DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/14/2023; 04/04/2024; 06/10/2024; and 11/06/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: equations 1a thru equation 4 need to spell out. For example, at least equation 1a:
the term
is an acronym which can mean different things and/or change in meaning over time; hence, it would be desirable to write out the actual words to which the acronym refers. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,249,192.
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 19, claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,249,192 discloses
transmitting, by a laser, a beam (Claim 10: scanning optics configured to transmit the modulated optical signal);
operating, by one or more processors, a scanner to obtain a first range in a portion of a field of view of the scanner (Claim 10: operate the one or more scanning optics to obtain a plurality of first range measurements in a field of view of the one or more scanning optics using a first angular resolution);
assigning, by the one or more processors, a resolution to the portion of the field of view based on the first range (Claim 10: assign a second angular resolution to a particular range gate of a plurality of range gates using one or more first range measurements); and
operating, by the one or more processors, the scanner to obtain, based on the resolution, a plurality of second ranges in the portion of the field of view (Claim 10: operate the one or more scanning optics, using the second angular resolution, the dilated minimum angle, and the dilated maximum angle assigned to the particular range gate of the plurality of range gates, to obtain a plurality of second range measurements).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wee (US 2012/0242972).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 19, Wee discloses a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensor system for a vehicle, a vehicle control system, and a method, the LIDAR sensor comprising:
a laser source configured to generate a beam (paragraphs [0020], [0026]; e.g., The subsystem also contains a pulse generator used to periodically trigger the laser emitter in the generation of a pulse sequence);
one or more scanning optics configured to transmit the beam (paragraphs [0026], [0031], [0046]; see output beams); and
one or more processors configured to:
operate the one or more scanning optics to obtain a first range in a portion of a field of view of the one or more scanning optics (paragraphs [0022], [0039];e .g., the long-range sensor can be concentrated on an 11 deg field of view and can be used to sense 3 lanes wide in the range of between 50 and 150 meters);
assign a resolution to the portion of the field of view based on the first range (paragraph [0022], [0027], [0038]; e.g., providing the capability to the subsystem of a fine angular resolution for obstacle detection within the field of view of the system. For example, using a linear array detector and a FOV of 60 degrees, the average coverage by detector "pixel" would be on average below 2 degrees); and
operate the one or more scanning optics to obtain, based on the resolution, a plurality of second ranges in the portion of the field of view (paragraphs [0038]-[0040]; e.g., objects can be determined to exceed the long-range detection subsystem's field of view limits when they are within once the angular resolution of the long-range detection subsystem).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Wee discloses the LIDAR sensor system and the vehicle control system of claims 1 and 11, wherein the portion of the field of view is a range gate from a first azimuth angle to a second azimuth angle and from a first elevation angle to a second elevation angle (paragraphs [0020], [0022]; e.g., a short field of view 11 covering a horizontal angle α and a depth 12, and a second sensor subsystem referred to as a long range sensor having a long field of view 15 covering a narrower horizontal angle β but a greater depth 16).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Wee discloses the LIDAR sensor system and the vehicle control system of claims 1 and 11, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: operate the one or more scanning optics to obtain a plurality of first ranges in the field of view, wherein the plurality of first ranges includes the first range; and assign a subset of the plurality of first ranges to the portion of the field of view to define a range gate in which each first range of the subset of the plurality of first ranges is in an interval of first ranges (paragraphs [0020], [0022]; e.g., the short range sensor having a field of view between 40 and 80.degree., preferably between 50 and 70, and a range of 100 meters, preferably up to 70 meters).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Wee discloses the LIDAR sensor system and the vehicle control system of claims 1 and 11, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: operate the one or more scanning optics to obtain a plurality of first ranges in the field of view, wherein the plurality of first ranges includes the first range; and wherein the plurality of second ranges have a denser spatial sampling than the plurality of first ranges (paragraphs [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Wee discloses the LIDAR sensor system and the vehicle control system of claims 1 and 11, further comprising a modulator coupled with the laser source, wherein the modulator is configured to modulate at least one of a frequency or a phase of the beam (paragraphs [0022], [0026]; e.g., The subsystem also contains a pulse generator used to periodically trigger the laser emitter in the generation of a pulse sequence, the periodicity of the pulse (or inversely, the related sampling frequency) of the pulse sequence being a controllable parameter).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Wee discloses the LIDAR sensor system and the vehicle control system of claims 1 and 11, further comprising a detector configured to receive a return beam from reflection of the transmitted beam by an object and to output an electrical signal to the one or more processors, wherein the electrical signal is indicative of the first range (paragraphs [0026], [0028]).
Regarding claim 8, Wee discloses the LIDAR sensor system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the resolution as an angular resolution between scan points for the plurality of second ranges and based on a target spatial resolution for detection of an object in the portion of the field of view (paragraphs [0022], [0038]).
Regarding claim 9, Wee discloses the LIDAR sensor system of claim 1, wherein the resolution is greater than a width of the transmitted beam (Figs. 6 and 7; paragraphs [0020], [0022]).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Wee discloses the LIDAR sensor system and the vehicle control system of claims 1 and 11, wherein the one or more processors are configured to generate a point cloud based on the plurality of second ranges (paragraphs [0022], [0026], [0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wee in view of Dirix et al. (US 2010/0046826).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Wee discloses the LIDAR sensor system and the vehicle control system of claims 1 and 11, fails to specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to operate the one or more scanning optics to transmit the beam as a sawtooth scan pattern to obtain the plurality of second ranges in the portion of the field of view.
However, Dirix discloses the processors are configured to operate the one or more scanning optics to transmit the beam as a sawtooth scan pattern to obtain the plurality of second ranges in the portion of the field of view (paragraphs [0003], [0054], [0057]; e.g., guides the beam in a temporal saw-tooth movement).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Wee in combination of Dirix as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to transmit the beam as a sawtooth scan pattern to obtain the plurality of second ranges in the portion of the field of view in order to concentrating the light in at least one dimension and focusing for forming an image in an image plane (Dirix: Abstract).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY X PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648