DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to application No. 18509050 filed on 11/14/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. These IDS has been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of claims 1, 11, 17-21 in the reply filed on 05/07/2026 is acknowledged.
In regards to the device/method restriction the applicant argues that there is no undue search burden and there is overlapping scope.
The examiner would like to note that the traversal is unpersuasive since the device can be formed by different processes as noted in the restriction requirement and would therefore require separate distinct search strategies for the device and method claims. Additionally, the device and method claims require separate classification searches (e.g. H10D8/60 for device and H10P14/3434 for method) as noted in the restriction requirement. Therefore, there would be a serious search and/or examination burden.
In regards to the species claim the applicant argues that various species have a “foundational member” and the entire search burden rests on this “foundational member” and therefore there would not be any additional search burden. Additionally the applicant argues that examiner has not provided any reasons for search burden.
The examiner would like to note that the species have mutually exclusive features noted in the restriction requirement that the applicant has not rebutted. These mutually exclusive features of the different species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources or non-patent language, or deploying different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species even though they may have some overlapping limitations (e.g. foundational member). For example, species directed towards Schottky diode would require search in classification H10D8/051 and species directed towards MOSFET would require search in classification H10D30/0227.
The restriction requirement is maintained and made FINAL.
Allowable subject matter
Claims 11, 17-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim (independent claim 18), but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The closest prior art known to the Examiner is listed on the PTO 892 forms of record.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Koo et al. (KR 20140065825 A).
With respect to dependent claims 11, 17-21, the cited prior art does not anticipate or make obvious, inter alia, the step of: “wherein the Ga2O3 layer comprises an n-doped Ga2O3 layer on top of a semi-insulating Ga2O3 layer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koo et al. (KR 20140065825 A).
Regarding independent claim 1, Koo et al. teach a member comprising:
a silicon base substrate layer (Fig. 5, element 110, specification discloses silicon);
a transition layer (Fig 5, specification discloses “Although not shown, a method of fabricating a nitride-based semiconductor according to another embodiment of the present invention may include forming a transition layer (not shown) between the substrate 110 and the buffer layer 120”) arranged over the silicon base substrate layer; and
a gallium nitride (GaN) buffer layer (Fig. 5, element 120, specification discloses GaN) arranged over the transition layer,
wherein the member further comprises a gallium oxide (Ga2O3) layer (Fig. 5, element 150, specification discloses gallium oxide).
Cited Prior Art
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
/SHAHED AHMED/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813