DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention II, species B, corresponding to claims 15, 17-21, 23 and 25-34, in the reply filed on 4/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16, 22 and 24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15, 17-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are between a first side and a second side, for example, it is not clear whether the two sides are adjacent to each other, or facing away from each other.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are between a second source/drain region of claim 17 and a first source/drain region of claim 15.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are between a second source/drain region of claim 17 and a first source/drain region of claim 15.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the same conductivity type" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are between a first side and a second side, for example, it is not clear whether the two sides are adjacent to each other, or facing away from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, 17 and 18, as so far as understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frougier (US 2020/0035569).
Regarding claim 15, Frougier discloses, in FIGS. 1A-1B and in related text, a method comprising:
forming a first semiconductor nanostructure (125 of lower portion 155), a second semiconductor nanostructure (125 of upper portion 150), first dummy nanostructures (130 of lower portion 155), and second dummy nanostructures (130 of upper portion 150), the first semiconductor nanostructure disposed between the first dummy nanostructures, the second semiconductor nanostructure disposed between the second dummy nanostructures (see Frougier, FIGS. 1A-1B, [0021]-[0022]);
forming a first source/drain region (225, 235) adjacent the first semiconductor nanostructure and the second semiconductor nanostructure in a first cross-section (X-X) (see Frougier, FIG. 1I, [0030]);
replacing the first dummy nanostructures with a first gate structure (including gate metal 255), the first gate structure disposed at a first (left) side of the first semiconductor nanostructure (125 of lower portion 155) and a first (left) side of the second semiconductor nanostructure (125 of upper portion 150) in a second cross-section (Y-Y), wherein the first cross-section is different from the second cross-section (see Frougier, FIG. 1K, [0032]); and
after replacing the first dummy nanostructures, replacing the second dummy nanostructures with a second gate structure (including gate metal 270), the second gate structure disposed at a second (right) side of the first semiconductor nanostructure (125 of lower portion 155) and a second side (right) of the second semiconductor nanostructure (125 of upper portion 150) in the second cross-section (Y-Y) (see Frougier, FIG. 1N, [0035]).
Regarding claim 17, Frougier discloses the method of claim 15.
Frougier discloses forming a second source/drain region (225, 235) adjacent the first semiconductor nanostructure (125 of lower portion 155) and the second semiconductor nanostructure (125 of upper portion 150) in the first cross-section (X-X) (see Frougier, FIG. 1I, [0030]).
Regarding claim 18, Frougier discloses the method of claim 15.
Frougier discloses forming a second source/drain region (225, 235) adjacent the second semiconductor nanostructure (125 of upper portion 150) (see Frougier, FIG. 1I, [0030]); and
forming an isolation dielectric (240, 280) over the first source/drain region (225, 235), the second source/drain region (225, 235), the first gate structure (including gate metal 255), and the second gate structure (including gate metal 270) (see Frougier, FIG. 1O, [0030], [0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frougier in view of Fulford (US 2023/0163185).
Regarding claim 19, Frougier discloses the method of claim 18.
Frougier discloses forming a via (285, 290) through the isolation dielectric (280) (see Frougier, FIG. 1O, [0036]).
Frougier does not explicitly disclose the via connected to the second source/drain region.
Fulford teaches the via (117) connected to the second source/drain region (115) (see Fulford, FIG. 1B, [0055]).
Frougier and Fulford are analogous art because they both are directed to transistors and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Frougier with the features of Fulford because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Frougier to include the via connected to the second source/drain region, as taught by Fulford, to form vertical contact structure to source/drain region (see Fulford, [0055]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 21 and 23 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 25-34 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record, Frougier, discloses wherein the first semiconductor nanostructure and the second semiconductor nanostructure are of substantially pure silicon. The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein the first semiconductor nanostructure and the second semiconductor nanostructure have the same conductivity type” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 20.
The prior art of record, Frougier, discloses a method comprising: forming a first semiconductor nanostructure and a second semiconductor nanostructure, the second semiconductor nanostructure being vertically stacked over the first semiconductor nanostructure; forming a first source/drain region adjacent the first semiconductor nanostructure and the second semiconductor nanostructure in a first cross-section; forming a first gate structure at a first side of the first semiconductor nanostructure and a first side of the second semiconductor nanostructure in a second cross-section, wherein the first cross-section is different from the second cross-section; forming a second gate structure at a second side of the first semiconductor nanostructure and a second side of the second semiconductor nanostructure in the second cross-section; The prior art of record, Fulford, teaches forming a third semiconductor nanostructure and a fourth semiconductor nanostructure, the third semiconductor nanostructure being vertically stacked over the second semiconductor nanostructure, the fourth semiconductor nanostructure being vertically stacked over the third semiconductor nanostructure; forming a second source/drain region adjacent the third semiconductor nanostructure and the fourth semiconductor nanostructure in the first cross-section; forming a third gate structure at a third side of the third semiconductor nanostructure and a third side of the fourth semiconductor nanostructure in the second cross-section. The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “forming a fourth gate structure at a fourth side of the third semiconductor nanostructure and a fourth side of the fourth semiconductor nanostructure in the second cross-section” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 21.
The prior art of record, Fulford, discloses a method comprising: forming a first semiconductor nanostructure and a second semiconductor nanostructure, the first semiconductor nanostructure and the second semiconductor nanostructure being vertically stacked over a substrate; forming a first source/drain region and a second source/drain region, the first semiconductor nanostructure disposed between the first source/drain region and the second source/drain region, the second semiconductor nanostructure disposed between the first source/drain region and the second source/drain region; forming a first isolation dielectric over the first source/drain region, the second source/drain region, the first semiconductor nanostructure, and the second semiconductor nanostructure; forming a third semiconductor nanostructure and a fourth semiconductor nanostructure, the third semiconductor nanostructure and the fourth semiconductor nanostructure being vertically stacked over the first isolation dielectric; forming a third source/drain region, a fourth source/drain region, wherein the third semiconductor nanostructure is disposed between the third source/drain region and the fourth source/drain region. The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “forming a fifth source/drain region, wherein the fourth semiconductor nanostructure is disposed between the third source/drain region and the fifth source/drain region; forming a second isolation dielectric between the fourth source/drain region and the fifth source/drain region ” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 25.
Conclusion
/SHIH TSUN A CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811