Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species B, claims 1-16, in the reply filed on June 25, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The bounds lack a unit of measurement. Dv50 is a particle diameter, and a and b are coefficients with no dimensions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Baek (US 2020/0083524) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Baek (US 2020/0083524).
Claim 1: Baek discloses a positive active material including a spinel-type lithium-manganese-containing composite oxide (¶¶ 9, 29, 169-179), with the claimed formula (¶¶ 30, 42-46, 173-179).
Claim 2: Baek discloses A includes W (¶¶ 30, 45, 175).
Claim 4: Baek discloses X includes Al (Examples 3, 5).
Claim 5: Baek discloses W and B are in a surface layer 1-1,000 nm thick (¶ 51) on particles of D50 6 microns or 16 microns; for any outer region of <= 50 vol%, with m+n >= 70%.
Claim 6: Baek discloses a = 0.003 and b = 0.006 (¶¶ 30, 42-46, 173-179).
Claim 7: Baek discloses a specific surface area of 0.1-1.5 m2/g (¶ 54).
Claim 8: Baek discloses a D50 of 6 and 16 microns (¶¶ 21, 175, 179).
Claim 9: Baek discloses 0.05 (¶¶ 21, 175, 179).
Claim 10: Baek discloses the grain shape being octahedral (¶ 84).
Claim 11:Baek discloses a secondary battery containing the material (¶¶ 180-183, 187-190).
Claim 12: Baek discloses a battery module including the secondary battery (¶¶ 164, 176).
Claim 13: Baek discloses a battery pack including the battery module (¶ 164).
Claims 14-16: Baek discloses electrical devices including the battery, module and pack (¶¶ 163-165).
Alternatively, to the extent W of Examples 3 and 5 is found not to be at the manganese site, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have doped W into the manganese site of the Baek spinel because Baek teaches that W is a manganese-site doping element that stabilizes the structure and suppresses Mn dissolution (¶¶ 30, 33, 52).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek (US 2020/0083524), as applied to claim 1 above.
Claim 3: Baek teaches B and lists Si and S among the coating elements (¶¶ 29, 36, 109, 113), names S as a preferred film-forming element (¶ 49) and SiO as a coating oxide (¶ 48), and Cl as an anion-site substituent (¶ 31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have selected Si or S from Baek’s finite list of coating element, in place of or in addition to B because Baek teaches these elements as alternatives for the same function of blocking electrolyte contact and suppressing Mn dissolution (¶¶ 36, 48-49).
Conclusion
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754