DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 7/23/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: The claim(s) recite a method (claims 1-7), which is a statutory category of invention. Claims 8-14 recite a system, which is a statutory category of invention.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Regarding exemplary Claim 1, the claim recites “detecting a plurality of status information of a plurality of operation statuses of a battery set”, ” calculating a weighting value of each of the operation statuses according to the information value range”, and ” calculating a weighting value sum corresponding to the weighting values”, which are mental observations or evaluations and fall within the "mental processes" grouping of abstract ideas set forth in the 2019 PEG. 2019 PEG Section I, 84 Fed. Reg. at 52
Step 2A, Prong 2: Claim 1 recites batteries which indicate a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception and do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: Claim 1 does not include additional elements when considered individually and/or as an ordered combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP $22 2106.05(f));
The battery, controller, and sensors are well understood, routine and conventional in the field of battery charging. For example, Jang et al. (US 20250347751 A1) describes a battery (¶[49]), controller (140), and sensors (100). Jang is evidence that such components are well understood, routine, and conventional.
Dependent claims 2-7 fail to cure this deficiency of independent claim 1 (set forth above) and are rejected accordingly. Claims 2-7 recite limitations that represent (in addition to the limitations already noted above) either the abstract idea or an additional element that is merely extra-solution activity, mere use of instructions and/or generic computer component(s) as a tool to implement the abstract idea, and/or merely limits the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Likewise, Dependent claims 9-14 fail to cure this deficiency of independent claim 8 (set forth above) and are rejected accordingly
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 6 and 13 recite the limitation “wherein the first step value is equal to or not equal to the second step value.” The limitation can be met by any values; therefore it does not limit the preceding claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (US 20250347751 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Jang teaches a power management method, comprising:
detecting a plurality of status information of a plurality of operation statuses of a battery set (¶[51] “The SOH estimating unit 110 may be configured to estimate a first SOH of a battery based on battery information including at least one of voltage, current and temperature of the battery”);
determining an information value range within which each of the status information of each of the operation statuses falls, and
calculating a weighting value of each of the operation statuses according to the information value range (¶[69] “the weight calculating unit 140 may be configured to calculate the C-rate factor, the SOC region factor, the SOC change amount factor, and the temperature factor, respectively”, see Figs. 6-8 for the weights corresponding to different ranges); and
calculating a weighting value sum corresponding to the weighting values of the operation statuses to set a load capacity of the battery set according to the weighting value sum (¶[75] “the weight calculating unit 140 may be configured to calculate a weight based on the C-rate factor, the SOC region factor, the SOC change amount factor, and the temperature factor. For example, the weight calculating unit 140 may be configured to calculate the weight by multiplying the C-rate factor, the SOC region factor, the SOC change amount factor, and the temperature factor”).
Regarding Claim 2, Jang teaches the power management method according to claim 1.
Jang further teaches wherein the step of calculating the weighting value of each of the operation statuses according to the information value range within which each of the status information of each of the operation statuses falls comprises:
setting a plurality of reference ranges for each of the operation statuses (¶[120] “Specifically, the temperature factor table of FIG. 7 may be a look-up table in which the temperature factor is preset according to the temperature of the battery”, see Fig. 7 for temperature ranges and Figs. 6 and 8 for other operation statuses);
setting a plurality of reference weighting values respectively corresponding to the reference ranges (¶[120] “For example, the temperature factor may be a value obtained by converting the temperature of the battery to have a value of t0 to t25”, see Figs. 6-8); and
determining a selected reference range of one of the reference ranges within which each of the status information falls, and
setting the reference weighting value corresponding to the selected reference range to be the weighting value of each of the operation statuses (¶[121] “For example, when the temperature of the battery is 25° C. or higher, the temperature factor may be set to t25. When the temperature of the battery is 15° C., the temperature factor may be set to t15. When the temperature of the battery is 0° C. or less, the temperature factor may be set to t0”, see Figs. 6 and 8 for other operation statuses).
Regarding Claim 7, Jang teaches the power management method according to claim 1.
Jang further teaches wherein the operation statuses comprise a temperature of the battery set, a voltage of the battery set, and an output current of the battery set (¶[83] “the SOH estimating unit 110 may be configured to estimate the first SOH (SOH.sub.1) in the present cycle based on the battery information (e.g., at least one of voltage, current and temperature) corresponding to the present cycle”).
Regarding Claim 8, Jang teaches an electronic device, comprising:
a battery set (¶[49] “For example, a lithium-ion battery or a lithium polymer cell may be regarded as the battery. In addition, the battery may refer to a battery module in which a plurality of cells are connected in series and/or in parallel”);
an operation status detection device (100), coupled to the battery set, and configured to detect a plurality of status information of a plurality of operation statuses of the battery set (¶[51] “The SOH estimating unit 110 may be configured to estimate a first SOH of a battery based on battery information including at least one of voltage, current and temperature of the battery”); and
a controller (140), coupled to the operation status detection device, and configured to:
determine an information value range within which each of the status information of each of the operation statuses falls, and
calculate a weighting value of each of the operation statuses according to the information value range (¶[69] “the weight calculating unit 140 may be configured to calculate the C-rate factor, the SOC region factor, the SOC change amount factor, and the temperature factor, respectively”, see Figs. 6-8 for the weights corresponding to different ranges); and
calculate a weighting value sum corresponding to the weighting values of the operation statuses to set a load capacity of the battery set according to the weighting value sum (¶[75] “the weight calculating unit 140 may be configured to calculate a weight based on the C-rate factor, the SOC region factor, the SOC change amount factor, and the temperature factor. For example, the weight calculating unit 140 may be configured to calculate the weight by multiplying the C-rate factor, the SOC region factor, the SOC change amount factor, and the temperature factor”).
Regarding Claim 9, Jang teaches the electronic device according to claim 8.
Jang further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to:
set a plurality of reference ranges for each of the operation statuses (¶[120] “Specifically, the temperature factor table of FIG. 7 may be a look-up table in which the temperature factor is preset according to the temperature of the battery”, see Fig. 7 for temperature ranges and Figs. 6 and 8 for other operation statuses);
set a plurality of reference weighting values respectively corresponding to the reference ranges (¶[120] “For example, the temperature factor may be a value obtained by converting the temperature of the battery to have a value of t0 to t25”, see Figs. 6-8); and
determine a selected reference range of one of the reference ranges within which each of the status information falls, and
set the reference weighting value corresponding to the selected reference range to be the weighting value of each of the operation statuses (¶[121] “For example, when the temperature of the battery is 25° C. or higher, the temperature factor may be set to t25. When the temperature of the battery is 15° C., the temperature factor may be set to t15. When the temperature of the battery is 0° C. or less, the temperature factor may be set to t0”, see Figs. 6 and 8 for other operation statuses).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 20250347751 A1) in view of Shi et al. (CN 109494843 A)
Regarding Claim 3, Jang teaches the power management method according to claim 1.
Jang does not explicitly teach wherein the step of calculating the weighting value sum corresponding to the weighting values of the operation statuses to set the load capacity of the battery set according to the weighting value sum comprises:
setting a plurality of weighting value ranges; and
setting the load capacity of the battery set according to one of the weighting value ranges within which the weighting value sum falls.
Shi teaches setting a plurality of weighting value ranges (¶[102] “For example, suppose the thresholds are in ascending order: threshold 1, threshold 2 and threshold 3, and the full charge voltage corresponding to threshold 1 is 1, the full charge voltage corresponding to threshold 2 is 2, and the full charge voltage corresponding to threshold 3 is 3”); and
setting the load capacity of the battery set according to one of the weighting value ranges within which the weighting value sum falls (see ¶[102] quoted above and ¶[103] “If the accumulated value reaches threshold 1, the battery's full charge voltage will be reduced to full charge voltage 1. As the battery's temperature and voltage are collected, for example, as the battery is in a high temperature and high voltage environment for a longer period of time, the accumulated value will continue to accumulate and gradually reach threshold 2. In this case, the battery's full charge voltage will be reduced from full charge voltage 1 to full charge voltage 2, and so on”, the voltage of the battery impacts the load capacity).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jang to incorporate the teachings of Huang to provide setting a plurality of weighting value ranges; and setting the load capacity of the battery set according to one of the weighting value ranges within which the weighting value sum falls, in order to preserve the lifespan of the battery by preventing damage from overcharging and overheating.
Regarding Claim 10, Jang teaches the electronic device according to claim 8.
Jang does not explicitly teach the controller is further configured to:
set a plurality of weighting value ranges; and
set the load capacity of the battery set according to one of the weighting value ranges within which the weighting value sum falls.
Shi teaches set a plurality of weighting value ranges (¶[102] “For example, suppose the thresholds are in ascending order: threshold 1, threshold 2 and threshold 3, and the full charge voltage corresponding to threshold 1 is 1, the full charge voltage corresponding to threshold 2 is 2, and the full charge voltage corresponding to threshold 3 is 3”); and
set the load capacity of the battery set according to one of the weighting value ranges within which the weighting value sum falls (see ¶[102] quoted above and ¶[103] “If the accumulated value reaches threshold 1, the battery's full charge voltage will be reduced to full charge voltage 1. As the battery's temperature and voltage are collected, for example, as the battery is in a high temperature and high voltage environment for a longer period of time, the accumulated value will continue to accumulate and gradually reach threshold 2. In this case, the battery's full charge voltage will be reduced from full charge voltage 1 to full charge voltage 2, and so on”, the voltage of the battery impacts the load capacity).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jang to incorporate the teachings of Huang to provide set a plurality of weighting value ranges; and set the load capacity of the battery set according to one of the weighting value ranges within which the weighting value sum falls, in order to preserve the lifespan of the battery by preventing damage from overcharging and overheating.
Claim(s) 4, 6, 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 20250347751 A1) in view of Shi et al. (CN 109494843 A) further in view of Klicpera et al. (US 20210083486 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Jang in view of Shi teaches the power management method according to claim 3.
Shi further teaches wherein the weighting value ranges comprise a first weighting value range, a second weighting value range, and a third weighting value range (see ¶[102-103] quoted above),
a value of the first weighting value range is lower than a value of the second weighting value range, the value of the second weighting value range is lower than a value of the third weighting value range (see ¶[103] quoted above).
Jang in view of Shi does not explicitly teach the step of setting the load capacity of the battery set according to one of the weighting value ranges within which the weighting value sum falls comprises:
increasing the load capacity of the battery set by a first step value when the weighting value sum falls within the first weighting value range;
maintaining the load capacity of the battery set unchanged when the weighting value sum falls within the second weighting value range; and
reducing the load capacity of the battery set by a second step value when the weighting value sum falls within the third weighting value range;
Klicpera teaches setting the load capacity of the battery set according to one of the weighting value ranges within which the weighting value sum falls comprises (¶[72] “the method 300 includes prior to a next usage cycle of the battery assembly 106, charging the battery assembly 106 with a voltage offset and a current offset corresponding to the respective battery usage range with the largest bin count”):
increasing the load capacity of the battery set by a first step value when the weighting value sum falls within the first weighting value range;
maintaining the load capacity of the battery set unchanged when the weighting value sum falls within the second weighting value range; and
reducing the load capacity of the battery set by a second step value when the weighting value sum falls within the third weighting value range (¶[75] “based on the determination whether the voltage and current offsets used to charge the battery assembly 106 prior to the current usage cycle are different from the voltage and current offsets associated with the bin number with the largest bin count, the scanning device 102 may transmit a charging signal to the charging station 104 to increase, decrease, or leave unchanged the voltage and current offsets used to charge the battery assembly 106 after the current usage cycle” see also ¶[73-74]);
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jang in view of Shi to incorporate the teachings of Klicpera to provide setting the load capacity of the battery set according to one of the weighting value ranges within which the weighting value sum falls comprises:
increasing the load capacity of the battery set by a first step value when the weighting value sum falls within the first weighting value range;
maintaining the load capacity of the battery set unchanged when the weighting value sum falls within the second weighting value range; and
reducing the load capacity of the battery set by a second step value when the weighting value sum falls within the third weighting value range,
in order to improve the performance of the battery by increasing the load capacity when the battery is healthy and improving the lifespan by decreasing the capacity when the battery health is worse.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Jang, Shi and Klicpera teaches the power management method according to claim 4.
Klicpera further teaches wherein the first step value is equal to or not equal to the second step value (see Fig. 2B with the voltage offsets).
Regarding Claim 11, Jang in view of Shi teaches the electronic device according to claim 10.
Shi further teaches wherein the weighting value ranges comprise a first weighting value range, a second weighting value range, and a third weighting value range (see ¶[102-103] quoted above),
a value of the first weighting value range is lower than a value of the second weighting value range, the value of the second weighting value range is lower than a value of the third weighting value range (see ¶[103] quoted above).
Jang in view of Shi does not explicitly teach that the controller is further configured to:
increase the load capacity of the battery set by a first step value when the weighting value sum falls within the first weighting value range;
maintain the load capacity of the battery set unchanged when the weighting value sum falls within the second weighting value range; and
reduce the load capacity of the battery set by a second step value when the weighting value sum falls within the third weighting value range.
Klicpera teaches that the controller is further configured to (¶[72] “the method 300 includes prior to a next usage cycle of the battery assembly 106, charging the battery assembly 106 with a voltage offset and a current offset corresponding to the respective battery usage range with the largest bin count”):
increase the load capacity of the battery set by a first step value when the weighting value sum falls within the first weighting value range;
maintain the load capacity of the battery set unchanged when the weighting value sum falls within the second weighting value range; and
reduce the load capacity of the battery set by a second step value when the weighting value sum falls within the third weighting value range (¶[75] “based on the determination whether the voltage and current offsets used to charge the battery assembly 106 prior to the current usage cycle are different from the voltage and current offsets associated with the bin number with the largest bin count, the scanning device 102 may transmit a charging signal to the charging station 104 to increase, decrease, or leave unchanged the voltage and current offsets used to charge the battery assembly 106 after the current usage cycle” see also ¶[73-74]);
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jang in view of Shi to incorporate the teachings of Klicpera to provide the controller is further configured to:
increase the load capacity of the battery set by a first step value when the weighting value sum falls within the first weighting value range;
maintain the load capacity of the battery set unchanged when the weighting value sum falls within the second weighting value range; and
reduce the load capacity of the battery set by a second step value when the weighting value sum falls within the third weighting value range,
in order to improve the performance of the battery by increasing the load capacity when the battery is healthy and improving the lifespan by decreasing the capacity when the battery health is worse.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Jang, Shi and Klicpera teaches the electronic device according to claim 11.
Klicpera further teaches wherein the first step value is equal to or not equal to the second step value (see Fig. 2B with the voltage offsets).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Jang, Shi and Klicpera teaches the electronic device according to claim 11.
Jang further teaches wherein the operation statuses comprise a temperature of the battery set, a voltage of the battery set, and an output current of the battery set (¶[83] “the SOH estimating unit 110 may be configured to estimate the first SOH (SOH.sub.1) in the present cycle based on the battery information (e.g., at least one of voltage, current and temperature) corresponding to the present cycle”).
Claim(s) 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 20250347751 A1) in view of Shi et al. (CN 109494843 A) further in view of Klicpera et al. (US 20210083486 A1) and further in view of Sakaguchi et al. (WO 2023149416 A1)
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Jang, Shi and Klicpera teaches the power management method according to claim 4.
The combination of Jang, Shi and Klicpera does not explicitly teach sending an overheating warning signal when the weighting value sum exceeds the third weighting value range.
Sakaguchi teaches sending an overheating warning signal when the weighting value sum exceeds the third weighting value range (¶[50] “Figure 8(a) shows that at time t1, the battery temperature exceeds the threshold Th:H, and a severe over-temperature warning is issued”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Jang, Shi and Klicpera to incorporate the teachings of Sakaguchi to provide sending an overheating warning signal when the weighting value sum exceeds the third weighting value range in order to prevent damage to the battery by alerting the user to remove or replace the battery.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Jang, Shi and Klicpera teaches the electronic device according to claim 11,
The combination of Jang, Shi and Klicpera does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to: send an overheating warning signal when the weighting value sum exceeds the third weighting value range.
Sakaguchi teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: send an overheating warning signal when the weighting value sum exceeds the third weighting value range (¶[50] “Figure 8(a) shows that at time t1, the battery temperature exceeds the threshold Th:H, and a severe over-temperature warning is issued”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Jang, Shi and Klicpera to incorporate the teachings of Sakaguchi to provide send an overheating warning signal when the weighting value sum exceeds the third weighting value range in order to prevent damage to the battery by alerting the user to remove or replace the battery.
Conclusion
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859