(Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 six
Claims 1-16 the limitation as in the phrase “access component”, “manager component”, “performing by device, “a device operatively”, are (non-structural term) has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “device or components” coupled with functional language” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9, 13, 15 and 17-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Raman et al (U.S. Pub No: 2018/0144823 A1) in view of Viswanth et al (U.S. Pub No: 2005/0206967 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Raman discloses a system, comprising: a processor that executes computer-executable components stored in a non-transitory computer-readable memory, wherein the computer-executable components comprise (see abstract, also page 3, paragraph, [0038] the terms “system,” “unit,” “module,” “engine,” etc., may include a hardware and/or software system that operates to perform one or more functions. For example, a module, unit, or system may include a “computer processor”, controller, and/or other logic-based device that performs operations based on instructions stored on a tangible and “non-transitory computer” readable storage medium, such as a computer memory. Alternatively, a module, unit, engine, or system may include a hard-wired device that performs operations based on hard-wired logic of the device. Various modules, units, engines, and/or systems shown in the attached figures may represent the hardware that operates based on software or hardwired instructions, the software that directs hardware to perform the operations, or a combination thereof);
an access component that electronically accesses a first medical imaging scanner and a second medical imaging scanner, wherein the first medical imaging scanner and the second medical imaging scanner are of different image-capture modalities (see page 3, paragraphs, [0040] and [0045] referring to the figures generally, the present disclosure is to provide systems and methods for managing imaging protocols for a fleet of imaging devices. An example imaging protocol managing system includes a cloud-based protocol manager that manages imaging protocols across “multiple modalities”. Imaging devices are registered with the protocol manager first. The protocol manager then automatically communicates with the registered devices and imports (i.e., pulls) protocols from the devices to save in the cloud. Protocol team(s) such as radiologist, technicians, clinicians, and researchers, can access the protocol manager from a computing device (e.g., workstation, computer, laptop), viewing and editing the protocols pulled from the devices. The protocol team can mark some protocols as “standard” protocols, which are published in a protocol library at the cloud. The protocol manager can distribute (i.e., push) the standard protocols in the library to applicable imaging devices in the fleet. The protocol manager also tracks and monitors deviation between protocols used by devices and standard protocols in the cloud library. A deviation is a difference between a protocol stored on a specific device and a corresponding published protocol stored within a protocol manager library on the cloud.
Also, page 5, paragraphs, [0071]; [0074], and [0078], certain examples provide a plurality of methods and/or mechanisms to connect imaging devices to a cloud-based image protocol manager. For example, “two methods” can be provided to connect older and/or newer imaging devices to the imaging protocol manager. Some devices (e.g., newer CT scanners, etc.) can include a cloud agent on the devices that can directly talk to the image protocol manager cloud. Some devices (e.g., older CT scanners, etc.) can leverage a back-office network that communicates with the devices, and the back-office network includes a cloud agent. The cloud agent communicates with the devices to obtain imaging protocol(s) and then communicates with the cloud-based imaging protocol manager via the back-office network. Referring to FIG. 1, a schematic diagram of a system 100 where an imaging protocol manager is used is shown, in accordance with certain examples. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the system 100 includes a plurality of scanning devices 112, 114, 116, and 118 of various modalities (e.g., CT, MR, PET, NM, X-ray, etc.) located at various facilities A, B, C, and D. In some examples, the facilities A, B, C, and D are operated by one organization (e.g., hospital, clinic). A cloud-based imaging protocol manager 120 leverages one or more server 122 and one or more database 124 connected by network (i.e., in the cloud). A protocol library is stored in the database 124. Structure of the imaging protocol manager 120 will be discussed below in detail with reference to FIGS. 2 and 3. Referring to FIG. 2, a block diagram of an imaging protocol manager in operation is shown in accordance with certain examples. It should be understood that the devices/systems shown in FIG. 2 that work in conjunction with the imaging protocol manager 210 are for illustration not for limitation. The imaging protocol manager 210 can operate in conjunction with more, fewer, and/or “different devices/systems”. The imaging protocol manager corresponds to the imaging protocol manager in FIG. 1, which is a cloud-based software solution that helps maintain and standardize imaging protocols for equipment (including CT scanner, MR scanner, X-ray acquisition system);
and a manager component that electronically performs imaging protocol management across the first medical imaging scanner and the second medical imaging scanner (see page 3, paragraph, [0040] referring to the figures generally, the present disclosure is to provide systems and methods for managing imaging protocols for a fleet of imaging devices. An example imaging protocol managing system includes a cloud-based protocol manager that manages imaging protocols across multiple modalities. Imaging devices are registered with the protocol manager first. The protocol manager then automatically communicates with the registered devices and imports (i.e., pulls) protocols from the devices to save in the cloud. Protocol team(s) such as radiologist, technicians, clinicians, and researchers, can access the protocol manager from a computing device (e.g., workstation, computer, laptop), viewing and editing the protocols pulled from the devices. The protocol team can mark some protocols as “standard” protocols, which are published in a protocol library at the cloud. The protocol manager can distribute (i.e., push) the standard protocols in the library to applicable imaging devices in the fleet. The protocol manager also tracks and monitors deviation between protocols used by devices and standard protocols in the cloud library.
Also, page 5, paragraphs, [0070-0071] and [0074], [0078], the protocol manager provides a staging area. The staging area provides a temporary workspace to modify and/or review an imaging protocol from an imaging device before sending the protocol to a library in the cloud-based protocol manager storage. A protocol can be stored in connection with a device and/or type of imaging device, for example. In certain examples, a protocol can be translated across imaging device models, etc. Certain examples provide a plurality of methods and/or mechanisms to connect imaging devices to a cloud-based image protocol manager. For example, “two methods” can be provided to connect older and/or newer imaging devices to the imaging protocol manager. Some devices (e.g., newer CT scanners, etc.) can include a cloud agent on the devices that can directly talk to the image protocol manager cloud. Some devices (e.g., older CT scanners, etc.) can leverage a back-office network that communicates with the devices, and the back-office network includes a cloud agent. The cloud agent communicates with the devices to obtain imaging protocol(s) and then communicates with the cloud-based imaging protocol manager via the back-office network. Referring to FIG. 1, a schematic diagram of a system 100 where an imaging protocol manager is used is shown, in accordance with certain examples. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the system 100 includes a plurality of scanning devices 112, 114, 116, and 118 of various modalities (e.g., CT, MR, PET, NM, X-ray, etc.) located at various facilities A, B, C, and D. In some examples, the facilities A, B, C, and D are operated by one organization (e.g., hospital, clinic). A cloud-based imaging protocol manager 120 leverages one or more server 122 and one or more database 124 connected by network (i.e., in the cloud). A protocol library is stored in the database 124. Structure of the imaging protocol manager 120 will be discussed below in detail with reference to FIGS. 2 and 3.
Also, paragraph, [0078] Referring to FIG. 2, a block diagram of an imaging protocol manager in operation is shown in accordance with certain examples. It should be understood that the devices/systems shown in FIG. 2 that work in conjunction with the imaging protocol manager 210 are for illustration not for limitation. The imaging protocol manager 210 can operate in conjunction with more, fewer, and/or “different devices/systems”. The imaging protocol manager corresponds to the imaging protocol manager in FIG. 1, which is a cloud-based software solution that helps maintain and standardize imaging protocols for equipment (including CT scanner, MR scanner, X-ray acquisition system), for example in a centralized way. An equipment service system 240 (e.g., GE Insite™, etc.), which facilitates services to equipment 230, can exchange equipment service information with the imaging protocol manager 210. One or more external application(s) 250 can leverage protocol information from the imaging protocol manager 210. For example, the external application(s) 250 may include an analytics application (e.g., GE DoseWatch™, etc.) that analyzes various parameters).
However, regarding claim 1, Raman discloses page 5, paragraphs, [0071] and [0074], certain examples provide a plurality of methods and/or mechanisms to connect imaging devices to a cloud-based image protocol manager. For example, “two methods” can be provided to connect older and/or newer imaging devices to the imaging protocol manager. Some devices (e.g., newer CT scanners, etc.) can include a cloud agent on the devices that can directly talk to the image protocol manager cloud. Some devices (e.g., older CT scanners, etc.) can leverage a back-office network that communicates with the devices, and the back-office network includes a cloud agent. The cloud agent communicates with the devices to obtain imaging protocol(s) and then communicates with the cloud-based imaging protocol manager via the back-office network. Referring to FIG. 1, a schematic diagram of a system 100 where an imaging protocol manager is used is shown, in accordance with certain examples. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the system 100 includes a plurality of scanning devices 112, 114, 116, and 118 of “various modalities” (e.g., CT, MR, PET, NM, X-ray, etc.) located at various facilities A, B, C, and D. In some examples, the facilities A, B, C, and D are operated by one organization (e.g., hospital, clinic). A cloud-based imaging protocol manager 120 leverages one or more server 122 and one or more database 124 connected by network (i.e., in the cloud). A protocol library is stored in the database 124. Structure of the imaging protocol manager 120 will be discussed below in detail with reference to FIGS. 2 and 3. Also paragraph, [0078] referring to FIG. 2, a block diagram of an imaging protocol manager in operation is shown in accordance with certain examples. It should be understood that the devices/systems shown in FIG. 2 that work in conjunction with the imaging protocol manager 210 are for illustration not for limitation. The imaging protocol manager 210 can operate in conjunction with more, fewer, and/or “different devices/systems”. The imaging protocol manager corresponds to the imaging protocol manager in FIG. 1, which is a cloud-based software solution that helps maintain and standardize imaging protocols for equipment (including CT scanner, MR scanner, X-ray acquisition system).
But does not explicitly state, “first medical imaging scanner and the second medical imaging scanner are of different image capture modalities”.
However, Viswanth, in the same field of “multiple modalities in a hybrid scanner”, teaches (see page 2, paragraph, [0013] the modality worklist management application described above is used for a conventional scanner based on a single modality such as MR, CT, or PET. A new development involves the use of hybrid scanners such as PET-CT “combined scanners”. “Hybrid scanners” provide independent services for each modality involved, in addition to providing value-added combined services. For example, a PET-CT hybrid scanner allows the imaging of a particular location of the patient body using both the PET and the CT technology. The images obtained using the two modalities, can be correlated to obtain valuable information, such as a more precise location of injury or ailment.
Also, page 3, paragraph, [0027] Referring to FIG. 1, a block diagram of an environment in which the present invention works is hereinafter described. FIG. 1 shows an Integrated Patient Management Application 102 that performs modality worklist management for Hybrid Scanner 104 using schedule information obtained from a HIS/RIS server 106. Hybrid Scanner 104 comprises a combination of two or more modalities for performing (multi modalities) various regular scans using a single modality, as well as hybrid scans using a combination of two or more modalities. Hybrid Scanner 104, shown in FIG. 1, has two modalities--a first modality 110 and a second modality 112. The example of a hybrid scanner with two modalities is used only as an illustrative example, and is not intended to limit the scope of the present invention. It will be apparent to one skilled in the art that the present invention will provide support for any desired combination of modalities, regardless of whether they are located in a single Hybrid Scanner 104 or a multiple scanner equivalent of such. Some examples of the modalities of Hybrid Scanner 104 include without limitation: a CT scanner, a PET scanner, an MR scanner, an ultrasound scanner, an X-ray scanner, and a gamma camera).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Raman invention according to the teaching of Viswanth because to combine, plurality of scanning devices of various modalities (e.g., CT, MR, PET, NM, X-ray, etc.), that has image protocol management under a combined integrated worklist and multimodality protocol in common database, that is taught by the Raman invention according to the teaching of Viswanth, system and method communicating medical digital images among printers, workstations, scanners (i.e., CT-scanner, MRI scanner, PET scanner) and file servers. facilitates communication of digital images of different types such as X-ray, CT, MR, and ultrasound images, for multimodality hybrid images such as PET-CT scanner. For a more efficient method and system for Image Protocol Management for multi-modality hybrid scanning.
Regarding claim 5, Raman discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the imaging protocol management comprises: pushing, by the manager component, an imaging protocol file to the second medical imaging scanner; determining, by the manager component, whether or not the imaging protocol file references as a dependency, or is referenced as a dependency by, any other imaging protocol file (see claim 1, also page 2, paragraphs, [0010-0011] in another embodiment, the present disclosure provides a method performed by an imaging protocol manager in a cloud for pushing imaging protocols from the cloud to imaging devices. The method comprises storing standard imaging protocols in the cloud and determining one or more compatible imaging devices from a plurality of imaging devices registered with the imaging protocol manager that are compatible with one or more standard imaging protocols of the library. The method also comprises creating a push command which “requests” pushing the one or more standard imaging protocols to a particular imaging device of the one or more compatible imaging devices, and storing the push command in a command queue. The particular imaging device polls the command queue to receive the push command. The method further comprises converting the one or more standard imaging protocols to one or more raw protocols in a format used by the particular imaging device, storing the one or more raw protocols for the particular imaging device to download, and receiving a notification from the particular imaging device. The notification indicates execution status of the push command. In yet another embodiment, the present disclosure provides a method performed by an apparatus in communication with an imaging protocol manager in a cloud for pushing imaging protocols from the cloud to an imaging device registered with the imaging protocol manager. The method comprises polling the imaging protocol manager and receiving a push command from the imaging protocol manager. The push command requests pushing one or more imaging protocols to the imaging device. The method also comprises downloading the one or more imaging protocols associated with the push command from the imaging protocol manager, and notifying a user of the push command. The method further comprises committing or refusing to commit the one or more imaging protocols to a protocol database of the imaging device based on a user input, and sending a notification indicating execution status of the push command to the imaging protocol manager.
Also, page 7, paragraphs, [0089-0090] a baseliner that can perform an initial baselining of protocols pulled from a connected imaging device. The process of baselining will be discussed in detail below with reference to FIG. 17. The enricher further includes a protocol viewer for viewing protocol information, a protocol name editor to allow the imaging protocol manager to edit the protocol name in accordance with guidelines, norms, and/or other rules and/or preferences for storage in the protocol libraries, etc. A compatibility checker can check compatibility of an incoming protocol with other library protocols, for example. In some examples, the compatibility checker can determine whether an outgoing protocol is compatible with the target imaging device. Using the baseliner, the protocol viewer, the compatibility checker, etc., the enricher can process imaging protocol information pulled from the imaging device and manage imaging device adherence to protocol(s) by comparing device protocol(s) to library protocol(s). The imaging protocol manager 310 can receive one or more commands (e.g., from a user, from an imaging system, from a healthcare information system, from a radiology reading workstation, etc.) through the web host for protocol application, which enables a web-based portal/application for users to access the imaging protocol manger using a processing device. The commands may include, for example, listing available protocol(s) (e.g., of a certain type, for a certain device, etc.), searching for a particular protocol/protocol type, tagging protocol(s) (e.g., with a device type, hospital association, patient type association, condition association, etc.), publishing protocol(s) (e.g., to a standards body, to participating customers/members, to a shared database, etc.), pushing protocols, and so on. In certain examples, the web host 318 supports user interface components that allow users to manage protocols by creating library structures, import protocols into the library(-ies), baseline a device in conjunction with the baseliner, search and compare);
and instructing, by the manager component and in response to a determination that the imaging protocol file references as a dependency, or is referenced as a dependency by, another imaging protocol file, the second medical imaging scanner to locally mark the imaging protocol file as belonging to a hybrid-modality imaging protocol transaction (see above, also page 6, paragraphs, [0079-0080] As shown in FIG. 2, in some examples, the imaging protocol manager includes an equipment registry, push/pull orchestrator, analytics engine, web host for protocol application, and various database including a device protocols database, standard protocols database, and clinical instructions database. Version history of protocols can be maintained, events and activities for a protocol can be logged in the databases. In operation, the equipment registry registers imaging devices (e.g., CT scanner, MR scanner, X-ray acquisition system) with the protocol manager. The push/pull orchestrator coordinates pulling protocols from registered devices to the device protocols database. In some examples, clinical instructions are also pulled from the imaging devices and stored in the clinical instructions database. The web host for protocol application supports, for example, a web-based portal/application for the protocol team(s) to access the imaging protocol manager from a user device (e.g., user device of FIG. 2). The protocol team(s) can view and edit the protocols stored in the device protocol database, and mark some protocols as “standard.” The standard protocols are published in the standard protocols database (i.e., library). The push/pull orchestrator further coordinates pushing the published protocols from the standard protocols database to applicable imaging devices).
Regarding claim 7, Raman discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the imaging protocol management comprises: accessing, by the manager component, a request to launch an editor associated with the first medical imaging scanner; launching, by the manager component and in response to the request, the editor associated with the first medical imaging scanner and another editor associated with the second medical imaging scanner (see claim 1, also page 2, paragraphs, [0009-0011] the present disclosure provides an apparatus comprising a cloud agent in communication with a cloud-based imaging protocol manager. The cloud agent is configured to poll the imaging protocol manager and receive a push command from the imaging protocol manager. The push command “requests” pushing one or more imaging protocols to an imaging device registered with the imaging protocol manager. The cloud agent is also configured to download the one or more imaging protocols associated with the push command from the imaging protocol manager and notify a user of the push command. The cloud agent is further configured to commit or refuse to commit the one or more imaging protocols to a protocol database of the imaging device based on a user input; and send a notification indicating execution status of the push command to the imaging protocol manager. In another embodiment, the present disclosure provides a method performed by an imaging protocol manager in a cloud for pushing imaging protocols from the cloud to imaging devices. The method comprises storing standard imaging protocols in the cloud and determining one or more compatible imaging devices from a plurality of imaging devices registered with the imaging protocol manager that are compatible with one or more standard imaging protocols of the library. The method also comprises creating a push command which requests pushing the one or more standard imaging protocols to a particular imaging device of the one or more compatible imaging devices, and storing the push command in a command queue. The particular imaging device polls the command queue to receive the push command. The method further comprises converting the one or more standard imaging protocols to one or more raw protocols in a format used by the particular imaging device, storing the one or more raw protocols for the particular imaging device to download, and receiving a notification from the particular imaging device. The notification indicates execution status of the push command. In yet another embodiment, the present disclosure provides a method performed by an apparatus in communication with an imaging protocol manager in a cloud for pushing imaging protocols from the cloud to an imaging device registered with the imaging protocol manager. The method comprises polling the imaging protocol manager and receiving a push command from the imaging protocol manager. The push command requests pushing one or more imaging protocols to the imaging device. The method also comprises downloading the one or more imaging protocols associated with the push command from the imaging protocol manager, and notifying a user of the push command. The method further comprises committing or refusing to commit the one or more imaging protocols to a protocol database of the imaging device based on a user input, and sending a notification indicating execution status of the push command to the imaging protocol manager.
Also, page 7, paragraphs, [0089-0090] reference to FIG. 17. The enricher further includes a protocol viewer for viewing protocol information, a protocol name editor 342 to allow the imaging protocol manager to edit the protocol name in accordance with guidelines, norms, and/or other rules and/or preferences for storage in the protocol libraries, etc. A compatibility checker can check compatibility of an incoming protocol with other library protocols, for example. In some examples, the compatibility checker can determine whether an outgoing protocol is compatible with the target imaging device. Using the baseliner 336, the protocol viewer, the compatibility checker, etc., the enricher can process imaging protocol information pulled from the imaging device and manage imaging device adherence to protocol(s) by comparing device protocol(s) to library protocol(s). The imaging protocol manager can receive one or more commands (e.g., from a user, from an imaging system, from a healthcare information system, from a radiology reading workstation, etc.) through the web host for protocol application, which enables a web-based portal/application for users to access the imaging protocol manger using a processing device. The commands may include, for example, listing available protocol(s) (e.g., of a certain type, for a certain device, etc.), searching for a particular protocol/protocol type, tagging protocol(s) (e.g., with a device type, hospital association, patient type association, condition association, etc.), publishing protocol(s) (e.g., to a standards body, to participating customers/members, to a shared database, etc.), pushing protocols, and so on. In certain examples, the web host supports user interface components that allow users to manage protocols by creating library structures, import protocols into the library(-ies), baseline a device in conjunction with the baseliner, search and compare protocols, etc).
Regarding claim 13, Raman discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 9, wherein the imaging protocol management comprises: pushing, by the device, an imaging protocol file to the second medical imaging scanner; determining, by the device, whether or not the imaging protocol file references as a dependency, or is referenced as a dependency by, any other imaging protocol file; (see claim 1, also page 2, paragraphs, [0010-0011] in another embodiment, the present disclosure provides a method performed by an imaging protocol manager in a cloud for pushing imaging protocols from the cloud to imaging devices. The method comprises storing standard imaging protocols in the cloud and determining one or more compatible imaging devices from a plurality of imaging devices registered with the imaging protocol manager that are compatible with one or more standard imaging protocols of the library. The method also comprises creating a push command which “requests” pushing the one or more standard imaging protocols to a particular imaging device of the one or more compatible imaging devices, and storing the push command in a command queue. The particular imaging device polls the command queue to receive the push command. The method further comprises converting the one or more standard imaging protocols to one or more raw protocols in a format used by the particular imaging device, storing the one or more raw protocols for the particular imaging device to download, and receiving a notification from the particular imaging device. The notification indicates execution status of the push command. In yet another embodiment, the present disclosure provides a method performed by an apparatus in communication with an imaging protocol manager in a cloud for pushing imaging protocols from the cloud to an imaging device registered with the imaging protocol manager. The method comprises polling the imaging protocol manager and receiving a push command from the imaging protocol manager. The push command requests pushing one or more imaging protocols to the imaging device. The method also comprises downloading the one or more imaging protocols associated with the push command from the imaging protocol manager, and notifying a user of the push command. The method further comprises committing or refusing to commit the one or more imaging protocols to a protocol database of the imaging device based on a user input, and sending a notification indicating execution status of the push command to the imaging protocol manager.
Also, page 7, paragraphs, [0089-0090] a baseliner that can perform an initial baselining of protocols pulled from a connected imaging device. The process of baselining will be discussed in detail below with reference to FIG. 17. The enricher further includes a protocol viewer for viewing protocol information, a protocol name editor to allow the imaging protocol manager to edit the protocol name in accordance with guidelines, norms, and/or other rules and/or preferences for storage in the protocol libraries, etc. A compatibility checker can check compatibility of an incoming protocol with other library protocols, for example. In some examples, the compatibility checker can determine whether an outgoing protocol is compatible with the target imaging device. Using the baseliner, the protocol viewer, the compatibility checker, etc., the enricher can process imaging protocol information pulled from the imaging device and manage imaging device adherence to protocol(s) by comparing device protocol(s) to library protocol(s). The imaging protocol manager 310 can receive one or more commands (e.g., from a user, from an imaging system, from a healthcare information system, from a radiology reading workstation, etc.) through the web host for protocol application, which enables a web-based portal/application for users to access the imaging protocol manger using a processing device. The commands may include, for example, listing available protocol(s) (e.g., of a certain type, for a certain device, etc.), searching for a particular protocol/protocol type, tagging protocol(s) (e.g., with a device type, hospital association, patient type association, condition association, etc.), publishing protocol(s) (e.g., to a standards body, to participating customers/members, to a shared database, etc.), pushing protocols, and so on. In certain examples, the web host 318 supports user interface components that allow users to manage protocols by creating library structures, import protocols into the library(-ies), baseline a device in conjunction with the baseliner, search and compare);
and instructing, by the manager component and in response to a determination that the imaging protocol file references as a dependency, or is referenced as a dependency by, another imaging protocol file, the second medical imaging scanner to locally mark the imaging protocol file as belonging to a hybrid-modality imaging protocol transaction (see above, also page 6, paragraphs, [0079-0080] As shown in FIG. 2, in some examples, the imaging protocol manager includes an equipment registry, push/pull orchestrator, analytics engine, web host for protocol application, and various database including a device protocols database, standard protocols database, and clinical instructions database. Version history of protocols can be maintained, events and activities for a protocol can be logged in the databases. In operation, the equipment registry registers imaging devices (e.g., CT scanner, MR scanner, X-ray acquisition system) with the protocol manager. The push/pull orchestrator coordinates pulling protocols from registered devices to the device protocols database. In some examples, clinical instructions are also pulled from the imaging devices and stored in the clinical instructions database. The web host for protocol application supports, for example, a web-based portal/application for the protocol team(s) to access the imaging protocol manager from a user device (e.g., user device of FIG. 2). The protocol team(s) can view and edit the protocols stored in the device protocol database, and mark some protocols as “standard.” The standard protocols are published in the standard protocols database (i.e., library). The push/pull orchestrator further coordinates pushing the published protocols from the standard protocols database to applicable imaging devices).
Regarding claim 15, Raman discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 9, wherein the imaging protocol management comprises: accessing, by the device, a request to launch an editor associated with the first medical imaging scanner; launching, by the device and in response to the request, the editor associated with the first medical imaging scanner and another editor associated with the second medical imaging scanner (see claim 1, also page 2, paragraphs, [0009-0011] the present disclosure provides an apparatus comprising a cloud agent in communication with a cloud-based imaging protocol manager. The cloud agent is configured to poll the imaging protocol manager and receive a push command from the imaging protocol manager. The push command “requests” pushing one or more imaging protocols to an imaging device registered with the imaging protocol manager. The cloud agent is also configured to download the one or more imaging protocols associated with the push command from the imaging protocol manager and notify a user of the push command. The cloud agent is further configured to commit or refuse to commit the one or more imaging protocols to a protocol database of the imaging device based on a user input; and send a notification indicating execution status of the push command to the imaging protocol manager. In another embodiment, the present disclosure provides a method performed by an imaging protocol manager in a cloud for pushing imaging protocols from the cloud to imaging devices. The method comprises storing standard imaging protocols in the cloud and determining one or more compatible imaging devices from a plurality of imaging devices registered with the imaging protocol manager that are compatible with one or more standard imaging protocols of the library. The method also comprises creating a push command which requests pushing the one or more standard imaging protocols to a particular imaging device of the one or more compatible imaging devices, and storing the push command in a command queue. The particular imaging device polls the command queue to receive the push command. The method further comprises converting the one or more standard imaging protocols to one or more raw protocols in a format used by the particular imaging device, storing the one or more raw protocols for the particular imaging device to download, and receiving a notification from the particular imaging device. The notification indicates execution status of the push command. In yet another embodiment, the present disclosure provides a method performed by an apparatus in communication with an imaging protocol manager in a cloud for pushing imaging protocols from the cloud to an imaging device registered with the imaging protocol manager. The method comprises polling the imaging protocol manager and receiving a push command from the imaging protocol manager. The push command requests pushing one or more imaging protocols to the imaging device. The method also comprises downloading the one or more imaging protocols associated with the push command from the imaging protocol manager, and notifying a user of the push command. The method further comprises committing or refusing to commit the one or more imaging protocols to a protocol database of the imaging device based on a user input, and sending a notification indicating execution status of the push command to the imaging protocol manager.
Also, page 7, paragraphs, [0089-0090] reference to FIG. 17. The enricher further includes a protocol viewer for viewing protocol information, a protocol name editor 342 to allow the imaging protocol manager to edit the protocol name in accordance with guidelines, norms, and/or other rules and/or preferences for storage in the protocol libraries, etc. A compatibility checker can check compatibility of an incoming protocol with other library protocols, for example. In some examples, the compatibility checker can determine whether an outgoing protocol is compatible with the target imaging device. Using the baseliner 336, the protocol viewer, the compatibility checker, etc., the enricher can process imaging protocol information pulled from the imaging device and manage imaging device adherence to protocol(s) by comparing device protocol(s) to library protocol(s). The imaging protocol manager can receive one or more commands (e.g., from a user, from an imaging system, from a healthcare information system, from a radiology reading workstation, etc.) through the web host for protocol application, which enables a web-based portal/application for users to access the imaging protocol manger using a processing device. The commands may include, for example, listing available protocol(s) (e.g., of a certain type, for a certain device, etc.), searching for a particular protocol/protocol type, tagging protocol(s) (e.g., with a device type, hospital association, patient type association, condition association, etc.), publishing protocol(s) (e.g., to a standards body, to participating customers/members, to a shared database, etc.), pushing protocols, and so on. In certain examples, the web host supports user interface components that allow users to manage protocols by creating library structures, import protocols into the library(-ies), baseline a device in conjunction with the baseliner, search and compare protocols, etc).
Regarding claim 18, Raman discloses the computer program product of claim 17, wherein the imaging protocol management comprises hybrid-aware scanner registration (see claim 1, also page 3, paragraph, [0040] referring to the figures generally, the present disclosure is to provide systems and methods for managing imaging protocols for a fleet of imaging devices. An example imaging protocol managing system includes a cloud-based protocol manager that manages imaging protocols across multiple modalities. Imaging devices are registered with the protocol manager first. The protocol manager then automatically communicates with the registered devices and imports (i.e., pulls) protocols from the devices to save in the cloud. Protocol team(s) such as radiologist, technicians, clinicians, and researchers, can access the protocol manager from a computing device (e.g., workstation, computer, laptop), viewing and editing the protocols pulled from the devices. The protocol team can mark some protocols as “standard” protocols, which are published in a protocol library at the cloud. The protocol manager can distribute (i.e., push) the standard protocols in the library to applicable imaging devices in the fleet. The protocol manager also tracks and monitors deviation between protocols used by devices and standard protocols in the cloud library).
Regarding claim 19, Raman discloses the computer program product of claim 17, wherein the imaging protocol management comprises hybrid-aware detection of broken (not match or invalid), protocol dependencies (see claim 1, also page 10, paragraph, [0119] at operation 1204, user information is sent from the cloud agent 350 to the protocol manager 310 for authentication. For example, the administrator or a user who has permission to enroll an imaging device inputs the user information via a user interface (e.g., a graphical user interface) provided at, for example, the device console. The user information includes, for example, user ID, password, the uniform resource locator (URL) for activation and/or any appropriate information. The registration application programming interface (API) 354 at the cloud agent 350 captures the user information and sends to the healthcare management (HCM) services module 315 at the cloud for authentication. At operation 1206, the user information is authenticated at the protocol manager 310. The HCM services module 315 compares the received user information with the user account stored in the user organization manager 311. If the user information matches the user account, the user information is authenticated. If the user information does “not match” (broken), the user account, the HCM services 315 may return a message to the cloud agent 350, indicating the failure of authentication. At an operation 1208, the device is enrolled at the protocol manager 310. The HCM services module 315 creates the profile for the device with a status as “enrolled”).
Regarding claim 20, Raman discloses the computer program product of claim 17, wherein the imaging protocol management comprises hybrid-aware commit operations or hybrid-aware restore operations (see claim 1, also page 10, paragraphs, [0119-0120] at operation 1204, user information is sent from the cloud agent 350 to the protocol manager 310 for authentication. For example, the administrator or a user who has permission to enroll an imaging device inputs the user information via a user interface (e.g., a graphical user interface) provided at, for example, the device console. The user information includes, for example, user ID, password, the uniform resource locator (URL) for activation and/or any appropriate information. The registration application programming interface (API) 354 at the cloud agent 350 captures the user information and sends to the healthcare management (HCM) services module 315 at the cloud for authentication. At operation 1206, the user information is authenticated at the protocol manager 310. The HCM services module 315 compares the received user information with the user account stored in the user organization manager 311. If the user information matches the user account, the user information is authenticated. If the user information does not match the user account, the HCM services 315 may return a message to the cloud agent 350, indicating the failure of authentication. At an operation 1208, the device is enrolled at the protocol manager 310. The HCM services module 315 creates the profile for the device with a status as “enrolled.” At operation 1210, device credentials are sent from the protocol manager 310 to the cloud agent 350. An imaging device needs to be authenticated from time to time to avail itself of services provided by the protocol manager 310. The device credentials are used for authenticating the device).
With regard to claims 9 and 17 the arguments analogous to those presented above for claims 1, 5, 7, 13, 15, 18, 19 and 20, are respectively applicable to claims 9 and 17.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6, 8, 10-12, 14 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
Status information about the PAIR system, see http:// pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/SEYED H AZARIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667
January 5, 2026