Drawings
1. The drawings are objected to because:
· The reference numerals in all figures are handwritten and not clearly legible, making it unclear which components are being identified. For example, it is unclear whether a 1, 7, or ^ is being used; and a 0 or θ is being used.
· The reference numeral, 116 “Deformation space” in Fig. 2, is only present in a list of reference signs, and not actually described in the “Detailed description of the preferred embodiments” portion of the specification, as required.
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
· Claims 2, 17, and 20 (wherein the deformation space extends rotationally symmetrically, circumferentially about the axial direction)
· Claims 14 and 19 (the hub cap “is reversibly fixed” to the wheel hub)
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
3. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
· In para [0030], “sealing ring 102” should read “sealing ring 101”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 14, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
· The limitation “wherein the deformation space extends rotationally symmetrically, circumferentially about the axial direction” in Claims 2, 17, and 20 is not enabled by the specification. Furthermore, this limitation is not shown in the drawings.
· The limitation that the hub cap “is reversibly fixed” to the wheel hub in Claims 14 and 19 is not enabled by the specification (i.e. not discussed). Furthermore, this limitation is not shown in the drawings.
Claims 2, 7, 12, 14, 17, and 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 17, and 20 are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. The limitation that the deformation space “extends rotationally symmetrically, circumferentially about the axial direction” is indefinite due to the fact that it is unclear what is actually being claimed as this limitation is generally narrative.
Claims 7 and 12 are indefinite due to the fact that it is unclear what is actually being claimed by the term “is configured”. Namely, no physical structure is present in these claims to define this term.
Claims 14 and 19 are indefinite due to the fact that it is unclear what is being claimed by the limitation that the hub cap is “reversibly fixed” to the wheel hub. This limitation is neither shown in the drawings, nor described in the specification.
Claims 14 and 19 are indefinite due to the fact that it is unclear what is actually being claimed by the terms “configured to abut” and “via”. Namely, no physical structure is present in these claims to define these terms. Additionally, it is unclear how the phrase “configured to abut” is any different that the term “abuts”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hartmann (AT14083U1).
Regarding claim 1, Hartmann discloses a sealing ring (1 “seal”) comprising: a retaining region (8 “lip base region” in Fig. 3) extending circumferentially about an axial direction (A) (axial direction is implicit from the geometry of the illustrated components in Figs. 1-4); and a primary sealing lip (20 “sealing lip wing” in Fig. 3; Abstract) having an extension (Fig. 5) in a positive radial direction (Positive radial direction is implicit from the geometry of the illustrated components in Fig. 3), wherein the radial direction extends radially and perpendicularly away from the axial direction (It is inherent, as the recited radial direction merely defines a conventional coordinate relationship), and wherein the primary sealing lip (20) has a pressure side (21 “pressure surface”) in the direction of the axial direction (Figs. 3-4; Page 6, line 5, “The pressure surface 21 is aligned in the working position so that it has an axial extension” from corrected translation of Para [0044], line 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Hartmann discloses the sealing ring (1) according to claim 1, wherein a deformation space (11 “free space” in Fig. 5) is located between the primary sealing lip (20) and the retaining region (8), and wherein the deformation space (11) extends rotationally symmetrically, circumferentially about the axial direction (not shown but implicit from Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 3, Hartmann discloses the sealing ring (1) according to claim 2, wherein the primary sealing lip (20) extends in the axial direction and in the radial direction (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Hartmann discloses the sealing ring (1) according to claim 3, wherein the sealing ring (1) has grooves (6 “sealing surface”) extending in the radial direction (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Hartmann discloses the sealing ring according to claim 4, wherein the grooves (6) extend from the retaining region (Fig. 5) into the primary sealing lip (20) and/or wherein the grooves (6) have a rounded groove (6) base in a radial plane (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Hartmann discloses the sealing ring (1) according to claim 4, wherein the grooves (6) are arranged on the pressure side (21 in Fig. 4) of the primary sealing lip (20).
Regarding claim 7, Hartmann discloses the sealing ring (1) according to claim 6, wherein the primary sealing lip (20) is configured such that when pressure is applied to the pressure side (21 in Fig. 4) the primary sealing lip (20) is deformed toward the retaining region (8; Fig. 4)
Regarding claim 8, Hartmann discloses the sealing ring (1) according to claim 1, wherein the primary sealing lip (20) extends in the axial direction and in the radial direction (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Hartmann discloses the sealing ring (1) according to claim 1, wherein the sealing ring (1) has grooves (6) extending in the radial direction (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Hartmann discloses the sealing ring (1) according to claim 9, wherein the grooves (6) extend from the retaining region (8) into the primary sealing lip (20) and/or wherein the grooves (6) have a rounded groove (6) base in a radial plane (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Hartmann discloses the sealing ring (1) according to claim 9, wherein the grooves (6) are arranged on the pressure side (21 in Fig. 4) of the primary sealing lip (20).
Regarding claim 12, Hartmann discloses the sealing ring (1) according to claim 1, wherein the primary sealing lip (20) is configured such that when pressure is applied to the pressure side (21 in Fig. 4), the primary sealing lip (20) is deformed toward the retaining region (8; Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartmann in view of Wasserfuhr et al (US12109847B2).
Regarding claim 13, Hartmann fails to disclose a hub cap system for attachment to a wheel hub of a commercial vehicle, comprising: the sealing ring according to claim 1; and a hub cap having a compressed air feed-through arrangement, that extends in the axial direction.
Wasserfuhr et al, however, teaches a hub cap (2 “hub covering” in Fig. 1) system for attachment to a wheel hub (1 “wheel hub” in Fig. 1) of a commercial vehicle (Abstract), comprising: the sealing ring (19 “sealing ring” in Fig. 1) according to claim 1; and a hub cap (2) having a compressed air feed-through arrangement (3 “rotary connection”; Fig. 1; Col. 1, line 44-60), that extends in the axial direction (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the hub cap system of Wasserfuhr et al by substituting its sealing ring for the sealing ring, such as taught by Hartmann, with the motivation to improve sealing between the hub cap and the wheel hub, while accommodating manufacturing tolerances and allowing elastic deformation of the sealing lip to enable pressure compensation under over pressure condition.
Regarding claim 14, Hartmann, as modified by Wasserfuhr et al, discloses the wheel hub system (Wasserfuhr et al: Fig. 1) comprising the hub cap system (Wasserfuhr et al: Fig. 1) according to claim 13 and a wheel hub (Wasserfuhr et al: 1), wherein the primary sealing lip (Hartmann: 20) abuts or is configured to abut the wheel hub (Wasserfuhr et al: 1) and/or wherein the hub cap is reversibly fixed to the wheel hub via a click lock.
Regarding claim 15, Hartmann, as modified by Wasserfuhr et al, discloses a commercial vehicle (Wasserfuhr et al: Abstract), comprising the sealing ring (Hartmann: 20) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Hartmann, as modified by Wasserfuhr et al, discloses a commercial vehicle (Wasserfuhr et al: Abstract), comprising: a sealing ring (Hartmann: 20), comprising: a retaining region (Hartmann: 8) extending circumferentially about an axial direction (Hartmann: axial direction is implicit from the geometry of the illustrated components in Figs. 1-4); and a primary sealing lip (Hartmann: 20) having an extension (Hartmann: Fig. 5) in a radial direction (Hartmann: radial direction is implicit from the geometry of the illustrated components in Fig. 3), wherein the radial direction extends radially and perpendicularly away from the axial direction (Hartmann: It is inherent, as the recited radial direction merely defines a conventional coordinate relationship), and wherein the primary sealing lip (Hartmann: 20) has a pressure side (Hartmann: 21) in the direction of the axial direction (Hartmann: Figs. 3-4; Page 6, line 5, “The pressure surface 21 is aligned in the working position so that it has an axial extension” from corrected translation of Para [0044], line 1-2); and a hub cap (Wasserfuhr et al: 2) having a compressed air feed-through arrangement (Wasserfuhr et al: 3; Fig. 1; Col. 1, line 44-60) that extends in the axial direction (Wasserfuhr et al: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Hartmann, as modified by Wasserfuhr et al, discloses the commercial vehicle (Wasserfuhr et al: Abstract) according to claim 16, wherein a deformation space (Hartmann: 11) is located between the primary sealing lip (Hartmann: 20) and the retaining region (Hartmann: 8), and wherein the deformation space (Hartmann: 11) extends rotationally symmetrically, circumferentially about the axial direction (Hartmann: not shown but implicit from Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 18, Hartmann, as modified by Wasserfuhr et al, discloses the commercial vehicle (Wasserfuhr et al: Abstract) of claim 17, wherein the primary sealing lip (Hartmann: 20) extends in the axial direction and in the radial direction (Hartmann: Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 19, Hartmann, as modified by Wasserfuhr et al, discloses a commercial vehicle (Wasserfuhr et al: Abstract), comprising: a sealing ring (Hartmann: 20) comprising: a retaining region (Hartmann: 8) extending circumferentially about an axial direction (Hartmann: axial direction is implicit from the geometry of the illustrated components in Figs. 1-4); and a primary sealing lip (Hartmann: 20) having an extension (Hartman: Fig. 5) in a radial direction (Hartmann: radial direction is implicit from the geometry of the illustrated components in Fig. 3), wherein the radial direction extends radially and perpendicularly away from the axial direction (It is inherent, as the recited radial direction merely defines a conventional coordinate relationship.), and wherein the primary sealing lip (Hartmann: 20) has a pressure side (Hartmann: 21) in the direction of the axial direction (Hartmann: Figs. 3-4; Page 6, line 5, “The pressure surface 21 is aligned in the working position so that it has an axial extension” from corrected translation of Para [0044], line 1-2); and a hub cap system (Wasserfuhr et al: Fig. 1), comprising: a hub cap (Wasserfuhr et al: 2) having a compressed air feed-through arrangement (Wasserfuhr et al: 3; Fig. 1; Col. 1, line 44-60) that extends in the axial direction (Wasserfuhr et al: Fig. 1); and a wheel hub (Wasserfuhr et al: 1), wherein the primary sealing lip (Hartmann: 20) abuts or is configured to abut the wheel hub (Wasserfuhr et al: 1) and/or wherein the hub cap is reversibly fixed to the wheel hub via a click lock.
Regarding claim 20, Hartmann, as modified by Wasserfuhr et al, discloses the commercial vehicle (Wasserfuhr et al: Abstract) according to claim 16, wherein a deformation space (Hartmann: 11) is located between the primary sealing lip (Hartmann: 20) and the retaining region (Hartmann: 8), and wherein the deformation space (Hartmann: 11) extends rotationally symmetrically, circumferentially about the axial direction (Hartmann: not shown but implicit from Figs. 1-4).
Conclusion
/TAEKWON CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/JASON R BELLINGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615