DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the cross-member (22) upward from the connection member (23)” as claimed in claims 6, 16, and 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20 recites “fastened to the a battery side frame”. The additional article identifier of “the” should be eliminated. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7, 16 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 6, 16 and 17 recite “further comprising a seat mounting bracket connecting an upper surface of the side sill inner with the cross-member upward from the connection member.”
This can be interpreted in two ways:
The first interpretation is that the seat mounting bracket (41) connects to an upper surface of the side sill inner (11), where the cross-member (22) connects to the side sill inner at a location above that of the connection member (23). This first configuration is not supported by the specification as the connection member 23 is consistently shown to be located above the cross-member 22.
The second interpretation is that the seat mounting bracket (41) somehow connects the side sill inner (11) with the cross-member (22), at a location upward from the connection member. Upon reviewing the figures, it is clear that the second interpretation is also not supported by the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, 10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuyuzaki et al (US 11,370,287) in view of Kang et al (US 12,280,649).
As concerns claim 1, Tsuyuzaki et al (US 11,370,287) discloses a side sill assembly for a vehicle, the side sill assembly comprising: a side sill inner (66);a side sill outer (65) connected to the side sill inner;
a reinforcement member (52, 56a) provided between the side sill inner and the side sill outer;
a floor panel (16) having a side end portion connected to the side sill inner;
a cross-member (35) installed on the floor panel in a width direction of the vehicle; and
a connection member (107) connecting the cross-member with the side sill inner.
Tsuyuzaki fails to specify wherein a lower end portion of the reinforcement member is positioned within a predetermined length from an upper end portion of an internal space formed between the side sill inner and the side sill outer, and
wherein the connection member is disposed at the same height as an upper surface of the reinforcement member from a reference height.
Kang et al (US 12,280,649) however teaches a side sill having a reinforcement member (42) and a connection member (47) for connection to a cross member (45) (See Figure 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Tsuyuzaki as taught by Kang, such that a lower end portion of the reinforcement member (Kang – 42) was positioned within a predetermined length from an upper end portion of an internal space formed between the side sill inner and the side sill outer, and
wherein the connection member (Kang – 47) was disposed at the same height as an upper surface of the reinforcement member (Kang – 42) from a reference height, for the expected benefit of improving side crash performance, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
As concerns claim 2, Tsuyuzaki in view of Kang discloses the side sill assembly of claim 1, wherein there is a predetermined distance between an end portion of the cross-member and the side sill inner. (Tsuyuzaki – Figure 5, distance between 66 and 101 / Kang – Figure 5, distance ‘g’)
As concerns claim 8, the combination of Tsuyuzaki in view of Kang discloses the side sill assembly of claim 1, wherein a battery mount (Tsuyuzaki – hole through which bolt 163 protrudes), to which a battery side frame is fastened, is installed on a lower surface of the side sill inner, and wherein an upper end portion of the battery mount is spaced apart from a lower surface of the reinforcement member (Tsuyuzaki – Figure 6).
As concerns claim 10, the combination of Tsuyuzaki in view of Kang discloses the side sill assembly of claim 1, wherein the reinforcement member is fastened to an inner surface of the side sill inner with a fastening bolt (Kang – 56, Figure 3).
As concerns claim 12, the combination of Tsuyuzaki in view of Kang discloses the side sill assembly of claim 1, wherein the reinforcement member is extruded and has a rib (Kang – Figure 3) in a height direction of the vehicle.
As concerns claim 13, Tsuyuzaki discloses a side sill assembly for a vehicle, the side sill assembly comprising: a side sill inner (66);a side sill outer (65) connected to an outer side of the vehicle from the side sill inner;
a reinforcement member (52, 56a) provided between the side sill inner and the side sill outer;
a floor panel (16) having a side end portion connected to the side sill inner;
a cross-member (35) installed on the floor panel in a width direction of the vehicle; and
a connection member (107) connecting the cross-member with the side sill inner.
Tsuyuzaki fails to specify wherein a lower end portion of the reinforcement member is positioned within a predetermined length from an upper end portion of the internal space, and
wherein the connection member and an upper surface of the reinforcement member are disposed on the same virtual straight extension line to support the reinforcement member.
Kang et al (US 12,280,649) however teaches a side sill having a reinforcement member (42) and a connection member (47) for connection to a cross member (45) (See Figure 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Tsuyuzaki as taught by Kang, such that a lower end portion of the reinforcement member (Kang – 42) was positioned within a predetermined length from an upper end portion of an internal space formed between the side sill inner and the side sill outer, and
wherein the connection member (Kang – 47) was disposed at the same virtual straight extension line to support the reinforcement member (Kang – 42), for the expected benefit of improving side crash performance, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
As concerns claim 14, the combination of Tsuyuzaki in view of Kang discloses the side sill assembly of claim 13, wherein there is a predetermined distance between an end portion of the cross-member and the side sill inner.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Tsuyuzaki and Kang, further in view of An et al (US 2024/0051612).
As concerns claim 3, the combination discloses the side sill assembly of claim 1, wherein a seat rail (Tsuyuzaki – 32) is installed on the connection member (Tsuyuzaki – 107).
The combination fails to specify, however wherein a connection member is configured to contact the side surface of the side sill inner.
An et al (US 2024/0051612) teaches a side sill inner (11) and a connection member (70) wherein the connection member is configured to connect the upper surface of another member (60) with a side surface of the side sill inner (11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination as taught by An to include a connection member for the expected benefit of providing additional side impact stability to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Tsuyuzaki and Kang, further in view of Charbonneau et al (US 8,702,161).
As concerns claims 4, the combination of Tsuyuzaki in view of Kang discloses the side sill assembly of claim 2, however fails to specify wherein the cross-member includes one or more convex portions and one or more concave portion repeated and alternatingly extending in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle.
Charbonneau et al (US 8,702,161) however teaches an assembly wherein a cross-member includes one or more convex portions and one or more concave portions repeated and alternatingly extending in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination of Tsuyuzaki in view of Kang as taught by Charbonneau to include the convex and concave portions for the expected benefit of increasing structural strength during side impacts, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Tsuyuzaki, Kang and Charbonneau and further in view of Kojo et al (US 2013/0257097).
As concerns claim 5, the combination discloses the side sill assembly of claim 4, however fails to specify wherein the cross-member has a flange portion connected to the floor panel and extending in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle, or wherein the one or more concave portions and the flange portion are bonded to the floor panel.
Kojo et al (US 2013/0257097) however teaches a concave and convex cross-member (15) that has a flange portion wherein the flange is bonded to the floor panel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination as taught by Kojo to include bonding the cross-member to the floor panel to provide additional strength and structural stability, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Tsuyuzaki and Kang and further in view of Min et al (US 2022/0017149).
As concerns claim 9, the combination of Tsuyuzaki in view of Kang discloses the side sill assembly of claim 1, however fails to specify wherein the reinforcement member is bonded to an inner surface of the side sill inner with an adhesive.
Min et al (US 2022/0017149) further teaches wherein a reinforcement member is bonded to an inner surface of the side sill inner with an adhesive (Paragraph [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination as taught by Min to include the use of adhesive for bonding the reinforcement member to the inner surface of the sill for the expected benefit of increasing the structural fortitude between the two elements, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Tsuyuzaki and Kang, further in view of Choi et al (KR 2022/0072553).
As concerns claim 11, the combination discloses the side sill assembly of claim 1, however fails to specify wherein a support is fixed to an inner surface of the side sill inner and is configured to support a lower surface of the reinforcement member.
Choi et al (KR 2022/0072553), however, teaches a support (71, 72, 171, 173b) fixed to an inner surface of a side sill inner (11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination as taught by Choi to include the claimed support for the expected benefit of increasing strength and structural integrity during side impact scenarios, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Tsuyuzaki and Kang, further in view of Charbonneau et al (US 8,702,161) and further in view of Min et al (US 2022/0017149).
As concerns claim 15, the combination of Tsuyuzaki in view of Kang discloses the side sill assembly of claim 13, however fails to specify wherein the cross-member includes one or more convex portions and one or more concave portion repeated and alternatingly extending in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle, or wherein the reinforcement member is bonded to an inner surface of the side sill inner with an adhesive.
Charbonneau et al (US 8,702,161) however teaches an assembly wherein a cross-member includes one or more convex portions and one or more concave portions repeated and alternatingly extending in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination of Tsuyuzaki in view of Kang as taught by Charbonneau to include the convex and concave portions for the expected benefit of increasing structural strength during side impacts, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Min et al (US 2022/0017149) further teaches wherein a reinforcement member is bonded to an inner surface of the side sill inner with an adhesive (Paragraph [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination as taught by Min to include the use of adhesive for bonding the reinforcement member to the inner surface of the sill for the expected benefit of increasing the structural fortitude between the two elements, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Carl (US 12,448,054).
/AARON L LEMBO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679