DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 3/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/25/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(2) as being anticipated by Li et al (US 2024/0006352; hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, Figs 11 and 23 of Li discloses a bonded assembly of a first semiconductor die (Fig 23) and a second semiconductor die (Fig 23), wherein the first semiconductor die comprises:
first dielectric material layers (108; Fig 23; ¶ [0017]) located on first semiconductor devices (106; Fig 23);
first metal interconnect structures (112; Fig 23; ¶ [0017]) embedded in the first dielectric material layers and electrically connected to the first semiconductor devices;
a first bonding-level dielectric layer (122; Fig 23; ¶ [0026]) located on the first dielectric material layers (130; Fig 23; ¶ [0023]) and embedding a first metallic bonding structure (148a/148c; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) that is electrically connected to one of the first metal interconnect structures (112; Fig 23; ¶ [0017]), and further embedding a first dummy metallic bonding structure (148b; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) having a lesser vertical extent (Fig 23) than the first metallic bonding structure (148a/148c; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) and electrically isolated (Fig 23) from the first metal interconnect structures (112; Fig 23; ¶ [0017]), wherein the first metallic bonding structures (148a/148c; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) have a different vertical cross-sectional shape (Fig 23) than the first dummy metallic bonding structures (148b; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]).
Regarding claim 2, Figs 11 and 23 of Li discloses the first dummy metallic bonding structures (148b; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) has a lesser lateral extent (Fig 23) than the first metallic bonding structure (148a/148c; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]).
Regarding claim 3, Figs 11 and 23 of Li discloses the first metallic bonding structure (148a/148c; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) has a trapezoidal vertical cross-sectional shape (Figs 23-24) and the first dummy metallic bonding structures (148b; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) has a triangular vertical cross-sectional shape (Fig 23).
Regarding claim 4, Figs 11 and 23 of Li discloses the sidewalls of the first metallic bonding structure (148a/148c; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) and the first dummy metallic bonding structures (148b; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) are tapered, such that the first metallic bonding structure (148a/148c; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) contacts a predetermined area (Fig 23) of the one of the first metal interconnect structures (112; Fig 23; ¶ [0017]) and such that the first dummy metallic bonding structures (148b; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) does not extend (Fig 23) through entire thickness of the first bonding-level dielectric layer (122; Fig 23; ¶ [0026]).
Regarding claim 5, Figs 11 and 23 of Li discloses the first metallic bonding structures (148a/148c; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) comprise first metallic via portions (148a/148c; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]);
the first dummy metallic bonding structures (148b; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) comprise first dummy metallic via portions (148b; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) having a less height than the first metallic via portions; and
all top peripheries of the first metallic via portions and all top peripheries of the first dummy metallic via portions are located within a horizontal plane (Fig 23).
Regarding claim 6, Figs 11 and 23 of Li discloses the first metallic bonding structures (148a/148c; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) consist first metallic via portions (148a/148c; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]); and
the first dummy metallic bonding structures (148b; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) consist of the first dummy metallic via portions (Fig 23).
Regarding claim 7, Figs 11 and 23 of Li discloses the second semiconductor die comprises:
second metal interconnect structures (220; Fig 23; ¶ [0040]) embedded in second dielectric material layers (212; Fig ¶ [0040]); and
a second bonding-level dielectric layer (234; Fig 23; ¶ [0044]) embedding a second metallic bonding structure (148a; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) that is electrically connected to a respective one of the second metal interconnect structures (220; Fig 23;¶ [0040]) and bonded to the first metallic bonding structures (148a/148c; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) by metal-to-metal bonding (Fig 23) and further embedding a second dummy metallic bonding structure (148a; Fig 23) is electrically isolated from the second metal interconnect structures (220; Fig 23;¶ [0040]), and wherein the first dummy metallic bonding structure (148b; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) is bonded to the second dummy metallic bonding structure (148a; Fig 23) by additional metal-to-metal bonding (Fig 23).
Regarding claim 8, Figs 11 and 23 of Li discloses the second bonding-level dielectric layer (234; Fig 23; ¶ [0044]) is bonded to the first bonding-level dielectric layer (122; Fig 23; ¶ [0026]) by dielectric-to dielectric bonding (Fig 23).
Regarding claim 9, Figs 11 and 23 of Li discloses the first metallic bonding structure (148a/148c; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) have a same composition (¶ [0034]) as the first dummy metallic bonding structures (148b; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]).
Regarding claim 10, Figs 11 and 23 of Li discloses the first metallic bonding structure (148a/148c; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) and the first dummy metallic bonding structures (148b; Fig 23; ¶ [0029]) each comprise a respective metallic barrier liner (140a; Fig 12D; ¶ [0028]) and a respective metal fill material portion (142; Fig 12D; ¶ [0028]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen et al (US 2023/0361066)
Tsai et al (US 2023/0260940)
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817