DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 11/12/2025 with respect to claims 1, 11 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamouilian et al (US Patent No. 5822171) in view of Nozawa et al (US Patent No. 5255153).
Regarding claim 1, Shamouilian discloses an electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+), comprising: a conductive base (25); a ceramic body (110), having an inner side (35b) that is attached to the conductive base (25), and an outer side (35a) opposing the inner side (35b) and configured to face a substrate (45), the ceramic body (25) including an electrode assembly (130, 135); and a charge control assembly (238), the charge control assembly (238) defining an electrically conductive structure (75, 25) that is isolated (i.e., via 265, 162, fig. 2a, Col. 13 lines 13+) from the electrode assembly (130, 135) and extends through the conductive base (25) to an upper surface (40) of the outer side (35a) of the ceramic body (110).
Shamouilian does not explicitly disclose that is configured to contact the substrate.
Nozawa discloses an electrostatic chuck and plasma apparatus equipped therewith (i.e., see for example fig. 1, Col. 3, lines 36+); wherein that (i.e., the power supply member 42 such that one end of the member 42 does not project over or be buried in the upper surface 44 on which the holding member 40 is placed; see for example fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 59+) configured to contact (i.e., The contact 54 is formed by partially removing the reverse side polyimide member and exposing a part of the conductive member; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 14+) the substrate (i.e., wafer 4; see for example fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 54+).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the wafer-contact configuration in Shamouilian, as taught by Nozawa, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards ensuring consistency and reliability of the chuck clamping force regardless of the materials surface conditions.
Regarding claim 2, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); the charge control assembly (238) comprising: a conductive pin (170, fig. 2a, Col. 13 lines 13+), extending through the conductive base (25); an embedded layer (50), disposed within the ceramic body (110), and electrically isolated (i.e., via 265, 162) from the conductive base (25) and the electrode assembly (130, 135); and a surface coating 55, connected to the embedded layer (50) and being disposed over a substrate support structure (75) of the ceramic body (110) (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+).
Regarding claim 3, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); wherein the embedded layer (50, fig. 2a, Col. 13 lines 13+) comprises a mesh, a foil, screen print or a deposited layer (i.e., sputter deposition techniques, conventional copper plating techniques, etc., see for example; Method of Manufacturing Chuck, Col. 16 lines 65+).
Regarding claim 4, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); wherein the surface coating (55, fig. 2a, Col. 13 lines 13+) is disposed in a plurality of conductive segments (65/67) that are disposed to touch a substrate (45, fig. 2a, Col. 13 lines 13+), when placed on the ceramic body (110) (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+).
Regarding claim 5, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); wherein the plurality of conductive segments (65/67, fig. 2a, Col. 13 lines 13+) comprises two or more conductive segments (i.e., multi-component contact assembly), arranged symmetrically along a periphery (115, fig. 6a, Col. 17 lines 25+) of the ceramic body (110) (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+).
Regarding claim 6, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); wherein the plurality of conductive segments (65/67, fig. 7a, Col. 13 lines 13+) occupies less than ten degrees (i.e., it has been measured from fig. 7a; and the angle’s read [8.6°]) of arc along a periphery (115) of the ceramic body (110) (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+).
Regarding claim 7, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); wherein the ceramic body (110) further comprises: a sealing ring (190b, fig. 2a, Col. 13 lines 13+), disposed along a perimeter of the conductive coating (165), the sealing ring (190b) defining the upper surface (40) of the outer side (35a) of the ceramic body (110); and a gas cooling channel (52), disposed inside of the sealing ring (190b), wherein the surface coating (165) extends in a continuous fashion over the sealing ring (190b) and gas cooling channel (52), and wherein the embedded layer (50) extends at least into the gas cooling channel (52) (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+) (190b, fig. 2a, Col. 13 lines 13+).
Regarding claim 8, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); wherein the charge control assembly (238) is electrically isolated (265, 162, fig. 2a, Col. 13 lines 13+) from the conductive base (25), wherein the charge control assembly (238) further comprises a switch (140), arranged to reversibly couple or decouple the electrically conductive structure (75, 25) from an external ground or an external voltage source (87) (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+) (265, 162, fig. 2a, Col. 13 lines 13+).
Regarding claim 10, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); the charge control assembly (238) further comprising a monitor (85, 90), coupled to the electrically conductive structure (75, 25), to determine a charge state of the electrostatic clamp (20) (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+).
Regarding claim 11, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); comprising: a process chamber (80); and an electrostatic clamp system (20), disposed within the process chamber (80), the electrostatic clamp system (20) comprising: a conductive base (25); a ceramic body (110), having an inner side (35b) that is attached to the conductive base (25), and an outer side (35a) opposing the inner side (35b) and configured to face a substrate (45), the ceramic body (110) including an electrode assembly (130, 135); and a charge control assembly (238), the charge control assembly (238) defining an electrically conductive structure (75, 25) that is isolated (265, 162, fig. 2a, Col. 13, lines 13+) from the electrode assembly (130, 135) and extends through the conductive base (25) to an upper surface (40) of the outer side (35a) of the ceramic body (110) (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+).
Nozawa furthermore discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 1, Col. 3, lines 36+); wherein that (i.e., the power supply member 42 such that one end of the member 42 does not project over or be buried in the upper surface 44 on which the holding member 40 is placed; see for example fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 59+) configured to contact (i.e., The contact 54 is formed by partially removing the reverse side polyimide member and exposing a part of the conductive member; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 14+) the substrate (i.e., wafer 4; see for example fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 54+).
Regarding claim 12, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); the charge control assembly (238) comprising: a conductive pin (170, fig. 2a, Col. 13, lines 13+), extending through the conductive base (25); an embedded layer (50), disposed within the ceramic body (110), and electrically isolated (265, 162) from the conductive base (25) and the electrode assembly (130, 135); and a surface coating (55), connected to the embedded layer (50) and being disposed over a substrate support structure (75, 25) of the ceramic body (110) (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+).
Regarding claim 13, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); wherein the embedded layer (50, fig. 2a, Col. 13, lines 13+) comprises a mesh, a foil, screen print or a deposited layer (i.e., sputter deposition techniques, conventional copper plating techniques, etc., see for example; Method of Manufacturing Chuck, Col. 16 lines 65+).
Regarding claim 14, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); wherein the surface coating (55, fig. 2a, Col. 13, lines 13+) is disposed in a plurality of conductive segments (65/67, fig. 6a, Col. 17 lines 25+) that are disposed to touch a substrate (45), when placed on the ceramic body (110).
Regarding claim 15, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); wherein the plurality of conductive segments (65/67, fig. 6a, Col. 17 lines 25+) comprise two or more conductive segments (i.e., multi-component contact assembly), arranged symmetrically along a periphery (115) of the ceramic body (110).
Regarding claim 16, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); wherein the plurality of conductive segments (65/67, fig. 7a, Col. 13 lines 13+) occupies less than ten degrees (i.e., it has been measured from fig. 7a; and the angle’s read [8.6°]) of arc along a periphery (115) of the ceramic body (110).
Regarding claim 17, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); wherein the ceramic body (110) further comprises: a sealing ring (190b, fig. 2a, Col. 13 lines 13+), disposed along a perimeter of the conductive coating (165), the sealing ring (190b) defining the upper surface (40) of the outer side (35a) of the ceramic body (110); and a gas cooling channel (52), disposed inside of the sealing ring (190), wherein the surface coating (165) extends in a continuous fashion over the sealing ring (190b) and gas cooling channel (52), and wherein the embedded layer (50) extends at least into the gas cooling channel (52).
Regarding claim 18, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); wherein the charge control assembly (238) is electrically isolated (265, 162, fig. 2a, Col. 13 lines 13+) from the conductive base (25), wherein the charge control assembly (238) further comprises a switch (140), arranged to reversibly couple or decouple the electrically conductive structure (75, 25) from an external ground or an external voltage source (87).
Regarding claim 19, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); a method of processing a substrate (80, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+), comprising: placing the substrate (45) on an electrostatic clamp system (20), wherein the electrostatic clamp system (20) comprises: a conductive base (25); a ceramic body (110), having an inner side (35b) that is attached to the conductive base (25), and an outer side (35a) opposing the inner side (35b) and configured to face a substrate (45), the ceramic body (110) including an electrode assembly (130, 135); and a charge control assembly (238), the charge control assembly (238) defining an electrically conductive structure (75, 25) that is isolated (65/67, fig. 2a, Col. 13, lines 13+) from the electrode assembly (130, 135) and extends through the conductive base (25) to a surface coating (55) disposed on an upper surface (40) of the outer side (35a) of the ceramic body (110); and reversibly electrically connecting the surface coating (55) via the charge control assembly (238) to an external ground (GND) or to an external voltage source (87).
Nozawa furthermore discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 1, Col. 3, lines 36+); wherein that (i.e., the power supply member 42 such that one end of the member 42 does not project over or be buried in the upper surface 44 on which the holding member 40 is placed; see for example fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 59+) configured to contact (i.e., The contact 54 is formed by partially removing the reverse side polyimide member and exposing a part of the conductive member; see for example fig. 4, Col. 5 lines 14+) the substrate (i.e., wafer 4; see for example fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 54+).
Regarding claim 20, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); further comprising: processing the substrate (45) while the substrate (45) is clamped to the electrostatic clamp system (20); and electrically connecting the surface coating (55, fig. 2a, Col. 13 lines 13+) to an external monitor (85, 90) to monitor a charge state of the surface coating (55) after the processing or during the processing (see; Method of Manufacturing Chuck, Col. 16 lines 65+).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamouilian et al (US Patent No. 5822171) in view of Nozawa et al (US Patent No. 5255153) and further in view of Bhatnagar (US Patent No. 8043433).
Regarding claim 9, Shamouilian in view of Nozawa and the teachings of Shamouilian as modified by Nozawa have been discussed above.
Shamouilian further discloses the electrostatic clamp system (20, fig. 1c, Col. 8 lines 8+); wherein the surface coating (55, fig. 2a, Col. 13 lines 13+) comprises doped-diamondlike carbon (i.e., plasma erosion resistant materials; silicon, diamondlike, carbon, etc.).
Neither Shamouilian nor Nozawa explicitly disclose Yttrium, Titanium, Titanium Nitride, and Molybdenum.
Bhatnagar discloses a high efficiency electrostatic chuck for holding a substrate in a processing volume (100, fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 1+); wherein the surface (118) coating comprises TIN, Y, Ti, or Mo.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the erosion-resistant materials in Shamouilian, as taught by Bhatnagar, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the thermal stability, corrosion resistance, and electrical insulation properties, thereby enhancing the performance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838