DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 20-32 and 49-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to the abstract idea of monitoring cerebral hemodynamics without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) the steps of providing laser light to brain tissue within a skull; using one or more sensors to detect a speckle pattern over an exposure time based on light passing through the brain tissue within the skull illuminated by the laser light; determining one or more speckle statistics from the speckle pattern of the image; and monitoring cerebral hemodynamics of the brain tissue over time based on at least in part on the one or more speckle statistics. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the steps of merely recite the process of gathering and organizing data, and performing data analysis and evaluation, which can be performed as a mental step or on pen and paper. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claimed subject matter generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular environment, performing well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality and perform the basic functions of light imaging (i.e., light source and sensors for receiving). The addition of a general purpose computer components alone to perform such steps is not sufficient to transform a judicial exception into a patentable invention. The computer components are recited at a high level of generality and perform the basic functions of a computer (in this case, performing statistical analysis). Merely using generic computer components to perform the above identified basic computer functions to practice or apply the judicial exception does not constitute a meaningful limitation that would amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claims 21 and 23-32 are dependent on claim 20 and includes all the limitations of claim 20. Therefore, claims 21 and 23-32 recite the same abstract idea of monitoring cerebral hemodynamics. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claimed subject matter generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular environment, performing well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality and recite the concept of performing mathematical calculations, data gathering/analysis, and evaluation.
Claim 22 are dependent on claim 20 and includes all the limitations of claim 20. Therefore, claim 22 recite the same abstract idea of monitoring cerebral hemodynamics. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the optical fibers are conventional elements previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, in order to transmit and receive light.
Claims 50-60 are dependent on claim 49 and includes all the limitations of claim 49. Therefore, claims 50-60 recite the same abstract idea of monitoring cerebral hemodynamics. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claimed subject matter generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular environment, performing well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality and recite the concept of performing mathematical calculations, data gathering/analysis, and evaluation.
Claims 61-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to the abstract idea of monitoring cerebral hemodynamics without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) the steps of a computer readable media comprising program instructions for causing, using a laser source, delivery of laser light to brain tissue within a skull; using at least one processor to determine one or more speckle statistics of a speckle pattern; and monitoring cerebral hemodynamics of the brain tissue based on at least in part on the one or more speckle statistics. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the steps of merely recite the process of gathering and organizing data, and performing data analysis and evaluation, which can be performed as a mental step or on pen and paper. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claimed subject matter generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular environment, performing well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality and perform the basic functions of light imaging (i.e., light source and sensors for receiving). The addition of general purpose computer components to perform the abstract idea is not sufficient to transform it into a patentable invention. The computer components are recited at a high level of generality, and perform the basic functions of a computer that would be needed to apply the abstract idea via a computer.
Claim 62 is dependent on claim 61 and includes all the limitations of claim 61. Therefore, claim 62 recites the same abstract idea of monitoring cerebral hemodynamics. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claimed subject matter generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular environment, performing well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality and recite the concept of performing mathematical calculations, data gathering/analysis, and evaluation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-21, 23-26, 33-37, 39, 49-54, 57-58, and 61-62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dunn et al. (US 2012/0095354).
With respect to claims 20 and 49, Dunn et al. discloses a method for monitoring cerebral hemodynamics, the method comprising: providing a laser light to a skull ([0008]; [0090]); recording an image with a speckle pattern over an exposure time based on light passing through brain tissue within the skull ([0008]; [0091]); determining one or more speckle statistics of the image ([0008]; [0098]); and monitoring cerebral hemodynamics of the brain tissue based at least in part on the one or more speckle statistics ([0008]; [0100]).
With respect to claims 21 and 50, Dunn et al. discloses wherein the one or more speckle statistics comprise a speckle contrast ([0043]; [0045]) and/or an average value of the speckle pattern ([0075]).
With respect to claims 23 and 51, Dunn et al. discloses determining a speckle contrast for the image; and calculating at least one decorrelation time based on the speckle contrast ([0046]).
With respect to claims 24 and 52, Dunn et al. discloses wherein the cerebral hemodynamics of the brain tissue is determined based at least in part on the at least one decorrelation time ([0046-0047]).
With respect to claims 25 and 53, Dunn et al. discloses wherein the speckle contrast is determined based at least in part on a mean intensity and a standard deviation of the image ([0077]).
With respect to claims 26 and 54, Dunn et al. discloses wherein the cerebral hemodynamics comprises cerebral blood flow in the brain tissue ([0003]; [0005]; [0094]).
With respect to claim 33, Dunn et al. discloses a system for monitoring cerebral hemodynamics, the system comprising: one or more optical systems configured to provide laser light to a skull and collect light pass through brain tissue being imaged within the skull ([0007-0008]; [0043]); and one or more sensors configured to record one or more images based on the light passing through the brain tissue ([0007-0008]; [0043]), wherein each image comprises a speckle pattern recorded over an exposure time ([0008]; [0043]).
With respect to claim 34, Dunn et al. discloses determining one or more speckle statistics of the image ([0008]; [0098]); and determining cerebral hemodynamics of the brain tissue based at least in part on the one or more speckle statistics ([0008]; [0100]).
With respect to claim 35, Dunn et al. discloses wherein the one or more speckle statistics comprise a speckle contrast ([0043]; [0045]) and/or an average value of the speckle pattern ([0075]).
With respect to claim 36, Dunn et al. discloses determining hemodynamics of the brain tissue is determined based at least in part on the at least one decorrelation time ([0046-0047]).
With respect to claim 37, Dunn et al. discloses determining based at least in part on a mean intensity and a standard deviation of the image ([0077]).
With respect to claim 39, Dunn et al. discloses one or more processors ([0007-0008]; [0063]).
With respect to claim 57, Dunn et al. discloses a plurality of images recorded over different exposure times ([0047]).
With respect to claim 58, Dunn et al. discloses determining a change of blood flow ([0032]).
With respect to claim 61, Dunn et al. discloses a non-transitory computer readable media comprising executable instructions ([0063]).
With respect to claim 62, Dunn et al. discloses wherein the one or more speckle statistics comprise a speckle contrast ([0043]; [0045]) and/or an average value of the speckle pattern ([0075]).
Claim(s) 20, 22-24, 26-28, 33-34, 36, 39-42, 47, 49, 51-52, and 54-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 10,016,137).
With respect to claims 20 and 49, Yang et al. discloses a method for monitoring cerebral hemodynamics, the method comprising: providing a laser light to a skull (col. 4, line 66 to col. 5, line 8; col. 12, lines 27-50); recording an image with a speckle pattern over an exposure time based on light passing through brain tissue within the skull (col. 10, lines 36-54); determining one or more speckle statistics of the image (col. 7, line 64 to col. 8, line 3; col. 14, line 9-27); and monitoring cerebral hemodynamics of the brain tissue over time based at least in part on the one or more speckle statistics (col. 11, lines 9-29; col. 30, lines 9-34).
With respect to claim 22, Yang et al. discloses one or more optical fibers (col. 21, lines 40-67)
With respect to claims 23-24 and 51-52, Yang et al. discloses calculating decorrelation time (col. 19, lines 37-67).
With respect to claims 26-28 and 54-56, Yang et al. discloses determining brain activity (col. 29, lines 3-28; col. 37, lines 36-55).
With respect to claim 33, Yang et al. discloses a system for monitoring cerebral hemodynamics, the system comprising: one or more optical systems configured to provide laser light to a skull and collect light passing through brain tissue being imaged within the skull (col. 12, lines 27-50); and one or more sensors configured to record one or more images based on the light passing through the brain, wherein each image comprises a speckle pattern recorded over an exposure time (col. 3, lines 6-27; col. 27, lines 16-25; col. 40, lines 7-9).
With respect to claim 34, Yang et al. discloses determining one or more speckle statistics of the image (col. 7, line 64 to col. 8, line 3; col. 14, line 9-27); and determining cerebral hemodynamics of the brain tissue based at least in part on the one or more speckle statistics (col. 11, lines 9-29).
With respect to claim 36, Yang et al. discloses calculating decorrelation time (col. 19, lines 37-67).
With respect to claim 39, Yang et al. discloses one or more processors (col. 6, lines 1-22).
With respect to claims 40-41, Yang et al. discloses one or more optical fibers (col. 21, lines 40-67)
With respect to claim 42, Yang et al. discloses wavelength between about 650 nm and 950 nm (col. 14, lines 9-17).
With respect to claim 47, Yang et al. disclose wherein one or more optical systems comprises an aperture (col. 17, lines 36-51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 25, 35, 37, 50, 53, 57-58, and 61-62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 10,016,137) in view of Dunn et al. (US 2012/0095354).
With respect to claims 21, 25, 35, 37, 50, and 53, Yang et al. discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except for a mean intensity and a standard deviation. However, Dunn et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor determining a mean and standard deviation is well known in the art to estimate speckle contrast ([0077]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Yang et al. with determining a mean and standard deviation a to estimate speckle contrast is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art ([0077]).
With respect to claims 57-58, Yang et al. discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except for a plurality of images over time and determining change of cerebral blood flow of at least two images. However, Dunn et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor a plurality of images recorded over different exposure times ([0047]) and determining a change of blood flow ([0003]; [0032]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Yang et al. with determining blood flow changes as taught by Dunn et al. in order to quantify blood flow changes in stroke models and for functional activation studies ([0003]).
With respect to claim 61, Yang et al. discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except for a computer readable medium comprising program instructions for performing the method. However, Dunn et al. discloses in the same field of endeavor it is well known for non-transitory computer readable media comprising executable instructions to perform the method ([0063]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a storage media as taught by Dunn et al. in order to store instructions for the processor to execute the method ([0063]).
With respect to claim 62, Dunn et al. discloses wherein the one or more speckle statistics comprise a speckle contrast ([0043]; [0045]) and/or an average value of the speckle pattern ([0075]).
Claim(s) 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 10,016,137) in view of Thankor et al. (US 9,155,480).
Yang et al. discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except for at least one CMOS sensor. However, Thankor et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor using CMOS (col. 3, lines 29-32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Yang et al. with a CMOS as taught by Thankor et al. as a substitution of one detector for another is well within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 10,016,137) in view of Yao et al. (US 11,013,414).
Yang et al. discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except for a frame rate of about 100 Hz. However, Yao et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor a camera with a frame rate between 60Hz to 1000 Hz (col. 17, lines 47-59). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Yang et al. with a frame rate of about 100 Hz as taught by Yao et al. as an optimization of ranges is well within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 43 and 45 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the claimed combination of subject matter particularly a laser with a collimated 56 mW laser beam with a 6-mm spot size and a laser power of 11 mW, 0.5 mW, 0.26 mW, 0.13 mW, 0.06 mW, or 0.03 mW.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the reference does not teach monitoring cerebral hemodynamics of the brain over time. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Dunn et al. discloses cerebral blood flow ([0003-0005]). Furthermore, Dunn et al. discloses monitoring blood flow over a period of time (Figs. 13A-B and 14A-B; [0105-0110]). The Examiner notes that hemodynamics is the study of blood flow.
Applicant argues the reference does not teach monitoring cerebral hemodynamics of the brain over time. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Yang et al. discloses multiple measurements over time yields a time trace (col. 30, lines 9-34).
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER LUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797