrate 1820 having multi-layer structure [0164]) near the end of each waveguide opposite the plurality of fiber grooves (Figure 18K: 1804a and 1801).
As for Claim 10, Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Venkatesan ‘303 further teaches the plurality of light guiding elements (Figure 18L 1844, 1804b) comprises a plurality of reflectors disposed near the plurality of fiber grooves (Figure 18k: has reflectors 1804a and Figure 14: illustrates multiple reflectors can be used along multiple channels of guiding elements).
In terms of Claim 11, Venkatesan ‘303 a method of forming a fiber array unit (FAU), comprising: providing a substrate (Figure 18k: 1820) comprising a material ([0164]); forming a plurality of fiber grooves in a first region of the substrate (Figure 18: region of 1850 in 1801); and forming a plurality of light guiding elements (1844/1804b) in a second region of the substrate (Figure 18k: region of 1820 that contains 1838), wherein the first region and the second region are continuous and connected (Figure 18: region of 1820 has bump up located in areas of 1838 and a recess region located in 1850; both region is connected and continuous).
Venkatesan ‘303 does not teach wherein the grooves are through-silicon grooves formed in a silicon substrate and bonding or attaching the silicon substrate to another substrate.
Venkatesan ‘953 does teaches wherein the grooves are through-silicon grooves formed in a silicon substrate ([0160]) wherein through silicon grooves formed in the silicon substrate is attach or bonded to a bottom substrate (See Figure 11: Top and middle layer makes up the silicon substrate wherein layer 838 and 803 is etch completely through and sits on top of bottom layer or substrate that has element 850). Layer 838 maybe made of silicon dioxide or silicon oxynitride ([0147] which contains silicon.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the v-groove to be formed in a silicon substrate, since silicon are known to produce precise v-grooves using well known etching process such as KOH etching to produce precise v-grooves. Further using silicon allows the device to be manufactured using well known methods which allows the device to be easily manufacture.
Venkatesan ‘303 and ‘953 do not explicitly teaches wherein the bottom substrate is made of glass wherein the substrate allows ultraviolet (UV) light to pass through.
Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt do not teach wherein the through silicon groove extend through a top surface and a bottom surface of the silicon substrate to expose a flat surface of the first region of the substrate, the flat surface of the surface of the first region being flush with a top surface of the substrate.
Polomoff does teach wherein the through silicon groove (Figure 3: 160) extend through a top surface and a bottom surface of the silicon substrate (Figure 3: multiple layers within 134 which includes layers 152/132/140) to expose a flat surface of the first region of the substrate (Figure 3: island portion located VD1 having top protruding layer 152 exposed), the flat surface of the surface of the first region being flush with a top surface of the substrate (The protrude region of 152 is still flush with the rest of the top layer 152).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Venkatesan with a fiber holding substrate “wherein a sidewall opposite the light guiding element is flush with a corresponding sidewall of the substrate by wherein the through silicon groove (Figure 3: 160) extend through a top surface and a bottom surface of the silicon substrate by exposing a flat surface of the first region of the substrate to form a protruded island having a trapezoidal cross section. The various layers of Polomoff allow for fiber alignment to be adjusted due to various sizes of fiber. The dimension of the trench can be based or etched into various layers which maybe used as markers to control diameter and height (Column 8 lines 1-40). The method and structure ensure proper alignment between fiber holding substrate and the waveguide substrate are made as shown in Figure 5 and 6 of Polomoff which result in better optical coupling.
As for Claim 15, Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt / Polomoff teaches the method of Claim 11, wherein Venkatesan ‘303 further teaches the plurality of waveguides (Figure 18D: 1852) comprises: forming a plurality (1852) of waveguides formed in one or more dielectric layers (Figure 18A: 1806 which is made of silicon dioxide which is a dielectric material [0167]) above an upper surface of the substrate (Figure 18a: 1806 is above 1820), and the at least one reflector (Figure 18A: “reflector site”; [0172]) is formed at an end of the one or more dielectric layers opposite the plurality of fiber grooves (Figure 18G: 1849 is located opposite of the grooves which are located on top of 1850 as shown in Figure 18k)
As for Claim 16, Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt / Polomoff teaches the method of Claim 11, wherein Venkatesan ‘303 further teaches the plurality of light guiding elements (Figure 18L: 1844) is formed within the substrate (See [0164] in which 1820 can be a multi-layer structure) below an upper surface of the substrate (1820 can include layer 1838 wherein Figure 18L illustrates the waveguide 1844 maybe embedded below the upper surface of 1838 to be within 1838; wherein 1838 can be considered as part of the substrate multi-layer structure 1820 [0164])
As for Claim 17, Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt / Polomoff teaches the method of Claim 16, wherein Venkatesan ‘303 further teaches the at least one reflector (Figure 18A: “reflector site”) is formed on the upper surface of the substrate (upper surface of 1806) near the end of each waveguide opposite the plurality of fiber grooves (Figure 18K: 1804a and 1801) and the at least on reflector comprises a reflective coating ([0140] reflective layer over the base layer is considered to be the reflective coating).
As for Claim 18, Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt / Polomoff teaches the method of Claim 16, wherein Venkatesan further teaches the at least one reflector is formed (Figure 18k: at 1804a) within the substrate (within layer 1820 which may be part of the substrate 1820 having multi-layer structure [0164]) near the end of each waveguide opposite the plurality of fiber grooves (Figure 18K: 1804a and 1801).
In terms of Claim 19, Venkatesan ‘303 teaches A fiber array unit (FAU), comprising: a substrate (Figure 18k: 1820) having a first region (Figure 18K: region of 1850) and a second region (Figure 18K: region of 1838 over 1820) which are continuous and connected (1820 is continuous); a plurality of fiber grooves (Figure 18K: in 1801) formed in the first region (in area over 1850); a plurality of waveguides (Figure 18K: 1844 or 1804b) formed in the second region (over area of 1838) and aligned with the plurality of fiber grooves (Figure 18k: 1844 and 1801 are aligned), wherein no adhesive is formed between one of the plurality of waveguides and a corresponding one of the plurality of fiber grooves (adhesive is used to bond 1801 to 1850 [0055]; hence it is located between the waveguide and the fiber grooves); and at least one reflector (1804a) formed at one end opposite the plurality of fiber grooves in the second region (Figure 18: 1804a and 1801).
Venkatesan ‘303 does not teach wherein the grooves are through-silicon grooves formed in a silicon substrate and the substrate is attached to another substrate.
Venkatesan ‘953 does teaches wherein the grooves are through-silicon grooves formed in a silicon substrate ([0160]) wherein through silicon grooves formed in the silicon substrate is attach to a bottom substrate (See Figure 11: Top and middle layer makes up the silicon substrate wherein layer 838 and 803 is etch completely through and sits on top of bottom layer or substrate that has element 850). Layer 838 maybe made of silicon dioxide or silicon oxynitride ([0147] which contains silicon.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the v-groove to be formed in a silicon substrate, since silicon are known to produce precise v-grooves using well known etching process such as KOH etching to produce precise v-grooves. Further, using silicon allows the device to be manufactured using well known methods which allows the device to be easily manufactured.
Venkatesan ‘303 and ‘953 do not explicitly teaches wherein the bottom substrate is made of glass wherein the substrate allows ultraviolet (UV) light to pass through.
Blauvelt teaches a v-groove formed a substrate wherein the substrate is made of glass ([0111]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the materials of bottom substrate layer of Venkatesan ‘303 to be made of glass since glass is a known material that provides good support for optical fibers in v-groves structures due to rigidity. Further the prior art of Venkatesan ‘303 suggests that substrate 1820 can be made of a multi-layer or single layer structure that includes an insulator for which glass fits in this class of materials ([0164]).
Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt do not teach wherein the through silicon groove extend through a top surface and a bottom surface of the silicon substrate to expose a flat surface of the first region of the substrate, the flat surface of the surface of the first region being flush with a top surface of the substrate.
Polomoff does teach wherein the through silicon groove (Figure 3: 160) extend through a top surface and a bottom surface of the silicon substrate (Figure 3: multiple layers within 134 which includes layers 152/132/140) to expose a flat surface of the first region of the substrate (Figure 3: island portion located VD1 having top protruding layer 152 exposed), the flat surface of the surface of the first region being flush with a top surface of the substrate (The protrude region of 152 is still flush with the rest of the top layer 152).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Venkatesan with a fiber holding substrate “wherein a sidewall opposite the light guiding element is flush with a corresponding sidewall of the substrate by wherein the through silicon groove (Figure 3: 160) extend through a top surface and a bottom surface of the silicon substrate by exposing a flat surface of the first region of the substrate to form a protruded island having a trapezoidal cross section. The various layers of Polomoff allow for fiber alignment to be adjusted due to various sizes of fiber. The dimension of the trench can be based or etched into various layers which maybe used as markers to control diameter and height (Column 8 lines 1-40). The method and structure ensure proper alignment between fiber holding substrate and the waveguide substrate are made as shown in Figure 5 and 6 of Polomoff which result in better optical coupling.
As for Claim 20, Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt / Polomoff teaches the method of Claim 19, wherein Venkatesan ‘303 further teaches each fiber groove of the plurality of fiber grooves extends in a first direction along which the first region and the second region are arranged; and each waveguide of the plurality of waveguides extends in the first region (Figure 18L 1844 and 1801).
As for Claim 25, Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt / Polomoff teaches the method of Claim 11, wherein Venkatesan ‘303 further teaches forming the plurality of light guiding elements (Figure 18J: 1804b) comprises: forming at least one reflector (Figure 18j: 1804a) on an upper surface of the substrate (upper surface of 1838) near an end opposite the plurality of fiber groove (Figure 18j: see 1804a and 1850).
As for Claim 28, Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt / Polomoff teaches the device of claim 1.
Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt / Polomoff do not explicitly teach wherein the waveguide is transparent to UV light.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of waveguide to be transparent to UV light for the purpose of curing or using UV materials to couple or bond the waveguide to another structure at the coupling point. Using waveguides that are transparent or can leak out UV light allow for curing of materials hard to reach locations. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice. that a mere reversal of the working parts of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 146.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt / Polomoff as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Gaebe 2007/0036496US.
In regard to Claim 24, Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt / Polomoff teaches the method of Claim 11.
Venkatesan ‘303 / Venkatesan ‘953 / Blauvelt / Polomoff do not teach wherein a substrate is bonded to another substrate by thermal bonding.
Gaebe does teach a substrate being bonded to other layers, optical components or lids through the use of thermal bonding ([0024-0025] and Figure 1: 23 and 3, Figure 2a-b: 3, 25 and 28). Gaebe indicates the thermal bonding provides sufficient bonding without damaging the components.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Venkatesan in order to bond the various substrates together using thermal bonding without putting too much strain or stress that may cause the components to deform or be damaged (Gaebe [0024-0025]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In this instant the applicant argues the prior art of Venkatesan do not teach the limitations of “wherein the through silicon groove extend through a top surface and a bottom surface of the silicon substrate to expose a flat surface of the first region of the substrate, the flat surface of the surface of the first region being flush with a top surface of the substrate”.
However, the prior art of Polomoff does teach wherein the through silicon groove (Figure 3: 160) extend through a top surface and a bottom surface of the silicon substrate (Figure 3: multiple layers within 134 which includes layers 152/132/140) to expose a flat surface of the first region of the substrate (Figure 3: island portion located VD1 having top protruding layer 152 exposed), the flat surface of the surface of the first region being flush with a top surface of the substrate (The protrude region of 152 is still flush with the rest of the top layer 152).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Venkatesan with a fiber holding substrate “wherein a sidewall opposite the light guiding element is flush with a corresponding sidewall of the substrate by wherein the through silicon groove (Figure 3: 160) extend through a top surface and a bottom surface of the silicon substrate by exposing a flat surface of the first region of the substrate to form a protruded island having a trapezoidal cross section. The various layers of Polomoff allow for fiber alignment to be adjusted due to various sizes of fiber. The dimension of the trench can be based or etched into various layers which may be used as markers to control diameter and height (Column 8 lines 1-40). The method and structure ensure proper alignment between fiber holding substrate and the waveguide substrate are made as shown in Figure 5 and 6 of Polomoff which result in better optical coupling.
Thus, the newly amended limitations are still rejected over the previously cited prior art of Polomoff as detailed above.
This action is therefore made FINAL for reason(s) detailed above.
Newly added claims 27 and 28 are also rejected as detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOANG Q TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/SUNG H PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874