DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Amendments/Remarks filed on May 20, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9, 12-13, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0266060 A1 to Cheng et al. (“Cheng”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0222483 A1 to Naylor et al. (“Naylor”). As to claim 1, although Cheng discloses a field effect transistor comprising: a substrate (100); a channel layer (112, 114, 116) on the substrate (100); a first composite electrode layer (140, 150, 190) connected to a first side of the channel layer (112, 114, 116); a second composite electrode layer (140, 150, 190) connected to a second side of the channel layer (112, 114, 116); a gate electrode layer (174) between the first composite electrode layer (140, 150, 190) and the second composite electrode layer (140, 150, 190); and a high-k gate dielectric layer (172) between the channel layer (112, 114, 116) and the gate electrode layer (174), wherein at least one of the first (140, 150, 190) and second (140, 150, 190) composite electrode layers comprises a contact resistance reducing layer (140) in contact with the channel layer (112, 114, 116), and a conductive layer (190) on the contact resistance reducing layer (140) and spaced apart from the channel layer (112, 114, 116), wherein a length of the channel layer (112, 114, 116) is longer than the gate electrode layer (174) in a horizontal direction, the horizontal direction parallel to an upper surface of the substrate (100), and wherein the first composite electrode layer (140, 150, 190) and the second composite electrode layer (140, 150, 190) are disposed on the channel layer (112, 114, 116) such that the first composite electrode layer (140, 150, 190) and the second composite electrode layer (140, 150, 190) are isolated from each other and separated from the gate electrode layer (174) (See Fig. 1, ¶ 0002, ¶ 0036-¶ 0041, ¶ 0061-¶ 0064, ¶ 0086, ¶ 0087), Cheng does not further disclose wherein the channel layer including a transition metal dichalcogenide (TMD). However, Naylor does disclose wherein the channel layer including a transition metal dichalcogenide (TMD) (See Fig. 2, Fig. 6, ¶ 0021, ¶ 0023, ¶ 0038, ¶ 0044, ¶ 0046, ¶ 0100, ¶ 0101).
In view of teaching Naylor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Cheng to have wherein the channel layer including a transition metal dichalcogenide (TMD) because the TMD provides high charge-carrier mobilities and high conductivity while being a thin layer (See ¶ 0021, ¶ 0038). As to claim 2, Cheng further discloses wherein the contact resistance reducing layer (140) comprises silicide (See ¶ 0061-¶ 0064) (Notes: the limitation “silicide” is defined as a compound of two elements, one of which is silicon by Dictionary.com). As to claim 4, Cheng discloses further comprising: a low-k dielectric layer (interfacial silicon oxide layer) between the high-k gate dielectric layer (172) and the channel layer (112, 114, 116) (See ¶ 0037). As to claim 5, Cheng further discloses wherein the contact resistance reducing layer (140) and the low-k dielectric layer (interfacial silicon oxide layer) share an elemental component (silicon) (See ¶ 0037, ¶ 0061-¶ 0064). As to claim 6, Cheng further discloses wherein the low-k dielectric layer (interfacial silicon oxide layer) comprises an oxide layer including at least one of Si and Ge (See ¶ 0037). As to claim 7, Cheng further discloses wherein the conductive layer (190) includes one or more types of metal (See ¶ 0086) As to claim 9, Cheng in view of Naylor further discloses wherein the channel layer (112, 114, 116) includes a semiconductor material having a band gap of 0.1 eV or more (See Naylor ¶ 0046 and [0076] of the Specification). As to claim 12, Cheng further discloses wherein the channel layer (112, 114, 116) comprises: a plurality of sub-channel layers (112, 114, 116) sequentially stacked in a direction perpendicular to a surface of the substrate (100) and spaced apart from each other in the perpendicular direction, and the high-k gate dielectric layer (172) and the gate electrode layer (174) surround each of the plurality of sub-channel layers (112, 114, 116) (See Fig. 1). As to claim 13, Cheng discloses further comprising: a plurality of insulating layers (138) connecting the first composite electrode layer (140, 150, 190) and the second composite electrode layer (140, 150, 190) to each other, the plurality of insulating layers (138) sequentially stacked in a direction perpendicular to a surface of the substrate (100) and spaced apart from each other, wherein the channel layer (112, 114, 116) has a three-dimensional structure surrounding the plurality of insulating layers (138), and the high-k gate dielectric layer (172) and the gate electrode layer (174) surround each of the plurality of insulating layers (138) on the channel layer (112, 114, 116) (See Fig. 1) (Notes: the gate dielectric layer and the gate electrode layer of the gate all around structure sandwich and surround the insulating layers on the channel layer). As to claim 28, Cheng in view of Naylor discloses an electronic device comprising: a switching element (625); and a data storage (650) connected to the switching element (625), wherein the switching element (625) comprises the field effect transistor of claim 1 (See Cheng ¶ 0087 and Naylor Fig. 6, ¶ 0101). As to claim 29, Cheng in view of Naylor discloses an electronic apparatus comprising the transistor of claim 1 (See Cheng ¶ 0087 and Naylor Fig. 6, ¶ 0101).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0266060 A1 to Cheng et al. (“Cheng”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0222483 A1 to Naylor et al. (“Naylor”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0199797 A1 to Naskar et al. (“Naskar”). The teachings of Cheng and Naylor have been discussed above.
As to claim 8, although Cheng discloses the conductive layer (190), Cheng and Naylor do not further disclose wherein the conductive layer includes at least one of Ti, Ni, Mo, W, Co, Pt, Hf, Ta, Cu, Cr, Yb, Er, or Pd. However, Naskar does disclose wherein the conductive layer (440B, 442B) includes at least one of Ti, Ni, Mo, W, Co, Pt, Hf, Ta, Cu, Cr, Yb, Er, or Pd (See ¶ 0138). In view of teaching Naskar, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Cheng to have wherein the conductive layer includes at least one of Ti, Ni, Mo, W, Co, Pt, Hf, Ta, Cu, Cr, Yb, Er, or Pd because Ti, Ni, Mo, W, Co, Pt, Hf, Ta, Cu, Cr, Yb, Er, and Pd are known metal materials to provide low resistivity for the conductive layer (See ¶ 0138).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0266060 A1 to Cheng et al. (“Cheng”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0222483 A1 to Naylor et al. (“Naylor”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0295732 A1 to Wu et al. (“Wu”). The teachings of Cheng and Naylor have been discussed above. As to claim 10, although Cheng and Naylor do not further disclose wherein the contact resistance reducing layer includes two different types of metal and at least one of Si or Ge, Cheng in view of Wu further discloses wherein the contact resistance reducing layer (140/Wu ¶ 0045) includes two different types of metal and at least one of Si or Ge (See Wu ¶ 0045 and Claim 5), where the contact resistance reducing layer of a metal silicide comprising a compound of silicon and one or metals is commonly provided to reduce the contact resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815