DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/3/2024, 5/9/2024, 1/29/2025, 6/30/2025 is in compliance /with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argued that the prior art does not teach the amended limitations. However as shown in the rejection below, Chou in view of Yang discloses the entire claimed limitations.
Therefore for afore mentioned reasons, the rejection is deemed proper and considered final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 18, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al (US 2009/0294780; hereinafter Chou) in view of Yang et al (US 2017/0077360; hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 1, Figs 2 and 9 of Chou discloses an LED package comprising:
a housing (30; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]) comprising a first cavity (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]) for a first LED (24; Fig 9; ¶ [0036]), a second cavity (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]) for a second LED (24; Fig 9; ¶ [0036]), a third cavity (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]) for a third LED (24; Fig 9; ¶ [0036]) and a fourth cavity (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]) for a fourth LED (24; Fig 9; ¶ [0036]); and
a lead frame comprising respective anode (34 (on corners); Figs 3/9; ¶ [0038]) and cathode regions (36; Figs 3/9; ¶ [0038]) for each cavity, wherein each anode region comprises an anode electrode portion on a floor (Fig 3) of the cavity and each cathode region comprises a cathode electrode portion (36; Fig 3; ¶ [0039]) on a floor of the cavity and wherein the anode and cathode terminals are disposed along opposing sides of the housing and are aligned with each other. (Figs 3 and 9)
However Chou did not expressly disclose an anode terminal portion extending beyond an outer surface of the housing and a cathode terminal portion extending beyond an outer surface of the housing.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 1 of Yang discloses an anode terminal portion (26/22; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) extending beyond an outer surface of a housing (16; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) and a cathode terminal portion (28/24; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) extending beyond an outer surface of the housing (16; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that an anode terminal portion extending beyond an outer surface of the housing and a cathode terminal portion extending beyond an outer surface of the housing in order to form the electrical connectors on the base that are electrically connected to corresponding electrode contact pads (¶ [0052]).
Regarding claim 2, Figs 2 and 9 of Chou discloses the first cavity (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]), the second cavity (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]), the third cavity (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]) and the fourth cavity (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]) comprise a two by two array. (Fig 2)
Regarding claim 3, Figs 2 and 9 of Chou discloses cavities are in rows (Fig 2) and the anode or the cathode region (36; Figs 3/9; ¶ [0038]) for cavities in a row pass (Figs 2 and 9) through the adjacent cavity of said row (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 4, Figs 2 and 9 of Chou in view of Yang as modified above in claim 1 (Fig 1 of Yang in particular) discloses each of the anode terminal portions (26/22; Fig 1; ¶ [0052] of Yang) is disposed on a first side of the housing (16; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) and each of the cathode terminal portions (28/24; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) is disposed on a second opposing side of the housing (16; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]).
Regarding claim 5, Figs 2 and 9 of Chou in view of Yang as modified above in claim 1 (Fig 1 of Yang in particular) discloses each of the anode (26/22; Fig 1; ¶ [0052] of Yang) and cathode terminal portions (28/24; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) are located along a line across from one another (Figs 3 and 9).
Regarding claim 7, Figs 2 and 9 of Chou discloses a light emitting device comprising:
a first LED (24; Fig 9; ¶ [0036]);
a second LED (24; Fig 9; ¶ [0036]);
a third LED (24; Fig 9; ¶ [0036]);
a fourth LED (24; Fig 9; ¶ [0036]); and
an LED package (Figs 2 and 9)’
wherein the LED package comprises a housing (30; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]) comprising a first cavity (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]) for a first LED (24; Fig 9; ¶ [0036]), a second cavity (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]) for a second LED (24; Fig 9; ¶ [0036]), a third cavity (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]) for a third LED (24; Fig 9; ¶ [0036]) and a fourth cavity (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]) for a fourth LED (24; Fig 9; ¶ [0036]); and
a lead frame comprising respective anode (34 (on corners); Figs 3/9; ¶ [0038]) and cathode regions (36; Figs 3/9; ¶ [0038]) for each cavity, wherein each anode region comprises an anode electrode portion on a floor (Fig 3) of the cavity and each cathode region comprises a cathode electrode portion (36; Fig 3; ¶ [0039]) on a floor of the cavity and wherein the anode and cathode terminals are disposed along opposing sides of the housing and are aligned with each other. (Figs 3 and 9)
However Chou did not expressly disclose an anode terminal portion extending beyond an outer surface of the housing and a cathode terminal portion extending beyond an outer surface of the housing.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 1 of Yang discloses an anode terminal portion (26/22; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) extending beyond an outer surface of a housing (16; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) and a cathode terminal portion (28/24; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) extending beyond an outer surface of the housing (16; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that an anode terminal portion extending beyond an outer surface of the housing and a cathode terminal portion extending beyond an outer surface of the housing in order to form the electrical connectors on the base that are electrically connected to corresponding electrode contact pads (¶ [0052]).
Regarding claim 8, Figs 2 and 9 of Chou discloses the first cavity (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]), the second cavity (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]), the third cavity (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]) and the fourth cavity (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]) comprise a two by two array. (Fig 2)
Regarding claim 9, Figs 2 and 9 of Chou discloses cavities are in rows (Fig 2) and the anode or the cathode region (36; Figs 3/9; ¶ [0038]) for cavities in a row pass (Figs 2 and 9) through the adjacent cavity of said row (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 18, Figs 2 and 9 of Chou discloses a multi-cavity lead frame package comprising:
a housing (30; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]) comprising four independent cavities (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]);
four cathode terminals (36; Figs 3/9; ¶ [0038]) disposed along a first side of the housing; and
four anode terminals (36; Figs 3/9; ¶ [0038]) disposed along a second opposite side of the housing.
Regarding claim 20, Figs 2 and 9 of Chou discloses the four independent cavities comprise a two by two array (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 21, Figs 2 and 9 of Chou discloses each cavity has one cathode (36; Figs 3/9; ¶ [0038]) which is part of the cavity and one anode (36; Figs 3/9; ¶ [0038]) that is part of an adjacent cavity (Figs 2 and 9).
However Chou did not expressly disclose an anode terminal portion extending beyond an outer surface of the housing and a cathode terminal portion extending beyond an outer surface of the housing.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 1 of Yang discloses an anode terminal portion (26/22; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) extending beyond an outer surface of a housing (16; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) and a cathode terminal portion (28/24; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]) extending beyond an outer surface of the housing (16; Fig 1; ¶ [0052]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that an anode terminal portion extending beyond an outer surface of the housing and a cathode terminal portion extending beyond an outer surface of the housing in order to form the electrical connectors on the base that are electrically connected to corresponding electrode contact pads (¶ [0052]).
Claim(s) 6, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al (US 2009/0294780; hereinafter Chou) in view of Yang et al (US 2017/0077360; hereinafter Yang) and further in view of Huang (US 2020/0068103; hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 6, Chou does not expressly disclose the package is a 3838 package.
In the same field of endeavor, Huang discloses the LED packages is 3838 package. (¶ [0096])
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that the LED package is 3838 package for the purpose of using well known and suitable LED package with dimensions that are known in the art (¶ [0096]).
Regarding claim 19, Chou does not expressly disclose the package is a 3838 package.
In the same field of endeavor, Huang discloses the LED packages is 3838 package. (¶ [0096])
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that the LED package is 3838 package for the purpose of using well known and suitable LED package with dimensions that are known in the art (¶ [0096]).
Claim(s) 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al (US 2009/0294780; hereinafter Chou) in view of Yang et al (US 2017/0077360; hereinafter Yang) and further in view of Todorov et al (US 2016/0372638; hereinafter Todov).
Regarding claim 10, Chou discloses the first LED is Phosphor-converted RED-LED (¶ [0039]).
However Chou does not expressly disclose a narrowband red phosphor.
In the same field of endeavor, Todov discloses a photoluminescence material can comprise narrowband red phosphor (124; Fig 4; ¶ [0085]) which comprises K2SiF6:Mn4+ (¶ [0085]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a phosphor comprises narrowband red phosphor that comprises K2SiF6:Mn4+ in order to achieve the light of desired wavelength and also LED may exhibit very high luminous flux levels while providing excellent color rendering performance (¶ [0049]).
Regarding claim 11, Chou in view of Todov as modified above in claim 10 discloses the narrowband red phosphor is K2SiF6:Mn4+ (¶ [0085] of Todov).
Regarding claim 12, Figs 2 and 9 of Chou discloses the Phosphor-converted RED-LED comprises a broadband red phosphor (¶ [0047]).
Regarding claim 13, Figs 2 and 9 of Chou discloses the broadband red phosphor is : (Sr,Ca)AlSiN3:Eu2+ (¶ [0047]).
Regarding claim 14, Figs 2 and 9 of Chou discloses the second LED (24; Fig 9; ¶ [0036]) is a Phosphor-Converted Green LED comprising green phosphor (Figs 2 and 9).
Regarding claim 15, Chou does not expressly disclose the device is for generating light of a chromaticity lying on, or near, the black body curve with a CCT that is tunable by controlling the ratio of intensities of at least two different color LEDs independently.
In the same field of endeavor, Todov discloses the device is for generating light of a chromaticity lying on, or near, the black body curve with a CCT that is tunable by controlling the ratio of intensities of at least two different color LEDs independently. (Fig 1)
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art such that the device is for generating light of a chromaticity as claimed for the purpose of obtaining the light of desired wavelengths such that desired color can be obtained. (¶ [0053])
Regarding claim 16, Chou in view of Todov as modified above in claim 15 discloses the device is for generating light of a chromaticity that is within 0.006Δuv of the black body curve (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 17, Figs 2 and 9 of Chou discloses the first LED comprises a Phosphor-converted RED-LED, the second LED comprises Phosphor-Converted Green-LED, the third LED comprises a Direct emitting blue-LED and the fourth LED comprises a White-LED for generating light (¶ [0039]).
However Chou does not expressly disclose white LED for generating light of a CCT in a range 1800K to 5000K.
In the same field of endeavor, Figs 10 and 4 of Todorov discloses a white LED for generating light with a CCT of at least 1800 K (¶ [0056]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a white LED for generating light with a CCT of at least 1800 K as taught by Todorov for the purpose of using well known and suitable white LED for generating light with a claimed CCT.
Claim(s) 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al (US 2009/0294780; hereinafter Chou) in view of Todorov et al (US 2016/0372638; hereinafter Todov).
Regarding claim 22, Figs 2 and 9 of Chou discloses a light emitting device comprising:
a multi-cavity (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]) lead frame (30; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]) package comprising four independent cavities (32; Fig 9; ¶ [0037]); and
at least two different color LEDs (24; Fig 9; ¶ [0036]),
wherein one of said at least two different color LEDs is a Phosphor-converted Red-LED (¶ [0039]).
However Chou does not expressly disclose a narrowband red phosphor, and
wherein the device is for generating light of a chromaticity lying on or near the black body curve with a CCT that is tunable by controlling the ratio of intensities of the at least two different color LEDs independently.
In the same field of endeavor, Todov discloses a photoluminescence material can comprise narrowband red phosphor (124; Fig 4; ¶ [0085]) which comprises K2SiF6:Mn4+ (¶ [0085]) and a broadband red phosphor (Fig 4).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a phosphor comprises narrowband red phosphor that comprises K2SiF6:Mn4+ and a broadband phosphor in order to achieve the light of desired wavelength and also LED may exhibit very high luminous flux levels while providing excellent color rendering performance (¶ [0049]).
In the same field of endeavor, Todov discloses the device is for generating light of a chromaticity lying on, or near, the black body curve with a CCT that is tunable by controlling the ratio of intensities of at least two different color LEDs independently. (Fig 1)
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art such that the device is for generating light of a chromaticity as claimed for the purpose of obtaining the light of desired wavelengths such that desired color can be obtained. (¶ [0053])
Regarding claim 23, Chou in view of Todov as modified above in claim 22 discloses the device is for generating light of a chromaticity that is within 0.006Δuv of the black body curve (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 24, Chou in view of Todov as modified above in claim 22 discloses the narrowband red phosphor is K2SiF6:Mn4+ (¶ [0085] of Todov).
Regarding claim 26, Figs 2 and 9 of Chou discloses the broadband red phosphor is : (Sr,Ca)AlSiN3:Eu2+ (¶ [0047]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tudorica et al (US 9905735)
Li et al (US 2012/0155076)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817