DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 10, 11, 12, 17, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Friend (US 20140188333 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Friend discloses:
A power machine (100) comprising:
an operator station (130) having a plurality of sides (Fig. 1 & Fig. 7) and supported by a frame (102 & 104) of the power machine (Fig. 1), the operator station including:
an operator input device (Fig. 7) [0016 & 0017] configured to receive operator inputs to control movement of a lift arm of the power machine [0016 & 0017]; and
a display system (160 & 234) configured to electronically display content (Fig. 7) [0021 & 0030 & 0031 & 0036 & 0038], the display system having a set of displays that includes a first display integrated into a first side of the operator station and a second display integrated into a second side of the operator station (Fig. 7) [0038]; and
a control system (140 & 200) that includes a controller (140) in electronic communication with the display system [0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033], the controller being configured to:
receive, from a sensor (142 & 144 & 186 & 322), operational data (202) associated with the power machine [0021 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030]; and
control the display system to display, via the first display and the second display, content associated with the operational data of the power machine [0021 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0036 & 0038].
Regarding Claim 5, Friend discloses:
the display system is a heads-up display system (Fig. 7) [0021 & 0036].
Regarding Claim 6, Friend discloses:
the operator station is a cab and the first side of the operator station is a top side of the cab (Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 10, Friend discloses:
the sensor is mounted on a lift arm of the power machine (Fig. 1) [0019 & 0020 & 0028 & 0037].
Regarding Claim 11, Friend discloses:
the frame (Fig. 1);
a workgroup (110 & 112 & 114 & 116 & 118) supported by the frame (Fig. 1) [0015], the workgroup including the lift arm (112 & 114) moveably secured to the frame [0015], and an implement (116) carrier (Fig. 1) movably secured to the lift arm [0015 & 0018 & 0019 & 0020];
a power system including:
a workgroup power system that includes one or more actuators configured to move the lift arm or the implement carrier [0015]; and
a power source (122) configured to power movement of the one or more actuators [0015];
wherein the sensor is a workgroup sensor (142) configured to sense operational data associated with the workgroup or the workgroup power system [0019 & 0020 & 0028 & 0037]; and
wherein the controller is further configured to:
receive, from a power system sensor, operational data associated with the power system [0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030]; and
further control the display system to display content associated with the operational data from the power system sensor [0021 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0036 & 0038].
Regarding Claim 12, Friend discloses:
the content includes video representation of a field of view that is at least partially obstructed by the lift arm of the power machine from within the operator station (Fig. 7) [0003 & 0005 & 0021 & 0025 & 0030].
Regarding Claim 17, Friend discloses:
An operator station (130) for a power machine (100), the operator station comprising:
a display system (160 & 234) configured to display content (Fig. 7) [0021 & 0030 & 0031 & 0036 & 0038], the display system having a set of displays that includes a first display integrated into a first side of the operator station and a second display integrated into a second side of the operator station (Fig. 7) [0038]; and
the display system being in electronic communication with a control system (140 & 200) that includes a controller (140) in electronic communication with the display system [0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033], to be controlled by the controller to display content based on operational data (202) of the power machine received by the controller [0021 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0036 & 0038].
Regarding Claim 18, Friend discloses:
the first side of the operator station is a top side or a back side of the operator station and a second side of the operator station is a lateral side of the operator station (Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 20, Friend discloses:
the content includes video representation of a field of view that is at least partially obstructed by a work element of the power machine from within the operator station (Fig. 7) [0003 & 0005 & 0021 & 0025 & 0030].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 8, 13, 14, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friend (US 20140188333 A1) in view of Olsen et al. (US 20190048559 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Friend teaches:
an image sensor (186) for displaying content that includes a video data stream associated with an operation of a power machine [0003 & 0021 & 0025 & 0030].
Friend does not explicitly teach:
the sensor is an image sensor and the displayed content includes a video data stream associated with an operation of the power machine.
Olsen teaches:
A power machine (100) comprising:
an operator station having a plurality of sides (Fig. 1 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 13) [0004 & 0022 & 0030] and supported by a frame of the power machine (Fig. 1 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 13), the operator station including [0004 & 0022 & 0030]:
an operator input device [0026] configured to receive operator inputs to control movement of a lift arm (604 & 608 & 802 & 808) of the power machine [0026]; and
a display system (610 & 710) configured to electronically display content [0004 & 0005 & 0006 & 0022 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0026 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0035] integrated into a first side of the operator station (Fig. 6 & Fig. 7) [0004 & 0005 & 0006 & 0022 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0026 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0035]; and
receive, from a sensor (106 & 602 & 702 & 808), operational data associated with the power machine (Fig. 12) [0020 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050]; and
control the display system to display content associated with the operational data of the power machine [0020 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050].
the sensor is an image sensor and the displayed content includes a video data stream associated with an operation of the power machine [0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power machine having a sensor transmitting content to be displayed on displays in the operator station taught by Friend with the power machine having a sensor transmitting content to be displayed on a display in the operator station where the sensor is supported at an end of the lift arm that is opposite the frame, where the sensor is an image sensor and the displayed content includes a video data stream associated with an operation of the power machine taught by Olsen in order to provide a means of displaying areas being worked on which are not visible to the operator from the operator station which is positioned in a way which allows the operator to observe a local view of the work tool engaging the area worked on in order to increase excavation accuracy and prevent contact with articles which could be damaged by or damage the tool.
Regarding Claim 3, Friend teaches:
the frame that supports the operator station (Fig. 1); and
a workgroup (110 & 112 & 114 & 116 & 118) supported by the frame (Fig. 1) [0015], the workgroup including the lift arm (112 & 114) moveably secured to the frame [0015];
wherein the lift arm is an extendable lift arm [0015].
Friend does not teach:
the sensor is supported at an end of the lift arm that is opposite the frame.
Olsen teaches:
A power machine (100) comprising:
an operator station having a plurality of sides (Fig. 1 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 13) [0004 & 0022 & 0030] and supported by a frame of the power machine (Fig. 1 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 13), the operator station including [0004 & 0022 & 0030]:
an operator input device [0026] configured to receive operator inputs to control movement of a lift arm (604 & 608 & 802 & 808) of the power machine [0026]; and
a display system (610 & 710) configured to electronically display content [0004 & 0005 & 0006 & 0022 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0026 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0035] integrated into a first side of the operator station (Fig. 6 & Fig. 7) [0004 & 0005 & 0006 & 0022 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0026 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0035]; and
receive, from a sensor (106 & 602 & 702 & 808), operational data associated with the power machine (Fig. 12) [0020 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050]; and
control the display system to display content associated with the operational data of the power machine [0020 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050].
the sensor is an image sensor and the displayed content includes a video data stream associated with an operation of the power machine [0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040]
the frame that supports the operator station (Fig. 1 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 13); and
a workgroup (604 & 608 & 802 & 804) supported by the frame (Fig. 1 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 13), the workgroup including the lift arm moveably secured to the frame (Fig. 1 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 13) [0030 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039];
wherein the lift arm is an extendable lift arm and the sensor is supported at an end of the lift arm that is opposite the frame (Fig. 1 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power machine having an image sensor transmitting content to be displayed on displays in the operator station taught by Friend with the power machine having an image sensor transmitting content to be displayed on a display in the operator station where the sensor is supported at an end of the lift arm that is opposite the frame taught by Olsen in order to provide a means of displaying areas being worked on which are not visible to the operator from the operator station which is positioned in a way which allows the operator to observe a local view of the work tool engaging the area worked on in order to increase excavation accuracy and prevent contact with articles which could be damaged by or damage the tool.
Regarding Claim 4, Friend does not teach:
the sensor is supported by one or more of an implement carrier secured to the lift arm or an implement operably secured to the lift arm.
Olsen teaches:
the sensor is supported by one or more of an implement carrier secured to the lift arm or an implement operably secured to the lift arm (Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power machine having an image sensor transmitting content to be displayed on displays in the operator station taught by Friend with the power machine having an image sensor transmitting content to be displayed on a display in the operator station, the sensor is supported at an end of the lift arm that is opposite the frame, where the sensor is supported by one or more of an implement carrier secured to the lift arm or an implement operably secured to the lift arm taught by Olsen in order to provide a means of displaying areas being worked on which are not visible to the operator from the operator station which is positioned in a way which allows the operator to observe a local view of the work tool engaging the area worked on in order to increase excavation accuracy and prevent contact with articles which could be damaged by or damage the tool.
Regarding Claim 8, Friend teaches:
the frame that supports the operator station (Fig. 1); and
a workgroup (110 & 112 & 114 & 116 & 118) supported by the frame (Fig. 1) [0015], the workgroup including the lift arm (112 & 114) moveably secured to the frame [0015];
an image sensor (186) having a field of view that at least partly includes a lift arm of a work machine, with the lift arm in a fully lowered or a fully raised orientation [0003 & 0021 & 0025 & 0030].
Friend does not explicitly teach:
wherein the sensor is an image sensor having a field of view that at least partly includes the lift arm, with the lift arm in a fully lowered or a fully raised orientation.
Olsen teaches:
A power machine (100) comprising:
an operator station having a plurality of sides (Fig. 1 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 13) [0004 & 0022 & 0030] and supported by a frame of the power machine (Fig. 1 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 13), the operator station including [0004 & 0022 & 0030]:
an operator input device [0026] configured to receive operator inputs to control movement of a lift arm (604 & 608 & 802 & 808) of the power machine [0026]; and
a display system (610 & 710) configured to electronically display content [0004 & 0005 & 0006 & 0022 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0026 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0035] integrated into a first side of the operator station (Fig. 6 & Fig. 7) [0004 & 0005 & 0006 & 0022 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0026 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0035]; and
receive, from a sensor (106 & 602 & 702 & 808), operational data associated with the power machine (Fig. 12) [0020 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050]; and
control the display system to display content associated with the operational data of the power machine [0020 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050].
wherein the sensor is an image sensor having a field of view that at least partly includes the lift arm, with the lift arm in a fully lowered or a fully raised orientation [0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power machine having a sensor transmitting content to be displayed on displays in the operator station taught by Friend with the power machine having a sensor transmitting content to be displayed on a display in the operator station where the sensor is supported at an end of the lift arm that is opposite the frame, where the sensor is an image sensor having a field of view that at least partly includes the lift arm, with the lift arm in a fully lowered or a fully raised orientation taught by Olsen in order to provide a means of displaying areas being worked on which are not visible to the operator from the operator station which is positioned in a way which allows the operator to observe a local view of the work tool engaging the area worked on in order to increase excavation accuracy and prevent contact with articles which could be damaged by or damage the tool.
Regarding Claim 13, Friend teaches:
A method comprising:
receiving, with one or more electronic processors (140 & 200), from an image sensor (186), operational data (202) associated with a work element (110 & 184) of a power machine [0021 & 0025 & 0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030]; and
controlling, with the one or more electronic processors, a display system of the power machine to display, via a plurality of displays integrated into sides of an operator station of the power machine, content based on the operational data (Fig. 7) [0021 & 0025 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0036 & 0038];
wherein the power machine includes an extendable lift arm (112 & 114) [0015].
Friend does not teach:
wherein the power machine includes a telescopic lift arm and the image sensor is supported on a distal end of the telescopic lift arm.
Olsen teaches:
A method comprising:
receiving from an image sensor (106 & 602 & 702 & 808), operational data associated with a work element of a power machine (Fig. 12) [0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0040]; and
controlling a display system of the power machine to display, via a display in an operator station of the power machine, content based on the operational data (Fig. 12) [0020 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050],
wherein the power machine includes an extendable lift arm (604 & 608 & 802 & 804) and the image sensor is supported on a distal end of the extendable lift arm (Fig. 1 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a telescopic lift arm to the power machine in order to provide a construction machine capable of an increased working range with a smaller structural footprint in order to increase the working and traveling range of the construction machine since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that telehandlers were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of observing the condition of a power machine operating environment and extendable lift arm condition using an image sensor transmitting content to be displayed on displays in the operator station taught by Friend with the method of observing the condition of a power machine operating environment and implement condition using an image sensor transmitting content to be displayed on a display in the operator station, the sensor is supported at an end of the lift arm that is opposite the frame, where the image sensor is supported on a distal end of the extendable lift arm taught by Olsen in order to provide a method of displaying areas being worked on which are not visible to the operator from the operator station which is positioned in a way which allows the operator to observe a local view of the work tool engaging the area worked on in order to increase excavation accuracy.
Regarding Claim 14, Friend does not teach:
the plurality of displays includes at least one transparent organic light emitting device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide displays including at least one transparent organic light emitting device in order to provide a display which does not require a projector which could be obstructed by the operator thereby preventing the image from accidentally being blocked during operation since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that transparent organic light emitting devices were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 15, Friend teaches:
the content includes video representation of a field of view that is at least partially obstructed by the lift arm of the power machine from within the operator station (Fig. 7) [0003 & 0005 & 0021 & 0025 & 0030].
Regarding Claim 16, Friend teaches:
controlling the display system of the power machine to display, via the plurality of displays, content based on the operational data includes controlling the display system of the power machine to display, via the plurality of displays, content on at least two of:
a first display of the plurality of displays integrated into a lateral side of the operator station (Fig. 7) [0038], a second display of the plurality of displays integrated into a back side of the operator station, a third display of the plurality of displays integrated into a front side of the operator station (Fig. 7) [0038], or a fourth display of the plurality of displays integrated into a top side of the operator station (Fig. 7) [0038].
Claim(s) 7, 9, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friend (US 20140188333 A1) In view of Shiomoto et al. (JP 2009167748 A).
Regarding Claim 7, Friend teaches:
the operator station is a cab (Fig. 1).
Friend does not teach:
the operator station is a cab and the first side of the operator station is a back side of the cab.
Shiomoto teaches:
A power machine (1) comprising:
an operator station (4) having a plurality of sides (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 6) and supported by a frame (2) of the power machine (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3), the operator station including:
an operator input device (19 & 20) [0015] configured to receive operator inputs to control movement of a lift arm of the power machine [00152]; and
a display system (25) configured to electronically display content (Fig. 6) [0016 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024], the display system having a set of displays that includes a first display integrated into a first side of the operator station (Fig. 6) [0016 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024]; and
the display system being configured to:
receive, from a sensor (24), operational data associated with the power machine [0016 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024]; and
display, via the first display, content associated with the operational data of the power machine [0016 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024];
the operator station is a cab (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 6) [0013] and the first side of the operator station is a back side of the cab (Fig. 6) [0016 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power machine having a sensor transmitting content to be displayed on displays in the operator station taught by Friend with the power machine having a sensor transmitting content to be displayed on a display in the operator station where the display includes a first display integrated into a first side of the operator station, and the operator station is a cab and the first side of the operator station is a back side of the cab taught by Shiomoto in order to provide an unobstructed view of the operating environment to the operator in order to enable the operator to operate the work machine with an unobstructed view of the environment in order to prevent the work machine from driving into or over an obstruction that could be damaged or cause damage to the work machine.
Regarding Claim 9, Friend does not teach:
the sensor is an image sensor having a field of view directed to behind the operator station.
Shiomoto teaches:
A power machine (1) comprising:
an operator station (4) having a plurality of sides (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 6) and supported by a frame (2) of the power machine (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3), the operator station including:
an operator input device (19 & 20) [0015] configured to receive operator inputs to control movement of a lift arm of the power machine [00152]; and
a display system (25) configured to electronically display content (Fig. 6) [0016 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024], the display system having a set of displays that includes a first display integrated into a first side of the operator station (Fig. 6) [0016 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024]; and
the display system being configured to:
receive, from a sensor (24), operational data associated with the power machine [0016 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024]; and
display, via the first display, content associated with the operational data of the power machine [0016 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024];
the sensor is an image sensor having a field of view directed to behind the operator station [0016 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power machine having a sensor transmitting content to be displayed on displays in the operator station taught by Friend with the power machine having a sensor transmitting content to be displayed on a display in the operator station where the sensor an image sensor having a field of view directed behind the operator station and the displayed content includes a video data stream taught by Shiomoto in order to provide an unobstructed view rearwardly to the operator enabling the operator to move the work machine rearwardly with a view of the rearward environment in order to prevent the work machine from driving into or over an obstruction that could be damaged or cause damage to the work machine.
Regarding Claim 19, Friend teaches:
the set of displays includes a third display integrated into a third side of the operator station and a fourth display integrated into a fourth side of the operator station (Fig. 7) [0038]; and
wherein the first side of the operator station is a top side of the operator station (Fig. 7) [0038], the third side of the operator station is a lateral side of the operator station (Fig. 7) [0038], and the fourth side of the operator station is a front side of the operator station (Fig. 7) [0038].
Friend does not teach:
the second side of the operator station is a back side of the operator station
Shiomoto teaches:
An operator station (4) for a power machine (1), the operator station comprising:
a display system (25) configured to display content (Fig. 6) [0016 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024], the display system having a display that includes a first display (25) integrated into a second side of the operator station (Fig. 6) [0016 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024]; and
the display system to display content based on operational data of the power machine received by the controller [0016 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024];
the second side of the operator station is a back side of the operator station (Fig. 6) [0016 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power machine having a sensor transmitting content to be displayed on displays in the operator station taught by Friend with the power machine having a sensor transmitting content to be displayed on a display in the operator station where the display includes a first display integrated into a second side of the operator station, and the second side of the operator station is a back side of the operator station taught by Shiomoto in order to provide an unobstructed view of the operating environment to the operator in order to enable the operator to operate the work machine with an unobstructed view of the environment in order to prevent the work machine from driving into or over an obstruction that could be damaged or cause damage to the work machine.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 20170284069 A1, US 20190281264 A1, and US 5673963 A have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: construction machine data systems using heads up displays.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652