DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Specie I, Figure 5A in the reply filed on 01/12/26 is acknowledged.
Applicant indicated, in the amendment filed herewith on 01/12/26, that claims 2-9 and 17-28 are readable on the elected Specie I, Figure 5A.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in paragraph [0001], the issued patent information of Application 17/380,001 should be provided.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-9 and 17-28 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,855,640 (the ‘640 patent, hereafter). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the ‘640 patent encompassed all the claims limitations of claims 2-9 and 17-28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-3, 7-9, 17-18, 20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stanford et al. (USP 9,886,658).
For claim 2, Figure 6 of Stanford et al. teaches a radio-frequency (RF) circuit (600) configured to feed an RF signal (signal receiving at 602) with an input power level from an input to an output through a terminal (602), the RF circuit (600) comprising a plurality of clamping circuits (620, 630), each clamping circuit of the plurality of clamping circuits (620, 630) being switchably connectable to the terminal (602) a single one at a time, a clamping circuit (620) having a clamping power different from a clamping power of other clamping circuits of the plurality of clamping circuits (620, 630).
For claim 3, Figure 6 of Stanford et al. teaches wherein a clamping circuit of the plurality of clamping circuits (620, 630) is configured, in a switched-in state, to clamp the input power level of the RF signal at the terminal (602) to an output power level lower than the input power level (602), the clamping circuit comprising one or more control inputs to receive control signals (622, 632) to adjust clamping power of the clamping circuit (620, 630) and select the output power level.
For claim 7, Figure 6 of Stanford et al. teaches wherein each clamping circuit (620, 630) of the plurality of clamping circuits (620, 630) is independently selected from the group consisting of thin oxide transistor, thick oxide transistor, NMOS, and PMOS.
For claims 8 and 23, Figure 6 of Stanford et al. teaches further comprising a single-pole n-throw (SPnT) switch (the switches connected to receive signals 622 and 632) to switchably connect the plurality of clamping circuits (620, 630) to the terminal (602): wherein the SPnT switch comprises an isolation mode (MOD-EN, MOD-SHORT).
For claim 9, it is seen that the operation in the circuitry of Figure 6 of Stanford et al. teaches wherein a clamping power of the clamping circuits (620, 630) once connected to the terminal (602) is a decreasing function of a number of clamping circuits (620, 630) connected to the terminal.
For claims 17, 18, and 20 , it is seen that Figures 4 and 6 of Stanford et al. teaches a low noise amplifier (LNA) comprising the RF circuit (see claim 2 above), the output of the RF circuit being an output of the LNA; an RF front-end comprising the LNA (see Col. 10, lines 59-69, recites that Figure 6 is an RFID front-end 600 similar portions of circuit 420 in Figure 4, and Col. 8, lines 46-65, recites that circuit 424 includes a demodulator and a modulator 446 wherein each is implemented as amplifier); and wherein the LNA includes input attenuators (640, 650 in Figure 6) , and wherein the plurality of clamping circuits (620 and 630 as disposed in Figure 6) is disposed in one of a) a primary input path of the LNA, b) an attenuator input path of the LNA, c) an output of the LNA, d) an output of the receiver front-end, or a combination thereof.
For claim 22, it is seen in Figure 6 of Stanford et al. that teaches wherein a first clamping circuit (630) of the plurality of clamping circuits comprises a diode-connected FET topology (when 630 has a voltage level that is shorted with the drain of the transistor in 630, then it is a diode topology), and a second clamping circuit (620) of the plurality of clamping circuits comprises an antiparallel diode topology (the 2 antiparallel diode MOS transistors in 620).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and upon filing a proper Terminal Disclaimer..
Claims 21 and 24-28 would be allowed upon filing a proper Terminal Disclaimer.
Conclusion
/Long Nguyen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2842