Attorney Docket Number: P202300510US01
Filling Date: 11/15/2023
Applicant: Anderson et al
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-7 and 15-20 in the reply filed on 01/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 15, 17-18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alaan et al (US 2023/0187509 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Alaan discloses a semiconductor structure (Fig. 2L) comprising: a first transistor 238 (Para. 51) on a substrate 102 (Para. 20); a second transistor 240 (Para. 51) on top of the first transistor 238; and a source/drain (S/D) contact 236 (Para. 49) contacting a first S/D region 220, 234 (Paras. 41, 48) of the first transistor 238, wherein the S/D contact 236 has a horizontal portion (portion underneath 228) and a vertical portion 236 (middle portion), the horizontal portion (portion underneath 228) extending from a sidewall of the vertical portion 236 (portion between 228 and 230) and a portion of the horizontal portion 236 (portion underneath 228) being vertically between the first S/D region 220, 234 of the first transistor 238 and a second S/D region 228 (Para. 49) of the second transistor 240.
Regarding claim 2, Alaan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein a portion of the first S/D region 220, 234 of the first transistor 238 is vertically outside the second S/D region 228 of the second transistor 240.
Regarding claim 3, Alaan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 2, wherein a bottom surface of the vertical portion of the S/D contact 236 is in direct contact with the portion of the first S/D region 220, 234 of the first transistor 238 and is below the horizontal portion of the S/D contact 236 (portion underneath 228).
Regarding claim 4, Alaan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 2, wherein a portion of the sidewall of the vertical portion of the S/D contact 236 is in direct contact with the portion of the first S/D region 220, 234 of the first transistor 238 and is below the horizontal portion of the S/D contact 236.
Regarding claim 5, Alaan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the horizontal portion of the S/D contact 236 is horizontally in contact with a dummy sheet 234, the dummy sheet 234 being directly on top of the first S/D region 220 of the first transistor 238.
Regarding claim 15, Alaan discloses a semiconductor structure (Fig. 2L) comprising: a first nanosheet transistor 238 (Para. 51) on a substrate 102 (Para. 20); a second nanosheet transistor 240 (Para. 51) on top of the first nanosheet transistor 238; and a source/drain (S/D) contact 236 (Para. 49) contacting a first S/D region 220, 234 (Paras. 41, 48) of the first nanosheet transistor 238, wherein the S/D contact 236 has a horizontal portion 236 (portion underneath 228) and a vertical portion 236 (portion between 228 and 230), the horizontal portion 236 extending from a sidewall of the vertical portion 236 and covering a top surface of the first S/D region 234, 220 of the first nanosheet transistor 238.
Regarding claim 17, Alaan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 16, wherein a bottom surface of the vertical portion of the S/D contact 236 is in direct contact with the portion of the first S/D region 234, 220 of the first nanosheet transistor 238 and is below the horizontal portion of the S/D contact 236.
Regarding claim 18, Alaan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 16, wherein a portion of the sidewall of the vertical portion of the S/D contact 236 is in direct contact with the portion of the first S/D region 236 of the first nanosheet transistor 238 and is below the horizontal portion of the S/D contact 236.
Regarding claim 19, Alaan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 15, wherein at least a portion of the horizontal portion of the S/D contact 236 is vertically between the first S/D region 220, of the first nanosheet transistor 238 and the second S/D region of the second nanosheet transistor 240, and the horizontal portion of the S/D contact 236 is horizontally in contact with a dummy sheet 234, the dummy sheet 234 being directly on top of the first S/D region 220 of the first nanosheet transistor 238.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alaan et al (US 2023/0187509 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Alaan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 5, wherein the horizontal portion of the S/D contact 236 and the dummy sheet 234 are substantially coplanar (Fig. 2L).
Alaan does not explicitly disclose the horizontal portion of the S/D contact and the dummy sheet have a substantially same thickness.
However, Alaan teaches a particular thicknesses for the horizontal portion 236 (portion under 228) of the S/D contact and the dummy sheet 234 (Fig. 2L).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to obtain the horizontal portion of the S/D contact and the dummy sheet have a substantially same thickness for intended purposes.
the applicants have not established the criticality (see next paragraph below) of the thicknesses.
CRITICALITY
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed thicknesses or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 20, Alaan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 19, wherein the horizontal portion of the S/D contact 236 and the dummy sheet 238 have a substantially coplanar (Fig. 2L).
Alaan does not explicitly disclose the horizontal portion of the S/D contact and the dummy sheet have a substantially same thickness.
However, Alaan discloses a particular thicknesses for the horizontal portion of the S/D contact 236 (portion underneath 228) and the dummy sheet 234.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to obtain the horizontal portion of the S/D contact and the dummy sheet have a substantially same thickness for intended purposes.
the applicants have not established the criticality (see next paragraph below) of the thicknesses.
CRITICALITY
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed thicknesses or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alaan et al (US 2023/0187509 A1) in view of Yang et al (US 2021/0376137 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Alaan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the first transistor 238 is a first nanosheet transistor having a first set of nanosheets 238 of a first width, the second transistor is a second nanosheet transistor 240 having a second set of nanosheets of a second width 240.
However, Yang discloses the second width 1840 (Figs. 17, 23, Para. 75) is narrower than the first width 122A (Figs. 17, 23, Para. 34). Yang teaches the above modification is used to reduce manufacturing complexity (Para. 1). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute Alaan first width and second width with Yang first width and second width as suggested above to reduce manufacturing complexity (Para. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Alaan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 15, wherein the first nanosheet transistor 238 has a first set of nanosheets 238 of a first width and the second nanosheet transistor 240 has a second set of nanosheets 240 of a second width; and wherein and a portion of the first S/D region 220, 134 of the first nanosheet transistor 238 is vertically outside the second S/D region 228 of the second nanosheet transistor 240.
Alaan does not explicitly disclose the second width being narrower than the first width.
However, Yang discloses the second width 1840 (Figs. 17, 23, Para. 75) being narrower than the first width 122A (Figs. 17, 23, Para. 34). Yang teaches the above modification is used to reduce manufacturing complexity (Para. 1). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute Alaan first width and second width with Yang first width and second width as suggested above to reduce manufacturing complexity (Para. 1).
Conclusion
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817