DETAILED ACTION
This application includes independent claims 1 and 13; and dependent claims 2-12 and 14-24.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 12, 13, 15-18, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bastian, II et al. (US 2017/0066592)) in view of Kurz et al. (US 2014/0254874).
Regarding independent claim 1, Bastian discloses an autonomous guided vehicle comprising: a frame (1202) with a payload hold (1212); a drive section (1206) coupled to the frame with drive wheels (1102) supporting the autonomous guided vehicle on a traverse surface, the drive wheels effect vehicle traverse on the traverse surface moving the autonomous guided vehicle over the traverse surface in a facility; a payload handler (1216) coupled to the frame configured to transfer a payload, with a flat undeterministic seating surface (see at least para. 0083) seated in the payload hold, to and from the payload hold of the autonomous guided vehicle and a storage location, of the payload, in a storage array (see Fig. 12); a vision system (1224) mounted to the frame, having more than one camera (see para. 0100) disposed to generate binocular images (see para. 0100) of a field of a logistic space including rack structure shelving (1204) on which more than one objects are stored; and a controller, communicably connected to the vision system so as to register the binocular images (see paras 0077 and 0100). Bastian discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose that the controller is configured to effect stereo matching, from the binocular images, resolving a dense depth map of imaged objects in the field, and the controller is configured to detect from the binocular images, stereo sets of keypoints, each set of keypoints setting out, separate and distinct from each other set, a common predetermined characteristic of each imaged object, so that the controller determines from the stereo sets of keypoints depth resolution of each object separate and distinct from the dense depth map; wherein the controller has an object extractor configured to determine location and pose of each imaged object from both the dense depth map resolved from the binocular images and the depth resolution from the stereo sets of keypoints. Bastian does not disclose how the stereo images are processed. However, Kurz discloses a similar vision system which includes a controller configured to effect stereo matching, from binocular images, resolving a dense depth map of imaged objects in the field, and the controller is configured to detect from the binocular images, stereo sets of keypoints, each set of keypoints setting out, separate and distinct from each other set, a common predetermined characteristic of each imaged object, so that the controller determines from the stereo sets of keypoints depth resolution of each object separate and distinct from the dense depth map (see Fig. 8 and para. 0135); wherein the controller has an object extractor configured to determine location and pose of each imaged object from both the dense depth map resolved from the binocular images and the depth resolution from the stereo sets of keypoints (see Fig. 8 and paras. 0135) for the purpose of processing stereo images received from cameras. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to utilize a controller configured to detect from the binocular images, stereo sets of keypoints, each set of keypoints setting out, separate and distinct from each other set, a common predetermined characteristic of each imaged object, so that the controller determines from the stereo sets of keypoints depth resolution of each object separate and distinct from the dense depth map; wherein the controller has an object extractor configured to determine location and pose of each imaged object from both the dense depth map resolved from the binocular images and the depth resolution from the stereo sets of keypoints, as disclosed by Kurtz, for the purpose of processing stereo images received from the cameras.
Regarding independent claim 13, Bastian discloses an autonomous guided vehicle comprising: a frame (1202) with a payload hold (1212); a drive section (1206) coupled to the frame with drive wheels (1102) supporting the autonomous guided vehicle on a traverse surface, the drive wheels effect vehicle traverse on the traverse surface moving the autonomous guided vehicle over the traverse surface in a facility; a payload handler (1216) coupled to the frame configured to transfer a payload, with a flat undeterministic seating surface (see at least para. 0083) seated in the payload hold, to and from the payload hold of the autonomous guided vehicle and a storage location, of the payload, in a storage array (see Fig. 12); a vision system (1224) mounted to the frame, having more than one camera (see para. 0100) disposed to generate binocular images (see para. 0100) of a field of a logistic space including rack structure shelving (1204) on which more than one objects are stored; and a controller, communicably connected to the vision system so as to register the binocular images (see paras 0077 and 0100). Bastian discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose that the controller is configured to effect stereo matching, from the binocular images, resolving a dense depth map of imaged objects in the field, and the controller is configured to detect from the binocular images, stereo sets of keypoints, each set of keypoints setting out, separate and distinct from each other set, a common predetermined characteristic of each imaged object, so that the controller determines from the stereo sets of keypoints depth resolution of each object separate and distinct from the dense depth map; wherein the controller has an object extractor configured to identify location and pose of each imaged object based on superpose of stereo sets of keypoints depth resolution and depth map. Bastian does not disclose how the stereo images are processed. However, Kurz discloses a similar vision system which includes a controller configured to effect stereo matching, from binocular images, resolving a dense depth map of imaged objects in the field, and the controller is configured to detect from the binocular images, stereo sets of keypoints, each set of keypoints setting out, separate and distinct from each other set, a common predetermined characteristic of each imaged object, so that the controller determines from the stereo sets of keypoints depth resolution of each object separate and distinct from the dense depth map (see at least Fig. 8 and para. 0135); wherein the controller has an object extractor configured to identify location and pose of each imaged object based on superpose of stereo sets of keypoints depth resolution and depth map (see at least Fig. 8 and para. 0135) for the purpose of processing stereo images received from cameras. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to utilize a controller configured to detect from the binocular images, stereo sets of keypoints, each set of keypoints setting out, separate and distinct from each other set, a common predetermined characteristic of each imaged object, so that the controller determines from the stereo sets of keypoints depth resolution of each object separate and distinct from the dense depth map; wherein the controller has an object extractor configured to identify location and pose of each imaged object based on superpose of stereo sets of keypoints depth resolution and depth map, as disclosed by Kurtz, for the purpose of processing stereo images received from cameras.
Regarding dependent claims 3-6, 12, 15-18, and 24, Bastian discloses that the more than one camera generate a video stream and the registered images are parsed from the video stream (see at least para. 0100); the more than one camera are unsynchronized with each other (see at least para. 0100); the binocular images are generated with the vehicle in motion past the objects (see at least para. 0078); the more than one objects on the racks structure are dynamically positioned in closely packed juxtaposition with respect to each other (see at least para. 0083); and the controller is configured to generate at least one of an execute command and a stop command of a bot actuator based on the determined location and pose (see at least paras. 0081-0082).
Claim(s) 2 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bastian, II et al. (US 2017/0066592)) in view of Kurz et al. (US 2014/0254874) and further in view of Baldwin (US 11,317,031). The combination of Batian and Kurtz discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose that the more than one camera are rolling shutter cameras. However, Baldwin discloses a similar device which utilizes a rolling shutter camera (see col. 3, line 66) for the purpose acquiring images in areas having strong ambient illumination (see col. 2, lines 30-45). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention, to utilize rolling shutter cameras, as disclosed by Baldwin, for the purpose acquiring images in areas having strong ambient illumination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 and 19-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li et al. (US 12,534,297) and Panzarella et al. (US 2025/0181081) disclose autonomous guided vehicles, used to pick items from storage locations, which utilize vision systems which extract cloud point data from stereo images to identify items.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653