DETAILED ACTION
Oath/Declaration
2. The oath/declaration filed on 11/14/2023 is acceptable.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 11/14/2023.
Specification
5. The specification is objected to for the following reason: The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (see MPEP 606.01).
A title such as – TITANIUM NITRIDE ETCHANT COMPOSITION AND METHOD OF FORMING THE SAME – or is suggested by the applicant.
The specification needs to be updated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 5-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al., hereafter “Song” (U.S. Patent No. 11,427,759 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Song discloses a titanium nitride etchant composition comprising:
hydrogen peroxide;
phosphoric acid; and
an amine compound (col. 2, lines 4-9),
wherein the amine compound includes two or more nitrogen atoms (at least one nitrogen in a ring, col. 2, line 21-23).
Regarding claim 5, Song discloses wherein an amount of the hydrogen peroxide is 1 to 30 wt.% based on a total weight of the composition, wherein an amount of the phosphoric acid is 20 to 80 wt.% based on the total weight of the composition, and wherein an amount of the amine compound is 0.01 to 10 wt.% based on the total weight of the composition (col. 2, lines 10-20).
Regarding claim 6, Song discloses further comprising water (abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Song discloses a titanium nitride etchant composition comprising: hydrogen peroxide in an amount of 1 to 30 wt.%; phosphoric acid in an amount of 20 to 80 wt.%; and an amine compound in an amount of 0.01 to 10 wt.% (col. 2, lines 10-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Song in view of MIZUTANI et al., hereafter “MIZUTANI” (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0112048 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Song discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein the amine compound includes two or more amino groups (-NH2).
MIZUTANI, however, discloses wherein the amine compound includes two or more amino groups (-NH2) (see para [0163]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Song to provide wherein the amine compound includes two or more amino groups (-NH2) as taught by MIZUTANI for a purpose of improving the luminous light for the etchant composition.
8. Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Song in view of Takahashi et al., hereafter “Takahashi” (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0071078 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Song discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein the amine compound is at least one of 1,3-diaminopropane, 1,8-diamino-4-azaoctane, tetraethylene pentamine, polyethylene imine, and tris(2-aminoethyl)amine.
Takahashi, however, discloses wherein the amine compound is at least one of 1,3-diaminopropane, 1,8-diamino-4-azaoctane, tetraethylene pentamine, polyethylene imine, and tris(2-aminoethyl)amine (see claim 16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Song to provide wherein the amine compound is at least one of 1,3-diaminopropane, 1,8-diamino-4-azaoctane, tetraethylene pentamine, polyethylene imine, and tris(2-aminoethyl)amine as taught by Takahashi for a purpose of improving the luminous light for the etchant composition.
9. Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Song in view of BYUN J (WO-2020197056).
Regarding claims 7 and 13, Song discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein an amount of the water is 10 to 78.99 wt.% based on a total weight of the composition.
BYUN J, however, discloses wherein an amount of the water is 10 to 78.99 wt.% based on a total weight of the composition (see English Text).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Song to provide wherein an amount of the water is 10 to 78.99 wt.% based on a total weight of the composition as taught by BYUN J for a purpose of increasing the viscosity for the etchant composition.
9. Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S Patent No. 6,509,278 B1 in view of Song in view of MIZUTANI et al., hereafter “MIZUTANI” (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0112048 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses a method of forming a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
sequentially stacking a titanium nitride layer (16) and a tungsten layer (17) on a substrate (11);
exposing the titanium nitride layer (16) by partially removing the tungsten layer (17); and
supplying a titanium nitride etchant composition to remove the titanium nitride layer (16) exposed next to the tungsten layer (17) (Figs. 1C-1H and col. 4, lines 32-col. 6, line 3).
Chen discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein the titanium nitride etchant composition includes hydrogen peroxide, phosphoric acid, and an amine compound, wherein the amine compound includes two or more nitrogen atoms.
Song, however, discloses Song discloses a titanium nitride etchant composition comprising:
hydrogen peroxide;
phosphoric acid; and
an amine compound (col. 2, lines 4-9),
wherein the amine compound includes two or more nitrogen atoms (at least one nitrogen in a ring, col. 2, line 21-23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chen to provide Song discloses a titanium nitride etchant composition comprising hydrogen peroxide; phosphoric acid; and an amine compound wherein the amine compound includes two or more nitrogen atoms as taught by Song for a purpose of improving the performance of the method for removing the etchant composition.
Regarding claim 18, Chen and Song (citations to Chen unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein an amount of the hydrogen peroxide in an amount is 1 to 30 wt.%; wherein an amount of the phosphoric acid in an amount of 20 to 80 wt.%; and an amount of the amine compound is 0.01 to 10 wt.% (col. 2, lines 10-20).
10. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over hen and Song in view of MIZUTANI et al., hereafter “MIZUTANI” (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0112048 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Chen and Song discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein the amine compound includes two or more amino groups (-NH2).
MIZUTANI, however, discloses wherein the amine compound includes two or more amino groups (-NH2) (see para [0163]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chen and Song to provide wherein the amine compound includes two or more amino groups (-NH2) as taught by MIZUTANI for a purpose of improving the luminous light for the etchant composition.
11. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen and Song in view of Takahashi et al., hereafter “Takahashi” (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0071078 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Chen and Song discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein the amine compound is at least one of 1,3-diaminopropane, 1,8-diamino-4-azaoctane, tetraethylene pentamine, polyethylene imine, and tris(2-aminoethyl)amine.
Takahashi, however, discloses wherein the amine compound is at least one of 1,3-diaminopropane, 1,8-diamino-4-azaoctane, tetraethylene pentamine, polyethylene imine, and tris(2-aminoethyl)amine (see claim 16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chen and Song to provide wherein the amine compound is at least one of 1,3-diaminopropane, 1,8-diamino-4-azaoctane, tetraethylene pentamine, polyethylene imine, and tris(2-aminoethyl)amine as taught by Takahashi for a purpose of improving the luminous light for the etchant composition.
12. Claim 19 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen and Song in view of BYUN J (WO-2020197056).
Regarding claim 19, Chen and Song discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein an amount of the water is 10 to 78.99 wt.% based on a total weight of the composition.
BYUN J, however, discloses wherein an amount of the water is 10 to 78.99 wt.% based on a total weight of the composition (see English Text).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chen and Song to provide wherein an amount of the water is 10 to 78.99 wt.% based on a total weight of the composition as taught by BYUN J for a purpose of increasing the viscosity for the etchant composition.
Allowable Subject Matter
13. The following is a statement of reason for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 4, 8, 12, 17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Cited Prior Arts
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
JENG E (TW-201303063-A) discloses a method of forming a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
sequentially stacking a titanium nitride layer (356) and a tungsten layer (362) on a substrate;
exposing the titanium nitride layer (356) by partially removing the tungsten layer (362) (Figs. 14A-14B and English Text).
Conclusion
/PHUC T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897