DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I directed to Fig. 4-5 (claims 1-4, 8-9 and 13-16) in the reply filed on March 6th, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the office fails to provide any facts to show serious burden in examining all pending claims and species. This is not found persuasive because the office is not required to provide any facts for showing serious burden but rather than providing two requirements for the restriction on species: 1) the office provided rationales that all disclosed species are distinct (see pg. 2 of the restriction), and 2) the office provided reasons why examining all species are serious burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5-7 and 10-12 and 17-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-9 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0310676 A1), hereinafter as Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an image sensing device in Figs. 1-2 comprising: a semiconductor substrate (substrate 101) including a first surface (surface 100b) and a second surface (surface 100a) facing or opposite to the first surface, and structured to include a pixel region (pixel region PR of central region CR) in which photoelectric conversion elements (region PDs) are formed to correspond to unit pixels (unit pixels of regions PR) and a pad region (region having contact pattern CT and contact plug PLG) that is located outside the pixel region while having an electrode pad (contact pattern CT) (see Fig. 2 and [0027-0029], [0047]); a pixel isolation pattern (a isolation structure PIS2 in pixel region PR) disposed between the photoelectric conversion elements in the semiconductor substrate (see Fig. 2 and [0026]); and a pad isolation pattern (a combination of isolation structures PIS1, PIS2 and isolation layer 105 in region DPR as shown in annotated Fig. 2) disposed between the pixel region and the pad region in the semiconductor substrate, wherein the pad isolation pattern includes: at least one first upper isolation pattern (isolation structure PIS2 in the illustrated pad isolation pattern in the region DPR) formed to extend from the first surface toward the second surface to have a same depth (same depth with PIS2 in the region PR) as the pixel isolation pattern (see Fig. 2 and [0028], [0031-0032]); and at least one second upper isolation pattern (isolation structure PIS1 in the illustrated pad isolation pattern in the region DPR) formed to extend from a bottom surface of the at least one first upper isolation pattern (bottom surface of dielectric layer 121) toward the second surface, wherein an upper surface of the at least one second upper isolation pattern has a smaller width (a width of upper surface of liner insulating pattern 111 of PIS1) than the bottom surface of the at least one first upper isolation pattern (width of bottom surface of dielectric layer 121) (see illustrated pad isolation pattern in annotated Fig. 2 above and [0036], [0059]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the image sensing device according to claim 1, wherein the pad isolation pattern further includes: a lower isolation pattern (isolation layer 105) formed to extend from the second surface of the semiconductor substrate toward the first surface of the semiconductor substrate, wherein a bottom surface of the lower isolation pattern (bottom surface of isolation layer 105) is connected to the at least one second upper isolation pattern (isolation structure PIS1) (see Fig. 2 and [0029]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the image sensing device according to claim 2, wherein: the pad isolation pattern is formed to penetrate the semiconductor substrate (the combination of isolation structures PIS1, PIS2 and isolation layer 105 in region DPR penetrate substrate 101 as shown in annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the image sensing device according to claim 1, wherein: the pad isolation pattern is formed in a loop shape surrounding the pixel region (see Fig. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the image sensing device according to claim 1, wherein: the first and second upper isolation patterns are configured to include a same insulation material as the pixel isolation pattern (dielectric layer 121 includes hafnium oxide and liner insulation pattern 111 includes hafnium oxide) (see Fig. 2 and [0037] and [0059]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses an image sensing device in Figs. 1-2 comprising: a semiconductor substrate (substrate 101) structured to include a pixel region (pixel region PR of central region CR) in which photoelectric conversion elements
(region PDs) for photoelectric conversion of incident light are formed and a pad region (region having contact pattern CT and contact plug PLG) that is located outside the pixel region while having an electrode pad (contact pattern CT) (see Fig. 2 and [0027-0029], [0047]); a pixel isolation pattern (an isolation structure PIS2 in pixel region PR) vertically extending to a first depth in the semiconductor substrate (a dept of which isolation structure PIS2 extend to in pixel region PR) and disposed between the photoelectric conversion elements (see Fig. 2 and [0026]); and a pad isolation pattern (a combination of isolation structures PIS1, PIS2 and isolation layer 105 in region DPR as shown in annotated Fig. 2 above) vertically extending in the semiconductor substrate to a second depth (equal to the depth of surface 100a where isolation layer 105 extends to) greater than the first depth and disposed between the pixel region and the pad region, wherein the pad isolation pattern has a stepped shape at the first depth (stepped shape formed at the region meeting between bottom surface of dielectric layer 121 and top surface of liner insulating pattern 111) (see illustrated pad isolation pattern in annotated Fig. 2 above and [0028], [0031-0032], [0036], [0059]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the image sensing device according to claim 13, wherein the pad isolation pattern includes: at least one first upper isolation pattern (isolation structure PIS2 in the illustrated pad isolation pattern in the region DPR) formed to extend to the first depth in the semiconductor substrate from a first surface of the semiconductor substrate (surface 100b) (see Fig. 2 and [0028], [0031-0032]); and at least one second upper isolation pattern (isolation structure PIS1 in the illustrated pad isolation pattern in the region DPR) formed to extend from a bottom surface of the at least one first upper isolation pattern (bottom surface of dielectric layer 121) toward the second surface, wherein an upper surface of the at least one second upper isolation pattern has a smaller width (a width of upper surface of liner insulating pattern 111 of PIS1) than the bottom surface of the at least one first upper isolation pattern (width of bottom surface of dielectric layer 121) (see illustrated pad isolation pattern in annotated Fig. 2 above and [0036], [0059]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses the image sensing device according to claim 14, wherein the pad isolation pattern further includes: a lower isolation pattern (isolation layer 105) formed to extend from a second surface of the semiconductor substrate (surface 100a) toward the first surface of the semiconductor substrate (surface 100b), wherein the second surface is opposite to the first surface, wherein a bottom surface of the lower isolation pattern (bottom surface of isolation layer 105) is connected to the at least one second upper isolation pattern (isolation structure PIS1) (see Fig. 2 and [0029]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: wherein: the lower isolation pattern of the pad isolation pattern is connected to two or more of the at least one second upper isolation pattern as recited in claims 3 and 16.
Conclusion
/CUONG B NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818