Detailed Action
Specification Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1-7, 9-16 and 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0104696).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 1 of Park discloses an electroluminescent device comprising: a first electrode (110) and a second electrode (160); a quantum dot layer (142) between the first electrode and the second electrode; and optionally, an electron transport layer (150) between the quantum dot layer and the second electrode, wherein the quantum dot layer comprises a quantum dot and is configured to emit first light, wherein the electroluminescent device further comprises a first layer (141) comprising an inorganic nanoparticle [111], the first layer disposed between the quantum dot layer and the first electrode, wherein the inorganic nanoparticle comprises a metal chalcogenide comprising a Group II metal and a chalcogen element [0104], and the inorganic nanoparticle has a size of greater than or equal to about 0.5 nanometers and less than or equal to about 30 nanometers [0110].
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 1 of Park discloses the electron transport layer comprises a zinc oxide nanoparticle [0168].
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 1 of Park discloses the quantum dot comprises a Group II-VI compound, a Group III-V compound, a Group IV-VI compound, a Group IV element or compound, a Group II-III-VI compound, a Group I-III-VI compound, a Group I-II-IV-VI compound, or a combination thereof [0103], and wherein the first light represents a red light spectrum, a green light spectrum, a blue light spectrum, or a combination thereof [0176], and a full width at half maximum of the emission peak of the first light is greater than or equal to about 1 nanometer and less than or equal to about 55 nanometers [0109].
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 1 of Park discloses the Group II metal comprises a metal comprising zinc, magnesium, calcium, barium, strontium, or a combination thereof, and the chalcogen element comprises selenium, sulfur, tellurium, or a combination thereof [0104].
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 1 of Park discloses the metal chalcogenide comprises a magnesium sulfide, a magnesium selenide, a magnesium sulfide selenide, a zinc magnesium selenide, a zinc magnesium sulfide, a zinc sulfide, a zinc selenide sulfide, a barium sulfide, a barium selenide, a barium sulfide selenide, a calcium sulfide, a calcium selenide, a calcium selenide sulfide, or a combination thereof [0104].
Regarding Claim 6
The limitation “a bandgap energy of the metal chalcogenide is greater than or equal to about 3.0 eV and less than or equal to about 6 eV” is related to material property. Where the claimed and prior art products are identi-cal or substantially identical in structure or composi-tion, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either antici-pation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP2112.01.
Regarding Claim 7
The limitation “a difference between a LUMO energy level of the metal chalcogenide and a LUMO energy level of the quantum dot layer is greater than or equal to about 0.3 eV” is related to material property. Where the claimed and prior art products are identi-cal or substantially identical in structure or composi-tion, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either antici-pation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP2112.01.
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 1 of Park discloses the inorganic nanoparticle has a particle size of greater than or equal to about 1 nanometer and less than or equal to about 10 nanometers [0110].
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 1 of Park discloses the inorganic nanoparticle further comprises an organic ligand on a surface of the inorganic nanoparticle, and the organic ligand is represented by Chemical Formula 1: Chemical Formula 1 A-L-B wherein L is a single bond, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C50 aliphatic hydrocarbon group, a substituted or unsubstituted C4 to C50 aromatic hydrocarbon group, or a combination thereof, and A and B are each independently a thiol group, a carboxyl group, a hydroxy group, an amine group, a phosphonic acid group, a phosphoric acid group, a phosphinic acid group, or a moiety derived therefrom [0113].
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 1 of Park discloses the inorganic nanoparticle is configured to be dispersible in water or a water-miscible organic solvent [0087].
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 1 of Park discloses the organic ligand comprises a diacid compound, a mercapto carboxylic acid compound, a mercapto amine compound, a mercapto phosphonic acid compound, a mercapto phosphoric acid compound, a mercapto phosphinic acid compound, a hydroxy carboxylic acid compound, a hydroxy amine compound, a hydroxy phosphonic acid compound, a hydroxy phosphoric acid compound, a hydroxy phosphinic acid compound, or a combination thereof [0114].
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 1 of Park discloses a hole transport layer (130) between the first electrode (110) and the first layer (141).
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 1 of Park discloses the hole transport layer comprises a hole transporting organic compound, and the hole transporting organic compound comprising a substituted or unsubstituted fluorenyl moiety, a substituted or unsubstituted diphenylamine moiety, a triphenylamine moiety, or a combination of thereof [0084].
Regarding Claim 15
The limitation “a LUMO level of the metal chalcogenide is shallower than a LUMO level of the hole transport layer, and a bandgap energy of the metal chalcogenide is greater than a bandgap energy of the hole transport layer” is related to material property. Where the claimed and prior art products are identi-cal or substantially identical in structure or composi-tion, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either antici-pation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP2112.01. Also see US 20190280232, 10535829, KR 20190057733, 20200011302, 20210046560 and CN 110246972 for documentary evidences.
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 1 of Park discloses a hole injection layer (120) between the first electrode (110) and the hole transport layer (130), and the hole injection layer comprises an organic compound different from the hole transport layer, a hole transporting inorganic material, or a combination thereof [0185].
Regarding Claim 18
FIG. 1 of Park discloses the first light is blue light [0176]; and wherein the electroluminescent device has a maximum luminance of greater than or equal to about 100,000 candela per square meter, or wherein the electroluminescent device has a maximum external quantum efficiency of greater than or equal to about 11%, or a combination thereof [0108].
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 1 of Park discloses a display device comprising the electroluminescent device of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 20
The claim “the display device comprises a portable terminal device, a monitor, a notebook computer, a television, an electric sign board, a camera, or an electronic component for an electric vehicle” containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed. This recitation does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus because the apparatus of Park teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987), see MPEP 2114 R-1.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Shaffer (CN 104411780, machine-translation provided), in view of Kim (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0326533).
Regarding Claim 8
Park discloses Claim 1.
Park is silent with respect to “the first layer further comprises an organic moiety, and a mole ratio of carbon to the Group II metal in the first layer is greater than or equal to about 0.001:1 and less than or equal to about 1:1”.
FIG. 1 of Shaffer discloses a similar electroluminescent device, wherein the metal chalcogenide further comprises an organic moiety, and a mole ratio of the organic ligand to the Group II metal is greater than or equal to about 0.001:1 and less than or equal to about 1:1 [0064].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park, as taught by Shaffer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Park in the above manner for purpose of realizing uniform particle size distribution and control of surface modification ([0007] of Shaffer).
Park as modified Shaffer is still silent with respect to “a mole ratio of carbon to the Group II metal in the first layer is greater than or equal to about 0.001:1 and less than or equal to about 1:1”.
FIG. 1 of Kim discloses a similar electroluminescent device, wherein the metal chalcogenide further comprises an organic moiety, and a mole ratio of the organic ligand to the Group II metal is greater than or equal to about 0.001:1 and less than or equal to about 1:1 [0019].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park, as taught by Kim. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Park in the above manner for purpose of optimizing the performance ([0066] of Kim).
Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Cheng (CN 116230824, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 17
Park discloses Claim 1.
Park is silent with respect to “the first layer has a thickness of greater than or equal to about 4 nanometers and less than or equal to about 15 nanometers, and optionally wherein the quantum dot layer has a thickness of greater than or equal to about 5 nanometers and less than or equal to about 50 nanometers”.
FIG. 1 of Cheng discloses a similar electroluminescent device, wherein the first layer (630) has a thickness of greater than or equal to about 4 nanometers and less than or equal to about 15 nanometers, and optionally wherein the quantum dot layer (620) has a thickness of greater than or equal to about 5 nanometers and less than or equal to about 50 nanometers [0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park, as taught by Cheng. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Park in the above manner for purpose of improving the luminous efficiency (Abstract of Cheng).
Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Chen (CN 111276523, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 17
Park discloses Claim 1.
Park is silent with respect to “the first layer has a thickness of greater than or equal to about 4 nanometers and less than or equal to about 15 nanometers, and optionally wherein the quantum dot layer has a thickness of greater than or equal to about 5 nanometers and less than or equal to about 50 nanometers”.
FIG. 1 of Chen discloses a similar electroluminescent device, wherein the first layer (4) has a thickness of greater than or equal to about 4 nanometers and less than or equal to about 15 nanometers, and optionally wherein the quantum dot layer (5) has a thickness of greater than or equal to about 5 nanometers and less than or equal to about 50 nanometers [0026].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park, as taught by Chen. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Park in the above manner for purpose of improving device performance ([0006] of Chen).
Pertinent Art
US 20210135139, 20190257003, 20190276737, 20150053916, CN 105684555, JP 6061112.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897