DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20230384352 A1 to Messier et al.
Regarding claim 1, Messier et al. discloses an assembly comprising:
a busbar (Fig. 4: 402) configured such that the electric current (arrows) flows therethrough; and
a first and a second magnetic field sensor (210A and 210B) configured to determine magnetic fields in a region of the busbar,
wherein the first and second magnetic field sensors are attached so that they are spaced apart from one another in a direction perpendicular to a direction of extent of the busbar (sensors are arranged along horizontal S direction while busbar current flows in vertical direction); and
a processing device (Fig. 1: 101) configured to determine the electric current [0037] on a basis of a difference between the magnetic fields determined detected by the first and second magnetic field sensors [0042].
Regarding claim 2, Messier et al. discloses the first and second magnetic field sensors are included in an integrated circuit (Fig. 4: 110).
Regarding claim 4, Messier et al. discloses the first and second magnetic field sensors are Hall effect sensors [0081].
Regarding claim 5, Messier et al. discloses the busbar has a relieved portion (Fig. 4: 414) in a region of the first and second magnetic field sensors such that a cross-section of the busbar is reduced, and wherein the first and second magnetic field sensors are situated in a region of the relieved portion.
Regarding claim 9, Messier et al. discloses an apparatus comprising:
a busbar (Fig. 1: 108) configured to guide an electric current to an electric drive machine (104); and
the sensor assembly according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 10, Messier et al. discloses a device comprising:
the connection apparatus according to claim 9 (see claim 9 above); and
an electric drive machine (Fig. 1: 104) or a converter configured to supply a current flowing through the electric drive machine.
Regarding claim 11, Messier et al. discloses a vehicle comprising: the drive device according to claim 10 (see claim 10 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 12-13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230384352 A1 to Messier et al. in view of WO 2019035230 A1 to Kitamori et al.
Regarding claims 6-8, Messier et al. discloses an assembly as described above including a plurality of integrated circuits (Fig. 1: 110) are attached to a printed circuit board (107).
However, it fails to disclose the rest of the limitations from claims 6-8.
Kitamori et al. teaches:
the busbar (Fig. 19: 110) has a thermoplastic cover (520), and wherein the first and second magnetic field sensors (121) are attached in form-fitting fashion to the thermoplastic cover (520).
the printed circuit board (121) is attached in form-fitting fashion to the thermoplastic cover (520).
the first and second magnetic field sensors are, or the printed circuit board is, heat-staked to the thermoplastic cover (welding connection).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of the thermoplastic cover as disclosed by Kitamori et al. to the assembly disclosed by Messier et al.
One would have been motivated to do so to improve thermals of the assembly.
Regarding claim 12, Messier et al. discloses a method comprising:
attaching two magnetic field sensors (Fig. 4: 210A and 210B) to a busbar (402) through which the electric current flows (arrows);
attaching the two magnetic field sensors in such a way that they are spaced apart from each other in a direction perpendicular to the direction of extent of the busbar (sensors are arranged along horizontal S direction while busbar current flows in vertical direction); and
providing a processing device (Fig. 1: 101) configured to determine the electric current [0037] on a basis of a difference between the magnetic fields determined detected between the two magnetic field sensors [0042].
However, it fails to disclose heat-staking the two magnetic field sensors to a thermoplastic cover of the busbar.
Kitamori et al. teaches heat-staking (by welding) the two magnetic field sensors (Fig. 19: 121) to a thermoplastic cover (520) of the busbar (110).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of the thermoplastic cover as disclosed by Kitamori et al. to the method disclosed by Messier et al.
One would have been motivated to do so to improve thermals of the assembly.
Regarding claim 13, Messier et al. discloses including the two magnetic field sensors in an integrated circuit (Fig. 4: 110).
Regarding claim 15, Messier et al. discloses the two magnetic field sensors are Hall effect sensors [0081].
Regarding claim 16, Messier et al. discloses providing the busbar such that it has a relieved portion (Fig. 4: 414) in a region of the two magnetic field sensors such that a cross-section of the busbar is reduced, and situating the two magnetic field sensors in a region of the relieved portion.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Messier et al. and Kitamori et al. discloses attaching a plurality of integrated circuits (Messier et al., Fig. 1: 110) to a printed circuit board (107); and attaching the printed circuit board (Kitamori et al., Fig. 19: 121) in form-fitting fashion to the thermoplastic cover (520).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Messier et al. and Kitamori et al. discloses heat-staking (Kitamori et al.: by welding) the printed circuit board (121) to the thermoplastic cover (520).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument of “There is no teaching of the controller (element 101) of Messier determining an electric current on a basis of a difference between magnetic fields detected by first and second magnetic field sensors.”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph [0037] discloses that the controller 101 uses current sensors 110 to measure the current. Paragraph [0042] discloses the current sensor 110 outputs a signal which is the difference between magnetic field sensing elements 210A and 210B.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VIET P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834