DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
See the new rejections below of claim 1 et seq.
The applicant argues on page 10 of the response that “Independent claim 11 recites similar features to amended independent claim 1. For at least the reasons presented above with regards to independent claim 1, independent claim 11, and the claims that depend thereon, are patentable over the cited sections of the applied references.” The applicant has not amended claim 11, and also has not argued how the rejection was inadequate or improper. The applicant has not identified what “similar features” to claim 1 are specifically relied on. The applicant’s arguments on pages 8 and 9 are not directly related to claim language in 11. The applicant has not given the examiner a basis on which to reconsider the rejection of claim 11. The rejection of claim 11 and its dependent claims are maintained.
See the new rejections below.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “above, in a direction,” which the examiner understands to mean that the claimed direction is generally an upwardly direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshinuma, JP 2004-140089 A.
Claim 1: Yoshinuma discloses
a substrate (11);
a plurality of electrical contacts (under solder bumps 21) disposed on an outer surface of the substrate;
a solder resist (12) disposed on the outer surface of the substrate and including an opening defined by a plurality of edges and exposing the plurality of electrical contacts;
an alpha particle shield (30) disposed proximate to at least one edge, of the plurality of edges;
and a semiconductor die (20) disposed above, in a direction, the substrate and electrically coupled to the substrate via the plurality of electrical contacts, wherein at least a portion of the alpha particle shield is disposed, in the direction, between the at least one edge and the semiconductor die (FIG. 1).
Yoshinuma discloses at [0014] that the underfill 30 can be polyimide, which is a known alpha shielding material.
Claim 3: Yoshinuma discloses a polyimide layer disposed on the outer surface of the substrate and surrounding the plurality of electrical contacts, wherein the alpha particle shield is coupled to the polyimide layer. A lower part of 30 can be considered the claimed polyimide layer, and an upper portion can be considered the alpha shielding material.
Claim 4: at least a portion of the polyimide layer is disposed between the solder resist and the alpha particle shield.
Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin, US 2014/0001645 A1.
Claim 1: Lin discloses
a substrate (201);
a plurality of electrical contacts (1101) disposed on an outer surface of the substrate (FIG. 13B);
a solder resist (1301) disposed on the outer surface of the substrate and including an opening defined by a plurality of edges and exposing the plurality of electrical contacts;
an alpha particle shield (1305) disposed proximate to at least one edge, of the plurality of edges;
“The second UBM layers 1305 may comprise a layer of conductive material, such as a layer of titanium, or a layer of nickel…. chrome/chrome-copper alloy/copper/gold, an arrangement of titanium/titanium tungsten/copper, or an arrangement of copper/nickel/gold, that are suitable for the formation of the second UBM layers 1305.” [0063]. Copper and nickel are known alpha shielding materials.
and a semiconductor die (903) disposed above, in a direction, the substrate and electrically coupled to the substrate via the plurality of electrical contacts (FIG. 12),
wherein at least a portion of the alpha particle shield is disposed, in the direction, between the at least one edge and the semiconductor die.
Claim 3: Lin discloses a polyimide layer (1303, [0062]) disposed on the outer surface of the substrate and surrounding the plurality of electrical contacts, wherein the alpha particle shield is coupled to the polyimide layer (FIG. 13B).
Claim 4: at least a portion of the polyimide layer is disposed between the solder resist and the alpha particle shield (FIG. 13B).
Claim 5: the alpha particle shield includes a first substantially planar portion and a second substantially planar portion extending at an angle with respect to the first substantially planar portion.
Claim 6: the first substantially planar portion extends substantially parallel to the outer surface of the substrate, and wherein the second substantially planar portion extends, from an edge of the first substantially planar portion, toward the opening of the solder resist.
Claim 7: the alpha particle shield is a copper shield ([0063]).
Claim 8: at least a portion of the alpha particle shield is disposed, in the direction, above the solder resist (FIG. 13B), and wherein a thickness of the alpha particle shield, in the direction, is between 2 micrometers and 10 micrometers. “The second UBM layers 1305 may be formed to have a thickness of between about 0.7 µm and about 10 µm, such as about 5 µm.” [0063].
Claim 9: the thickness of the alpha particle shield is approximately 5 micrometers ([0063]).
Claim 10: the thickness of the alpha particle shield is approximately 8 micrometers ([0063]).
Claim 11: Lin discloses
a substrate (201);
a plurality of electrical contacts (1101) disposed on an outer surface of the substrate;
a solder resist (1301) disposed on the outer surface of the substrate and at least partially surrounding the plurality of electrical contacts;
a semiconductor die (903, FIG. 12) electrically coupled to the substrate via the plurality of electrical contacts;
and an alpha particle shield (1305) disposed between at least a portion of the solder resist and at least a portion of the semiconductor die.
Claim 13: Lin discloses a polyimide layer (1303) disposed on the outer surface of the substrate and surrounding the plurality of electrical contacts, wherein the alpha particle shield is coupled to the polyimide layer (FIG. 13B).
Claim 14: at least a portion of the polyimide layer is disposed between the solder resist and the alpha particle shield (FIG. 13B).
Claim 15: the alpha particle shield includes a first substantially planar portion and a second substantially planar portion extending at an angle with respect to the first substantially planar portion.
Claim 16: the first substantially planar portion extends substantially parallel to the outer surface of the substrate, and wherein the second substantially planar portion extends, from an edge of the first substantially planar portion, toward the plurality of electrical contacts.
Claim 17: the alpha particle shield is a copper shield ([0063]).
Claim 18: at least a portion of the alpha particle shield is disposed, in a direction, above the solder resist, and wherein a thickness of the alpha particle shield, in the direction, is between 2 micrometers and 10 micrometers. “The second UBM layers 1305 may be formed to have a thickness of between about 0.7 µm and about 10 µm, such as about 5 µm.” [0063].
Claim 19: the thickness of the alpha particle shield is approximately 5 micrometers. “The second UBM layers 1305 may be formed to have a thickness of between about 0.7 µm and about 10 µm, such as about 5 µm.” [0063].
Claim 20: the thickness of the alpha particle shield is approximately 8 micrometers ([0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin in evidence of Keser, US 2019/0206800 A1. Alternatively, claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Keser. Lin discloses metallization layers 211 disposed in the substrate (See FIG. 10D). Another name for such metallizations is traces. See Keser, [0025], FIG. 1, traces 152. Thus Lin discloses that the substrate further comprises a plurality of traces disposed therein. Alternatively, it was well-known in the art to have traces to distribute electrical signals, as shown by Keser, and it would have been obvious to have had them in Lin for this purpose.
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato, US 2015/0371984 A1 in view of Farooq, US 2009/0039515 A1, and Fujimori, US 2020/0303290 A1.
Claim 11: Kato discloses
a substrate (10);
a plurality of electrical contacts (44) disposed on an outer surface of the substrate;
a solder resist (42 and 46) disposed on the outer surface of the substrate and at least partially surrounding the plurality of electrical contacts.
Kato is designed to be attached to a die, but does not show the die. Fujimori shows a semiconductor die (20) disposed above, in a direction, the substrate and electrically coupled to the substrate via the plurality of electrical contacts 30.
The die intended to be attached to Kato would be similarly attached. In Kato in view of Farooq, at least a portion of the alpha particle shield would be disposed, in the direction, between the at least one edge and the semiconductor die.
Claim 11 also recites an alpha particle shield disposed between at least a portion of the solder resist and at least a portion of the semiconductor die. Kato does not disclose an alpha particle shield. However, these were known in the art. See Farooq, FIG. 2, alpha particle shield (104, containing alpha blocking material 108, [0020]) disposed as the outer layer of the device.
It would have been obvious to have had such a layer to protect the device from soft errors caused by alpha radiation (Farooq [0004]). In Kato in view of Farooq, the alpha shielding layer 104 would be disposed between at least a portion of the solder resist and at least a portion of the semiconductor die.
Claim 12: the solder resist includes an opening exposing the plurality of electrical contacts. In Kato in view of Farooq, the alpha particle shield is disposed at an edge of the opening.
Claim 13: Kato discloses a polyimide layer disposed on the outer surface of the substrate and surrounding the plurality of electrical contacts:
In Kato in view of Farooq, the alpha particle shield would be coupled to the polyimide layer.
Claim 14: In Kato in view of Farooq, at least a portion of the polyimide layer is disposed between the solder resist and the alpha particle shield.
Claim 15: the alpha particle shield includes a first substantially planar portion (on top of 46) and a second substantially planar portion (on sidewall of 46) extending at an angle with respect to the first substantially planar portion.
Claim 16: the first substantially planar portion (on top of 46) extends substantially parallel to the outer surface of the substrate, and wherein the second substantially planar (on sidewall of 46) portion extends, from an edge of the first substantially planar portion, toward the plurality of electrical contacts.
Claim 17: the alpha particle shield is a copper shield (Farooq [0020], [0028]). Note: given the technical context, which is blocking alpha (α) particles, the important aspect of copper is its nucleus, rather than its chemical or electrical properties. Therefore the examiner interprets “copper shield” to be a shield that contains copper in any form, including copper compounds.
Claim 18: in Kato in view of Farooq, at least a portion of the alpha particle shield is disposed, in a direction, above the solder resist..
Claims 18-20: Farooq at [0028] discloses that the thickness of the alpha particle shield is determined by the composition of the layer and the energy of the potential alpha particles. This, together with the blocking properties of other layers, and the level of risk acceptable, would allow one of skill in the art to determine the desired thickness of the alpha particle shield. Thus the thickness of the alpha particle shield is a result-effective variable, and it would have been within ordinary skill in the art to determine.
Conclusion
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897