DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Daubenspeck, US 2012/0025383 A1.
Claim 1: Daubenspeck discloses
a substrate (101);
a plurality of electrical contacts (107/108) disposed on an outer surface of the substrate;
a solder resist (106) disposed on the outer surface of the substrate and including an opening (156) defined by a plurality of edges and exposing the plurality of electrical contacts;
and an alpha particle shield (109) disposed proximate to at least one edge, of the plurality of edges (FIG. 1A).
Note: as the present specification and claim 7 indicate, copper is an alpha shielding material. Given the technical context, which is blocking alpha (α) particles, the important aspect of copper is its nucleus, rather than its chemical or electrical properties. Therefore the examiner interprets “copper shield” to be a shield that contains copper in any form, including copper compounds. Daubenspeck [0084] discloses that “BLM layers 109 can comprise, for example, an adhesion layer (e.g., … a nickel-copper (Ni--Cu) layer, … a chromium-copper (Cr--Cu) layer …) on the adhesion layer and a bonding layer (e.g., a copper (Cu) layer, …) on the barrier layer.” Note also that nickel is a known alpha shielding material, and many of the other listed materials are known to block alpha particles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato, US 2015/0371984 A1 in view of Farooq, US 2009/0039515 A1.
Claim 1: Kato discloses
a substrate (10);
a plurality of electrical contacts (43 and/or 44) disposed on an outer surface of the substrate;
a solder resist (46 and/or 42) disposed on the outer surface of the substrate and including an opening (46A, 46B) defined by a plurality of edges (sidewalls) and exposing the plurality of electrical contacts.
Kato does not disclose an alpha particle shield. However, these were known in the art. See Farooq, FIG. 2, alpha particle shield (104, containing alpha blocking material 108, [0020]) disposed as the outer layer of the device.
It would have been obvious to have had such a layer to protect the device from soft errors caused by alpha radiation (Farooq [0004]). In Kato in view of Farooq, the alpha shielding layer 104 would have extended to contact the pad 44A, and thus would have been disposed proximate to at least one edge (the edges of 46), of the plurality of edges.
Claim 3: Kato discloses a polyimide layer (middle of 46, [0046]) disposed on the outer surface of the substrate and surrounding the plurality of electrical contacts. Note that Kato diagrammatically shows only two contacts, which the polyimide layer surrounds partially surrounds, and would completely surround the interior contacts.
In Kato in view of Farooq, the alpha particle shield is coupled to the polyimide layer.
Claim 4: at least a portion of the polyimide layer is disposed between the solder resist and the alpha particle shield. See the annotated FIG. directly above.
Claim 5: the alpha particle shield includes a first substantially planar portion (on the top of 46) and a second substantially planar portion (covering the sidewall of 46) extending at an angle with respect to the first substantially planar portion.
Claim 6: the first substantially planar portion (on the top of 46) extends substantially parallel to the outer surface of the substrate, and wherein the second substantially planar portion (on sidewall of 46) extends, from an edge of the first substantially planar portion, toward the opening of the solder resist.
Claim 7: the alpha particle shield is a copper shield (Farooq [0020], [0028]). Note: given the technical context, which is blocking alpha (α) particles, the important aspect of copper is its nucleus, rather than its chemical or electrical properties. Therefore the examiner interprets “copper shield” to be a shield that contains copper in any form, including copper compounds.
Claim 8: in Kato in view of Farooq, at least a portion of the alpha particle shield is disposed, in a direction, above the solder resist.
Claims 8-10: Farooq at [0028] discloses that the thickness of the alpha particle shield is determined by the composition of the layer and the energy of the potential alpha particles. This, together with the blocking properties of other layers, and the level of risk acceptable, would allow one of skill in the art to determine the desired thickness of the alpha particle shield. Thus the thickness of the alpha particle shield is a result-effective variable, and it would have been within ordinary skill in the art to determine.
Claims 2 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of Farooq in view of Fujimori, US 2020/0303290 A1.
Claim 2: Kato is designed to be attached to a die, but does not show the die. Fujimori shows a semiconductor die (20) disposed above, in a direction, the substrate and electrically coupled to the substrate via the plurality of electrical contacts 30.
The die intended to be attached to Kato would be similarly attached. In Kato in view of Farooq, at least a portion of the alpha particle shield would be disposed, in the direction, between the at least one edge and the semiconductor die.
Claim 11: Kato discloses
a substrate (10);
a plurality of electrical contacts (44) disposed on an outer surface of the substrate;
a solder resist (42 and 46) disposed on the outer surface of the substrate and at least partially surrounding the plurality of electrical contacts;
Claim 2: Kato is designed to be attached to a die, but does not show the die. Fujimori shows a semiconductor die (20) disposed above, in a direction, the substrate and electrically coupled to the substrate via the plurality of electrical contacts 30.
The die intended to be attached to Kato would be similarly attached. In Kato in view of Farooq, at least a portion of the alpha particle shield would be disposed, in the direction, between the at least one edge and the semiconductor die.
and an alpha particle shield disposed between at least a portion of the solder resist and at least a portion of the semiconductor die.
Kato does not disclose an alpha particle shield. However, these were known in the art. See Farooq, FIG. 2, alpha particle shield (104, containing alpha blocking material 108, [0020]) disposed as the outer layer of the device.
It would have been obvious to have had such a layer to protect the device from soft errors caused by alpha radiation (Farooq [0004]). In Kato in view of Farooq, the alpha shielding layer 104 would be disposed between at least a portion of the solder resist and at least a portion of the semiconductor die.
Claim 12: the solder resist includes an opening exposing the plurality of electrical contacts. In Kato in view of Farooq, the alpha particle shield is disposed at an edge of the opening.
Claim 13: Kato discloses a polyimide layer disposed on the outer surface of the substrate and surrounding the plurality of electrical contacts:
In Kato in view of Farooq, the alpha particle shield would be coupled to the polyimide layer.
Claim 14: In Kato in view of Farooq, at least a portion of the polyimide layer is disposed between the solder resist and the alpha particle shield.
Claim 15: the alpha particle shield includes a first substantially planar portion (on top of 46) and a second substantially planar portion (on sidewall of 46) extending at an angle with respect to the first substantially planar portion.
Claim 16: the first substantially planar portion (on top of 46) extends substantially parallel to the outer surface of the substrate, and wherein the second substantially planar (on sidewall of 46) portion extends, from an edge of the first substantially planar portion, toward the plurality of electrical contacts.
Claim 17: the alpha particle shield is a copper shield (Farooq [0020], [0028]). Note: given the technical context, which is blocking alpha (α) particles, the important aspect of copper is its nucleus, rather than its chemical or electrical properties. Therefore the examiner interprets “copper shield” to be a shield that contains copper in any form, including copper compounds.
Claim 18: in Kato in view of Farooq, at least a portion of the alpha particle shield is disposed, in a direction, above the solder resist..
Claims 18-20: Farooq at [0028] discloses that the thickness of the alpha particle shield is determined by the composition of the layer and the energy of the potential alpha particles. This, together with the blocking properties of other layers, and the level of risk acceptable, would allow one of skill in the art to determine the desired thickness of the alpha particle shield. Thus the thickness of the alpha particle shield is a result-effective variable, and it would have been within ordinary skill in the art to determine.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited.
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897